University Newcastle vs Monash vs IMU, Which is best?

TSTheRealAlexis
post Jan 27 2012, 03:57 PM, updated 14y ago

Can any of you enlighten me on which university is better for medical? In terms of recognition, quality, etc..

This post has been edited by TheRealAlexis: Jan 27 2012, 03:57 PM
cloud_nine
post Jan 27 2012, 06:00 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheRealAlexis @ Jan 27 2012, 03:57 PM)
Can any of you enlighten me on which university is better for medical? In terms of recognition, quality, etc..
Monash : Very Expensive and high entry requirement. Pass the aptittude test baru cakap.
Nescastle : Also expensive and Also high entry requirement. It's very new in malaysia. Dare to become "white mice" ?
IMU : Lower price than the above two, good facilities, but...............too many foreign lecturer.

Why not open wider choices by searching more information such as UCSI and Manipal? Good Luck! tongue.gif
onelove89
post Jan 27 2012, 06:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cloud_nine @ Jan 27 2012, 06:00 PM)
Monash : Very Expensive and high entry requirement. Pass the aptittude test baru cakap.
Nescastle : Also expensive and Also high entry requirement. It's very new in malaysia. Dare to become "white mice" ?
IMU : Lower price than the above two, good facilities, but...............too many foreign lecturer.

Why not open wider choices by searching more information such as UCSI and Manipal?  Good Luck! tongue.gif
I don't think the entry requirement is high at all for Monash msia >< Unless you're referring to Monash clayton. I think IMU and monash is about the same in terms of fees. TS are you referring to Monash Sunway? Hmm, If you're well funded, and good enough to enter either of these three, then I'll go with IMU-PMS > Monash > IMU-local > Newcastle.
zstan
post Jan 27 2012, 08:46 PM

15,856 posts

I believe for private institutions in Malaysia, Monash has the highest requirements.
limeuu
post Jan 27 2012, 09:52 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 27 2012, 08:46 PM)
I believe for private institutions in Malaysia, Monash has the highest requirements.
Not true....people who are rejected by imu have been accepted in monash.....with atar below 95 and isat in the last quartile.......looks like monash is now scraping the bottom of the barrel........while imu pms remains highly sort after......for obvious reasons......
zstan
post Jan 27 2012, 10:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 27 2012, 09:52 PM)
Not true....people who are rejected by imu have been accepted in monash.....with atar below 95 and isat in the last quartile.......looks like monash is now scraping the bottom of the barrel........while imu pms remains highly sort after......for obvious reasons......
I also believe that these are individual cases and does not represent the majority....

cckkpr
post Jan 27 2012, 10:23 PM

4,518 posts

Actually, to get into medicine into most of the Russell Group of universities in the UK, you need only 3As and not even A*. I find it funny that most prefer to go IMU pms instead of direct entry. Maybe the personal statement and the interview do have a significant influence on the application.

Added on January 27, 2012, 10:27 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 27 2012, 10:22 PM)
I also believe that these are individual cases and does not represent the majority....
These are those that may have been rejected at the interview stage and not on academic ability.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jan 27 2012, 10:27 PM
onelove89
post Jan 27 2012, 10:33 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 27 2012, 10:23 PM)
Actually, to get into medicine into most of the Russell Group of universities in the UK, you need only 3As and not even A*. I find it funny that most prefer to go IMU pms instead of direct entry. Maybe the personal statement and the interview do have a significant influence on the application.

These are those that may have been rejected at the interview stage and not on academic ability.
or rejected due to their ISAT scores.

They might want to save up some money, but i'm not saying IMU is cheap though. It's still wise to opt for direct entry. Either that, they are just reluctant to leave their comfort zone AKA their home/friends/family.
podrunner
post Jan 27 2012, 10:37 PM

2,214 posts

Applicants need to read up on each indivdual uni's "preferences", if you like. Some are UKCAT heavy, and interviews are called based on one's UKCAT's scores, eg Sheffield. Some interview invites are based on PS, eg Liverpool. And even though it's stated 3As, you will notice that applicants are applying with one or two or all 3 A*s now. Some Asians have 4 A*s, on top of credible UKCAT scores, and impressive PS. smile.gif
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 12:17 AM

55 posts

Merely 3As will not be sufficient for UK unis. I have friend with 4A* but not so strong UKcat was rejected by all 4 unis. Another 3A* friend was called by only one uni for interview.

Medical work experience is perequisite for UK unis. I shadowed some doctors for a few weeks, I volunteer in hospice and went to kampung to visit terminally ill patients.

Beside that, UKcat or Bmat and PS is very impt in the application to secure some interviews. After that, is up to your perfomance during interview.

