All About Harddisk Thread V4

lex
post Jun 21 2012, 06:54 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 14 2012, 08:05 PM)
tape is the most reliable method since we r talking about reliability over here. dvd/blu-ray media is another option too for data safekeeping rather than hdd.
Tape isn't that all reliable. Very prone to moisture, fungus, tape wear and degradation over time. Anyone who used those VHS tapes before knows what I meant. The DAT tapes aren't that much different from video tape recording technology. As for DVD and BD media, those pretty much depends on the quality of the disc itself (usually based on manufacturer). Have used certain CD and DVD media that already lasts very long (e.g. the original real Kodak Gold Utima, not the later batch with greenish dye). Also have encountered those CD and DVD media that degrades over time (plenty of them, mostly el-cheapo brands). icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(,Jun 17 2012, 05:08 AM)
Guys, having multiple times copying files over and over will cause some data loses?

Some of my movie files are corrupted or having some glitch during scenes time and also not to mentions mp3.
Besides this...
QUOTE(everling @ Jun 17 2012, 02:38 PM)
Copying files over and over will normally not cause data loss. It could be bad RAM as sotong168 suggested, or it could be that you have bad sectors, or that your HDD is dying. I would recommend doing a full HDD scan and checking the SMART attributes. You can use the HDDScan software that is linked in the first post.
@Kr0ll3R, do you use any 3rd party copy utilities? You may want to check your cables as well. Also some old chipsets (on ancient machines) such as the VIA 686B southbridge have data corruption issues with UDMA enabled (also becomes more significant if a SoundBlaster Live! soundcard is present). Certain NVIDIA chipsets also have this issue (with SoundBlaster Live! also)... hmm.gif

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jun 20 2012, 09:07 AM)
my colleague rma his samsung 640GB HDD (external).
Seagate took 3 weeks to return a refurbished one.
Which is full of scratches and got a few cracks on the case.

So he returned this one back to seagate, and seagate took another 2 weeks to return back to him.

the process is quite simple actually...u submit an online rma report...u get ur rma number...u pack ur hdd and post it to them with ur rma number attached...and wait...
Not sure about Seagate's externals. For Seagate internal ones, mine took surprisingly less than a week. And that was very recently. Just submit the online RMA order, print the RMA order and then pass together with the HDDs directly to their RMA center (somewhere in Shah Alam, refer to Hardware Dsitributor / RMA Claim Addressess, if u don't know where to claim warranty). No need to pack nor post to them... laugh.gif

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Jun 20 2012, 06:22 PM)
any good internal 1 gb/1.5 tb recommendation guys?
Plenty, there's the performance ones like Western Caviar Black or Enterprise level drives such as the Raid Editions. Of course, most people (including myself) would recommend the Caviar Black model (if you can afford). Do state your budget... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jun 21 2012, 06:59 AM
lex
post Jun 25 2012, 02:23 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Jun 24 2012, 11:07 PM)
reliability is most importance as i mainly used my hard disk for storage only, not so much for gaming
well, budget is...hm..let say around 300?
That budget can only afford Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB. If reliability is your concern then either use RAID1 setup (ie. mirroring) with two HDDs, and or simply get two HDDs can make duplicate the files on both drives (for redundancy). Another recommended solution is to burn the data into reliable DVDR media (ie. do not use el-cheapo DVDR). wink.gif
lex
post Jun 26 2012, 02:41 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Jun 25 2012, 09:38 PM)
There's always theft and fire! Nothing beats off-site backup. smile.gif
Off-site backup weakness: Cannot access when internet connection is down, and backup host server is down (or gone out of business)... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 25 2012, 11:08 PM)
Just to share, for backups I run a weekly sync/backup of my important files to a WD Elements 1.5 TB. So I have duplicates in another ext disk.

IMO any hdd will go kaput...just a matter of when only.
Just for your information, certain CDRs and DVDRs can outlast HDDs... brows.gif
lex
post Jun 26 2012, 04:14 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 26 2012, 03:05 AM)
Not sure whether normal or not, my HDD vibration is kinda annoying. How to reduce it lol
Please describe in detail. Is it the surrounding HDD mounting and/or casing vibrating? Or just the HDD itself making a lot of noise? hmm.gif

QUOTE(everling @ Jun 26 2012, 02:49 PM)
Off-site doesn't mean it is on the cloud. It means that the backup copy is not located in the same building or site. It may be stored offline (not powered) or online (powered and accessible to a computer), but doesn't say if the backup may be accessible over the internet or not.

