asellus
post Sep 24 2007, 02:20 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Sep 24 2007, 12:48 PM)
If anyone reading this, here's my problem:

Currently using modem dsl500T and frequently modem need resync but it won't disconnect. It mostly happend at night. The resync sometime might take up to 15minutes.

Snr Margin: DownStream=6, UpStream = 16
Attenuation: Down=58  Up = 63
datarate: Down = 1536, Up = 512

FYI, the telephone line already re-layout by telekom recently (from telekom pillar to my roof). I know you guys see the figure i mention will surely say my house phoneline problem but i even tried directly connect to the telekom main line---> personally plug a new cable from my roof direct to my modem without going through phone. It give same snr/attenuation value.
I called up streamyx and they say i have no disconnection and cannot log call. I think this is becoz my modem resync (but not disconnect --> no ip change) and they see as no problem.

So, what can i do? Do you guys think i should screenshot my modem line status and email them? Any advice will much appreciated.
I have same problem as you, the only difference is that everytime the modem resync, I will lost connection and have to renew IP. This is what I do to restore my connection back. Documentation is important because with it, you can use MCMC to force Telekom to REALLY FIX your problem.

First, you make a report at https://tmbill.tm.net.my/iCoMSWeb/external/CreateCaseServlet - make sure you attach the screenshots of your SNR margins with the report. Make sure that you explained in that report that you have done all those 'neccesary' things such as plugging directly to wall socket, not using splitter, using manual dialer etc. this is important. Then jot down the report number.

Everyday, make a screenshot of your SNR ratio and keep it for MCMC documentation.

After a few days, call the hotline and ask for the status for your report number. The operator should be able to tell you what they have done. They may ask whether you have done all the things in their manual, and reply that you have done so. The operator may or may not create a new report number as they passed the issue to the ground technicians.

From my experience, things that they do includes resetting the port, going to the pole near your house or replace the 'pair' at your port. Make sure you check your status every few days to get the latest info. If your case runs like mine, you may get few more report numbers, I got 5 more in my case. Log all the report numbers you have got.

After a month or so and your problem is still not solved, it is time for you to get a rebate for all your problems. Below is a report I have made....

After that, download the complaint form from the MCMC website, fill it and e-mail/fax it alongside with the copy of request for rebate to MCMC. In my case, I've done both faxing and e-mailing it, just to be sure.

In my case and to their credit, within 24 hours, TMNet did contact me and replied that my request for rebate is approved, and it is an indefinite rebate at that. MCMC also e-mailed me to acknowledge the receipt of the complaint. But as I would rather prefer paying full price for a Streamyx connection that does not blink every time it rains or at night than paying half-price for an unstable connection, I still made calls to the hotline.

A few days later, TMNet Rapid Response Team e-mailed me that they have received the MCMC complaint form and told me that they will try to solve my problem as soon as possible. The very next day, a big contingent of Telekom technicians comes to my housing estate and simply rips out all the cabling there and replace it with new ones. For 2 days all the residents there (and also me) do not have telephone/Internet access. But after the service is restored, my Streamyx service is now much better before the problem started. Now my modem sync with the DSLAM at 2048 down/ 512 upload with 30dB local SNR while the attenuation is a crazy value of 0.5dB only. Before this, my values is almost exactly like yours.

Now I have just finished e-mailing TMNet to stop extending my rebate past September 2007 bill. So you have to be very persistent in trying to get this problem solved.

This post has been edited by asellus: Sep 25 2007, 02:13 AM
asellus
post Sep 30 2007, 01:15 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

More attached images:-

This post has been edited by asellus: Oct 1 2007, 12:59 AM
asellus
post Oct 10 2007, 04:49 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(sizune @ Oct 8 2007, 12:04 AM)
i'm using the free modem given by streamyx.. having frequent disconnection also..but the DSL and Data light is still ON just the browser not responding, cant sign in msn and cant even open yahoo.com = =

by the way im not using vista, it's XP
That is a problem outside your ability to solve. Just make a report to TMNet about the SNR loss.
asellus
post Oct 14 2007, 06:11 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(angelicious @ Oct 14 2007, 04:28 AM)
Modem Status

