Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 18 2013, 02:48 PM) 6 days 5 night. 1400 is for the motel rent, the rest is for food, transport, night activity, drinking etc etc. i don't really visit those tourist area but focus more towards rural area like tuen mun, wai chuen village, partly because my local friend had a car, so travelling is easy for me. but just prepare to walk hell alot, i leg is sore during the entire trip. if got time, take the mini bus to stanley, the sea view is fantatics and very nice to just sit at the bench relax i plan to go there , thx for reminding me....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 18 2013, 02:48 PM) 6 days 5 night. 1400 is for the motel rent, the rest is for food, transport, night activity, drinking etc etc. i don't really visit those tourist area but focus more towards rural area like tuen mun, wai chuen village, partly because my local friend had a car, so travelling is easy for me. but just prepare to walk hell alot, i leg is sore during the entire trip. if got time, take the mini bus to stanley, the sea view is fantatics and very nice to just sit at the bench relax well...i bring along about 18k hkd for everything ...3k for hostel ( 8days 7night) , 1k for entrance tix , and remaining for foods snack etc...pocket money as well
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 03:05 PM) Problem with food and travelling, I don't eat much when travelling. u will easily hungry ,when u walk a lot...
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Clareen @ Apr 18 2013, 03:01 PM) Hmmm 8k minus 1.4k for motel.. means.. Food transportation is around 6.6k.. for 6 days means average one day spend 1k KHD.. hmm your motel seem cheap  why i can't found it  i book my hotel for 8 days 7 nights already cost me 3060 HKD  thats the cheapest i found some more ;( hmmm you have local friend oh.. i'm going travel solo no friend over there.. so i should had budget more?  u will depend heavily on MTR , which is very cheap for each journey.... 4-10hkd ? anyway , i budget 100HKD for MTR etc daily.... unused budget will carry forward to the other days This post has been edited by steventan85: Apr 18 2013, 03:12 PM
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Apr 18 2013, 03:18 PM) Don't worry that much @Clareen i exchange HKD5000 enough to last me 7 days 6 nights (not including accommodation). Each with their preference and budget. If you plan to shop more, they accept credit card for major store. And from it I spend like HKD1500 on shopping. only spend 1500HKD ? i alredi spend 400+HKD juz on groupon hk.....T.T
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 18 2013, 03:18 PM) there are many free aps on smart phone that allow you to simulate your route and tell you how much it will cost.  i downloaded MTR apps only...
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 18 2013, 03:30 PM) i recharge my octopus card like 300HKD can last me the entire 6 days journey including buying things from 7-11. another must try thing is the tram. try to take the tram at night due to less people and try to sit through out the entire journey till you reach the depot. The view of the city, the daily life of people, the tall building... something that i can't never experience in KL. its rechargeable at 7-11 as well right ? guess wont recharge too much when reach .... did u buy the personalise octopus card? with lao fu zi face ... LOL
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(Clareen @ Apr 18 2013, 03:43 PM) Haha i should have learn like you everyday looking at groupon hk see have any nice deal over there for this coming june anot  there are plenty of good deal at groupon hk ...somemore collection is easy as its opposite Times Square only...big shop....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(Clareen @ Apr 18 2013, 03:56 PM) i found this http://www.groupon.hk/deals/hong-kong/Pork...i-Kee/716917763 seem like a super good deal and some more valid until july  i bought 4 alredi ...LOL...
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:00 PM) That one's like buying cash voucher? yes , juz redeem anything <50HKD..or top up a bit ....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:12 PM) Hi there, I was wondering if it is remotely possible to spend 600 HKD per day for 2 people just to eat and for travel? Hotel and flight are separately paid for and not included in the 600 HKD. We will not be visiting restaurants as we would really like to try char chan tengs and dai pai dong in Hong Kong to experience what local people eat. However, we may eat from 3 meals a day to probably 5 or 6 (snacks) Most likely we will be staying in a Mongkok hotel called Cosmo as staying there for 4 nights is like RM1468. Can check it out here: http://www.cosmomongkok.com.hk/en/home/We will definitely visit: 1. Disneyland 2. Ocean Park 3. Victoria Peak 4. Ngong Ping 360 I was wondering if there are any places in Malaysia or Hong Kong which we can pre-buy the tickets and at a cheap price so we don't have to queue up? Thanks! its possible .. why not get a cheaper hotel and spend more on food ? my hostel around RM1100 for 7night only....LOL.... personal preference ..and my hostel sell entrance tix about same price with Ding Ding travel.... LOL
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:17 PM) Sweet!!! What's the name of your hotel? Maybe I can take a look? Thanks!!! i did consider about Cosmo hotel , but end up i get a cheaper hostel...its not hotel....opposite Tsim Tsa Tsui MTR...very convenient... http://www.goldencrownhk.com/its a hostel.. highly recommended by return customer...
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:11 PM) u need to call to book.... its cheap deal also...near to my hostel as well....5mins ....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:24 PM) WOW!!! Big difference in price!!! I'm interested about the couple's room. Thanks for the tip! Will keep that in mind  book earlier if interested..only pay 300HKD as deposit and the rest by cash upon reaching there....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:24 PM) @eric, I advise you to look for a decent hotel if you are going with your wife/girlfriend la. You don't want your partner to live in a motel that's too crowded/shaddy place. What's your affordable range of hotel price per night? personal preference lo.... i got a lot of good comments frm frends , couples etc ... plus point , MTR opposite... very near....<5mins walk.... downstair got famous kopitiam... chui wah .... location very nice...Nathan Road got a lot of nice food shop , and u can loiter around there ...near to Avenue of Star , Victoria Harbour etc ...check google maps
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:27 PM) Don't know. The budget for the whole entire trip is like RM6000 excluding shopping for 5 days 4 nights. Do-able? RM6000 ? its definitely enuf la.. 8days 7night , i also prepare about 6-7k
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:31 PM) yes , everything exclude flight tix of course.... RM7k , about 17,500 HKD ....
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:32 PM) Include air flight tickets? Here's my cost for hotel and flights Flight ticket for 2 - RM720 Hotel stay for 2 (6 days, 5 nights) - RM1.3k As for food, I'm trying to calculate the base cost now. and might take extra HKD2-3k per person as pocket money to there. my pocket money will be the excess from 600HKD meal budget ... but i do prepare about 1000HKD / person extra also... will use credit card for shopping...cash for roadside use...LOL
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Apr 18 2013, 04:34 PM) WHOA!!! Nice price for flight tickets. Last I checked like 2 days ago, Air Asia with like luggage and seat arrangements charges are like RM1200 for 2 people. What hotel/hostel did you stay at? its about the price i booked 1yr ago...  ...RM980 juz for tix for 2 ppl...exclude luggage + food etc
steventan85
Apr 18 2013, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:32 PM) Include air flight tickets? Here's my cost for hotel and flights Flight ticket for 2 - RM720 Hotel stay for 2 (6 days, 5 nights) - RM1.3k As for food, I'm trying to calculate the base cost now. and might take extra HKD2-3k per person as pocket money to there. dont need bring so much cash la...dangerous ....