All About Harddisk Thread V4

jchue73
post Jan 17 2014, 01:26 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 17 2014, 12:43 AM)
Hey man, thanks for all the advice. But my friend just sold me a 3 month old Seagate Barracuda GT 7200.14 3TB HDD for under 300 so I guess im fine now. Will get another one soon.

As for the RAID, I'll be using Intel Motherboard RAID atm. Or is there a dedicated RAID card that you recommend?
Aiks... Just saw somebody with a busted 3TB Barracuda. BTW, there's no such thing as a Seagate Barracuda GT 7200.14. Seagate refers to it as 7200.14 generation or specifically called Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 for the 3TB version.

Anyway, price seems good but how sure are you it's 3 months old and in good condition?

With regards to RAID, I'm assuming you're not running any at the moment with 1 hardisk. Are you planning to run RAID 0, 1, 5 etc? Minimum hardisk for RAID 0 and RAID 1 is 2. Minimum hardisk for RAID 5 is 3. If you are, try to get the same ST3000DM001 3TB model to eliminate problems.

As for dedicated RAID cards, there are numerous PCIe cards in the market like Areca, Adaptec, LSI etc. You don't want to go in that direction. Cost wise, it gets very expensive.
jchue73
post Jan 18 2014, 11:21 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 17 2014, 02:04 AM)
T.T Duuuuude don't jinx me man, I just got it. Ahhaha.  cry.gif  And it's working good so far, or at least till I ripped my old PSU and cooling out. Waiting to upgrade these two areas atm. Got it from Ace Combat and I trust him.

Not sure thought, I know it's the 7200.14, but Ace calls em Barracuda GTs. Oh well, ST3000DM001 it is. No harm done really. biggrin.gif

Yup, only one, but will get a second one soon. And I'm going to go RAID 0.

And yeah, that's why I'm asking you. Cuz I know RAID cards are expensive as heck, and would be of no use unless I get 3-5 drives or more to utilize it. Maybe you have a good cheap one in mind. But since that's not the case, no RAID cards for me then.
If there were cheap RAID cards, the one on the Intel motherboard is better. So why bother with cheap RAID cards? The expensive ones different story.

QUOTE(teyking2003 @ Jan 17 2014, 02:48 PM)
hi , how to RMA the western digital hdd, im lose the shop resit and checked at website found still got 3 years warranty.
When you check your warranty online, the section for Product Replacement (RMA) is just next to it.

You need to register first though.

https://westerndigital.secure.force.com/?lang=en

QUOTE(clearcase @ Jan 17 2014, 09:13 PM)
call them, they will email you the RMA number & you can send the HDD by post.
No need to call. Their website is pretty automatic.

http://support.wd.com/warranty/index_end.asp?lang=en
jchue73
post Jan 20 2014, 06:01 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 19 2014, 06:07 PM)
Guys is 7200rpm n 5400rpm hard disc data transfer a lot difference.tq
There are basically 2 variables affecting data transfer. Platter density and rotational speed.

If all things being equal, higher rotational speed gives the ability to transfer data faster.

Just like higher rotational speed, higher density disc platter like the ones used in WD Red and Seagate's latest generation drives (1TB per platter) also allows for higher data transfer.

Most new hardisk especially the low powered ones with lower 5400 rpm are still able to rival the higher 7200 rpm ones because of the higher platter density employed.

As for access time, only rotational speed affects this and higher rotational speed means lower access times.

QUOTE(marine88 @ Jan 20 2014, 05:22 PM)
WD Blue/Green vs Seagate Barracuda, which one best?
Black !
jchue73
post Jan 25 2014, 09:31 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jan 25 2014, 12:14 AM)
Anyone know whether Seagate Wireless Plus portable hard drive is good ?
I didn't see anywhere selling , does WD have this kind of function hard disk wireless ?

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/03/the...st-isnt-enough/
It's ok lah for the function you want. I needed one for my kids when we were traveling last year. Able to set it up as hotspot and stream movies to my android phones to it even when on the plane. I streamed 1080p cartoons but only 1 connection. If you try another, the playback will not be smooth.

