4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Enable USB audio on any Android 4.X device

madness8878
post Oct 8 2012, 09:27 AM

134 posts

I am using a custom android 4.0 on my phone, bcz my phone doesn't have ice cream sandwich, boleh guna kah?
wkkm007
post Oct 9 2012, 10:10 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(madness8878 @ Oct 8 2012, 07:27 AM)
I am using a custom android 4.0 on my phone, bcz my phone doesn't have ice cream sandwich, boleh guna kah?
Me too like my old sony Ericsson xperia X10, can use MIUI rom with ISC4.0?

Added on October 9, 2012, 10:21 amIs cool to having this feature on my 2 year old phone.

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Oct 9 2012, 10:21 AM
TSDanBa
post Oct 11 2012, 06:59 PM

51 posts

The Galaxy Note II can work with the FiiO E7. It can't operate with the CEntrance DACport LX:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...00#post_8804406

stock Galaxy Note II > digital USB audio out >> USB OTG cable >> FiiO E7 USB DAC/amp >> Sennheiser HD598 headphones

Added on October 29, 2012, 2:10 amSamsung Galaxy S III & Apex Glacier:
http://www.ttvjaudio.com/Apex_High_Fi_Audi.../aaa0000010.htm
http://www.head-fi.org/t/632019/apex-glaci...75#post_8814974

Galaxy S III > digital USB audio out >> USB OTG cable >> Apex Glacier USB DAC/amp

Galaxy S III : 13,6 cm * 7 cm * 0,8 cm
Apex Glacier : 11,4 cm * 6,5 cm * 0,9 cm

Added on November 10, 2012, 7:54 pmGalaxy Note II & Headstage Lyrix Pro USB total:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...95#post_8854850

stock Galaxy Note II > digital USB audio out >> USB OTG cable (micro-A plug inserted in the Note II) >> Headstage Lyrix Pro USB total USB DAC/amp >> Beyerdynamic DT-770 Premium

Added on November 21, 2012, 1:02 amSamsung Galaxy S III & planar magnetic Audeze LCD-2:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...55#post_8873554

stock Galaxy S III > digital USB audio out >> USB OTG cable (micro-A plug inserted in the Note II) >> RSA Intruder >> Audeze LCD-2 headphones

"The LCD-2's sound phenomenal in balanced mode off the Intruder... Yum."

This post has been edited by DanBa: Dec 7 2012, 10:13 PM
jinggothegreat
post Dec 3 2012, 09:51 PM

333 posts

bumping tered as i update my note to 4.1.2.

errr... how to check if the usb audio out can be used? my D10 spoilt already and no other dacs available right now. halp!
wkkm007
post Dec 4 2012, 09:14 PM

3,123 posts

here note 10.1

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=56402502

beside galaxy lineup s3, note 2, 10.1

Can Galaxy Nexus on 4.1.1 Jellybean use DAC?

How about brand?
Sony HTC Moto LG?

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Dec 4 2012, 09:15 PM
TSDanBa
post Dec 7 2012, 02:43 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 4 2012, 10:14 PM)
Can Galaxy Nexus on 4.1.1 Jellybean use DAC?

Stock Galaxy Nexus on 4.1.1 Jelly Bean can't interwork with standard USB DAC.

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 4 2012, 10:14 PM)
How about brand?
Sony HTC Moto LG?

As far as I know, their devices can't interwork with standard USB DAC for the time being.
wkkm007
post Dec 7 2012, 02:48 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(DanBa @ Dec 7 2012, 12:43 AM)
Stock Galaxy Nexus on 4.1.1 Jelly Bean can't interwork with standard USB DAC.
As far as I know, their devices can't interwork with standard USB DAC for the time being.
U mean now galaxy lineup s3, note 2, 10.1 running on standard USB DAC? rclxms.gif
Some can some can't like the Galaxy Note II can work with the FiiO E7. It can't operate with the CEntrance DACport LX.

I like Sony phone, Samsung design look alike only.

