Real estate agent confession, Real estate career detail

TSwschoo26
post Jan 30 2012, 10:59 AM, updated 14y ago

152 posts

Any sincere real estate agent( INCL EX AGENT , Full time /Part time) care to share their success and failure? Mind to share your real estate career journey eg sweet and sour memory of the career said? Also wondering how many has succeeded and how many have failed.Contribution is most appreciated. Thank you in advance
asdzxc
post Jan 30 2012, 11:01 AM

384 posts

why? u failing now ?
TSwschoo26
post Jan 30 2012, 11:15 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(asdzxc @ Jan 30 2012, 11:01 AM)
why? u failing now ?
Boss, I am not in property line . Just looking why so many interested in this line after reading the forum. Maybe I can consider to be one..hehe...but need genuine contirbution. Are you one of in real estate line? Care to kindly contribute your experience?
deodorant
post Jan 30 2012, 11:51 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Real Estate line seems like super hot in Singapore (where property market also super hot). Agent Fee for rental is one month, for sales is 1%, one week seal one deal already $10k++ a month. No wonder my mailbox every week sure got dozens of real estate agent flyers inside doh.gif
asdzxc
post Jan 30 2012, 11:58 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2012, 11:51 AM)
Real Estate line seems like super hot in Singapore (where property market also super hot). Agent Fee for rental is one month, for sales is 1%, one week seal one deal already $10k++ a month. No wonder my mailbox every week sure got dozens of real estate agent flyers inside doh.gif
lol u should be an agent urself then.

Being a property agent takes talent in knowing a broad network.

You gotta know the right person to get ur sales and work very hard for leads.

Beginning is tough because in this established market, there are a lot of well known agent, being a fresh agent will be tough if you don't have the skill or knowledge.

TSwschoo26
post Jan 30 2012, 12:19 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(asdzxc @ Jan 30 2012, 11:58 AM)
lol u should be an agent urself then.

Being a property agent takes talent in knowing a broad network.

You gotta know the right person to get ur sales and work very hard for leads.

Beginning is tough because in this established market, there are a lot of well known agent, being a fresh agent will be tough if you don't have the skill or knowledge.
As far as I know...since 2007 , there is an increase in property agents as exclusion of property gain tax. Then lately , bnm impose only 70% loan on 3rd housing loan which may dampen the industry.
But since 2007 'boom', many heard property agents earn big money(obviously they did), many interested to join this line esp with its east entry level(no need licence, no need paper qualification)
. But what really takes in this line? I read some being raped, robbed, beaten up , car stolen, lost 200 client property keys etc etc. Always get sided by buyer n seller as they transact directly with each other once they get the chance to contact each other. Some agent only manage to sell 1st property after 7 months of the job.Some being threatened by gangster in new 'protected' area.
I think lowyat.net dont have much member working as property agent to make their 'confession' sad.gif

asdzxc
post Jan 30 2012, 12:24 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jan 30 2012, 12:19 PM)
As far as I know...since 2007 , there is an increase in property agents as exclusion of property gain tax.  Then lately , bnm impose only 70% loan on 3rd housing loan which may dampen the industry.
But since 2007 'boom', many heard property agents earn big money(obviously they did), many interested to join this line  esp with its east entry level(no need licence, no need paper qualification)
. But what really takes in this line?  I read some being raped, robbed, beaten up , car stolen, lost 200 client property keys etc etc. Always get sided by buyer n seller as they transact directly with each other once they get the chance to contact each other. Some agent only manage to sell 1st property after 7 months of the job.Some being threatened by gangster in new 'protected' area.
I think lowyat.net dont have much member working as property agent to make their 'confession' sad.gif
Trust me that sales job is not for everyone, sales can make a lot of money, it can also make VERY little money.

It all depends on how hardworking you are. Even so, you have to work smart with your brains in sales line now not just based on your mouth and empty headed mind.

U want to succeed, you have to get to know more people, random people, people who has the money.

TSwschoo26
post Jan 30 2012, 12:38 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(asdzxc @ Jan 30 2012, 12:24 PM)
Trust me that sales job is not for everyone, sales can make a lot of money, it can also make VERY little money.

It all depends on how hardworking you are. Even so, you have to work smart with your brains in sales line now not just based on your mouth and empty headed mind.

