6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

BBXiong
post Oct 11 2012, 05:37 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Oct 9 2012, 09:14 PM)
Thanks BBXiong =)
Managed to put in 3gb movies.. mp4 format, but the device says "this type of vid. are not supported".. icon_question.gif need to go NokiaStore download one of the video apps to watch movies? hmm.gif
is it possible for you to post the full video detail here? screen resolution, encoding format, bitrate
if you have windows media player installed in your PC, just press shift + F10, see under media info
i suspect while you got the file size correct, the screen resolution or the codec is not correct. i remember it supports 640 x 480 h.264 video at max, any resolution higher then that it will say the type of video is not supported. heck, sometimes i was half way playing a video, the video suddenly stop and show me that error as well

QUOTE(Ayzad @ Oct 10 2012, 09:52 AM)
just wanna know your opinion...between n9 and lumia series..which one makes you feel good and comfortable, consider on overall perfomance?bcause i'm actually plan 2 buy n9..but now got lumia..headache 2 choose
if you wanna have a look at lumia, it's not the time yet, i think u need to wait for WP8 to actually come out in the market to see how it fares. Personally, in terms of apps, WP7 and Meego aint that much different right now, both are lacking of apps, where Meego still has hope with open community, and also nitdroid project going on

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 11 2012, 11:36 AM)
Well, WP is closed OS, Meego is open source. Those of us who bought N9 and still keeping it till today prefer open source. GPS, dunno yet for WP8, better you wait for lumia 920, 820 and read the reviews. Of course by then, N9 will be harder to find, esp the cyan & magenta.
it's all down to personal preference, and how overall the ecosystem is being controlled. iOS for instance, is an example that closed source can also be successful if done right. Overall closed source, if done right, will give u a more consistent user experience, potentially better performance with the proprietary drivers and stuffs. Open source in the other hand will give u options like you're in a buffet, don't like this dish? try another dish, there's always that one dish that will suit u eventually. But sometimes people doesnt need those, they aren't aware of the 'options' they have, neither they have the knowledge to pick those options, like custom roms on android for instance, many say it's nice, but even more didn't dare to try, or didnt even know how to flash one, or didnt even heard of it.

but as for N9, I can only say... hardware is dated, and although harsh, there're only that many experience u can have with the hardware on N9, if you are trully interested in meego, just pay tight attention on Jolla

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Oct 11 2012, 05:38 PM
BBXiong
post Oct 12 2012, 11:03 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(Ayzad @ Oct 11 2012, 05:54 PM)
Thanks guys for the response. Now i'm been illuminated. (:
Jolla? Wah,sound interesting. when the launch date perhaps? ok.i'm gonna wait for it, n say bye2 to android.haha
i recall they say latest by november they will show their phone/os they are working on now

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 11 2012, 06:04 PM)
Yeah, but so far havent read in this forum those who like IOS who will buy N9(as in come out own money buy, not the reviewer set) and vice versa. If they are not satisfied with certain features in one system, then ya, they will try another system. Those who have both Lumia 900/800/710 and N9,most prefer N9. Till today I would not go for IOS, too restricted,  esp in the type of internet coverage we have in Malaysia.
I dont see how one can like both A and B, if like A, high possibility dont like B. That's why I said to that forum member if those who have N9 & until now still keep, havent sold it off, mean we are the type prefer open OS
well, as for me, i'm open to choices, i used iPhone 4 last time, own a android tablet now and using N9 as my main phone, and I also used before symbian 3 and WP7, I must say, N9 fare quire well in terms of overall experience, although performance is sluggish at times, and every platform has pros and cons, some sees it as a take it or hate it situation, but i see it more to a getting used to situation.
At first i'm confused with android stuffs, what root, what adb, what CWM, but after a while i find myself flashing custom roms/custom kernal, customizing the tablet. iOS, everything is there, and which ever is missing, u either go find it on the app store, or forget about it. the whole experience is still very solid despite the restriction. Meego, lacking of official apps, but since it's open source, the community will help out if u raise enough interest, and give some patient, it will be there. and yes, honestly, compared Lumia series and N9, i also favour N9 more then Lumia, basically because WP7 is a more restricted version of iOS, and without the apps.
BBXiong
post Oct 12 2012, 11:34 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:28 AM)
Jolla mobile has set 21-22 November 2012 as the date they will show the OS they've been working on & release the SDK for it too. There's no mention of phones so most likely won't see any for tat event, it's meant to show the OS & UI to the public. Availability of phones will be announced later before X'mas. You can read more about it here --> Jolla Press Release
still, if they are releasing the OS and SDK, just hope they could provide a 'unofficial' rom on meego for us N9 users
or at least someone do that for us please
BBXiong
post Oct 12 2012, 11:41 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:35 AM)
They can't 'officially' but I'm very sure some smart ppl will figure a way to do it  brows.gif
well, no one can stop them from writing a flashable meego release with full N9 hardware/driver support, hope they can use the only meego device for now for their open beta testing, i would most likely participate it
BBXiong
post Oct 12 2012, 01:56 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 12 2012, 12:06 PM)
The 1st issue is will there be a flashable image we can use. 2nd issue is hardware/driver support of course. Our N9 chipset is from 2009 era. It's one of the main reasons why Nitroid project for N9 is having so much issues working properly.
it is also because many of the component, like audio controller etc are not used on any android device, making it hard to create the driver for them... just hope i can see the light in that project soon enough
BBXiong
post Oct 16 2012, 03:50 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 16 2012, 09:23 AM)
Get it here --> FasterN9 on TMO

