Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

cynnz
post Sep 12 2012, 04:24 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Sep 12 2012, 03:27 PM)
hey guys

im looking to stay in Hong kong with my girlfriend and her mum for a couple of days. Just got a few questions to ask.

Will we have any problems with 3 person staying in a room?

Any recommended hotels (budget 1000hkd a night max)? Which area is the best to stay in?

Added on September 12, 2012, 3:28 pmhey guys

im looking to stay in Hong kong with my girlfriend and her mum for a couple of days. Just got a few questions to ask.

Will we have any problems with 3 person staying in a room?

Any recommended hotels (budget 1000hkd a night max)? Which area is the best to stay in?
since 3 persons going together, sure no problem for 3 persons to stay in one room as long as you get the 3-bed room... but hk hotel size are really small yea... my recent trip i stay at Best Hotel at jordan...they have 3 bed - room... 2 of us staying in that room..the extra bed is to put our shopping things biggrin.gif you can try to view...but really super small lar the room... its like around less than hkd500 per night only..but its not a fancy nice & big hotel ya...which area to stay is depends on which area you prefer..i personally think that jordan or mongkok is not bad...tst also ok... smile.gif
cynnz
post Sep 26 2012, 12:02 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 25 2012, 09:28 PM)
thanks! what if i am not interested in shopping? more interested in sight seeing  blush.gif  blush.gif  seems like mongkok is not a must
if u dont want to shopping at all, i think the peak, avenue of star, victoria harbour, big buddha (NP 360), take the harbour cruise to watch symphony of light, .. not forgetting disneyland (if you want, coz its kinda small compare to other countries), and also ocean park biggrin.gif

mong kok is not only for shopping, for foods also not bad... biggrin.gif
cynnz
post Oct 4 2012, 06:52 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 4 2012, 11:22 AM)
hi guys, i will be travelling solo to macau + hk this 24-29oct
mind to fill up my itinerary? and give some insight... thanx
[i didnt hv any idea where & wat to do most of the time, haha]

24 (wed)
11am macau airport, [where to drop my baggage? venetian? galaxy? grand waldo?] you can actually go drop your luggage directly to the hotel that you stay...normally they will keep your lugagge if you reach before the check in time or before the room is ready
12pm lunch near @The Ruins of St. Paul's
13pm walk around @The Ruins of St. Paul's + museum
15-17pm food hunting> chu pa pau + poh king tan tat + tan nai dan nai you can try in the noon also..not so heavy
18pm back to casino
19pm food hunting african chicken
20pm enjoy casino show...[which casino? what show?]
22pm Grand Waldo Hotel + clean up, relax & crash @spa for 12hours

25 (thu)
9am breakfast at Grand Waldo spa restaurant
10am-13pm - [please fill up here!!] walk around shopping around...or just leave to HK earlier than your plan
13pm ferry to hong kong
14pm check in mongkok
15pm buy ticket for oceanpark, peak, wax house, tram, disneyland [where cheap?] try ding ding in mongkok
16pm walk around shopping center at mongkok, [recommend please!] can go to ladies market, fa yuen street, etc
20pm tsim sha shui lighting show if you are watching the symphony of light & would like to take a photo or video, try to go earlier to get a nice spot
21pm mongkok night street market [where?] fa yuen street and ladies street open till quite late

26 (fri)
10am ocean park
17pm peak + tram
20pm wax house
22pm back to mongko

27 (sat) [should i swap sat<->sun?] i personally think that sat & sun will be both packed
10am disneyland [will it be too many ppl on this day?]
22pm back to mongkok

28 (sun) [need help to fill in the details]
10am giant buddha statue after NP360 you can probably drop by Citigate since its at the same place..look for some sales off season items
15pm causeway shopping
20pm lan kuai fong

29 (mon)
10am final round shopping [off season sales, any place recommend?] if you went Citigate on the same day as NP360, you probably can switch causeway bay to today
15pm airport
17pm bye2 hk

i think i will have a lot of spare time, please recommend food+shopping place too

i think harbour city and time square is the best place is wanna buy branded..off season you can go to Citigate...