Connection Status    Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)    512
Ds Rate (Kbps)    1024
US Margin    18
DS Margin    15
Trained Modulation    ADSL_G.dmt
LOS Errors    0
DS Line Attenuation    57
US Line Attenuation    31
Peak Cell Rate    1207 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast    424
CRC Tx Fast    35
CRC Rx Interleaved    0
CRC Tx Interleaved    0
Path Mode    Fast Path
DSL Statistics

Near End F4 Loop Back Count    0
Near End F5 Loop Back Count    0

How's my SNR margins and Line Attenuation? I'm getting frequent disruption on connection, especially on rainy days and in the evening around 4pm - 5pm. I use a splitter.
The DS margin is borderline case. May have problems in rainy cases.
asellus
post Oct 15 2007, 06:10 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(angelicious @ Oct 14 2007, 08:01 PM)
Oh yes, the frequent disruption on rainy days. Is there any way to fix it?
More often than not, there's nothing you can do. Calling TMNet is the solution, tell them you have SNR loss problem.

Try checking for parallel phone lines in your house, and try connecting directly to wall ,socket.
asellus
post Oct 16 2007, 04:11 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(angelicious @ Oct 16 2007, 02:51 PM)
Calling TMNet is futile. Been calling them for 2 years plus, any difference? Nope. If there's a difference, we won't be posting here anymore. Just recently, the CSO hung up on my bf. Heh, so much for "customer service".

Besides that, telling them "I have SNR loss problem", most prolly I'm the one who has to explain lotsa stuff to them. Those CSO have the same excuse "I'm not responsible for so and so.." Been there, done that, not just once but many times.

I've tried connecting with and without spliter, and it's the same old result, read as frequent disconnection on rainy days.
I think e-mailing them is better if you have problems explaining, make sure some screen shots of the SNR values are included.
asellus
post Oct 19 2007, 07:48 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 18 2007, 06:00 PM)
Modem Status

Link Status  Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)  512
Ds Rate (Kbps)  1536
US Margin  23
DS Margin  24
Modulation  MMODE
LOS Errors  0
DS Line Attenuation  44
US Line Attenuation  47
Path Mode  Fast Path
DSL Statistics

hmm guys can help me check if everything is ok?? im facing very frequent timeouts, the DS line att. seems ok, but US is abit high i think?
Your values are OK, thus your problem may lies with TMNet connectivity.

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Oct 18 2007, 08:53 PM)
same i am in KK... your location? i complained once becuz of miscap and they rectified it. i also got complain about the snr but when i show the fella my router printout, he duno what is snr and what is wrong... so he only solve the miscap issue, lodge a report for me, gimme my number and they do not shit about the snr....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I think you should call 100/130889515 and ask for updates of your case.
asellus
post Oct 21 2007, 10:35 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Oct 21 2007, 02:08 PM)
if snr margin is low and ask Telekom come to change the cable,will they charge us any fee?
In my case they did not, YMMV.
asellus
post Oct 24 2007, 07:14 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(sizune @ Oct 23 2007, 12:13 AM)
hi..i'm having problem opening my modem page..
originally i set my modem to pppoe mode and router to dynamic ip mode. but i having frequent disconnection.. so i change the modem to bridged mode and router to pppoe mode.. but end up cannot open my modem page... i can open both at first but after change their mode i cant open the modem one.. but i still can open my router page.
my modem page is 192.168.1.1
my router page is 192.168.2.1
my DHCP is 192.168.2.100 to 192.168.2.199
anyone know how to solve this? i wanna see my SNR value.. thanks in advance biggrin.gif

Added on October 23, 2007, 12:17 amor anyone know to to check SNR value through router? my router brand is Aztech WL830RT4 and my modem is DB102 (merdeka bash free modem)
You can't check your SNR thorugh router, in most cases. Have to connect directly to modem.
asellus
post Oct 24 2007, 10:15 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(sizune @ Oct 24 2007, 09:10 PM)
hrmm... ok... by the way do you know what is DHCP relay and DHCP server? i hav this option on my modem and it's ON for DHCP relay. should i off it? coz my DHCP was on router..
DHCP relay will take an IP from another DHCP server in the network and assign it on your computer NIC.
DHCP server means that your modem is the DHCP server and it will assign an IP to your computer NIC.