For hotels that only allow one wifi device per room to be connected to internet, you can set the Seagate as a gateway to share one internet connection to several devices.

Speed of the hardisk is quite ok. For wireless, it should be fine. USB 3 connection is nice when you need to transfer huge files from your NAS to it.

Battery is about 4 hours give or take.
jchue73
post Jan 29 2014, 03:45 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(christ99 @ Jan 28 2014, 11:08 PM)
Does anyone here know where I can get this item in Malaysia?

http://www.hotway.com.tw/products/hf2-su3s2.htm
I saw it in Lowyat Plaza in one of the shops a while back when only brand like Synology was around. Have not been there recently to check. Price list also don't mention it now.

Tried garage sales yet?

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 29 2014, 12:11 PM)
maybe u can consider WD re4 HDD  thumbup.gif
it come with 5yr wrty
Why buy WD RE4? That's more for RAID.

Buy WD Black and you still get 5 years plus cheaper at RM 450 for 2TB.

jchue73
post Feb 22 2014, 12:50 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(alonline @ Feb 21 2014, 11:17 PM)
I'm just wondering if other brand of HDD is better ya know.
Well i guess i just buy samsung brand then.
You do know right that Samsung hardisk division was bought over by Seagate?
jchue73
post Feb 22 2014, 02:32 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Feb 22 2014, 02:46 AM)
yet both brand existed  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Can you still get Samsung F4E brand new?

QUOTE(alonline @ Feb 22 2014, 02:59 AM)
I didnt know that.
Just googled and read the news.

Apparently Seagate did bought Samsung harddisk division back in 2011.
Huh, interesting.
All good brands telan by bigger companies. WD telan Hitachi which is my favourite HD manufacturer. But then WD still allows Hitachi to manufacture from their Shenzen plant and sell them out in the market unlike Samsung which you cannot find anymore.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2014, 12:03 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Feb 24 2014, 12:36 AM)
never buy any samsung hdd tho
but all computer shop do list Samsung brand under their hdd catalogue
Which shop list Samsung brand hardisk?
jchue73
post May 13 2014, 03:23 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ May 10 2014, 11:29 PM)
May I know is this Seagate wireless plus support samba share?
Can I use 3rd party app to play movie from the HDD wirelessly? Such as OPlayer
Samba? Yes.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_U...?language=en_US

I use this method a lot via ES Explorer when playing 1080p videos on my Note.

Never used OPlayer before.
jchue73
post Aug 12 2014, 12:17 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Aug 11 2014, 09:06 AM)
Now im beginning to think WD have a QC isssue here ? my other hard disks at home ( samsung, hitachi 3.5 and buffalo 2.5) still going strong with daily use.
I'm also beginning to think the same.

Anyway, surprise nobody mentioned the new launch of the 5TB / 6TB WD Red and the WD Red Pro line.
jchue73
post Aug 14 2014, 02:14 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Aug 14 2014, 01:44 PM)
Agree that wd is better than seagate but I still don't want wd. Looking at buffalo as alternative. I recalled Hitachi and Samsung is out of the business right?
Hitachi is very much alive under HGST.

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 14 2014, 01:53 PM)
Neither is better than the other, it's "luck", some can use over decade, some broke within few days doh.gif
Hitachi is still active but only on 2.5"? Correct me on this.
Samsung's HDD is bought by Seagate.
Very tempted to get Toshiba drives since they are HGST drives. They still produce 3.5". But the new WD Red 5TB and 6TB drives are tempting though.
jchue73
post Oct 15 2014, 09:08 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 10 2014, 11:23 PM)
i keep typing GB.

tongue.gif I mean TB. I can't fully utilize a 6TB drive and Windows 7 64bit doesn't allow me to do so.
Yes, I got into a similar problem as well. Thought it was only me. Just for the fun of it, I put all 4 of the 6TB drives into my HP Microserver. The BIOS detected them and managed to create a 24TB RAID 0 volume. laugh.gif

But once booted into Server R2 2008, I could not format the whole partition. Tried to google but till today I don't have the clue to the problem.