if my itinerary is waste of time or not worth of it, please strike it out...
you may refer to blue answer biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cynnz: Oct 4 2012, 06:52 PM
cynnz
post Oct 4 2012, 09:57 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 4 2012, 09:52 PM)
just found out citigate is the same place at NP360 & disney & airport...
and there is locker to rent for our convenient too.

i dont think i will cut short my disney night show for citigate,
headache...
1) goto citigate after NP360
2) or rent locker on final day, then shop (save time and transportation cost)
hmm.gif mayb i can save some time on this part and visit other place?

ohh can i do the whole NP360+citigate on my last day?? my flight is on 17:45
yea...there is locker for rent..quite cheap too..cant remember how much though...and yes you can actually go NP360 & citigate on the last day...try to go earlier to citigate so you will have enough time to shop at citigate..u will never know if there is anything to buy coz sometimes when i go there, totally nothing to buy..nothing ngam...it depends on season smile.gif
cynnz
post Oct 4 2012, 10:17 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 4 2012, 10:03 PM)
haha men cloth is just shirt/polo-t, pant/jeans...
if u said nothing to buy, i cant comment...
but if the price is cheap(for guys)... we will jus grab it without second look hehe
---
my oni concern NP360 is really big, i afraid i cant finish it... going to take crystal cable car too
during last year end of oct - mid of nov i was there...that time many things to buy no matter for guys or for girls..i sapu a lot of RL polo tees...but most of the shops (besides RL)...most of them selling winter clothes coz end of the year, hence nothing much to grab...but the things are really nice and worthy!!!!

then during my trip this year end of june to beginning of july..nothing much (or shall i say nothing nice) for me to grab...RL still selling the same polo which i bought during oct - nov 2011 with the same designs, same colours & same price!! rclxub.gif lacoste nothing nice too that time... even burberry having like 40% sales..those items are like past past past seasons....

NP 360 is not "that" big..i remember went there bout 9-10am....and came down to citigate bout 12.30 - 1pm.... took crystal cable car too biggrin.gif
cynnz
post Oct 4 2012, 11:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 4 2012, 10:30 PM)
past past seasons sweat.gif
i tot their past season during autumns is summer cloth  blush.gif 
[i read somewhere, LV past season bag got BURNED]
---
ok rite now im seriously consider todo NP360+citigate on my last day
need to know where can i spent the extra 1day
if you are shopping kind of person i think the extra one day can put it for either markets aronud fa yuen or ladies market...or harbour city, time square etc...

if you are sight seeing kinda person...then hm... im not so sure coz i go there just for shopping..not much of sight seeing..but can try to go to ap lei chau take a look..nice view (my opinion)...hehe
cynnz
post Oct 13 2012, 01:10 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 13 2012, 11:44 AM)
hmmmm. how far is tsim sha tsui to central station ar? thinking which route could save me more time
TST MTR to Central MTR is just 1 station. journey is bout 2 mins only..super fast smile.gif
cynnz
post Oct 29 2012, 11:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 29 2012, 11:07 PM)
July to August
as far as i know...the sales starts end of june.. biggrin.gif
cynnz
post Nov 9 2012, 07:17 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Nov 9 2012, 07:02 PM)
issit possible to go to ocean park n disneyland in a day??
or shud i go one day each.. i cant decide  rclxub.gif
and where's dingding??  blush.gif
you cant go to ocean park & disneyland in a day...both are at different places...and disneyland 1 day is consider just nice...coz its not big, but i dont think u can finish it in half day though..
cynnz
post Nov 11 2012, 02:23 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 10 2012, 01:40 AM)
Hahaha.. I did it around half day..

Morning went citygate then go Disney around 2pm.. Left 7:30, raining so can't stay for firework which might be cancelled if continue to pour.

3:00pm is the parade then soon after we just play and visit those places we want. 60% of rides and attractions are very kiddy.. So skipped a lot lol.