If you connect your modem to your router via WAN, you do not have to do anything especially if your router is the one that dials.
asellus
post Oct 28 2007, 04:08 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ditesh @ Oct 25 2007, 12:14 AM)
Sorry if this is being posted in the wrong forum (I'm thinking my problem is line based instead of config based because the configuration has not changed in over a year).

I started having high packet losses (~25%) on my Streamyx connection (Aztech DSL208U modem connected directly to my Linux boxen) last Friday. It went down to 1% by Monday earlier this week but now its back to 30% packet losses.

Loaded up the modem on my Windows boxen to get the relevant diagnostic output (the linux ueagle-atm driver didn't provide the diagnostic information):

i) Margin upstream: 18 (doesn't seem to change)
ii) Margin downstream: 25 (doesn't seem to change)
iii) Attenuation: 0 (doesn't seem to change)
iv) DSL Frame counts: Upstream OK: xxx, Downstream OK: yyy, Upstream Error: 69 (xxx and yyy increase over time but Upstream Error never changes)

Brought the modem over to a friend's place and the packets loss is 16/10000 packets (which is certainly much better then the 30% packets losses I'm getting at my place).

I did a diagnostic test with the Windows utility that came along with the modem and it reports that:

i) Interface Text Configuration OK
ii) Modem Test Configuration (expected DSL mode: G.DMT, Data mode timeout: 60, VPI: 0, VCI: 35) OK
iii) Line Test configuration (OAM_VPI: 0, OAM_VCI:32, Number of cells to send: 5, OAM_LOOPBACK_TYPE: F5E2E): Failed with error "CO modem did not respond to OAM cells from RT modem; Possible causes: (1) The set of OAM VPI/VCI does not match the ones at the CO side (2) OAM LookBack type is no the proper type)
iv) Network test configuration (VPI: 0, VCI: 32, Expected driver type: WAN, Expected Encapsulation: Bridge_LLC): OK

So the questions are:

a) what's the problem?
b) why is the Line Test failing?
c) what are OAM cells and is the OAM_VPI and OAM_VCI values significant in the scheme of things?
d) "CO modem did not respond to OAM cells from RT modem" - what does this mean?
e) is the modem going to modem heaven? Or is it a Telekom/TMnet problem?

It would help if folk could help me, so that I can accordingly follow up with Telekom/TMnet if necessary. And if the problem is something non-obvious, I'd blog it so that others who have this problem can fix their problem accordingly smile.gif

Thanks in advance.
Set the OAM_VCI to 35, that's the correct value.

Added on October 28, 2007, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(freeman85 @ Oct 28 2007, 12:57 PM)
guys i check my modem status today it become like this

Modem Status
Connection Status     Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)     512
Ds Rate (Kbps)     2048
US Margin     21
DS Margin     2147483642
Trained Modulation     ADSL_G.dmt
LOS Errors     7
DS Line Attenuation     12
US Line Attenuation     4

last time i check on 16/10/2007

Connection Status     Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)     512
Ds Rate (Kbps)     2048
US Margin     22
DS Margin     31
Trained Modulation     ADSL_G.dmt
LOS Errors     0
DS Line Attenuation     10
US Line Attenuation     4

using modem aztech 605ew

anyone know why my ds margin like that
or my modem got problem
using latest firmware on aztech website
If refreshing the page or restarting the modem did not solve the problem, I guess it will be a firmware problem. Anyway, I do not think you have SNR loss problem if the line attenuation figures is taken into account.

Added on October 28, 2007, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(jason5191 @ Oct 26 2007, 06:49 PM)
help~~~~i've been facing frequent disconnections for few years already since i applied streamyx until now......i've been calling the tm technicians and they came to check but didnt find anything wrong. i oso called telekom came to change the copper wire but the problem still exist...
i've tried manual connection and connect the line directly without splitter oso.
been changing for more than 5 modems since the day i started using streamyx.

after all the things i've tried the SNR still seems very bad....what should i do now ?
I think the only thing you can do is to make a SNR loss report to TMNet. Not via the useless hotline but via online report at https://tmbill.tm.net.my/iCoMSWeb/external/CreateCaseServlet

Make sure you put those screenshots together with the report.

