134 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V4

mrbob
post Jun 1 2014, 06:46 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 24 2014, 12:00 AM)

Hi

Thought you have RMA'ed the HDD and decided not to try anything on it.

Anyway problem could be due to HDD surface or R/W heads. In anyway, you should try to backup the data from the HDD using tools like PhotoRec on Hiren BootCD for the most damaged/stubborn files to get off the HDD. RMA is your easiest way rather than wasting time trying to low-level format etc. Just tell them the performance suffers too much to be any use for you.

Rgds,

kosuke09211
post Jun 2 2014, 05:04 PM

409 posts

can anyone help with this?
i just wan to take out all the data inside cry.gif
i ask some of my frens they say just swap the PCB on it
but i cant seem to find the same pcb for it
KUROsaki23
post Jun 2 2014, 07:34 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jun 1 2014, 06:46 PM)
Hi

Thought you have RMA'ed the HDD and decided not to try anything on it.

Anyway problem could be due to HDD surface or R/W heads. In anyway, you should try to backup the data from the HDD using tools like PhotoRec on Hiren BootCD for the most damaged/stubborn files to get off the HDD. RMA is your easiest way rather than wasting time trying to low-level format etc. Just tell them the performance suffers too much to be any use for you.

Rgds,
already try to ask, they say waranty finish already sad.gif so cant rma
mrbob
post Jun 2 2014, 08:49 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Jun 2 2014, 07:34 PM)
already try to ask, they say waranty finish already sad.gif so cant rma
Sorry to hear bout that. I hope you managed to get all your data.

Anyway, the first thing I would do is to confirm if it's surface related problem. Download HDTune free at http://www.hdtune.com/download.html and run the Error Scan function.

Read the FAQ here http://www.hdtune.com/faq_1.html

If problem is related to surface damage, you can run a chkdsk command from the Windows Bootup DVD -> Windows Repair command prompt. The command is "chkdsk /r /x". Windows will check on each HDD sector and mark the damaged sector.

KUROsaki23
post Jun 5 2014, 12:29 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jun 2 2014, 08:49 PM)
Sorry to hear bout that. I hope you managed to get all your data.

Anyway, the first thing I would do is to confirm if it's surface related problem. Download HDTune free at http://www.hdtune.com/download.html and run the Error Scan function.

Read the FAQ here http://www.hdtune.com/faq_1.html

If problem is related to surface damage, you can run a chkdsk command from the Windows Bootup DVD -> Windows Repair command prompt. The command is "chkdsk /r /x". Windows will check on each HDD sector and mark the damaged sector.
already done, i think no other way, i dont care about the data..just wanna use dat drive..cuz low space already sad.gif dem samsung
wildwestgoh
post Jun 5 2014, 07:09 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(kosuke09211 @ Jun 2 2014, 05:04 PM)
can anyone help with this?
i just wan to take out all the data inside  cry.gif
i ask some of my frens they say just swap the PCB on it
but i cant seem to find the same pcb for it
I don't think that's easy as your friend said, PCB for each and every hard disk is different, it's trial and error for some, but if you screw up, you lose your data in one swoop.
Best is to pay a little visit to specialize shop (can't remember which) and let them deal with data recovery.
If you want to recover it yourself, you have to find the PCB of which of the same model, same manufacturing batch and not just date, if your drive is old the chances is little high, but if it's new, then it's of luck, rarely new drive fail (can RMA after all).
kosuke09211
post Jun 5 2014, 10:33 AM

409 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 5 2014, 07:09 AM)
I don't think that's easy as your friend said, PCB for each and every hard disk is different, it's trial and error for some, but if you screw up, you lose your data in one swoop.
Best is to pay a little visit to specialize shop (can't remember which) and let them deal with data recovery.
If you want to recover it yourself, you have to find the PCB of which of the same model, same manufacturing batch and not just date, if your drive is old the chances is little high, but if it's new, then it's of luck, rarely new drive fail (can RMA after all).
i just rma it back at mid of april...
i guess no luck le...
SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 16 2014, 01:22 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

EDIT

its on SSD thread now.

This post has been edited by TheHitman47: Jun 16 2014, 12:30 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jun 16 2014, 10:11 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Jun 16 2014, 01:22 AM)
im not sure if this supposed to be in here, but this is totally bad and unethical move by Kingston and PNY.
Kingston & PNY caught in bait and switch scandal
lazy to click : basically what they did are they launch SSD in with one hardware specification, and then quietly changing the hardware configuration after reviews have gone out.

alot of people even start to boycott them until they do an apology and pledge to not engage in the behavior again.
Isn't this suppose to be at SSD thread instead? hmm.gif sweat.gif
SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 16 2014, 12:33 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 16 2014, 10:11 AM)
Isn't this suppose to be at SSD thread instead? hmm.gif  sweat.gif
im looking for that, but too sleepy to notice the thread last night. doh.gif

thanks man, i already edited the post now. nod.gif
SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 16 2014, 12:33 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 16 2014, 10:11 AM)
Isn't this suppose to be at SSD thread instead? hmm.gif  sweat.gif
double post.

