All About Harddisk Thread V4

mrbob
post Aug 15 2014, 07:25 PM

318 posts

Here's the third and final part.

C) Power

We will look at electrical power as a factor in determining how long hard drives could last.

Power surge can be caused by lightning strikes, interference with power lines/mains, failure of PSUs, or by any event which causes the flow of electricity to be interrupted and then restarted. Power surges can result in data loss when the read/write heads fail to function properly, and in the worst case, a complete computer crash. Investing in an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) helps to mitigate the quality of the AC power coming into your PC. Even the minimal investment of a surge protector can help filter out the noise, ripples, spikes and power surges from the mains. However getting UPS and surge protector would mean nothing if the PC's power supply unit (PSU) is problematic and unable to regulate steady power to the various components in your PC.

The PSU is the single point of failure for PCs as it is connected to all components in the PC. Its main function is to convert AC power to usable 5VDC and 12VDC power. Usable in the sense of clean and stable supply. Most PSU available in the market convert VDC power with some fluctuations and/or ripples. To see this, you just have to login to the BIOS/UEFI to monitor the power utilised by the PC components. While it is not as accurate as using the oscilloscope, you will still be able to see the fluctuation of the VDC supplied to the processor. This is the same with the 5VDC which supplies power to your hard drives. While the hard drives have some tolerance to voltage fluctuation, high and/or frequent fluctuation can cut short the lifespan of any connected hard drive.

Look at the design of the PSU and quality of the components used in manufacturing the PSU as it can greatly determine the quality of the power you can get out of it. Good quality components like Japanese-made capacitors will go a long way ensuring they will last (typically 5 - 7 years) hopefully until you replace your PC.

You should also look up the efficiency curve of the PSU and use it to plan your PC build. The higher the efficiency rate means less power is lost as heat during conversion.

Consider also the power consumption of the PC components as an indirect way of generating unwanted heat in the chassis. You can read the following 2 articles that shows a co-relation between power consumption and heat dissipation (W) of hard drives.

http://ixbtlabs.com/articles2/storage/hddpower.html
http://ixbtlabs.com/articles2/storage/hddpower-pro.html

So choosing "green" hard drives can often lead to less heat generated in your PC chassis. The less heat that is generated, the less you would have to worry about to get rid off.

So what can you do about this?
1) Visit sites like Silentpcreview, Hardocp, Kitguru etc that looks at the PSU's design, build quality, voltage regulation quality and even the heat exhaust reading. Know more about the characteristics of the PSU before you commit to put it into your PC.

2) Add up the power consumption of your PC components so that you can use it to pick the best PSU that would generate the least amount of heat and still fit your requirement. Plan to reduce all the risks and loop holes which can cause problems later on. Remember that risks can be managed so that incidents don't have to happen.

3) Invest in SATA power connectors that have built-in capacitors which will provide an additional layer of protection from VDC ripples/fluctuations.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Aug 16 2014, 04:29 PM
mrbob
post Aug 16 2014, 04:28 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 16 2014, 11:24 AM)
mrbob
Hi bro, do you know about the WD Caviar Black noise problem? I Google-ed found some user complaining about the noise spinning on Tomshardware. But those are old review (late 2013) was like saying have noise spinning sound even newly purchased of WD Caviar Black.

So I'm not sure current 2014 model have the same things or not OR it was supposed to be have such spinning sound that designed for. sweat.gif
Noise on WD Black? Other than the usual writing and reading sound I haven't noticed anything weird about mine. WD Black is the fastest 7k consumer HDD you can get your hands on. And I guess the noise just comes with the speed. What I do know is that they have tweaked the FW and the current model is blazing fast! Head over to Storagereview for the detailed writeup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtpMr8wrGRQ

Here's a YouTube video showing the noise. Notice that it is sitting on a HDD toaster and should explain why it is loud. My WD Black is in Silverstone GD05 about 3 feet from my ears and the r/w noise is barely audible.
mrbob
post Aug 18 2014, 07:27 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(nasiayam @ Aug 18 2014, 11:38 AM)
My 2TB WD My Book Essential 3.5" external drive, model no. WDBACW0020HBK-01 suddenly failed to power up, it just sit at a corner and i rarely move it

i check the adapter and usb cable, both working fine

my warranty finished d, called wd support to try my luck, they say need to send in for RMA and the files inside need data recovery, ridiculous

Google a lot and apparently the control board is the culprit, the hdd is still ok 1, i pry open the casing and found the control board part number 4061-705094-001 Rev 13R

the data in the hdd is encrypted by the controller board, thus putting the hdd into a generic casing to access the data wouldn't work

the solution is to replace the controller board, found a seller online but just buying the controller board would cost over 200 whereas a new 2tb drive is just 350++  sad.gif

anyone here experience the same problem and manage to fix it? or if you know where to get the controller board locally?

any help is very much appreciated, thanks.

