129 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

chrisw
post Oct 8 2012, 12:39 AM

Stay hungry, stay foolish
1,275 posts

I'll be going to HK this coming Friday & staying somewhere in HK Island to visit the fair held there..Is there any recommendation for some nice dining/eatery & shopping places?
zhugeliang2012
post Oct 8 2012, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 6 2012, 07:01 PM)
dont regret if u iphone5 from HK, u 'might' not be able to use Malaysia's LTE network... stuck with 3G

Added on October 6, 2012, 7:02 pmi think DSLR and lens will be cheap too
Planning to buy 1 DSLR for Hong Kong trip. Please recommend place to buy at Hong Kong since saying cheap in Hong Kong. Is the price different so much in Hong Kong and how about the warranty?
lucaswjk
post Oct 8 2012, 02:26 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(zhugeliang2012 @ Oct 8 2012, 09:10 AM)
Planning to buy 1 DSLR for Hong Kong trip. Please recommend place to buy at Hong Kong since saying cheap in Hong Kong. Is the price different so much in Hong Kong and how about the warranty?
asking where to buy dslr in hong kong is like asking where to buy dslr in lowyat rclxub.gif
---
btw im not expert in this thread... google is your frenz
Hong Kong Camera Gears Shopping Guide
Camera and Lens Street Price List for Hong Kong
---
Price > 20-30% less, 1lens if 3k... u get 1k cheaper
Warranty > R U prepare to buy 'Grey' camera/lens? try to look for international warranty if possible or if u know someone that can repair/service camera/lens, then go all the way to grey zone... hehe
---

---
Cloudx
post Oct 8 2012, 09:41 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Hi guys.. i'm going to Hong Kong with my wife on March next year for our honeymoon rclxm9.gif

Would like to know some advice on which hostel which is good and nearby all HK's attractions. Btw will be going there for 5 days.. 3 days will be in HK while 2 days will be in Macau.
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 12:51 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 8 2012, 02:26 PM)
asking where to buy dslr in hong kong is like asking where to buy dslr in lowyat  rclxub.gif
---
btw im not expert in this thread... google is your frenz
Hong Kong Camera Gears Shopping Guide
Camera and Lens Street Price List for Hong Kong
---
Price > 20-30% less, 1lens if 3k... u get 1k cheaper
Warranty > R U prepare to buy 'Grey' camera/lens? try to look for international warranty if possible or if u know someone that can repair/service camera/lens, then go all the way to grey zone... hehe
---

---
not a DSLR expert but i think brands like nikon and canon do have international warranty. biggrin.gif

Added on October 9, 2012, 12:52 am
QUOTE(tulufun @ Oct 7 2012, 09:53 PM)
Thanks bro for RL prices. Comtemplating of buying some horses this round
well for me, no harm la. Polo T is always nice to wear regardless its trendy or not. biggrin.gif

Added on October 9, 2012, 12:55 am
QUOTE(Feliz @ Oct 6 2012, 06:47 PM)
How about clothes?
H&M is really cheap. but since KL now got d.. Abit pointless.

Not sure KL's H&M is cheap or not...

I find GAP is cheaper compared to KL. Zara seems more expensive or more less the same.

I m not into premium brands but i did saw 50% to 70% sale for A|X. Others not sure.

I wacked some of esprit Ts which after convert is around RM30ish to RM40. Well its kind of ok for me.

Got a Lacoste shoe for RM290. Dunno cheap or not but i like so buy only lol~

This post has been edited by mugenz: Oct 9 2012, 12:55 AM
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 01:42 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

My Foodie in HK
Kam Wah Cafe Polo Bun, Prince Edward, Mongkok
This bun is superb, super crispy and smells gooding from afar. Better go during 3pm for fresh out of oven biggrin.gif

Fei Jie Street Snacks @ Dundas Street, Mongkok
Really nth special, dunno what so nice. Too cold for my liking but with mustard and sweet sauce its quite nice biggrin.gif

Grilled Satay ala Hongkie style (ROFL) @ Dundas Street, Mongkok
Nth special. Grilled sotong and lamb fats doh.gif

Australia Dairy Co @ Jordan
This place really show u time is gold. Sit down, order and haven't got time to wipe my sweat. The food already infront of you. The scramble egg is superb.
The steam egg pudding is too sweet for me. But still refreshing for hot weather biggrin.gif

Sing Heung Yuen @ Central
user posted imageuser posted image
Roadside under a stairway, i quite like the instant noodle with luncheon meat and ham in tomato soup, just watery pasta? lol. Second pic is the lemon butter crispy toast. So so only. Didnt take a picture of the salted lemon sprite. Nice and refreshing after a long way along the stairs of central!

Four Seasons Claypot Rice @ YMT beside temple street
Only order the beef one and if u not too health conscious about your diet, remember to crack two eggs and add lots of their soy sauce! I find our claypot chicken rice nicer.. but this also not bad. Well still its consider almost to raw egg so shitbrix alert!

Yeung Kee @ Central
user posted imageuser posted image
The century egg superb, goose just so so. We had goose, taufu, vegetable and sweet & sour pork for 4 pax = HKD880 biggrin.gif One century egg is HKD11. According to my fren which stays there, this one is nice but too pricey compared to Yue Kee in Sam Tsang.