This post has been edited by TheHitman47: Jun 16 2014, 12:33 PM
DreamScars
post Jun 28 2014, 08:53 PM

388 posts

guys, i heard that wd green has the head parking issue which causes high load cycle counts. assuming that i'm using it for a storage drive and constantly downloading(torrenting) videos and music to the drive, will it be an issue?

looking around for 2tb drives, are the seagate barracuda's solid? worried about its 1-year warranty as opposed to wd green's 2-years and wd red's 3 years.
wildwestgoh
post Jun 29 2014, 06:58 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Jun 28 2014, 08:53 PM)
guys, i heard that wd green has the head parking issue which causes high load cycle counts. assuming that i'm using it for a storage drive and constantly downloading(torrenting) videos and music to the drive, will it be an issue?

looking around for 2tb drives, are the seagate barracuda's solid? worried about its 1-year warranty as opposed to wd green's 2-years and wd red's 3 years.
doh.gif Old news? If you're constantly accessing the HDD, then the head won't park, constant torrenting won't be an issue.
As for the warranty, Seagate has changed his to 2-year, if you're into warranty, get the SV35 (WDC AV Green equivalent) which has 3-year warranty, just add around RM20~40 more depends on location and shop.
mrbob
post Jul 2 2014, 01:24 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Jun 28 2014, 08:53 PM)

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jun 29 2014, 06:58 AM)

doh.gif Old news? If you're constantly accessing the HDD, then the head won't park, constant torrenting won't be an issue.
As for the warranty, Seagate has changed his to 2-year, if you're into warranty, get the SV35 (WDC AV Green equivalent) which has 3-year warranty, just add around RM20~40 more depends on location and shop.

DreamScars - There is always wdidle3 to manage the WD Green diskpark feature. I've heard that WD has improved the current version over the original Green which was problematic. You can also consider WD Blue/Red/Black instead, which has 2/3/5 yrs warranty respectively.

wildwestgoh - How's your experience with Seagate SV35? Do you run Windows or Linux with it? My experience with WD AV Green has been 50/50. My 1st unit (20 months old) on a Linux torrent box has been performing solid. The 2nd was DOA and the replacement unit is sitting in my Win PC. It seems to be working better with Linux than Windows.

This post has been edited by mrbob: Jul 2 2014, 04:20 PM
mrbob
post Jul 2 2014, 01:44 PM

318 posts

Have you ever wondered what's the use of the unrecoverable read error (URE) measurement that is detailed in the specifications of your harddisk? If you are running RAID5 with HDDs that are 2TB or bigger, you should read the following 2 articles.

Why RAID 5 stops working in 2009 - http://www.zdnet.com/blog/storage/why-raid...ing-in-2009/162

Has RAID5 stopped working? (2013 update) - http://www.zdnet.com/has-raid5-stopped-working-7000019939/

If you have RAID installed, what are your options?

1) Run RAID6 or RAIDZ2 (ZFS equivalent of RAID6) or higher
2) Ensure you have a proper backup for your critical data
3) If you can afford it, buy HDDs that have better URE ratings for better security and performance

super macgyver
post Jul 2 2014, 03:33 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

just have a hitachi 2tb failed with at least 60 bad sectors which just past feb 2014 warranty expiry date.
hope the new hitachi enterprise 5yr wrty hdd can longer than this faulty hitachi entry level hdd >.<
mrbob
post Jul 2 2014, 04:17 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 2 2014, 03:33 PM)
just have a hitachi 2tb failed with at least 60 bad sectors which just past feb 2014 warranty expiry date.
hope the new hitachi enterprise 5yr wrty hdd can longer than this faulty hitachi entry level hdd >.<
Wowzers! 5 years warranty! Anyway you'd probably be ready to upgrade to a larger capacity HDD when you reach the 3rd year. Hopefully by then 6TB HDDs would become more affordable. *Keeping*fingers*crossed*

wildwestgoh
post Jul 2 2014, 05:26 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jul 2 2014, 01:24 PM)

wildwestgoh - How's your experience with Seagate SV35? Do you run Windows or Linux with it? My experience with WD AV Green has been 50/50. My 1st unit (20 months old) on a Linux torrent box has been performing solid. The 2nd was DOA and the replacement unit is sitting in my Win PC. It seems to be working better with Linux than Windows.
I don't have SV35, wanting to get one but local stock is not available or dealer does not want to due to low demand.
I only have the WDC AVGP 3TB, working fine so far but that's less run due to only-plug-when-needed.
As for my another WDC Green (normal one; 2-year warranty) is also only-plug-when-needed, so I think it should prone less issue. *cross-finger* sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 2 2014, 05:26 PM
super macgyver
post Jul 3 2014, 12:29 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jul 2 2014, 04:17 PM)
Wowzers! 5 years warranty! Anyway you'd probably be ready to upgrade to a larger capacity HDD when you reach the 3rd year. Hopefully by then 6TB HDDs would become more affordable. *Keeping*fingers*crossed*
this hitachi 2tb already cost RM5xx ler, dun need get larger liao lor, as it is only save company data nia. tongue.gif
mrbob
post Jul 3 2014, 07:13 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jul 2 2014, 05:26 PM)
I don't have SV35, wanting to get one but local stock is not available or dealer does not want to due to low demand.
I only have the WDC AVGP 3TB, working fine so far but that's less run due to only-plug-when-needed.
As for my another WDC Green (normal one; 2-year warranty) is also only-plug-when-needed, so I think it should prone less issue. *cross-finger* sweat.gif
Which vendor have you asked? Both Jayacom and Viewnet featured the HDD on last week's pricelist.

Checkout the StorageReview piece on WD AVGP - http://www.storagereview.com/western_digital_avgp_3tb_review

134 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:05 AM