At least that was what I had learned back then. Maybe the meaning of the terms have changed.
When I mentioned "backup host server", I didn't add the "online" word. Thus, it could mean both online (e.g. internet connection) and offline as well. tongue.gif

QUOTE(everling @ Jun 26 2012, 02:49 PM)
Rare. Expensive. Too troublesome to use, except on things that you intend to burn and forget, emphasis on forget. And they are mostly claims, unless you can verify for yourself about twenty years or forty years down the line, which you probably won't bother because it would be a lot of work or CD/DVD readers no longer exist (hah!) or you have forgotten about it. laugh.gif
Yes, those certain CDRs are rare and "expensive" (when compared to other el-cheapo media). I've used numerous brands of CDRs before and I can verify that most of those "certain" CDRs have survived (some already more than a decade old and counting). The best ones (top grade) are the original Kodak Gold Ultima (this one is from the days of 4X and 8X CDRs!), Mitsubishi Blue Platinum Super AZO and Mitsubishi Sonic AZO. As for DVDR media, seems the original Mitsubishi DynAZO is pretty stable. thumbup.gif The second grade ones are mostly made by Prodisc, sold under various brand names (including Verbatim/Mitsubishi). The ones that didn't made the grade (inconsistent quality and/or have some levels of degradation) are Mitsubishi Metal AZO (surprise surprise!), Mitsui, Imation, TDK, Sony, Ritek, Daxon, etc. Of course there are also the worst ones like Sony (the ones from Sony's own factory), Maxell (the ones from Maxell's own factory), GigaStorage (sold under various brands like "Melody") and most of the el-cheapo media (quite a long list). shakehead.gif As for 20 to 40 years later, can always move/copy all the data to new technology storage medium or device. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jun 26 2012, 05:26 PM
lex
post Jun 26 2012, 05:39 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Jun 26 2012, 05:27 PM)
No, I didn't use any software. It was like a normal C&P.

Don't think anything to do with my specs, I guess.
Whenever I wanna do a clean format of my drive, I move out all files (movies, music, etc) to secondary internal HDD.
And when I copy back and watch some movie files, certain scenes will have random colored line bar (I can confirm that, cause my fren who copy from me, watched it perfectly fine) or that scene can't be played.
Does the same thing occur when playing the file directly from the secondary internal HDD? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Jun 26 2012, 05:27 PM)
At least I know now, copying files over times won't cause any data loss.
Thx for the helps!  smile.gif
Copying files shouldn't affect the data. There could be other sources of data corruption. Anyway, I usually use a MD5/SFV checksum generator and checking utility to verify my files. icon_rolleyes.gif
lex
post Jun 26 2012, 06:10 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Jun 26 2012, 05:54 PM)
Erm, that I not sure, cause I only realised when I cut/move back from the secondary HDD.
Eh sorry, should be Cut, not copy. But it's the same terms I guess, where I don't keep copies in my secondary HDD.

Other files in the 2nd HDD, doin good.
Then the data corruption could have occurred when transferring files (ie. that's why I've mentioned about checking the cables), and/or in the destination HDD itself. If you had overclocked your machine then try setting it back to stock speeds (e.g. possible increased bus speeds could cause data corruption). hmm.gif

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Jun 26 2012, 05:54 PM)
Is that a software to check a file error? That could come in handy. Thanks!
Plenty of them. Just use Google with the search phrase "sfv md5 checksum checker", "md5 checksum checker", etc.. icon_rolleyes.gif

lex
post Jun 26 2012, 08:05 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 26 2012, 06:39 PM)
HDD including the HDD cage, the empty floor of the casing between the HDD cage and the PSU sad.gif

Is this normal?

p/s: I did remove off the fan, but it's still vibrating sad.gif The most severe part is between the HDD cage and the space between hdd and psu)
You could try putting a heavy weight on it (e.g. a thick heavy book, stone brick, etc), and see if the vibration is still there. Is that PSU touching the bottom plate of that casing? hmm.gif
lex
post Jun 28 2012, 04:02 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 28 2012, 03:02 AM)
Thanks Lex. I'll try that. Btw, HDD vibrating is normal right? I'm just wondering whether my HDD is normal or not. Vibrating until hdd cage and casing floor also vibrate.