Mak's Noodle @ Jordan Branch
Nth special. Huge dumplings. Prefer our version of wantan mee. This cost HKD90 roughly RM40 biggrin.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Chester
post Oct 9 2012, 11:51 AM

2,380 posts

Questions, when u go makan in HK, do u guys drink the chinese tea on the table or use it to dip ur spoon etc? biggrin.gif
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 12:38 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Oct 9 2012, 11:51 AM)
Questions, when u go makan in HK, do u guys drink the chinese tea on the table or use it to dip ur spoon etc? biggrin.gif
I did drank once. Depends where also.

One thing damn not used to is sharing tables. Damn awkward.
Serendipity123
post Oct 9 2012, 01:36 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Oct 5 2012, 09:04 AM)
How much for RL polo? After conversion to RM? Thanks. If the price is right might sapu some or even some Burberry polo.

I'm going there on Jan. 6 person. Any good hotel with budget max RM200 per night. 3 guys 3 girls. Either an apartment / 3 sharing room.

Thanks in advance.
Try Mei Mei Motel, Kowloon. It's a budget hotel, like a guesthouse.
I've stayed at there before and will be staying there this coming Jan too.
Cheap and clean too! A few minutes away from Ladies market and MRT.
The lady owner is very fussy about cleanliness and noise and actually warned our guy friend against any hanky-panky business in his room... whistling.gif LOL.
lucaswjk
post Oct 9 2012, 04:36 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 9 2012, 01:36 PM)
Try Mei Mei Motel, Kowloon. It's a budget hotel, like a guesthouse.
I've stayed at there before and will be staying there this coming Jan too.
Cheap and clean too! A few minutes away from Ladies market and MRT.
The lady owner is very fussy about cleanliness and noise and actually warned our guy friend against any hanky-panky business in his room...  whistling.gif  LOL.
i read from traveladvisor, the most recent comment is their toilet. Its stuck.
U cant flush the toilet paper, luckily they do provide the dustbin for it.
But imagine... after u/other finish da stuff... ur toilet paper stay there until the next morning sweat.gif
---
Dec/Jan is SUPER PEAK month, u r lucky if u able to book... now
Serendipity123
post Oct 9 2012, 04:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 9 2012, 04:36 PM)
But imagine... after u/other finish da stuff... ur toilet paper stay there until the next morning  sweat.gif
---
Really? We didn't have that problem when we were there last year.
Hopefully they can get it fixed soon.
And we're already booked with them for Jan 2013. rclxms.gif
But if anyone's interested, can email and ask? Maybe they still have vacancy. smile.gif
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 05:37 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 9 2012, 04:36 PM)
But imagine... after u/other finish da stuff... ur toilet paper stay there until the next morning  sweat.gif
---
hahaha you will be surprised that a lot of hotel practise this especially in China cities like Guangzhou. Coz it will get stuck there. that's why.
lucaswjk
post Oct 9 2012, 06:49 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 9 2012, 05:37 PM)
hahaha you will be surprised that a lot of hotel practise this especially in China cities like Guangzhou. Coz it will get stuck there. that's why.
i can understand if this is China/India where ppl shit by the road side.
man... this is Hong Kong we are talking!!! U dont leave u shit unattended!!!
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 06:58 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 9 2012, 06:49 PM)
A lot of these hotels are owned by mainlanders that's why.

Rofl.

I noticed they dont provide water beside the toilet seat as well lol. So if want extra clean........ Hahahahahaha
Serendipity123
post Oct 9 2012, 07:04 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 9 2012, 05:37 PM)
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 9 2012, 06:49 PM)
Surprisingly, me and my friends encounter the same 'rule' when we were in Malia, Greece. We were told (by the people at the hotel) that the toilet will 'tersumbat' if we throw tissue in it the because of the small pipes that they used. They asked us to throw the tissue into the rubbish bin. And then, when we were conversing with a local travel agent, we asked him why that was. He laughed and said that it was the hotel's tactic to prevent the occupants from throwing non-tissue stuffs into the toilet. Apparently, the young ang mohs do stupid things when they're drunk, like throw solid stuffs into the toilet and the hotels were sick of trying to fix the toilets.

I wonder if that's the same case with Mei Mei Motel. biggrin.gif
mkaz
post Oct 9 2012, 07:23 PM

208 posts

dafuq golden crown GH for may13 fully booked!!
anyone got any other GH that's near to mtr ??
plss recommend me..
kca
post Oct 9 2012, 08:49 PM

77 posts

From my experience of booking with them, usually they only accept booking 3-4 months prior to ur travelling date. For travelling in may 2013 try book with them only in jan 2013. I experience booking with them more than 6 months before my travelling date and the reservation email reply is fully booked. Is actually they don't accept booking do early according to the owner. I'm going in dec and successfully placed the booking I think 4-5 months before. Hope this help.

QUOTE(mkaz @ Oct 9 2012, 07:23 PM)
dafuq golden crown GH for may13 fully booked!!
anyone got any other GH that's near to mtr ??
plss recommend me..
terryykf
post Oct 9 2012, 08:58 PM

175 posts

dafuq golded crown GH,this is a hotel or a hostel?
mugenz
post Oct 9 2012, 10:24 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

GH = guest house
terryykf
post Oct 9 2012, 11:00 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 9 2012, 10:24 PM)
GH = guest house
oh. good price? good location?