[edited]

This post has been edited by mrbob: Aug 19 2014, 11:02 AM
mrbob
post Aug 18 2014, 07:34 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(wee395 @ Aug 18 2014, 01:16 PM)
hey guy , want to ask how to format WD 1TB external HDD ? Model is WD10TPVT-00U4RT1 .
Before this i hv try using window to format using low farmat and quick format also not working.
pls advise.thanks !
Use HDTune to see the SMART status and bad sectors layout.

Alternatively if the HDD is still under warranty, you can download the WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows software and run a full diagnostics. Use the screenshot results to RMA your HDD.
mrbob
post Aug 27 2014, 12:10 PM

318 posts

Seagate Ships World’s First 8TB Hard Drives

You heard it right. The 8TB drives are shipping now for Q4 availability! No technical details available yet in Seagate's anouncement however it is rumoured to be one of the first Shingled Magnetic Recording (SMR) product being rolled out. If this 8TB giant is based out of 800GB platters (current standard), I can't imagine how much more capacity Seagate would be able to squeeze out of 1.2TB platters when they become more widespread next year.

http://www.networkworld.com/article/259841...hard-drive.html

http://www.seagate.com/about/newsroom/pres...ives-pr-master/

mrbob
post Aug 27 2014, 06:56 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 27 2014, 01:08 PM)
shocking.gif Wow... 10 platters, talk about helium, now wait for review to do the talking.
hmm.gif Wonder how the price will affect current HDD.
Not 10 plats, still using only 5 plats. SMR technology promises to squeeze more bytes by stacking the data tracks closely together. Read the NetworkWorld article on my post. With the data tracks packed so closely together, really should wait and see how it performs in real life. This should be similar to upgrading from DVD to BR!

Now why can't WD come up with some simple ideas like SG and give us bigger drives without the fancy gas?

QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 27 2014, 01:41 PM)
please drop rclxms.gif

im planning to buy a 4TB WD Red for my NAS soon
Rumours have it that SG is getting ready for a price war. Come Q2-3 next year, when SG get their act together and start using 1.2TB platters, there will be blood.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Aug 27 2014, 07:56 PM
mrbob
post Sep 9 2014, 10:49 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:01 AM)
May i know if there any reviews or discussions about the performance difference between SSHD (Seagate etc. ) and Western Digital Caviar Black. I know how SSHD works, but for comparison sake lets say both device have been used multiple times, not first time boot.
Currently there are only 2 hybrid SSHD in the Malaysian market - Seagate SSHD which comes in 2.5" and 3.5" form factor, and WD's Black2 in 2.5". Toshiba 2.5" SSHD MQ01ABD100H is the other model that has not come to Malaysian market.

SG and WD have employed different approach on their SSHDs. SG is essentially a normal HDD with an 8GB flash cache to enable faster read/write performance while WD employs a dual HDD and 120GB SSD in the same unit. There are no one-to-one benchmark available currently since they are wired differently. However SG 3.5" SSHD tops WD 3.5" Black in terms of real-world performance (see the review on Storagereview). WD Black2 is really a great deal for upgrading notebooks with only 1x 2.5" HDD slot and is currently in short supply.

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 7 2014, 10:54 AM)
Is wd green 3tb still the current lowest price per TB ratio?
Viewnet's price list seems to indicate that. For best (cheapest) per TB per warranty year go for Black 4TB.

mrbob
post Sep 10 2014, 03:27 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Sep 10 2014, 10:48 AM)
I'm getting my WD Black2 tomorrow.

This guy is selling slightly cheaper than viewnet at RM760.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2468124

there is one more guy selling the cheapest at RM720
but need to buy minimum quantity of 10pcs.
Awesome. thumbup.gif

Lucky to be living in Malaysia. Users in US are having a hard time getting their hands on one.

mrbob
post Sep 10 2014, 03:37 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Sep 10 2014, 03:21 PM)
Ah, I see.... okay.
I think I will go for WD Purple 3TB, found a seller in PJ selling for RM365.

thanks for your suggestion!
FYI, WD Purple has been internally tuned for a loading of 95% write and 5% read. It would be a good fit if you intend to use it mainly for writing most of the time, otherwise WD Red is better tuned for reading.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Sep 11 2014, 10:36 AM
mrbob
post Sep 11 2014, 10:47 AM

318 posts

Western Digital's HGST releases 10TB Helium-filled HDD

As expected the newest Ultrastar He10 employs shingled magnetic recording (SMR) the same technology which SG used in the recent 8TB HDD release.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/18981...ngled-recording

mrbob
post Sep 27 2014, 06:02 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Sep 24 2014, 05:05 PM)
is AData HV620 1TB - RM179 worth getting?
That's a very cheap ext HDD even when it's not PC/IT fair price. For the innerts it houses Toshiba HDD and Via VL701-T4 controller. Review at Tweaktown shows fast performance. Can't comment on warranty experience though.