U want to succeed, you have to get to know more people, random people, people who has the money.
thanks for your sincere sharing. Mind to share about the details of your journey. Actually I am in IT technician line. I can tell you every detail of IT technician(what it takes) if you interested. smile.gifI also tried trading but it really not as easy as it sounds and dont be 'cheated' by all those commercial trading course. Those people earn money more training than trading. All my contacts (those i get to know from attending preview , courses) dont earn even after attending those courses, include me). So..i looking for a more 'solid' , down to earth ( chinese say...leg stand firm on land) career change
Tigerr
post Jan 30 2012, 12:41 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jan 30 2012, 12:38 PM)
thanks for your sincere sharing. Mind to share about the details of your journey. Actually I am in IT technician line. I can tell you every detail of IT technician(what it takes) if you interested. smile.gifI also tried trading but it really not as easy as it sounds and dont be 'cheated' by all those commercial trading course. Those people earn money more training than trading. All my contacts (those i get to know from attending preview , courses) dont earn even after attending those courses, include me). So..i looking for a more 'solid' , down to earth ( chinese say...leg stand firm on land) career change
Then, you should stick to your IT line and excel from it. No other easy short cut by going into other area as you see people there earning lots more than you. Bill Gates earns much more than them...so, explore more on IT products as well and you can start selling computers and softwares as well..... biggrin.gif
faceless
post Jan 30 2012, 12:46 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jan 30 2012, 12:38 PM)

I interested to know IT technician line. Can share? I trade for a living if you want to know more I can tell you. As to real estate, I was in an admin job with a real estate office. So I cant tell you the sales side. I dont think you want to know my opinions of real estate negotiators since I will not be speaking form experience. It only I know this is what so and so is doing.

TSwschoo26
post Jan 30 2012, 06:59 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jan 30 2012, 12:41 PM)
Then, you should stick to your IT line and excel from it. No other easy short cut by going into other area as you see people there earning lots more than you. Bill Gates earns much more than them...so, explore more on IT products as well and you can start selling computers and softwares as well..... biggrin.gif
hehe...see how u look at it. Bill Gates is naturally gifted with talent, far business view, opportunity & luck on his side. I am sure u read his book. I buta buta go into IT only. Later to find out as IT technician...does not suit my character. Many 'down to earth' career such as food industry, real estate negotiator, engineer, medical field, law etc etc work out there geh...Not necessarily once u start It , forever u in IT and become miserable in your work. I read a lot middle age human stuck in their career and end up in a crossroad.
No harm to do some research and try to explore into it . Trading is diferent..it is totally high risk...if u play share market , commodities, foreign exchange...u will understand wat i try to hint out. Or try to go to casino and win...pls dontbe offended..i just try to explain to my best ability.

Added on January 30, 2012, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 30 2012, 12:46 PM)
I interested to know IT technician line. Can share? I trade for a living if you want to know more I can tell you. As to real estate, I was in an admin job with a real estate office. So I cant tell you the sales side. I dont think you want to know my opinions of real estate negotiators since I will not be speaking form experience. It only I know this is what so and so is doing.
In short..if your character
Cons
1) can update, yr brain can absorb information/ high learning curve as software & hardware always evolve.
2) can handle customer complain esp if u corrupt/lost their data
3) U r werewolf, need little sleep only.willing to work till wee hour ( i used to sleep at 1 to 2am from mon to sat when i was active last time for more than 8 years)
4) feel very grateful to talk on handphone(some people feel they are happy/important people when they talk on handphone and your family though u do big million dollar business on the phone) as client like to call u after working hour, public holidays, weekends to ask how to configure this n that and be prepare , even their internet line down(streamyx), they will call you first
5) cukup makan punya gaji. but dont expect you can drive a bmw..you wont starve in IT technician..3 mangkuk nasi sehari...guarantee can get. but i think back after spending 10 hours (pick up travel time+clean virus time+ format(cos you find that impossible to clean the pc and need to format)+backup data& restore data+return pc time+configure back domain/their network setting , outlooksetting , network printer setting time) ...and u bill rm300...your client open eye big big at you. 10 hours for rm300(provided u successfully pay u the amount)...means rm30 per hour .good pay right? do remember that you sacrifice your sleeping hour to fix it. U crack yr head to repair it as yr loyal client expect u to return it the next morning.Taxi fare after 12am is double charge.
6)not scalable..means u forever one man show...hard to hire staff....easy entry..staff learn from u , then cabut yr client at cheaper price and yr staff do themselves. Kfc, mcdonald , 7-11, chattime can open many many stores but yr IT shop cat do it as this business model is not expandable, not franchiseable. Thats why u dont see franchise IT business.
7)U like to take risk.1 or more month delay payment of yr bill. U use cash to get the stock...client need one month or more to pay you and when client lari..u holland ...sell 10 more pc to breakeven only cos the pc margin is so low. Sell one HP desktop..your profit only rm50 to rm150 depending on model. Then you have to risk your rm1500 (one month payment from client) for a profit of rm200 to rm300( cos u include installation)...risk reward ratio 5:1!! if u do trading...this type of risk reward 5:1 will surely blow your account. U cant earn a lot anymore as client very easy compare price...lowyat, dell etc. Then end up , u tell client buy from lowyat themself...u only do their configuration& installation is better cos risk reward ratio is 1:1
8)U like multitasking job. While repair pc at yr home , u watch tv, u eat dinner, supper at same time and end up u dont know what the tv show is about
9) U are superman or Heman of the Universe..u sick..u no income cos IT technician dont generate passive income. U need to be there to earn money

They are pros also la..If u like to know , then only i write more as this thread is not about IT, it is about real estate. Worry admin will delete/move the post.

