○ Galaxy Nexus V6 ○, latest Google flagship

AlphaBeta
post Feb 20 2012, 09:51 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 20 2012, 09:12 PM)
all ap set come with default 4.0.2 yakju ?
but I though also depends which country of the GNex you get o.O ?
refer above quote by uncle benny
no idea
now parents don't let me buy, say expensive
unless my phone really spoil then buy as expensive as you can
now wait it drop price until around RM1.5k
like that I sure wait for s3 already
haiz no fate with GNex, sien
but try my best to convince my parents
conclusion, parents dunno technology this kind of things (because also facing the same problem last time change new desktop) =_=
Wait for S3.. Same thing is going to happen over and over again.

I noticed my GNex needs a restart every few days, otherwise it would get buggy.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 20 2012, 10:39 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 20 2012, 10:03 PM)
I haven't reboot mine since 2 days ago after reflashing the aokp m3 and it seems to be working just fine. What do you mean by buggy? Something doesn't work right or lag?
2 days are fine. like screen not turning off when making a call and clock not updating.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 21 2012, 12:29 AM

2,955 posts

Update: Viber now works on ICS.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 21 2012, 10:44 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 21 2012, 06:44 PM)
Do you guys think that a kernel will run better and smoother the longer you use it? 

I found that if a kernel that is newly flashed, it actually perform below it's full potential. After using it for weeks, the kernel actually is better in terms speed and smoothness. At least this is what the benchmark score is telling me...
i think franco kernel is still the best in battery life. Tested most kernels on xdadeveloper, still franco has the best battery life. for ROM...APEX and AOKP are both good. I am now using AOKP M3 and waiting APEX to be updated.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 21 2012, 10:56 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:49 PM)
he said that his parent thinks its too expensive since he still has his LG and S2, so not anytime soon i guess....  sweat.gif
hahaha....so fast you tested all??
i will let it run for like 2 weeks to see how its performance for my current Apex
i am a bit skeptical about franco because his is a nightly build. so i will leave it for the time being until its not a nightly
test it for youself. I am on 16 even though now latest is 18. You dont need to keep updating it if there is no problem.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 22 2012, 08:46 PM

2,955 posts

using Black ICE Rom... really love the black theme lol.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 23 2012, 03:40 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 23 2012, 03:30 PM)
crap, dun flash franco latest kernel yet, i just got SOD
and user is reporting SOD on this thread too....i hate nightly

anyone knows how to make a flashable zip from the kernel image extracted from the ROM?
Im using 15.2...the best and most stable so far. 15.2 + BlackICE ROM...4 hours screen on time easily.

QUOTE(rifles @ Feb 23 2012, 03:32 PM)
What is SOD?currently using 18.2!!
SOD = Sleep Of Death
AlphaBeta
post Feb 23 2012, 04:21 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 23 2012, 04:07 PM)
just to add on. i dun like the colour control on franco
nyway im flashing away 007 kernel! LOL
i love the color control.. makes my screen less yellowish.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 23 2012, 05:31 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 23 2012, 05:06 PM)
then u got nasty green??
Nah..amoled white colour is kinda warm-ish. Color control can improve it a bit.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 23 2012, 11:27 PM

2,955 posts

Since everyone likes black wallpaper and clean. Here is mine.
Seriously, GNex has such beautiful screen and you guys make it black and white? Just my opinion, i know some love B&W.

AlphaBeta
post Feb 27 2012, 09:18 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 27 2012, 09:17 PM)
Not with rearth ... I test it with nexus s
My GNex with case is able to detect my credit card inside my wallet. I think it is good enough.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 12:59 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(droid13579 @ Feb 28 2012, 12:41 AM)
First, It's dual core so the heat it generated is 2x.
Second, Galaxy Nexus has plastic cover which is like 1mm thin. The heat had to dissipate as well, unlike our PC which has heat sink and fan. You try touch your CPU and feel the heat as well.
Third, 35~40 it's normal temperature for a smartphone. If anyone says heat, they must be used to those 1GHz single core smartphones or ex feature phones and normal phones.
Forth, you use the phone while charging of course you will feel the heat because the battery is charging.
Fifth, DON'T BE OBSESS WITH HEAT ISSUES UNLESS YOUR SMARTPHONE HAS UNUSUAL TEMPERATURE!
SIXTH, GET AN CASE SO YOU BARELY FEEL THE HEAT!