Done bro smile.gif

The heat problem how?
TSDanBa
post Dec 7 2012, 10:05 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 7 2012, 03:48 AM)
U mean now galaxy lineup s3, note 2, 10.1 running on standard USB DAC? rclxms.gif
Some can some can't like the Galaxy Note II can work with the FiiO E7. It can't operate with the CEntrance DACport LX.
Based on some dmesg log outputs, I think the Samsung USB software / firmware (Exynos SoC) is intolerant with USB DACs which are not quite conform to the USB specification.
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...15#post_8807747
http://www.head-fi.org/t/608535/wolfson-da...20#post_8638606

Samsung engineers / developers should improve their USB software / firmware.
We should help them by publishing dmesg log outputs.

On the other side, USB DAC manufacturers should test their (upcoming) USB DAC with the Galaxy S3 / Note2. After all, these Android phones are best selling devices.
VentureCraft has subsequently modified the firmware and hardware of its pre mass-production Go-Dap X, which won't interwork with the Galaxy S3.
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...20#post_8753554

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 7 2012, 03:48 AM)
I like Sony phone, Samsung design look alike only.

No Android 4.1 Jelly Bean-specific USB DAC is available for the time being.

About Android-specific USB audio:
"As of now, the standard Android releases do not include USB host support. Samsung decided to add this feature on their own. The Android folks are working on a funky USB dock protocol that works over USB (sort of like what Apple does) that, frankly, most of us developers think is stupid. There is certainly a push to put USB host support for standard devices (like audio, keyboards, etc.) into the normal Android releases."
[Pete Millett, design engineer from Apex Hi-Fi]
http://www.head-fi.org/t/632019/apex-glaci...75#post_8812425

The lobbying for standard USB audio should go on.
It's on a right track thanks to Samsung.

If you want the USB audio enabled on any Android 4.X device via official firmware/kernel, please vote (aka star) here:
http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/de...Summary%20Stars

Vote: Click on the star (it appears after signing in)

The us$43 Samsung Galaxy S3 + Car Stereo Upgrade for WAaaY better sound quality!
http://www.head-fi.org/t/639883/the-43-gal...r-sound-quality

Galaxy S3 > digital USB audio out >> "USB OTG" cable >> Behringer UCA202 USB DAC >> car stereo amp >> car stereo speakers

"...
And so what are the results you ask?

HOLY MOLY!
Not only is the audio quality MUCH improved, but the sound is so CLEAN now. No clicks, burps, or any other weird background noises. Just straight CD quality background silence.
Even my GPS voice sounds prettier. hahah
Bass is tighter and deeper. Highs are more revealing. Everything is so much better that a novice could tell it sounds better.

And yes, GPS navigation works perfectly. If I'm listening to Pandora or an MP3 and my GPS needs to talk, then my music will go several db quieter and GPS will speak up, then afterwards the music will automatically go back to full volume.

Also, one thing I hated about Bluetooth was everytime I turned my car off for just a minute, when I would power it back on the Bluetooth would not consistently reconnect. Well, this USB-OTG has been very consistent for me so far. Music just picks back up where it left off at and is fairly quick to do so.

Cons? Well, I haven't tested hands free calling yet. But I'm told it doesn't work with this USB-OTG to DAC configuration. Maybe there is a bluetooth solution for that. I dunno? And AOSP does not yet support DACs.

Pros? Freakin everything.

Pics are below.

Here is the DAC and the USB-OTG cable:

This is how you configure the DAC.
You can probably also use the headphones output instead of the stereo RCA, but I didn't try it.

I wired up my USB-OTG cable to my iBOLT dock. It comes up through my dash defrost vents.

This is what the three connectors on the USB-OTG cable look like:

Here is the DAC being wired up. I taped up the non-used RCA's to prevent anything bugging with them.

I wrapped up the DAC with DUCT tape.
Not sure how or why the pic is sideways. It looks normal on my desktop.

Hid it behind my dash.

Here is the USB-OTG cable with my iBOLT dock.

The car stereo w/audio cable attached. Some car stereos have the 3.5mm connector in the back. Or a dual-RCA input. I'd prefer one of those to have a cleaner install. Maybe someday I'll upgrade my car stereo.

And here is the finished product. My S3 docked, charging and outputing beautiful digital music!

.." [CZ Eddie]

The heat problem of the Behringer UCA202?

I don't think there is a heat problem because the Behringer UCA202 is a DAC and not a power-hungry amplifier.

You should ask CZ Eddie. He should use his digital USB audio car stereo every day.