This post has been edited by asellus: Oct 28 2007, 04:13 PM
asellus
post Oct 28 2007, 09:02 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 28 2007, 08:11 PM)
this is the worst...anyone can help? > <

[attachmentid=319424]
I think there's not the fault of your side. Time to call the hotline I think.
asellus
post Oct 28 2007, 10:26 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ditesh @ Oct 28 2007, 10:14 PM)
Made an official complaint to TMnet and all is good now. I never did touch the OAM_VCI value so I doubt that's the problem. VPI/VCI was set correctly. What's OAM_VCI anyway?
I think it is the VCI value, probably it uses 32 when testing, that's why it did not pass the test.
asellus
post Nov 18 2007, 01:33 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 18 2007, 10:41 AM)
hi...
my snr margin is ok, around 25~31. but the line attenuation is bad which is 33. the problem is, my connection time cannot stand more than 24hours, it mean, it will disconnect at least 1 time per day.I called to 100 for many times and at last they sent technician come to my house for checking. they said my phone line quite old and need to re-wiring, but not under their job, so they give me a number (not under TM, i think is private bussiness) and asked me call it in order to change the phone line wire. my question is, does it really solve my problem after re-wiring?
Line attenuation at 33 is not that bad I think.

For rewiring, I think unless it is done from the exchange to your house, probably will not make much difference. If only your house wiring are replaced but the ones outside is not, things will not really change a lot.
asellus
post Nov 19 2007, 12:02 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 18 2007, 03:39 PM)
33 is not too bad, but i seen most of my friend, many of them is below 20, around 11~15 like that. their snr margin only around 30, the only diff. is the line attenuation, but then their connection can stand for a long period, 1 or 2 weeks w/o single disconnect. the technician said change the outside wire (above the house bumbung 1) to the inside house and my house is more than 20 yr old.
If that's the case, you can try changing the wires from the nearest pole to inside your house and see whether it will solve the problem. This will be trial-and-error as the problem can't be narrowed down yet. But with that figures you have, I think the problem lies way further upstream. Has the technician tried switching your port?
asellus
post Nov 19 2007, 12:33 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 19 2007, 11:14 AM)
which figure? what's wrong with my upstream?
SnR margin of 25-31dB.
Line Attenuation of 33dB.
These are good figures.

When I say upstream, it means somewhere far beyond your line, probably nearer the DSLAM/CO instead of your premise where the cause of your problems may lie.

asellus
post Nov 23 2007, 01:22 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 22 2007, 02:35 PM)
this one need tm people change one, right?
TM and not TMNet is the one who will change it.
asellus
post Nov 28 2007, 11:44 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 23 2007, 05:31 PM)
how do I tell them so that they will change for me?
Try calling the number TMNet technician have given to you.

QUOTE(cornelius_young @ Nov 26 2007, 11:40 AM)
Local Tx Power:
12.3 dB 
Remote Tx Power:
7.5 dB 
Local Line Atten.:
1.0 dB 
Remote Line Atten.:
0.0 dB 
Local SNR Margin:
40.0 dB 
Remote SNR Margin:
25.0 dB 
Self Test:
Passed 
DSL Standard:
T1.413 
Profile:
MII 
Tx Line Rate:
512 Kbps 
Rx Line Rate:
2048 Kbps 
Is this one OK?  Why the Remote Line Atten. is 0DB?
It is because your line is brand new. Your value is very much OK.

This post has been edited by asellus: Nov 28 2007, 11:45 PM
asellus
post Dec 2 2007, 03:13 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Dec 1 2007, 02:35 PM)
hello asellus,
can u please check my line.. smile.gif
how was it..?
[attachmentid=352152]
thanks..  thumbup.gif
Your line is good. Any slowdown should be caused by TMNet itself, not because you have a poor line.
asellus
post Dec 2 2007, 09:59 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(wayn3san @ Dec 2 2007, 07:08 PM)
Sep  8 13:01:35 2002:  get 0x0 at Addr 0xA30085B0
why my system log keep on come out this one?
wats the meaning?
edit:
hows this?
i experienced frequent DC`s! which is damn iratating sad.gif
About the system log, I dunno.

But your line is bad, can't even sync to at least 1MB. What is your package?

0.0431sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:02 PM