cherroy
post Feb 19 2012, 10:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Feb 19 2012, 03:43 PM)
I agree with 15% of monthly, but within reason la. 15% when you earn RM 10k / month sure np, when starting salary is like RM 2-3k, 15% a bit crazy la.

But I don't understand why "guru" say max 5 year then say better to invest. If you take 9 year, you got more money to invest...

Sigh I don't know la. I was a bit silly last time. Fresh grad, earn 2.5k go buy City, 7 year. 1k / month go to car. But Ok la, I need to travel for work. So allowance mostly cover my car.

But honestly la guys, if you got car that running well and you like, dun simply chg2. Depreciating asset is the worst...

And if you have the investment or saving attitude, I recommend better to take longer loan so more money can go into savings. Interest can offset some of the cost of your loan that way.

Just my $0.02 la...
Wrong.

Unless your investment can yield your more than 5-6%, you are going to lose against the car loan interest.
And to achieve more than 5-6% in current investment environment is not easy task.

Most importantly, most people cannot even save enough, more money in hand, spend it, rather than using it for investment.
Forget about put the money in FD or saving, you are going to lose against your car loan interest.
Don't not think that car loan 2.xx% is your effective interest rate. You are not paying 2.xx% interest, even your saving give you 3.5%, you still lose against it.

Added on February 19, 2012, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(eistern @ Feb 19 2012, 10:22 PM)
i cannot brain dis..pls kindly explain
Car loan work like that.
You borrow 50k. If the 50K interest is 3%, and for 5 years, means 50k x 3% x 5 years = 7.5K interest for the whole loan period (average 1.5K pa).

First year, you loan 50K, paid 1.5K, yes it is 3%.
But second year, you already down 10K, left 40K, you still being charged 1.5K. 1.5/40 = 3.75 (no longer 3%)
Third year, loan left 30k, still pay 1.5K interest, 1.5/30 = 5%.
4th 1.5/20 = 7.5%

So the longer you drag the loan period, the more happier the bank is.
That's why the longer loan period, bank can give more lower rate.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 19 2012, 10:38 PM
cherroy
post Apr 2 2012, 04:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(doncityz @ Apr 2 2012, 04:16 PM)
THAT IS HOUSE LOAN LAHH!! WTF!?

Car loan interest is calculated straight away for the whole tenure.
Say, u take 100K loan for 5 years and interest is 3% per year, then
straight away your monthly can be summed as:

Interest Calculation Per Year: 100K * 0.03 = RM3K.
Interest total for 5 yr - 3 x5 = RM15K.
So total you need to pay back to bank = 115K over a period of 5 years.
So that makes your monthly repayment of RM1916.00 per month.

Damn fail la u cherroy. Talk like terror lidat but calculate car loan also fail.
whistling.gif
I just showed the illustration of published rate of car loan is not the effective rate.

A 3 % car loan interest is not 3%.
You are actually paying 5%, and 7% for your loan on after 4th year, only first year you are paying 3%.

For the loan money of 100K, you paid 15K for the whole tenure.
Equivalent to 3K per year.
First year you apply loan you owe bank 100k, pay 3K, yes 3%.
But on second year, you already paid off 20K, you only owe bank 80K (not 100K), you are still paying the same interest 3K per year, it is already not 3%.

Who fail to see the real picture?

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 2 2012, 04:40 PM
cherroy
post Apr 3 2012, 11:34 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(doncityz @ Apr 3 2012, 08:52 AM)
What I am commenting was about the car loan explained by cherroy.
It is NOT worked up by the annual interest like a house loan. You don't
deduct the balance and re apply the interest % again.

Senang lidis la.. you go plug in my values up there in
ANY CAR LOAN CALCULATOR TOOL IN INTERNET.
You will see my calculation is right and each month repay is 1916.66.
That is because interest is applied for the initial loan amount and
divided throughout the tenure.
whistling.gif
I am explaining how to find out or to see the effective or real car loan interest is.

I am not telling how to calculate how much monthly repayment is.
Seem like someone don't understand, what being highlighted. doh.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 3 2012, 11:34 AM

0.0664sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:16 PM