Added on December 15, 2012, 7:24 pmUSB Audio Recorder PRO: "USB audio recording and playback now finally possible on Android devices!"
"Supported are mono and stereo streams, 16-bit and 24-bit and any sample rate (up to 192kHz) that the device provides."
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...udiorecorderpro
Android phones and USB DACs
http://www.extreamsd.com/USBAudioRecorderPRO/

Some USB DACs, like the FiiO E17, not working with stock USB audio software, can interwork with the Samsung Galaxy S3 and other Android devices using USB Audio Recorder PRO:

music stored on Galaxy S3 > USB Audio Recorder PRO player > digital USB audio out >> "USB OTG" cable >> FiiO E17 >> headphones

This post has been edited by DanBa: Dec 7 2012, 10:10 PM
genpaku
post Dec 19 2012, 12:19 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(DanBa @ Dec 8 2012, 09:29 PM)

I don't think there is a heat problem because the Behringer UCA202 is a DAC and not a power-hungry amplifier.

You should ask CZ Eddie. He should use his digital USB audio car stereo every day.

Added on December 15, 2012, 7:24 pmUSB Audio Recorder PRO: "USB audio recording and playback now finally possible on Android devices!"
"Supported are mono and stereo streams, 16-bit and 24-bit and any sample rate (up to 192kHz) that the device provides."
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...udiorecorderpro
Android phones and USB DACs
http://www.extreamsd.com/USBAudioRecorderPRO/

Some USB DACs, like the FiiO E17, not working with stock USB audio software, can interwork with the Samsung Galaxy S3 and other Android devices using USB Audio Recorder PRO:

music stored on Galaxy S3 > USB Audio Recorder PRO player > digital USB audio out >> "USB OTG" cable >> FiiO E17 >> headphones
wow...this works on my Galaxy Nexus !!! rclxm9.gif

Galaxy Nexus > USB OTG > Fiio E10 > cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

wkkm007
post Dec 19 2012, 01:46 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(DanBa @ Dec 8 2012, 07:29 PM)

I mean the battery, you charging heat from battery and the mobile phone motherboard, under the hot sun if not tinted solar car window film more hot, (online)3G cellular data the antenna hot, GPS if u on.

If charging battery while online @ home also hot till can't charge my battery(not in) if more then 400c

Too hot/overheat the battery will expend and can't store charge, sometime may explode too.

Added on December 19, 2012, 2:01 amUSB audio recording and playback need Android 3.1 above,
if my SEX10 run on ISC custom ROM does workout??
Stuck on android 2.3.3 GB

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Dec 19 2012, 02:01 AM
TSDanBa
post Dec 21 2012, 01:40 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 19 2012, 02:46 AM)

Added on December 19, 2012, 2:01 amUSB audio recording and playback need Android 3.1 above,
if my SEX10 run on ISC custom ROM does workout??
Stuck on android 2.3.3 GB
If your phone has a functional USB host implemented, I think it should work with the USB Audio Recorder PRO application.
This media player application including the USB audio module communicates with the kernel USB driver thru the standard interface libusb.
http://libusb.sourceforge.net/doc/index.html

Anyway, you should ask its developer. He is active on the following forum:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...80#post_8968882

wkkm007
post Dec 23 2012, 03:21 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(DanBa @ Dec 20 2012, 11:40 PM)
If your phone has a functional USB host implemented, I think it should work with the USB Audio Recorder PRO application.
This media player application including the USB audio module communicates with the kernel USB driver thru the standard interface libusb.
http://libusb.sourceforge.net/doc/index.html

Anyway, you should ask its developer. He is active on the following forum:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...80#post_8968882
U mean 'USB host' it is USB OTG?
unfortunately no. Is to old
http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&id=1967...x10i_se_rachael
http://www.qualcomm.com/snapdragon/processors/s3-s2-s1
TSDanBa
post Dec 23 2012, 09:08 AM

51 posts

USB is an asymmetric protocol in that one participant acts as a USB host and the other as a USB peripheral.

As the standard USB DAC is always a USB peripheral, the smartphone / tablet has to act as a USB host.

The Samsung Galaxy S3, for instance, is a USB On-The-Go device. A USB OTG device can act as a USB host or as a USB peripheral.