Sorry for caps, I was being too emotional.  notworthy.gif
How do u explain Iphone 4 not giving out heat at all? I understand your point, i also feel unconfortable with the heat given out by this phone.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 01:06 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(0204 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:03 AM)
iphone4 maybe not.. iphone4s gives out plenty of heat.. its not as focus like nexus all on the top part.. but the whole backside is fairly hot.. its the dualcore
You sure? I tried both 4s and 4. Both sooo much cooler than GNex. I did viber call on all these 3 phones, Gnex gets really hot like in 5 minutes until i dont feel like talking to my gf.

Added on February 28, 2012, 1:11 am
QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 28 2012, 01:01 AM)
using the phone naked, I don't get the heat unless I'm playing games for long hours, or doing equivalent demanding stuff. Generally browsing the web, or similar smaller stuff is ok.

Try flashing the phone to AOKP + a good kernel see if it helps.

Also this heat issue, I don't find it worse than the S2. Again like the battery performance, my brother too has complained about the heat on his S2. I told him its perfectly normal too. You have to know the CPUs will generate heat no matter what, especially on a thin device, you sure are going to feel it, because the heat have to dissipate somehow.
iPhone 4 is running at 800mhz, a single core CPU. If you want, you can try UV + down clock the phone, see if it helps.
I tried 700mhz, still very hot when doing 3G intense stuff. Its not the CPU..i think its the modem getting hot.

Added on February 28, 2012, 1:14 am
QUOTE(droid13579 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:03 AM)
I never state iPhone in first place! I said 1 GHz Smartphones like all mid-range androids. It doesn't to be like iPhone ok?

iPhone 4's back is glass, it does give heat. Just it is not noticeable like plastic. That's all...
Then lets just hope that next Nexus will use glass instead of plastic.

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Feb 28 2012, 01:14 AM
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 01:19 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Feb 28 2012, 01:16 AM)
One thing you'll have to consider is the background apps and such.
Any designs will cause the heat dissipation to be different than any other phones.
To be honest, the white SGSII and the black SGSII has different heat dissipation due to the different back covers. Same goes to hardware and placement of the hardware.
You might want to take a downclocked Acer Liquid E. 1GHz Snapdragon, downclocked to 768MHz yet my Liquid E's screen cracked due to constant cooling and heating.

Getting a case to get rid of the feeling of heat is plain ignorant, yet complaining about it does not help. Phones operate the same way as a computer does. you get the processor in a cooler state, it's going to be more efficient. That's the nature of semiconductors.
This is very true. GNex is a good companion phone if you live in Canada. Mobile heater FTW. laugh.gif
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 01:25 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 28 2012, 01:18 AM)
probably, I guess.

but hopefully, they don't use glass, that would just give Apple fanboys another reason to claim Android as copycat, and glass is just prone to breakage and scratches.

However what I do hope is that they would use a material that would help dissipating the heat better, maybe from the internals that will help regulate the heat better.

I suspect that the next gen internals will help this a lot, especially the 28nm processors and big.LITTLE configurations.
yea damn true, apple keep suing ppl is really amusing. But we shall see what material they use on S3, rumours saying it will be Ceramic material. Which is damn cool..literally cool lol.