I'm using STABLE version only. Remember, using any kind of tweaks like this you're solely responsible for anything that happens with your phone.  icon_rolleyes.gif
The live traffic layer is the same one that Nokia uses on Symbian/Lumia & it's maps.nokia.com site. It's fairly accurate for where it's supported. I have no idea where they get their data from but it's definitely not from public users on the road.  laugh.gif

Anyway, live the traffic layer doesn't work in M'sia, in case u'r wondering.
how i wish there's another hidden AES location layer tongue.gif

Added on October 16, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(loserkidz182 @ Oct 16 2012, 11:01 AM)
thank you...

Added on October 16, 2012, 11:10 ammay i know the latest version for wazzap now? where i can download it. thank you..

Added on October 16, 2012, 11:46 amany instagram apps for meego? hehe
i think the things you want are all at talk.maemo.org.

specifically, over here:
http://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41

for wazzap version, i guess the best way to know the latest version, and also what changed, is to follow the thread there, the same goes to instagram and any other apps that you have installed

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Oct 16 2012, 03:53 PM
BBXiong
post Oct 17 2012, 12:16 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

it is in the store, just search Waze can get edi
BBXiong
post Oct 21 2012, 08:27 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Oct 20 2012, 01:52 AM)
I'm using a Media Player Classic codec to play vids on my lappy, so "shift+F10" doesn't work.. LoL ^^
Well, the video is a HD ver. of Shaun of the dead, around 2GB only in MPEG-4 format..hope that can help me a little. .><" LoL smile.gif
just HD alone is not supported liao, max resolution is 640x480 only, i suggest u downscale the video.if you wanna play it in your phone
BBXiong
post Oct 23 2012, 06:11 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 23 2012, 11:58 AM)
Anyone tried apkenv?

thp created it and it can run android games shocking.gif

the link currently down, but here is the wiki page : http://wiki.maemo.org/Apkenv
a little googling brings me to this:
https://github.com/QKit/apkenv-qml/downloads

i'll try out tonight
BBXiong
post Oct 24 2012, 10:27 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(Are_NeeF @ Oct 23 2012, 11:41 PM)
hye
i lost my sim card holder.....

1. how much to replace sim card holder?
2. anyone kn0w how to buy online.. hard to find here in k.kinabalu...

thanks...
is there any nokia service centre there? if so, u can get one there, otherwise get it on eBay, but they normally sell sim tray and USB door as one set, and they could cost around RM45~70, if i remember correctly
BBXiong
post Oct 24 2012, 11:49 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 24 2012, 11:48 AM)
Tried it last night & really works, though only the Angry Birds series works now.  hmm.gif
ok, i'll need some guide to help me install it

apt-get install libsdll1.2

file not found or something.. do i need to add some other repository for this file first?

what about kairosoft series?

nvm done, let's try out some other games first

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Oct 24 2012, 12:24 PM
BBXiong
post Oct 25 2012, 11:52 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 24 2012, 01:06 PM)
I tried some games, only Angry Bird Space working prefectly so far.

I've updated the http://wiki.maemo.org/apkenv wiki with the game i tested biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 24 2012, 06:42 PM)
I've tried Angry Birds Space, Seasons & Rio. All worked perfectly but have one issue. Their save games all write to same files resulting in overwritten progress if you start a different Angry Birds game. Too bad the latest game Bad Piggies don't work, really enjoy that game on my Nexus 7.
funny, i face this issue when occasionally, i can't pull the birds to fling them, when i try drag, it will only detect as screen scrolling..

btw under which directory did u all place the library files, i suspect i'm doing something wrongly..
can anyone test some kairosoft games? lol.. can't wait for this to finish, then we can have all the android app goodness thumbup.gif
BBXiong
post Oct 25 2012, 04:19 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 25 2012, 04:10 PM)
I'm only playing Angry Birds Space now & don't have any issue when pulling birds to fling. Just make sure u start near middle of the screen, zoom out if you have to.

All the library files should be put in same directory as apkenv executable, but if you installed the qml launcher then there's nothing you need to do already actually. The game apk files can be put anywhere, doesn't matter.