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/5714/adat...view/index.html

Note that SG and WD 2.5" 1TB ext HDDs could sell < RM200 during PC/IT fairs although for now I would be avoiding WD 2.5" ext due to intregated USB3 controller to the HDD PCB which limits tinkering with the int HDD should the USB controller fail.

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 25 2014, 07:36 PM)
I've met few failed WDC and also Hitachi, which none on Seagate yet on my long experience so I think I won't rely on such one sided information though.

There's actually a batch of WDC 320GB which failed on few desktop at my clients, that's probably some really bad batch, but since they're out of warranty, I can only replace them with new one.
Yeah HDDs are generally hit or miss, but you can do alot to care for your HDDs better. Take a wholistic view on how to best maintain the PC components health. You will be surprise on how long your HDDs last once it gets pass the crucial 1st 6 months usage.

mrbob
post Oct 3 2014, 07:31 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Sep 30 2014, 10:20 PM)
care to elaborate on this? what ext hdd of WD are using this design?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Oct 1 2014, 07:31 AM)
As for the controller, it could have been integrated with the hard disk which means either one dead, you can't retrieve data yourself, you'll need to send to specialist to extract data the "special" way, not very friendly in another way, Seagate Expansion is just another normal hard disk inside, tear open the case, and you got yourself a 2.5" hard disk that you can use on any machine wink.gif and vice versa... brows.gif
Googling WD Passport issues brings up a fair bit of reports on loose USB port. When disassembled, users found custom USB-controller-integrated HDD PCBs that cannot be installed into any SATA ports. The integrated PCBs seems to be on most 2.5" Passports even on the good old Passport Essential. You can also find plenty of pictures on the net. Here are some.

WD Passport Essential

WD Passport Edge

WD Passport Ultra

Problems with USB connector could be fairly easily fixed by resoldering. However if USB controller fails then you better have a backup otherwise there's just a slim chance of recovering the data by replacing the integrated PCBs sourced through 3rd-party spare part stores.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Oct 3 2014, 07:47 AM
mrbob
post Oct 3 2014, 06:50 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 3 2014, 09:42 AM)
hmm.... like that is almost dealbreaker already (at least to me)....  doh.gif
hmmm.... guess I will have to go to Seagate for my future ext hdd....  cry.gif
currently have 4 WD Passports in my backup....  sweat.gif
I know how you feel, I also got a WD Passport in my collection. Jumped at a really good offer before I did a proper checking with Uncle Google. Sigh...

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Oct 3 2014, 10:17 AM)
Currently the only model that has been dissect (confirmed on Youtube) is Seagate Expansion of which is the cheapest among all the series.
I'm not too sure about the Slim series and beyond though so keep an eye on.
Seagate Expansion has 2TB model... 2TB on laptop anyone? brows.gif

Youtubed a bit and found this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeVGN8QycTs
doh.gif There's always some surprise sweat.gif
There's already a YouTube video showing how to extract the 2TB Samsung M9T HDD from a SG Backup Plus Slim. The USB controller is clearly shown as a separate adapter. We should get the same innerts here in SEA.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6eV3pEXKgo

From another SG 2.5" Backup Plus disassembly video, also shows that the USB controller is separate from the HDD PCB. So I think it's pretty safe to conclude that the current batch of SG's 2.5" ext HDDs can be extracted and redeployed to normal SATA port.

SG 2.5" Backup Plus disassembly
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e67098dYZ_0

This post has been edited by mrbob: Oct 3 2014, 06:51 PM
mrbob
post Oct 8 2014, 10:08 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 5 2014, 11:16 AM)
Oh... i see.... because the WD Passport I bought I think end of last year? or beginning of this year (i cant really remember) are 2TB....
yea, the prices are a little on the high side, but that time, i compared getting 2x 1TB and 1x2TB the price of 1x 2TB is still slightly cheaper than getting 2x 1TB  sweat.gif

WD My Passport in Malaysia already have 2TB variant, but Seagate still haven't?  rclxub.gif

Importing from overseas for such hardware is not an option because like you said, warranty issues *touching wood*

so my chances now is only wait Seagate to release their Backup plus 2TB in Malaysia??  icon_question.gif
You can get SG Backup Plus Slim from most Lowyat stores. Viewnet was selling it at RM369 last month. It will take a few more months for the 2.5" Expansion 2TB to come in. There seems to be more demand overseas than in Malaysia but stock should be coming in as the demand picks up.