Simply put, a USB OTG device like a Galaxy S3 can act acts as
. a USB peripheral when a Micro-B plug is inserted in the Micro-AB receptacle of the Galaxy S3 [regular cable]
. a USB host when a Micro-A plug is inserted in the Micro-AB receptacle of the Galaxy S3 [so-called "OTG cable"]

Micro-A plug, Micro-B plug:

Added on December 24, 2012, 4:05 am
Unique Melody Platform Pure 6 & Samsung Galaxy S3 using USB Audio Recorder PRO:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/613417/unique-mel...60#post_8965862

music stored on stock Galaxy S3 > USB Audio Recorder PRO player > digital USB audio out >> "USB OTG" cable >> Unique Melody PP6 > custom IEM

"You have no idea how happy I am right now."

Added on December 25, 2012, 8:54 pm24-bit / 96kHz lossless music and USB Audio Recoder PRO:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...WNvcmRlcnBybyJd
http://www.linnrecords.com/recording-highwire.aspx

music stored on Samsung Galaxy S3 > USB Audio Recorder PRO player >> ODAC >> amp >> headphones

Added on December 25, 2012, 8:57 pmUSB audio at the Android Linux kernel space, USB audio at the Android Linux user space

A USB audio source code:
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page
https://github.com/sgs3/GT-I9300_Kernel/blo...d/usb/card.c#L2
https://github.com/sgs3/GT-I9300_Kernel/tre...aster/sound/usb

This post has been edited by DanBa: Dec 25 2012, 08:57 PM
fcpchop
post Dec 29 2012, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(genpaku @ Dec 19 2012, 12:19 AM)
wow...this works on my Galaxy Nexus !!!  rclxm9.gif

Galaxy Nexus > USB OTG > Fiio E10 >  cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif
hey man tryin to figure out why my e10 to my galaxy nexus is coming in distorted. It is recognized by the phone using the audio recorder app but like I said when I go to play music it comes in kind of distorted, not horribly so, but enough to make it pointless. I have the stock 4.1 jelly bean rom and trinity kernel. What rom and kernel are you running? And did you change any settings on the phone? Maybe I just have a crappy OTG cable.
TSDanBa
post Dec 29 2012, 05:41 PM

51 posts

It’s an issue of this new app.

Workaround:
. select a wrong sample rate: for instance 48000 when playing a 44100 encoded music file
. play it some few seconds
. switch back to the right sample rate; everything should be OK from now on
http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/android-ph...00#post_8998731

E1 - AKG
post Dec 29 2012, 07:19 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(genpaku @ Dec 19 2012, 12:19 AM)
wow...this works on my Galaxy Nexus !!!  rclxm9.gif

Galaxy Nexus > USB OTG > Fiio E10 >  cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif
How long can your Galaxy Nexus power your E10 hmm.gif
genpaku
post Dec 29 2012, 07:59 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(fcpchop @ Dec 29 2012, 11:25 AM)
hey man tryin to figure out why my e10 to my galaxy nexus is coming in distorted. It is recognized by the phone using the audio recorder app but like I said when I go to play music it comes in kind of distorted, not horribly so, but enough to make it pointless. I have the stock 4.1 jelly bean rom and trinity kernel. What rom and kernel are you running? And did you change any settings on the phone? Maybe I just have a crappy OTG cable.
pm replied...

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 29 2012, 07:19 PM)
How long can your Galaxy Nexus power your E10  hmm.gif
never use it till it drain the battery...so dunno how long it can power e10... smile.gif

fcpchop
post Dec 30 2012, 03:27 AM

QUOTE(fcpchop @ Dec 29 2012, 11:25 AM)
Ill try that out thanks
noobandroid
post Jan 4 2013, 11:11 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

i wonder why the 24bit cricri+ could not work with the s3 otg, is it cause of the fact that it is a 24 bit device or something? DanBa help
wkkm007
post Jan 4 2013, 11:50 PM

3,123 posts

How about the Nexus 7 by Asus? 899 16gb now

http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&id=3940..._padfone_2_32gb

Any news on this device?
Asus Padfone 2
The phone unit link to the dock station the USB sure got link out audio signal...

@DanBa thank for the reply. rclxms.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0312sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:53 PM