My table can feel the vibrations and its slightly annoying sad.gif
Vibrations are not good for the HDD generally. sweat.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 28 2012, 03:02 AM)
Btw, my HDD is screwed on to the hdd cage by 2 screws on the left side of the cage. Right side (facing the front fan) there's nothing
There should be another 1 or 2 screws on the other side as well, to properly secure the HDD. Try putting some padding on the unsecured side (e.g. a strip of thick cardboard between the HDD and the HDD cage). Is that HDD cage removeable? hmm.gif

lex
post Jun 29 2012, 11:38 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 29 2012, 07:04 AM)
Then perform LLF (Low Level Format) to rectify the bad sectors, it could be saved or worst, translate it to "Reallocated Sector Count" means the sector(s) is(are) now permanently damaged and get replaced by spare sector(s), every HDD has it.
If the SMART after LLF has "Reallocated Sector Count" then if you have time, perform another time, if the attribute not increasing means others sectors still in good condition, if it's increasing then send for RMA.

I am recently have 2 cases of my own, the Seagate 500GB and my Western Digital 320GB, both has "Pending Sector Count", and yes it crashed my PC, for no apparent reason it'll BSOD, I tried LLF and it seems fine for now, keep an eye on such HDD, if it does happen again, try to convince the manufacturer to give you a RMA, that drive is not in good working condition any more, well, if the warranty still valid.
Actually, nowadays you cannot really "LLF" (low level format) the HDD anymore. The HDD internal controller simply remaps the bad/weak sector to a an available spare sector. Very often this happens automatically (whenever the sector is being accessed or verified, usually the controller will try to "recover" the sector first and if fails then remaps that sector to a spare one). True low level format is actually done in the factory itself where the platters are evaluated and defects mapped out. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 29 2012, 05:55 PM)
Any other program to check for bad sectors? smile.gif
Try HDTune... wink.gif

QUOTE(hafni_matt @ Jun 29 2012, 09:30 PM)
i just check out this thread to find some info on what hdd to buy..but after reading the discussion make me a bit scared about the reliabiliity concern..as far as i know none of my freind having problem with hard disk before..so is the vibrating and the corrupt thing is normal or rare case?
Its not a rare case actually, in fact its very common. Other sources of HDD problems are power supply issues and heat. cool2.gif

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jun 29 2012, 09:39 PM)
Normal vibrations hardly ever matter to a HDD. The HDD itself vibrates to a certain extent and it is definitely within its operating specs. What matters is a sudden shock or strong blow to a HDD. Let's just say that you throw a laptop with a running HDD on the ground, it is very likely that you'll have a dead HDD from the impact when it falls. Corruption happens but it doesn't happen to each and every HDD, even if it did, only a small portion will be corrupted and will outlive the usable lifespan of the HDD.
Actually vibrations do matter to the HDD. That's because the read/write head is actually floating on a cushion of air, and the armature are not 100% rigid. If ever the vibrations (or knocks) is strong enough to cause the head to touch, scrape and/or crash onto the delicate platter surface spinning at high speeds (nowadays 7200rpm is pretty normal for majority of desktop HDDs), then that could create many problems including bad sectors and drive failure (due to read/write head damage). hmm.gif

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jun 29 2012, 09:39 PM)
No HDD is ever that reliable, even SSDs which are marketed as very reliable compared to HDDs are showing some reliability issues. What matters most is that if you want your data to be safe, make backups. If you want it very safe, make backups of backups and keep that copy of the backup elsewhere.
Its a common fallacy for many to think that external HDDs and/or HDDs as a backup device. As HDDs can fail anytime and suddenly (without warning), the practice of redundancy is required to keep the data safe (the likelihood of two drives failing at the same time is far less). Another backup method would be to burn them to high quality CDR and/or DVDR (as mentioned earlier). icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jun 29 2012, 11:39 PM
lex
post Jun 30 2012, 03:19 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:50 PM)
It certainly does but I'm quite certain modern HDDs are able to park the read/write head in case of regular vibrations, minimizing the damage if any exists. This isn't the case if a stronger impact happens and the HDD can't react just as fast. I just think that many are just worried that their HDDs would die even at the slightest vibration.
Nope, most HDDs do not simply park the head in case of vibrations. Otherwise the HDD would be parking the head so often that it slows down the HDD totally. Do you realize that without that cushion of air, the read/write head would simply touch/scrape/crash into the platter surface? That cushion of air is created by the platter spinning at high speeds. The air cushion gap between the read/write head and the platter surface is microscopic. If ever the spin speed slows down (due to bad/failing motor, insufficient/inconsistent power supply, etc) and could not maintain that cushion of air then a head crash can occur (scraping the delicate platter surface as a result). Anyway, any additional vibrations are not good for the HDD especially when the HDD is running. wink.gif
lex
post Jul 6 2012, 01:38 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 4 2012, 04:21 PM)
i thought this services ended dy, now they required all the customers to ship the parcel manually..no more courier pickup dy...

btw i from Sabah....and the post fees gonna like rclxub.gif
You could try Poslaju. Should be cheaper than other courier services... wink.gif

QUOTE(noname_lah86 @ Jul 5 2012, 05:34 PM)
My Samsung F3 starting to fail on me, I decided to perform a low level format to see whether it can fix itself or not.