This post has been edited by wschoo26: Jan 30 2012, 07:40 PM
faceless
post Jan 31 2012, 09:52 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Thanks for your details on IT technician. I believe a real estate negotiator had similar problems. They can talk until the cows come home and not make a sale or get a listing. They are approaching people they do not know. How can they in just the few moment of time the prospect allowed them show professionalism? This basically is what I see that separates the hot shot salesman from the average salesman.
Alvinyeo
post Mar 26 2012, 01:27 AM

Talk is Cheap
1,752 posts

I'm a property agent.

Doing this since last year July.

Can just confess 1 thing : nothing is easy. sad.gif

To be in this line :

1. Very very very perseverance. (Many cannot tahan after 2-3 months)
2. Have to have proper planning (better to have short and long term goals)
3. Make sure you have enough saving to last you few months ahead with no income
4. Be the devil (I hate this the most)
5. Etc etc (Many some more)

just my 2 sen. biggrin.gif
CaRS2
post Mar 31 2012, 10:19 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Alvinyeo @ Mar 26 2012, 01:27 AM)
I'm a property agent.

Doing this since last year July.

Can just confess 1 thing : nothing is easy. sad.gif

To be in this line :

1. Very very very perseverance. (Many cannot tahan after 2-3 months)
2. Have to have proper planning (better to have short and long term goals)
3. Make sure you have enough saving to last you few months ahead with no income
4. Be the devil (I hate this the most)
5. Etc etc (Many some more)

just my 2 sen. biggrin.gif
May I know which area you cover? And how many transaction you did since July last year?
I'm planning go for interview next week. cool.gif
Alvinyeo
post Mar 31 2012, 10:41 PM

Talk is Cheap
1,752 posts

QUOTE(CaRS2 @ Mar 31 2012, 10:19 PM)
May I know which area you cover? And how many transaction you did since July  last year?
I'm planning go for interview next week. cool.gif
I now doing Auction property. Can see my link below. If sub-sale is damansara area la.

How many transaction ar ? hmm.gif

Too many, can't remember. Got more than 10 la. If include rental and sales. rclxms.gif

Which company you entering ?

My advice is go to those company that give proper training and have weekly meeting. You be more discipline. flex.gif

dreamer101
post Apr 1 2012, 08:06 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jan 30 2012, 06:59 PM)
hehe...see how u look at it. Bill Gates is naturally gifted with talent, far business view, opportunity & luck on his side. I am sure u read his book. I buta buta go into IT only. Later to find out as IT technician...does not suit my character. Many 'down to earth' career such as food industry, real estate negotiator, engineer, medical field, law etc etc work out there geh...Not necessarily once u start It , forever u in IT and become miserable in your work. I read a lot middle age human stuck in their career and end up in a crossroad.
No harm to do some research and try to explore into it . Trading is diferent..it is totally high risk...if u play share market , commodities, foreign exchange...u will understand wat i try to hint out. Or try to go to casino and win...pls dontbe offended..i just try to explain to my best ability.

http://socialcapital.wordpress.com/2008/05...k-the-outliers/

<<Outliers describes how Bill Gates was able to get to 10,000 hours while still in middle and high school in Seattle due to 9 incredibly fortunate concurrences: among them, that his private school could fund a sophisticated computer in their computer club, and fact that he lived close to the U. of Washington, where he could use an even more sophisticated computer.>>

wschoo26,

Even Bill Gates spent 10,000 hours before he is good in that area, HOW could you expect to do it for LESS??

Dreamer

TSwschoo26
post Apr 3 2012, 11:02 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 1 2012, 08:06 AM)
http://socialcapital.wordpress.com/2008/05...k-the-outliers/

<<Outliers describes how Bill Gates was able to get to 10,000 hours while still in middle and high school in Seattle due to 9 incredibly fortunate concurrences: among them, that his private school could fund a sophisticated computer in their computer club, and fact that he lived close to the U. of Washington, where he could use an even more sophisticated computer.>>

wschoo26,

Even Bill Gates spent 10,000 hours before he is good in that area, HOW could you expect to do it for LESS??