Added on November 10, 2012, 1:42 am

Use ur smartphone install app to do translation.

Or the best and most traditional, stand up look at others around then use finger point!
u mean both ocean park & disneyland on the same day?? or citygate & disney on the same day?

i did citygate & disney on the same day...but dont think its possible for oceanpark & disnetland on the same day smile.gif
cynnz
post Nov 12 2012, 12:07 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 11 2012, 11:35 PM)
Sorry to misled.

What I mean is that don't have to spend full day in Disney.

U still can do something in the morning then go over around 1pm.
hahah yea...that time i went citygate in the morning, and only go to disneyland after lunch too...LOL...
cynnz
post Nov 17 2012, 02:36 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(straw @ Nov 17 2012, 11:43 AM)
Hi, any1 here have booked hotel, one room but 3ppls stay? Will they actually check?

Email-ed them, mostly they recommand family type room which is average per nite +-hkd2500. My budget RM2K for 4nites.

Deluxe type they replied only can stay 2ppls.

there are some hostel or motel which have 3 person room ... last time stayed at Best Hotel (Jordan)... 3 person's room...i think 7 nights for hkd4000...so you do the math smile.gif hehe... unless you are looking for high end hotel then different lar ..
cynnz
post Nov 23 2012, 11:59 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(straw @ Nov 23 2012, 03:50 PM)
okok will check it out.

Dragon Hotel, Golden Wave Hotel, Golden Crown Hotel ...

Still have 6 months to go ... any idea June weather hot like malaysia?

Again want to ask Novotel Nanthan Road Hotel, any1 stay there b4?
Golden wave not bad smile.gif friendly & clean & cheap rclxms.gif

yes, june's weather in hk is hotter than malaysia..super hot sweat.gif

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 23 2012, 05:56 PM)
argh! still cant decide my itinerary la guys
Staying at Kimberley Hotel near nathan road

Sunday - I  arrive around 5 pm ( other 2 arrive 12 pm what can they do while waiting for me? )

mongkok + ladies temple?

Monday - shopping? branded and non branded yum cha? char chan teng? + Buddha temple + temple street

Tues - the peak + arena of stars + LKF AND soho?

Wed - Go to Macau and overnight - which ferry ride? worth to use the higher end? =) ( what should we do here? ) find egg tart?

Thurs - Disneyland + ?

Friday - depart 8 am

Im interested with  stanley street, sai kung, yum cha, drinks =)

ps: we are all banana so yea hehe..
sunday - if your friends wanna wait for you then check in together, they can go to Citigate to shopping first while waiting for you..its very near & have place to keep lugagge smile.gif

monday - branded can go to central or tst (harbour city) or causeway bay (time square)...non branded can go to ladies market, fa yuen street smile.gif temple street can do it at night too... the buddha temple do you mean the Ngong Ping big buddha.? or wong tai sin temple?

tues - arena of star is at kowloon island, while the peak is at central..you can go to arena of star then the peak then lkf smile.gif

wed - if you really overnight at macau on this day then next day sure no time for disneyland..just the normal ferry ride is good enough but beware of high waves smile.gif in macau can visit all the casinos, egg tart, pork bun, portugese foods etc

thurs - perhaps switch disneyland to another day before macau? smile.gif can go disneyland on the same day with citigate and NP360 smile.gif)

if you love to drink,. tst & lkf i think is nice hehehe...sai kung i havent been there..stanley street also nice hehe...
cynnz
post Nov 24 2012, 10:53 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 24 2012, 09:21 PM)
\\ notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif 
ur da bom!

i think they need to wait for me? cause booking under my name and credit card?

place to keep luggage? like locker?  citigate near to kimberly hotel/nathan road or near to airport?
just trying to fit all in one day where we dont have to go all the way from north to south, save time if all in one place/day

how about disneyland tuesday? then macau wednesday, thursday go buddha , arena stars the peak?

someone told me, the egg tart from margaret something is famous in macau?