Since I only have 1 drive, I can only done it via DOS. Is Seatools for DOS compatible for Samsung drive ? Or are there any alternatives.
Can't really "low level format" HDDs nowadays, all the software can do is to command the drive to remap bad sectors with spare sectors. However if the drive runs out of spare sectors, then bad sectors will remain. As for Seatools, you'll have to try it out yourself, since Samsung has already been taken under Seagate's wings. Not sure if the latest Seatools supports Samsung drives. Other than that, ye olde DOS-based Seagate Disk Manager is another nice utility. wink.gif

QUOTE(emperor_o4118 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:01 PM)
hi there all sifu..anyone knows wat software should i use to backup hdd?want to make my pc like cybercafe evertime pc restart the system will restore to its original state..anyone knows?thanx
Some of those software are Microsoft Steady State (EOL'ed), Rollback RX, Faronics DeepFreeze?, Norton GoBack (EOL'ed) and the defunct FirstDefense-Rescue. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jul 6 2012, 01:51 AM
lex
post Jul 6 2012, 08:38 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 6 2012, 05:52 AM)
@Lex, Rm58.5 for poslaju from Sabah to Singapore... sweat.gif  instead i send to achieva tech (cost rm12)  after i gave them a call regarding the RMA.. sweat.gif
What was their (ie. Achieva Tech) response? Will they provide the courier service (ie. send to Singapore) themselves? unsure.gif

QUOTE(emperor_o4118 @ Jul 6 2012, 10:13 AM)
these software backup entire hdd?means copy byte by byte?is there any software dat create image? hmm.gif i try to recall there is software datz only make image of it..small size..but forgot wat software it is tongue.gif
Nope, these software doesn't really do byte by byte image copy. Instead they rely on spare hard drive space to record changes made to the hard drive. If any problems (such as serious virus infection where all files are damaged, acccidental mass deletions, etc) then these software can roll back immediately to the original file data. This is different from Windows own "System Restore" method. wink.gif
lex
post Jul 8 2012, 11:06 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 6 2012, 10:52 PM)
Don't know bout sending to SG, they only said RMA need bout 10 days, so now just gonna wait...

no receipt needed, only need to provide S/N for warranty checking...
Thanks for the insight. Looks like all Western Digital HDD RMAs will be handled by Achieva... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(shyangg @ Jul 7 2012, 07:51 PM)
Hi guys, I've been wanting to get a new hard disk for a long time now but the rise in prices kept me waiting.
Is there anyone who knows if WD 2TB My Passport is available in KL or even in Ipoh and the prices?
I'm not very knowledgeable in hard disks so if you have any suggestions or comments, please do post.
The hard disk is mainly for storage, nothing heavy.
You could check downloadable online price lists. Last time I've checked, its around RM690+... unsure.gif

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 8 2012, 09:30 PM)
Why Seagate keep giving faulty Replacement Hard Disc if you RMA. I already RMA that Hard Disc more than 2 times but still have error
QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 8 2012, 10:46 PM)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 and 7200.12 and Sv35

160GB and 500GB

Bad sector , sometime it make my whole computer hang , IO problem too
All of them, or one particular model? By the way that SV35 is not meant for desktop/PC usage. You may get data "errors" (missed data) due to its design. Also for the other HDDs, there could other factors such as heat, vibration, bad PSU (e.g. unstable rails, high ripples, etc), bad connectors (e.g. loose, dust/dirt,oxidation, etc), etc... hmm.gif

lex
post Aug 1 2012, 11:27 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(JiesonJason @ Aug 1 2012, 07:19 PM)
anyone know where can repair external hard disk?  i drop it today morning then cant use already. the pc keep cannot read.
Possible internal damage, especially the HDD mechanism internally. What's the brand/model of that external HDD? As for data recovery, try inquiring these professional data recovery services... hmm.gif

- MDR Data Recovery Solution
- Adroit Data Recovery Centre
- Seamax Data Recovery
- Ontrack Data Recovery, Singapore
- Data Recovery Center