Well, unfortunately this method of running Android apps is going to be very limited in compatibility. It doesn't emulate Dalvik VM, instead it's a wrapper to execute calls directly to OpenGL from an Android app. The most likely to work are games, even then only games that do not need to run Dalvik VM commands. Just keep your fingers crossed  icon_rolleyes.gif
lol, in that case, i got a lot of files to remove....

still hoping someone would emulate dalvikVM on meego, or just make one instance of it running in the background as well... sadly alien-dalvik no news already, otherwise the open-community prolly can make use of it.

sadly my mobile programming is only limited to android API, not Qt rclxub.gif

BBXiong
post Oct 25 2012, 04:57 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

here, if you are willing to open it up urself, which isn't hard at all
http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_nkw=nok...6.c0.m270.l1313
there're also cheaper ones, but i havent bought on this site before:
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-N9-batt.../628791431.html

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Oct 25 2012, 05:22 PM
BBXiong
post Oct 31 2012, 01:53 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(kitter @ Oct 31 2012, 11:50 AM)
Anyone having issue with wazapp?
Mine one shows connecting...
yes, apparently everythingN9 is saying that whatsapp server is down
BBXiong
post Oct 31 2012, 02:05 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(kitter @ Oct 31 2012, 02:01 PM)
is it?but i heard android and ios working fine
yeah... that's the thing, i was having lunch just now and one of my colleague seems to be using whatsapp just fine, same goes to my gf... don't tell me they changed authentication again... makes me feel like wanna just go and buy an actual android phone now doh.gif
BBXiong
post Oct 31 2012, 03:43 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 31 2012, 03:30 PM)
Well, bound to happen one. Hopefully it's just simple authentication issue that can be fixed. Yes you should go buy android phone if you really need to rely on Whatsapp  icon_rolleyes.gif
well yeah, the thing is i'm waiting for the right model, there're so many new models coming up, all the good things are coming, plus, I wanna see how A15 fares against Krait, cos typically pure ARM architecture will always be faster then Qualcomm's modified architecture. I'm in no rush to change, it's just that there're only so many things that the open community can do, it really saddens me how a great platform is being dusted just like that

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 31 2012, 03:30 PM)
If you can wait that is. They will only show their phones sometime before Christmas this year. After that, who knows if we can even get a Jolla phone here.
yeah, they are probably showing a very controlled basic things about MeeGo by then, cos there are too many thing that need to be polished, and Nokia's management is kinda screwed up last time and they couldn't make that happen. Let's just hope Jolla brings a ray of hope to us current meego users ( please please make a flashable N9 rom for us lol)
BBXiong
post Oct 31 2012, 05:36 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 31 2012, 05:03 PM)
Well, there's no such thing as the right models. Cortex A15 phones will only start coming out Q1 next year, if you can wait another 3 - 5 months. As a good preview of how much faster it can be, just wait for the benchmarks for the new Google Nexus 10.  brows.gif

Yes, the strength of open source community is amazing. Unfortunately to Nokia, that's history.
Nokia mismanagement is already well known. The ironic thing is that in the end, the fear in the Symbian group more or less pushed Maemo/MeeGo off track in Nokia.

Haha, honestly don't put that big hope on a flashable N9 rom from Jolla. If someone managed to make one, treat it as a bonus  icon_idea.gif
there is, if Note II is using Exynos 5450, if PadFone 2 comes with a keyboard, If LG Nexus comes with 32GB or 64GB option.. yeah, if not much different between Krait and A15, then i'll just get a Krait, i guess PadFone2 is good enough to deliver a very good mobile game experience and overall experience as a all in one device

well, i also don't put any hope for Jolla on N9, i'll just hope NitDroid is ready within 1-2 months time
BBXiong
post Oct 31 2012, 05:50 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Oct 31 2012, 05:44 PM)
Haha that's funny. U said there IS, but proceeded to say IF. So I guess no there's no RIGHT models, just close ones  laugh.gif

NitDroid? Eh..... don't put so much hope on that either  icon_rolleyes.gif
what i meant is there is, if what i mentioned are true, but nah, like u said, there're no perfect/right model, only close ones, but as tech advance, those close ones become faraway again, haha
BBXiong
post Nov 2 2012, 02:37 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nemoegg @ Nov 2 2012, 02:14 PM)
Omg omg lol . Nothing to do with n9 now I think sad.gif
I'll give u something to do, install emumaster, it will keep u busy for a long time

i installed Faster N9 as well, enabling faster transition is a must, it removes almost all the stuttering when navigate between homescreens... i wanna enable traffic layer for Drive, but somehow it fails to patch, not sure why

btw anyone's homescreen BillBoard is destroyed after enabling faster transition + landscape mod? my billboard now seems to align to right most, and off screen one

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0763sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:17 AM