The 3As is only the basic requirement, in reality, you need more than that. UK unis have very low quota for international students. Abt 20s per uni on average. That make it very competitive.

This post has been edited by eliselam: Jan 28 2012, 12:23 AM
justarandomboy
post Jan 28 2012, 12:24 AM

692 posts

Hi, a bit off-topic, but I wanna ask a question: Do all medicine school (university) always carry out an interview to choose those who intend to study medicine in their schools? I know UTAR and IMU do. So....if it's true, it's competitive, right?
podrunner
post Jan 28 2012, 12:37 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(eliselam @ Jan 28 2012, 12:17 AM)
Merely 3As will not be sufficient for UK unis. I have friend with 4A* but not so strong UKcat was rejected by all 4 unis. Another 3A* friend was called by only one uni for interview.

Medical work experience is perequisite for UK unis. I shadowed some doctors for a few weeks, I volunteer in hospice and went to kampung to visit terminally ill patients.

Beside that, UKcat or Bmat and PS is very impt in the application to secure some interviews. After that, is up to your perfomance during interview.

The 3As is only the basic requirement, in reality, you need more than that. UK unis have very low quota for international students. Abt 20s per uni on average. That make it very competitive.
Are you done with all your interviews? Good experience?
limeuu
post Jan 28 2012, 05:57 AM

12,291 posts

it is so much easier to get into imu pms than direct......no need tests, no personal statements, and no need real interview.....and can get in even with bbb if it's a weak cohort......

Bluntly, at least half of imu pms students will not get in direct if they tried.....and many will have......
cckkpr
post Jan 28 2012, 07:55 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(eliselam @ Jan 28 2012, 12:17 AM)

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 28 2012, 12:37 AM)
Some in the Russell group give conditional offers pending release of A2 results and it only indicated that A in Chemistry n 2 other As in Bio/physics/Maths. Agreed with you that a stint in a hospital is a much added advantage.

eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 09:54 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 28 2012, 12:37 AM)
Have attended 4 interviews, one more to go in Feb. It was quite interesting but nerve wrecking as each uni has different approah. But my palliative exp helps a lot as I was asked on it and mercy killing.

Have received offerd from Kings College and Trinity. Still waiting for others before I firm up my choice.
podrunner
post Jan 28 2012, 10:11 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(eliselam @ Jan 28 2012, 09:54 AM)
Have attended 4 interviews, one more to go in Feb. It was quite interesting but nerve wrecking as each uni has different approah. But my palliative exp helps a lot as I was asked on it and mercy killing.

Have received offerd from Kings College and Trinity. Still waiting for others before I firm up my choice.
CONGRATULATIONS!! Let us know in "calling all medical students" thread when you've decided, if you don't mind. There should be a new LY "stalking medical students/applicants 2012" thread.
eliselam
post Jan 28 2012, 12:09 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 28 2012, 10:11 AM)
CONGRATULATIONS!! Let us know in "calling all medical students" thread when you've decided, if you don't mind. There should be a new LY "stalking medical students/applicants 2012" thread.
Thanks. It is such a relief.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 28 2012, 01:45 PM

12,696 posts

Actually, to get into medicine into most of the Russell Group of universities in the UK, you need only 3As and not even A*.
These are the minimum, not the optimum. Not the same thing if you care think about it. For example, it's like saying the minimum money one need to eat in KL is RM10 but the optimum may be RM50 or RM100 etc.

Added on January 28, 2012, 1:50 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 28 2012, 05:57 AM)
it is so much easier to get into imu pms than direct......no need tests, no personal statements, and no need real interview.....and can get in even with bbb if it's a weak cohort......

Bluntly, at least half of imu pms students will not get in direct if they tried.....and many will have......
Ya, I believe many uses this as back door entry to 'better' universities. In other word, they can't get in through the front door.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 28 2012, 01:50 PM
cckkpr
post Jan 28 2012, 02:34 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 28 2012, 01:45 PM)
These are the minimum, not the optimum. Not the same thing if you care think about it. For example, it's like saying the minimum money one need to eat in KL is RM10 but the optimum may be RM50 or RM100 .

Added on January 28, 2012, 1:50 pm

Ya, I believe many uses this as back door entry to 'better' universities. In other word, they can't get in through the front door.

The conditional offer letter said 3As ....,.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jan 28 2012, 02:35 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 28 2012, 03:41 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 28 2012, 02:34 PM)
The conditional offer letter said 3As ....,.
This is how thing sometime works. The more they wanted you, the lower the grade needed.

AFAIK, 3A is the minimum. Then they look at your attitude and all sorts of other test and if they think you will become the next Mother Terasa, they may even set CCC for you.

I am not saying that works all the time, just some of the time.

0.0209sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:53 AM