134 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V4

alvinfks78
post Apr 22 2014, 10:40 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Apr 9 2014, 05:34 PM)
Current Pending Sector count does not means the sector is bad, it just means the sector has some issue reading and it timed out just marked as "Pending Sector".
You can backup your data into another hard disk and perform wipe on it, single pass will do for most, I use LLF (Low Level Format) tool software to perform the wipe, WD Diagnose also has this function I believe.
After the wipe, lookup the SMART again and see the result on the "Sector Count" or look out for "Reallocated....", if all the status is 0 means your hard disk actually working fine but it won't guarantee it will not happen again.
In my case my Seagate has encountered this as many as 4 times, I did wipe over them, all SMART shows fine and only last for few weeks to days then the stat "Current Pending Sector Count" shows up 1 again, I got fed up and didn't do anything about it since it didn't affect my OS nor my data so it's fine, been running with that stat for quite sometimes now.
TL;DR (If you're lazy to read my story): Do a wipe of your hard disk (BACKUP FIRST!!) then check the SMART again for "Current Pending Sector Count", "Reallocated Sector Count", if both stat are 0 means your hard disk is working fine, you can use it as data storage for non-importants if you're paranoid. wink.gif
thanks for info.

Small update to the HDD, it kaboom ohmy.gif.

So reinstall the windows, didin't format or erase anything.

then check current pending sectors count speed fan = 0 again. rclxub.gif . oh well........... smile.gif

philipcs
post May 10 2014, 11:29 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 25 2014, 09:31 AM)
It's ok lah for the function you want. I needed one for my kids when we were traveling last year. Able to set it up as hotspot and stream movies to my android phones to it even when on the plane. I streamed 1080p cartoons but only 1 connection. If you try another, the playback will not be smooth.

For hotels that only allow one wifi device per room to be connected to internet, you can set the Seagate as a gateway to share one internet connection to several devices.

Speed of the hardisk is quite ok. For wireless, it should be fine. USB 3 connection is nice when you need to transfer huge files from your NAS to it.

Battery is about 4 hours give or take.
May I know is this Seagate wireless plus support samba share?
Can I use 3rd party app to play movie from the HDD wirelessly? Such as OPlayer
KUROsaki23
post May 11 2014, 03:54 PM

330 posts

hye ...i got one problem, my hard drive status is error, can put file but every now and then keep asking for backup data and so on..can repair on my own or have to send for repair? -samsung internal 2tb
1024kbps
post May 11 2014, 05:09 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 11 2014, 03:54 PM)
hye ...i got one problem, my hard drive status is error, can put file but every now and then keep asking for backup data and so on..can repair on my own or have to send for repair? -samsung internal 2tb
Backup now before it's too late, you can never know whether if it can survive on next boot or not.
send for repair, hard drive is not something that normal ppl can repair... unless you are very experienced.
KUROsaki23
post May 11 2014, 09:50 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 11 2014, 05:09 PM)
Backup now before it's too late, you can never know whether if it can survive on next boot or not.
send for repair, hard drive is not something that normal ppl can repair... unless you are very experienced.
where can i send for samsung drive sir?
1024kbps
post May 11 2014, 11:26 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 11 2014, 09:50 PM)
Return it to the shop you bought?
If it's not working, http://www.seagate.com/sg/en/support/warra...ty-faqs-master/
Seagate accept samsung drive. but i'm not sure bout malaysia one.
KUROsaki23
post May 11 2014, 11:58 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 11 2014, 11:26 PM)
Return it to the shop you bought?
If it's not working, http://www.seagate.com/sg/en/support/warra...ty-faqs-master/
Seagate accept samsung drive. but i'm not sure bout malaysia one.
owh, any place in malaysia ? smile.gif
VinceCheong
post May 12 2014, 05:53 AM

680 posts

Ok, Hi guys.. it's almost 6am and i'm tired, so i apologize if i've worded stuffs wrongly.

I have a Seagate 1TB HDD that crashed/died.. Happened when I has to force shut down my PC because it froze/hung.

I could post a youtube video of how the hdd sounds like upon powering up. But generally this is how it sounds like
Powers up > Actuator movement (0.5s) > Soft Beep > "repeats" > 15 seconds later > power off...
CLICK OF DEATH! T.T

Any possible chances of repairing? and estimated price?
Any shops to recommend for data recovery/hdd repairs?
Is it even worth repairing vs the cost of it?

Thanks and much love in advance smile.gif
wildwestgoh
post May 12 2014, 10:36 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 11 2014, 11:58 PM)
owh, any place in malaysia ? smile.gif
http://www.seagate.com/support/warranty-and-replacements/
Follow the guides, the Malaysia address is just another forwarder for Seagate, USPS to Singapore, somewhere in Subang.