Most consumers in Malaysia still think that WG Passports' 2.5" portable HDDs has a SATA port on the HDDs' PCB that allows them to be extracted and reused if the USB part of the portable HDD fails. I guess as long as there is no issue with the USB connector or the controller, users don't really need to worry about this design issue. My own Passport is still running well after 3 years, though now I'm just using it as a secondary backup HDD. Praying that it won't suffer any USB related problems like other users. sweat.gif

mrbob
post Oct 20 2014, 02:52 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 9 2014, 10:44 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/WDMalaysia/photos/...52694965181211/

a chance to win yourself a drive!

6TB RED would be great!

btw I'm using 6TB now but Windows 7 64bit refuse to allow me to allocate more space than that. Can't even partition the additional space.

quite stump on search terms to put on Google either.
There shouldn't be any issues with the HDD firmware as they have been tested on native chipsets and popular OSes.
What motherboard did you install the 6TB on? I would check the SATA controller chip.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Oct 21 2014, 04:01 PM
mrbob
post Oct 20 2014, 02:56 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 16 2014, 11:38 PM)
Hi Guys,

Today went to Digital Mall,
and saw AllIT selling Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB for 409, and
                              WD My Passport Ultra 2TB      at 412, and
        C-Zone selling Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB for 389.

Considering the separated USB controller in the backup plus slim, is the price a go? or a no go?  icon_question.gif
Hmmm, Viewnet retailing at 369.

mrbob
post Oct 21 2014, 03:40 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 20 2014, 09:08 PM)
you mean Viewnet selling Backup Slim Plus for 369?!  shocking.gif
Yep, I mentioned this to you a couple weeks ago. It should be on a downward trend before GST and further inflation hits.

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Oct 21 2014, 10:44 AM)
Hi, need some recommendation of 4TB HDD for storage purpose and replace my WD Blue 1TB and WD Green 500GB to the number of HDD in my PC. So far what I have in mind is the WD Red 4TB. Any other recommendation around? Prefer something that have stability and not so high power consumption.
You can find the discussion on this issue in previous posts. Just as a recap - if just use for storage, go for WD Green. Warranty 2 yrs.

WD Red and Purple are best suited for RAID arrays since they have TLER feature to help stay online in the array. Warranty 3 yrs.

WD AV Green, SG SV35 and Surveillance could be better suited for 24/7 video streaming or heavy write applications. Warranty 3 yrs.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Oct 21 2014, 03:57 PM
mrbob
post Oct 21 2014, 04:43 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 15 2014, 09:08 PM)
Yes, I got into a similar problem as well. Thought it was only me. Just for the fun of it, I put all 4 of the 6TB drives into my HP Microserver. The BIOS detected them and managed to create a 24TB RAID 0 volume.  laugh.gif

But once booted into Server R2 2008, I could not format the whole partition. Tried to google but till today I don't have the clue to the problem.

Anyway, the new drives were meant to be put into the Synology anyways. All fine and dandy in a RAID 5 volume.
Have you tried booting Linux on the Microserver to see if you can format them? The main cold-swap bays should be able to support the 6TB HDDs.

mrbob
post Oct 23 2014, 08:42 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 21 2014, 09:32 PM)
yea. you mentioned to me before, just wanna some confirmations on that,
as last time discussion about the data "retrievability" of WD's My Passport Ultra and SG's Backup Slim Plus shows that SG's Backup Slim Plus have separate USB controller which allows the data in the hdd to be retrieved should anything happened to the controller,  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

and at that time, only found garage sellers selling 1TB of Backup Slim Plus and none selling 2TB variant, was thinking have to wait longer....
but my visit to digital mall last week proved that 2TB are already selling (maybe online sellers havent update their catalogue  sweat.gif )
going to get myself at least 2 new ext hdd before next year's April's Fool, else.... really is a fool....  sweat.gif
so far going to go for SG's Backup Slim Plus, but it is always not a wrong move to ask first sifu sifu here for advice before going for the jump  notworthy.gif
If planning to buy anything from PC/IT Fairs, be careful to buy from reputable shops and don't get con.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2309310/

mrbob
post Nov 19 2014, 04:50 PM

318 posts

That is why we have backups. CDs and DVDs are cheap but storage size abit limited. Waiting for BR-RW to come down

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0304sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:56 PM