QUOTE(0204 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:19 AM)
i'm sure.. its true gnex is warmer than 4s.. but differs too is the gnex only hot on the top part near camera.. not the battery or the bottom part.. while the 4s is the whole thing.. i'd rather have just the top part... heat on battery 100% bad
I rather no heat around the ear piece, it makes my phone calls so much unpleasant. I still don feel any heat on the 4s, unless i game/using 3g for a LONG period.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Feb 28 2012, 01:20 AM)
Oyy, trolling ar? lol

Never had chance to use iPhone4, so I can't comment on this.

Anyone want to lend me? At least I can bench it against my usual usage and see IF iPhone4 really doesn't heats up.

My usage very simple one, seldom play games also. My only complaints on heat would be either no signal and Android tried too hard to get a signal, seriously drained the battery. Or something wrong in the services that causes power drain. Requires reboot.
Not trolling, just saying the truth.

Added on February 28, 2012, 1:28 am
QUOTE(tabs @ Feb 28 2012, 01:25 AM)
haha.. i used both i mean iphone 4s now using this nexus. i feel that nexus is much more drain battery compare to iphone 4s i don't know is that my problem or battery issue. bcos i didn't play app but sms only and battery drain like water..

anyway overall, nexus i like is the link compare to iphone 4s. i feel iphone 4s can't received signal compare to nexus and nexus can't really stand battery compare to iphone 4s
Yes..GNex has very good signal strength and the HSPDA+ speed is blazing fast.

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Feb 28 2012, 01:28 AM
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 09:57 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Feb 28 2012, 02:14 AM)
1) get an iphone then

3) doubt so. apple will sue them

Added on February 28, 2012, 2:16 am

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=bluetooth+headphones

welcome to the world of internet cool.gif

Added on February 28, 2012, 2:19 ambtw, anyone still using stock ROM? i think im the only one here who still use that laugh.gif
I have both GNex and iPhone4 wink.gif
I dont like using headphones. This is an ignorant move same as using casing to cover the heat of the phone, like discussed before.

QUOTE(abundai @ Feb 28 2012, 02:49 AM)
Dont use viber.. use google hangout.. much better..
In fact, i just had group video hangout for more than 15 minute on wifi, my gnex barely reach 40degrees.. and if u normally monitor the temp, u'd know that is not hot at all..

Gnex using glass as cover? Not only u need to worry bout the front screen, but u also need to worry bout not cracking the back cover too? I'll pass...

So how was ur "gf" gnex temp goin? Wats the actual reading when u claim "hot" as really really "hot"? Im curious..

It is 43 degree if u want to know the exact temperature. But it is enough to cause my calls unpleasant. I cant just ask my mom, dad, sis, gf, friends to change to Google+ hangout. They rather not call me. LOL

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Feb 28 2012, 10:00 AM
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 10:12 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Feb 28 2012, 10:08 AM)
Aiyohh..ex-fruity is too well pampered if cannot even tahan the heat.    o_O
I am not starting a fight in this thread, i am saying the truth since a lot ppl brought up this heat issue. So watch ur words. I got my phone since early v2, i love this phone as much as you do.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 10:27 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Feb 28 2012, 10:19 AM)
Then stop grumbling and live with it. You already know there's nothing you can do to eliminate the heat, why bring it up and start comparing here and there. I got both GNote and SGSII and the heat is worst than GNex but i never complain about it. You're lucky owning GNex rather than SGSII  :-)

AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 11:04 AM

2,955 posts

I understand some ppl likes to justify the item they bought. You bought A ofcoz u like A, u bought B ofcoz u like B and try to defend them in any ways. I am sorry if I brought up "iphone" and started the flaming in this thread.
AlphaBeta
post Feb 28 2012, 11:09 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Feb 28 2012, 11:07 AM)
Got my BLN blinking green when WhatsApp messages came in. I feel so happy, finally a phone with BLN, a multi coloured one.

What would it be like if I got other apps that utilises the BLN as well? Blinks like disco lights? laugh.gif
It changes the softkeys colours?

0.0196sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:50 AM