Anyway, the new drives were meant to be put into the Synology anyways. All fine and dandy in a RAID 5 volume.
jchue73
post Dec 26 2014, 06:57 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Dec 25 2014, 11:55 PM)
Anyone monitoring HDD prices lately?

I wonder if prices are going up due to ringgit weakening, despite WD having a big factory here in Kelana Jaya.....
Yes they are. sad.gif Indeed ironic since WD is made in this region.

Bought my 6TB WD Red mid September 2014 for RM 875. Now it's at RM 919.
jchue73
post Jan 25 2015, 12:47 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(XenoSlasher @ Jan 23 2015, 11:49 PM)
Greetings, I have several questions regarding hard disk. I just bought a 6TB WD Red 3.5"  but i still can't use it on my PC since i still need a new graphic card to make my PC work again. So i'm wondering if i can use it as an external hard disk in the mean time and use it as an internal hard disk once my PC is working again..So my question is..is it even possible to make it as external hard disk? If yes how? and if i want to make it as an internal again will i have to format the data or something..? Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advanced!
I hope your intention is to NOT to use the 6TB hardisk bootdrive in your PC. As storage data, it should be ok.

Just buy and external USB 3 or USB 2 case and install the hardisk inside it. Format and use it normally.

When your PC is up and running again, take the disc out of the external casing and install it in the PC on an available SATA port. You should not need to re-format the drive.
jchue73
post Mar 31 2015, 10:56 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Mar 29 2015, 10:58 AM)
Guys, wanna ask now what is the recommended brand currently for both notebook and desktop hdd?

I read in this thread a few years back, it was samsung (forgot which model) which was phased out.

I'm currently using Samsung and WD green for my desktop and also planning to change my notebook hd because all showing caution ohmy.gif  on crystal diskinfo.

My WD green was already showing caution a few months after purchase last year and thank god it hasn't die yet.

I think torrenting has some effect on killing hdds much more quickly than before.
Perhaps a little bit on the expensive route but I suggest getting the SSD drives for your notebook and desktop boot drive. Don't need to get bleeding edge SSD. Just a normal bang for the buck one will do wonders for speed.

Then go for external drives or invest in NAS for large storage. If you have a few PCs / notebooks connected via your home network, best would be a NAS. Nowadays Seagate and WD drives should be fine. I hear Toshiba drives are also excellent. If you can get Hitachi, that would be best but hard to come by.

Spindle speed? 7200rpm for performance and for home use storage, best to get 5400rpm to keep heat and electricity bills down.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 29 2015, 05:51 PM)
dayum, was at All IT IKANO, WD Red 4TB cost RM719? sweat.gif
i bought mine months back at RM589
Yeah, my 6TB WD Red drives also damn expensive at the moment. Blame it on the weak currency. sad.gif

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 31 2015, 10:26 AM)
bumping for answers.
How old is the drive? If there's already warning, best is to get ready and transfer / backup your data. It's not like a car where problems can be repaired.
jchue73
post Mar 31 2015, 11:28 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 31 2015, 11:20 AM)
I bought it in 2010, so it's already 5 years. Reading back my old post i just found out i was conned by seller, i requested for Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ  mad.gif
5 years is 10% is limadekad. biggrin.gif Hardisk pretty cheap nowadays. Just get one to replace the Samsung. Re-format this Samsung drive and see if errors still come up. You can use it as spare for unimportant data.
jchue73
post Apr 1 2015, 03:38 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Apr 1 2015, 08:26 AM)
Maybe I'll consider an SSD for the laptop but I'm not so up to the idea for the desktop as it is abit old.

So no specific models that come in mind for the hdd?

I'm thinking of the WD blue series as I heard it is quite good, performance wise.
WD Blue is good. I believe max size is 1TB. Don't know what's the latest info and reliability on the WD Green but I personally avoid it.

On SSD, it's never too old a motherboard to have one. I put a Samsung 840 EVO on my Socket 775 Intel mobo with SATA 2 port. Never been more happy.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0232sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:28 AM