and yum cha suggestions? rolleyes.gif

1 more week! excited laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa wub.gif 

since you say. branded shopping is same place with the peak then should combine right?
hehe since they will wait for you then i think its better they proceed to citigate once arrive at airport, its very near...and yes citigate have a place to keep luggage (Huge lockers) if not mistaken only hkd10? cant remember clearly about the price...

citigate is not near to nathan road..its near to airport, and near to big buddha & disneyland...since u r only arriving at 5pm, and ur friends have to wait for you to check in hotel, i think the best way is to get them to hang around & shopping in citigate while waiting for you..then once you arrive you shall meet them there (or they come back airport to meet you then go to hotel together)...you wouldnt have time for big buddha & disneyland on this day eventhough both are very near to airport...

perhaps next day you can proceed to big buddha early morning, once done can drop by citigate for some shopping (if you all still wanna shop) or maybe just for lunch, then direct to disneyland...then at night you will back to hotel at jordan right, can drop by temple street...

then third day to macau...macau you can try to catch the earliest ferry so tht you dont waste your time hehe..yes tarts from margaret is something famous..can try andrew's tarts too..in venetian smile.gif yum cha ermm actually there is quite a lot of places to yam cha but do try out "yi sun" for their "dun nai" hehehe...

thursday perhaps can go to shopping..erm depends you girls wanna shop for branded or market..maybe can go to mongkok for fa yuen street & ladies street then followed by TST - harbour city...then evening can proceed to arena of stars (near to harbour city) then go to The peak. after the peak you can straight go to LKF smile.gif but bear in mind if you shop alot you might have to carry a lot of thigns...so you need to make some amendments on how you girls gonna carry hehe...or, if dont want to go fa yuen street & ladies street then maybe can go to harbour city in the morning then direct to central for shopping, then causeway bay for timesquare etc...then the peak then lkf... area of stars can put it on other day smile.gif
cynnz
post Nov 25 2012, 02:18 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(deff @ Nov 25 2012, 01:32 PM)
hi all, im 1st time go hk, how many days shud i book for the flight ticket? thx:)
it depends on what you plan to do in hk..only sight seeing? or shopping? or?? biggrin.gif
cynnz
post Nov 25 2012, 09:58 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 25 2012, 06:47 PM)
notworthy.gif

thanks soooo much!!!!

sunday = friends - go to citigate while waiting for me ( rent locker )

i arrive 5 ish , go citigate to meet friends and check in kimberley hotel /nathan road

i have 3 octopus card ( borrowed from friend's friends bla bla ) but 1 card has and photo ID.. is this a problem?

I mean illegal to "borrow" someone's card?

so from citigate take train to kimberley hotel? or airport better?

night, eat dinner, go ladies temple and fa yuen street + supper at mongkok hawker style?
Tuesday - go big buddha ( is ngong ping? or ? ) then disneyland till 8pm ish right? got fireworks display then supper at mongkok again ar?? rolleyes.gif

Wednesday - get up early take ferry  go macau , chekc in venetian icon_rolleyes.gif  eat egg tart from margaret

yi sun? sorry banana..hehe doh.gif

def wanna try yum cha in hong kong/macau but my friend said something bout hard to find someone to speak english and have to order by ticking the chit sheet menu...cant just point point ?
thurs - go back hong kong check in kimberley again, TST, harbour city, arena of stars, the peak, LKF

SEEMS SO BUSY this day?

how does that sound? better ? if u guys think ok. that i'll set and find places to drink/eat those surbubs..