Dreamer
Dear Sir,
Bill Gates spent 10,000hours/24=417 days. i already spent much more time on it. hehehe. I guess it takes many factor to be success as what u mention 9 incredibly concurrently fortune.
Bill is a gifted person whereby he can learn things much faster , can retain information much longer than normal human being(not everyone can be einstein) accompany by his far business view and many others factor help him.
Anyway, as Alvinyeo mention...nothing is easy...if easy..everyone become multimillionaire already..hehe...Since we born, we are trap inside the system. Banking system forever make u poor and inflation forever. Once we sign S&P, bank already make money out of thin air. V keep money in bank then bank give u little interest. Then bank use your money to borrow to others and charge higher interest or make its own investment.If bank fail miserably in its investment, then bank waiting for govt bailout. Govt use public money to bail them out. So, in this system..public is forever at a lost(trap)
But I read in other thread..to be success:-
if no money, go find money
if no market, go create the market
if no experience, go learn the experience
not sitting complain about this n that....
hehehehehehe.....i remember i read from edyek thread. that time he comment what is takes to be an entrepreuner
dreamer101
post Apr 3 2012, 11:27 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:02 AM)
Dear Sir,
Bill Gates spent 10,000hours/24=417 days. i already spent much more time on it. hehehe. I guess it takes many factor to be success as what u mention 9 incredibly concurrently fortune.
Bill is a gifted person whereby he can learn things much faster , can retain information much longer than normal human being(not everyone can be einstein) accompany by his far business view and many others factor help him.
Anyway, as Alvinyeo mention...nothing is easy...if easy..everyone become multimillionaire already..hehe...Since we born, we are trap inside the system. Banking system forever make u poor and inflation forever. Once we sign S&P, bank already make money out of thin air. V keep money in bank then bank give u little interest. Then bank use your money to borrow to others and charge higher interest or make its own investment.If bank fail  miserably in its investment, then bank waiting for govt bailout. Govt use public money to bail them out. So, in this system..public is forever at a lost(trap)
But I read in other thread..to be success:-
if no money, go find money
if no market, go create the market
if no experience, go learn the experience
not sitting complain about this n that....
hehehehehehe.....i remember i read from edyek thread. that time he comment what is takes to be an entrepreuner
wschoo26,

Bill Gates spent 10,000hours/24=417 days. i already spent much more time on it.

That is a bunch of BS. How old are you??

It took me 20+ years to get the 10,000 hours.

It took Bill Gates about 5 to 10 years.

<<Bill is a gifted person whereby he can learn things much faster , can retain information much longer than normal human being(not everyone can be einstein) accompany by his far business view and many others factor help him.>>

So?? It still took him 10,000 hours. So, for a lesser person, it may take even longer.

<<.Since we born, we are trap inside the system.>>

Another BS. YOU choose to be trapped in the system.

<< Since we born, we are trap inside the system. Banking system forever make u poor and inflation forever. Once we sign S&P, bank already make money out of thin air. V keep money in bank then bank give u little interest. Then bank use your money to borrow to others and charge higher interest or make its own investment.If bank fail miserably in its investment, then bank waiting for govt bailout. Govt use public money to bail them out. So, in this system..public is forever at a lost(trap)>>

Another BS.

THINK outside the box!!!

If bank makes GOOD MONEY, WHY be a victim?? Own the bank. Buy the bank counter / stock, COLLECT dividend from the bank.

Use the SYSTEM.

To AVERAGE people, EVERYTHING is a problem. To Above Average people, every PROBLEM is an opportunity!!!

Dreamer

TSwschoo26
post Apr 3 2012, 11:36 AM

152 posts

Yes dreamer ..u r right...think outside the box.
Dreamer, can you share what do you do for living and how you manage to overcome the obstacles so that others , include me, can learn from you? Cant remember well what you do from after reading some of your previous post.
justincase
post Apr 19 2012, 08:49 PM

62 posts

Who wants to be a property agent??

Work hard and it will be rewarding! PM me if you're interested to be a property agent!
kangry
post Apr 20 2012, 09:39 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 30 2012, 12:46 PM)
Mind to share how do you trade for living? are you trading goods? or finance? I work in Marketing line, pure brand marketing

This post has been edited by kangry: Apr 20 2012, 09:40 AM
hitsugaya2010
post Apr 20 2012, 10:16 AM

946 posts

Anyone working part time? can share?
gunpla student
post Apr 20 2012, 03:24 PM

168 posts

I'm a student. previously working under 3 diff real estate agency totalled 1 years. highest income per month was RM14k (excluding banker's commission and lawyers' commission).
now I'm a full time student studying psychology and feel like back to part time real estate agent. anyone interested as part time agent as well?
lexiqa
post Apr 21 2012, 12:25 AM

525 posts

why can work for 3 diff agencies? can ah???
MyRedz
post Apr 21 2012, 11:33 PM

961 posts

hi...can u tell me the scope of part time agent..pm if u dun mind

0.0239sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:23 PM