University Newcastle vs Monash vs IMU, Which is best?

eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 12:17 AM

55 posts

Merely 3As will not be sufficient for UK unis. I have friend with 4A* but not so strong UKcat was rejected by all 4 unis. Another 3A* friend was called by only one uni for interview.

Medical work experience is perequisite for UK unis. I shadowed some doctors for a few weeks, I volunteer in hospice and went to kampung to visit terminally ill patients.

Beside that, UKcat or Bmat and PS is very impt in the application to secure some interviews. After that, is up to your perfomance during interview.

The 3As is only the basic requirement, in reality, you need more than that. UK unis have very low quota for international students. Abt 20s per uni on average. That make it very competitive.

This post has been edited by eliselam: Jan 28 2012, 12:23 AM
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 09:54 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 28 2012, 12:37 AM)
Are you done with all your interviews? Good experience?
Have attended 4 interviews, one more to go in Feb. It was quite interesting but nerve wrecking as each uni has different approah. But my palliative exp helps a lot as I was asked on it and mercy killing.

Have received offerd from Kings College and Trinity. Still waiting for others before I firm up my choice.
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 12:09 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 28 2012, 10:11 AM)
CONGRATULATIONS!! Let us know in "calling all medical students" thread when you've decided, if you don't mind. There should be a new LY "stalking medical students/applicants 2012" thread.
Thanks. It is such a relief.
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 09:00 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 28 2012, 06:09 PM)
That was what I am trying to tell that you don't really need A* except for the elite few and even then, it would be 2A* plus an A. I also agree that an impressive PS helps a lot as the interview do focus on your "key" points in the PS. Having an experienced mentor/lecturer to review your PS is very very important.
Not all interviwers focus on PS. Some unis are heavy on ethics, eg Kings. Some are MMI like St Georges and Manchester ( if interview in UK). For me, no questions were asked on PS during my 3 interviews except for one which picked on some topic I mentioned.

But before u get the interview, u have to impress them on your PS and your result. For some uni in UK, they received 3500 applications for abt 300 places, and only abt 20s for international. So a candidate with 3 A will not be so impressive as someone with 4A*. They might give u 3A as condotional offer, that does not mean that with a predicted 3A, u will even get an offer of interview.

This post has been edited by eliselam: Jan 28 2012, 09:01 PM
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 09:32 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 28 2012, 09:24 PM)
The application was made last October using AS results and only sat for A2 last November. Interview held in Dec and conditional offer was given before A2 results was released last Monday. I find it odd that those already with results like 4A* or 3A* got rejected or did not manage to secure any interviews. Is it the PS one of the key determinants?
Ukcat, PS and school reference.

0.0178sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:03 PM