Added on November 25, 2012, 6:49 pmp:s ladies is cosmetic cheaper in HK or KL? particularly Bobbi Brown range, kate sommerville, skincare...hehe thanks
welcome dear..hehe just giving u some opinions..coz my previous trips are all girls shopping trips so i think maybe i can help out some lor tongue.gif there are many other sifus here in this thread biggrin.gif

from citigate you can take train to nathan road..im not sure if kimberley hotel is near to any mtr station or not, this one you might have to research on the hotel location..or else airport bus also can coz they have few stops along nathan road ...

octopus card i think shld be ok to use coz nobody will stand there to see when you scan the card at the mtr station hehehe ... but not so sure bout this though.. and yes maybe on the same night you can cover mongkok - ladies street & fa yuen street & dinner at dai pai dong (hawker style)...but sometimes we girls shopping quite slow so maybe you wont be able to walk the whole street...

tues - big buddha - yes its ngong ping 360..go early so u can save more time & do more other things, can breakfast at australia dairy..nice..go earlier so the queue wont be so long, right after that head to ngong ping 360..i think shld be done before lunch, then can lunch at citigate (and maybe a bit of quick shopping) then head to disneyland..if wait for firework then is 9pm (if i dont remember wrongly). after that can actually go to LKF if you want hehe or temple street / mongkok (if wanna do more market shopping)

wed - wake up early for macau, so nice staying in venetian hehe (how much per night)? basically i personally think macau have nothing much to shop lar..sight seeing lor..and maybe go to a-ma temple? then can try andrew lord stew at venetian (dont go too late coz by 8-ish pm will finish) hehe..noon can try the yi sun errm (actually hk also have)..its double skin steamed milk..i think its nice biggrin.gif

if cant read mandarin a bit hard coz normally those yam cha place they are very busy one, they wont slowly layan you and tell u what is this what is that..you might have to figure out..can speak cantonese? just tell them to introduce whats nice lor..thats the only choice but some shop will recommend those expensive things end up your bill is a boom (according to one of my fren who cant read mandarin).

thurs - by the time u back to hk maybe late morning d i guess..check in kimberly again, then can start tst shopping at harbour city etc..then middle depend what you girls wanna do coz i feel its like not enough time..u may wanna go to causeway bay and shop at timesquare too...by 8pm go watch the symphony of light at arena of stars, then proceed to the peak then LKF.. so i think maybe can skip causeway bay & central coz seems like no time smile.gif

its all just my opinion ya..hehehe
cynnz
post Nov 27 2012, 08:43 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 26 2012, 10:02 AM)
cry.gif seriously? of all the day i chose macau. but thanks for the heads up! will look into lord stow's
really a godsend la you. so helpful rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif

okay, great! sunday +monday + tuesday arrranged then!

wed - venetian  rolleyes.gif  3 of us so added extra bed, coitai city view, 300 aud ish?, didnt mind to spend cause 1 night only and how often do we go macau anyway!

sad that margaret shop is not open on wednesday..ish...

will look into that yi sun.

among 3 of us..only me can "sorta" speak cantonese. like SUPER banana Kuai mui wannabe lo.. icon_question.gif
I mean how do the western people go and yum cha then?
Dont mind paying expensive dishes as long nice la..but dont want want abalone suddeny doh.gif
i think the thursday bit packed? any of the activity can be swap to other days?

yea i understand cant plan perfect cause dont know how long we shop bla bla

stanley street is the one with the long escalator road junction right? which about is that? LKF?

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:03 amoh yes i will try the australian dairy co too.seems like very famous according to the sifus here
you arrived hk on sunday evening and going back from hk on thurs morning? thats really short trip hehe...and yes mon & tues consider well planned for you..on mon evening once you arrived & check in, i dont think u will have extra time to shopping unless street market which close late...and tues depends how long u girls gonna spend in disneyland, if not maybe can leave earlier lor biggrin.gif

by the way eventhough margarets is close on wednesday, since you are staying overnight, the next morning thursday you can have breakfast at margaret before you leave macau, they open quite early smile.gif

LKF is walking distance from MTR central station..hehe..the long escalator? do you mean mid-levels escalator? its at central smile.gif LKF you can hang out till late (3 of you can take cab to go back kowloon) or if dont want to take MTR, the last train is before 12.45am if i dont remember wrongly..