Note: These professional data recovery services are rather expensive, expect the pricing to be in the hundreds if not thousands... sweat.gif
lex
post Aug 6 2012, 05:03 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(JiesonJason @ Aug 3 2012, 01:02 AM)
so i can send to repair and get back my data? those data are very important for me. is all assignment that i done on my studies.
I've often stressed before that do not rely on external HDDs as a backup device. IMHO, the best backup is either to use redundancy (have another HDD for duplication of your data), and/or burn your data into high quality CDR/DVDR media. Please note that not all CDR/DVDR media are made equal. If you want to use CDR/DVDR media then ask me on which are the reliable ones. wink.gif

QUOTE(JiesonJason @ Aug 3 2012, 04:42 PM)
nope. i din plug on it. is just drop down cause i din zip it.
Could be many sources of damage. If the connectors are internally damaged then there's a chance to retrieve the data yourself. However if you can't find any other physical external damage, then most likely the HDD inside has been damaged (possibly the read/write head). In the latter case (ie. HDD damaged), there's little you can do except to look for (expensive) professional data recovery services... hmm.gif

lex
post Aug 7 2012, 08:16 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 7 2012, 10:31 AM)
Somehow my another HD204UI is dead, sigh... what a let down, and 1 whole year of anime downloads  cry.gif
Recover half-way...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Clicking sound..
Download HD204UI clicking sound
... even has some dancing rhythm to it doh.gif
Recorded using Galaxy Note at 1 inch away from the HDD when running.
If your Anime collection is considered "the precious" then next time burn a copy into good DVD+R media for backup (recommended). icon_idea.gif

lex
post Aug 7 2012, 11:41 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 7 2012, 10:48 PM)
How many DVD-R would be required to backup 2TB worth of anime?  sweat.gif
Lots of course. Just backup those you think are best kept, the rest which are not so important can slowly backup later. I've had many CDRs and DVDRs survived for years. So far there are only very few brand/models CDRs and DVDRs that can be recommended (able to retain data very well), while the rest is junk. wink.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 7 2012, 10:48 PM)
Cheaper and faster to buy another hardisk to backup and store it away.
The problem with HDDs is that they can suddenly fail and all your "precious" goes to the grave with it. Unless you have two HDDs for redundancy (with identical data on both drives). icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 7 2012, 11:41 PM
lex
post Sep 3 2012, 06:40 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 30 2012, 07:11 PM)
guys need your help.
my Dell V13 cannot detect my HDD in BIOS.
the error show when boot from HDD

PXE-E61: Media test failure. check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM.
Operating System not found

i try to replace my HDD with a SSD i just bought. same error appeared.
and cant detect SSD in BIOS also..

could it be my BIOS need updated?
or mobo / bios is damaged?
or the SATA cable is damanged?

appreciate sifus help
Try posting your problems at the Computers -> Technical Support section... wink.gif

lex
post Sep 6 2012, 12:28 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Jukebox11 @ Sep 5 2012, 07:11 PM)
can anyone help me on this

I tried to format my hard disk,tryng to turn it from internal to external using the enclosure.But somehow when i plug in the drive,it will say..
"You need to format the disk before you can use it",
Then when i click format.it cannot be done.Im pretty sure my disk is healthy.I also noticed in disk management,my disk format is stated as RAW.I tried to format it to NTFS but failed.
Please help me anyone.
Please post your problem at the Computers -> Technical Support section... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 6 2012, 12:29 AM
lex
post Sep 11 2012, 03:48 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Sep 10 2012, 08:12 PM)
Looking for a external 3.5" HDD with addtional casing, which combination should I go for?
also, sifu here can recommend a good casing for this 3TB HDD too please?
Are you using a desktop PC, or notebook/laptop? unsure.gif

From the previous posts, seems like WD Red is a good choice with 3yrs warranty (please correct me if I'm wrong).

Seagate SV35 now also offer 3years warranty and cheaper than WD Red too?hmm.gif Stores at lowyat do carry them now?
Seagate SV35 is a consumer hard drive designed for video recording and playback, not for data storage. Thus not recommended. Using these type of consumer drives may result in data errors and corruption. That's because these drives skips sectors that are slow to read (in other words, missing data). On conventional desktop hard drive, they will re-read slow sectors to ensure data is always correct and complete. hmm.gif

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 10 2012, 11:52 PM)
want to ask,
any model/hdd that can last for few year ? for nas /raid
cos my hdd starting to fail....(most is WD Green)..
Hard drive longevity is really a lottery draw. Often factors such as PSU stability, heat and vibration can affect the hard drive lifespan. Sometimes even with the best of care, hard drive can suddenly start failing out of the blue. As usual, practice redundancy (have a secondary backup drive duplicating/mirroring the contents) and/or backup data to high quality reliable CD/DVD media to minimize data loss in case of hard drive failure. icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0465sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:42 PM