QUOTE(straw @ Nov 27 2012, 09:57 AM)
anyone here stay in golden wave hotel / mr.chong?

read b4 that they have new and old hostel? which one better? how is the condition for new and old? any pic to compare? thanks.
i have stayed there before.mr chong smile.gif i have not stayed the new one..i stayed at the old one like 1 year back...old one is not bad though..not sure bout the new one.
cynnz
post Nov 28 2012, 12:44 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Nov 28 2012, 12:38 AM)
well, my rough itinerary is here

sunday, reach HKIA around 1pm++
2pm check in hotel
3pm go down walk walk hunt food
4-6pm walk shopping mall and any streets that is interesting
7-8pm dinner
8-12am wax studio or pub or night activities

mon - 9am hunt food
10am start disneyland adventure till night 8pm (fireworks)

Tuesday - go see the big buddha or hunt nice food and shop

wed - ( Need help to suggest places to go/visit)

thurs- 8am hunt food
9am check out and walk around
10-11am back to HKIA
1pm flights

this is just my draft. Need to thoroughly study the HK map before i plan anything first. But i would really hope some forumers here to suggest nice restaurants and dining area. I really love to hunt delicious food! smile.gif
sunday wax studio + the peak. then LKF..

monday before disneyland can drop by citigate for a bit of shopping ..or bigg buddha before disneyland..coz its at the same place..just 1 station MTR.

tues - many other plans you can do..depends what you are interested in

foods wise - can roughly read through the previous forumers' suggestions. you will gain lots of suggestions from there biggrin.gif

which area are you staying at/?
cynnz
post Nov 28 2012, 06:25 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Nov 28 2012, 04:51 PM)
Hmmph.. I planning to go to Macau... It will take a day right?

Day 1
12.45 pm – reach HKIA
2 pm- check in hotel
3 pm-Lunch
4-6pm    Shopping
6-7pm dinner
7-10 pm  Madame Tussaud and the peak
10 pm lan kwai fang
Day 2
8am breakfast
10 am-9 pm  dinney land
Day 3
9 am breakfast
10 am -1pm The Big Buddha and Po Lin Monastery
1pm lunch
2pm-4pm  the ngong ping 360
6pm dinner
7-9 pm avenue of star and symphony of light
9-10 pm ladies street
Day 4
8 am – 6 pm  macau

what about this one?

Another question is, if i am getting octopus card, how much credit should i be credited?
day 3 big buddha can do it on day 2 before disneyland..coz it wont take u up to 3 hours there and both are at the same place..dont need to waste your time travelling here & there...ngong ping 360 is same as big buddha sweat.gif its the cable car which brings u up to the big buddha... symphony of light at avenue of stars max 1 hour is more than enough for you unless you wanna stay there and keep taking photos etc...

QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 28 2012, 06:09 PM)
arrive sunday evening going back Friday morning ( 8 am )

it's sunday we arrive and check in and go market shopping

torn between disneyland and ocean park...
i mean ppl say disneyland should go japan or usa.....ocean park only in Hk..

that's right! yay! i still can enjoy margaret's egg tart then!

and how convinient to get wifi/ wall socket to charge phone( iphone drain sooooooo very fast! cant imagine if i need to find info online even worse )

and i assume should get data pack in HK? any in airport?particular brand wub.gif
wow your friday morning flight really early lor hehe smile.gif i havent been to ocean park so i cant give comparison but yes the hk disneyland is really small hehehe...

im not really sure how easy you can get wifi or to charge phone..i bought 3g sim card everytime i go there hehe...so that i can online all the time & i have 3 spare battery for iphone with me so no worries bout empty battery biggrin.gif

not all telco have unlimited data plan..u can buy at 7-11..
cynnz
post Dec 16 2012, 01:07 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(kittyloverchia @ Dec 14 2012, 03:52 PM)
hi ppl..newbie here..anyone who has been to these markets before? would like to know if it's possible to walk from ladies' market to temple street market since they look so near to each other on the map thr..if it's not within walking distance, what public transport to take? a big THANKS in advance hehe! biggrin.gif
qiito.com/travelogue/10703-hong-kong-street-markets-lyrf
yes can walk..while walking you will passby many shops hence you wont feel its far...just bout 10 mins walk

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0552sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:44 AM