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ May 12 2014, 05:53 AM)
Ok, Hi guys.. it's almost 6am and i'm tired, so i apologize if i've worded stuffs wrongly.

I have a Seagate 1TB HDD that crashed/died.. Happened when I has to force shut down my PC because it froze/hung.

I could post a youtube video of how the hdd sounds like upon powering up. But generally this is how it sounds like
Powers up > Actuator movement (0.5s) > Soft Beep > "repeats" > 15 seconds later > power off...
CLICK OF DEATH! T.T

Any possible chances of repairing? and estimated price?
Any shops to recommend for data recovery/hdd repairs?
Is it even worth repairing vs the cost of it?

Thanks and much love in advance smile.gif
Chances of local repair is low unless they do have the special room.
Seagate do provide data recovery but the price can be staggering, if your data worth thousands of RM and willing to fork out that much money for it then send through Seagate RMA and request for their recovery service.
If I'm not mistaken the checking process only is USD100? Long since I did research on it. They will check after you make the payment for them to proceed, then they will quote you a price for the data recovery, and it will depends on how much do you need to recover from it. rclxub.gif
ilovepizza
post May 12 2014, 11:35 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 11 2014, 09:50 PM)
Send to Seagate done b4.......np rclxm9.gif
KUROsaki23
post May 12 2014, 02:11 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ilovepizza @ May 12 2014, 11:35 AM)
Send to Seagate done b4.......np  rclxm9.gif
just post to seagate malaysia bro?
ilovepizza
post May 12 2014, 03:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 12 2014, 02:11 PM)
just post to seagate malaysia bro?
Yup open RMA and follow instruction. Provided the HDD still in warranty of course.
KUROsaki23
post May 12 2014, 07:49 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ilovepizza @ May 12 2014, 03:47 PM)
Yup open RMA and follow instruction. Provided the HDD still in warranty of course.
awww cant repair, just RMA, any repair shop suggestion? sad.gif
jchue73
post May 13 2014, 03:23 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ May 10 2014, 11:29 PM)
May I know is this Seagate wireless plus support samba share?
Can I use 3rd party app to play movie from the HDD wirelessly? Such as OPlayer
Samba? Yes.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_U...?language=en_US

I use this method a lot via ES Explorer when playing 1080p videos on my Note.

Never used OPlayer before.
mrbob
post May 14 2014, 06:10 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ May 11 2014, 03:54 PM)
Not sure if any of the harddisk recovery companies in Malaysia would actually repair problem HDD. You could try speaking to them. Their services will not come cheap. Search for "harddisk recovery Malaysia" in Google.

If BIOS and OS can still see the HDD then there is a chance to still recover the data on your own. First you must know the SMART status of the HDD. Assuming that you run Windows on your machine, head to the following link to download CrystalDiskInfo, run it on your problem HDD and post the result here in the forum.

http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDi...fo/index-e.html

giggs_509
post May 18 2014, 02:41 AM

1,475 posts

Is it worthy to have the os installed on ssd? Planning to refresh my 5 year old pc.
wildwestgoh
post May 18 2014, 06:52 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ May 18 2014, 02:41 AM)
Is it worthy to have the os installed on ssd? Planning to refresh my 5 year old pc.
If you needs the boot up time and some application extreme fast loading time, yes, SSD worth every penny.
Is your signature your current system?
Please do read the guideline to optimize your SSD on first page. wink.gif
giggs_509
post May 18 2014, 10:10 AM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ May 18 2014, 06:52 AM)
If you needs the boot up time and some application extreme fast loading time, yes, SSD worth every penny.
Is your signature your current system?
Please do read the guideline to optimize your SSD on first page. wink.gif
yes thats is my current system. quite old right? lol.. plan to wipe my win xp and only use win 7 then.
KUROsaki23
post May 24 2014, 12:00 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ May 14 2014, 06:10 PM)
Not sure if any of the harddisk recovery companies in Malaysia would actually repair problem HDD. You could try speaking to them. Their services will not come cheap. Search for "harddisk recovery Malaysia" in Google.

If BIOS and OS can still see the HDD then there is a chance to still recover the data on your own. First you must know the SMART status of the HDD. Assuming that you run Windows on your machine, head to the following link to download CrystalDiskInfo, run it on your problem HDD and post the result here in the forum.

http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDi...fo/index-e.html

Maxieos
post May 29 2014, 12:50 PM

3,757 posts

For external 2.5 hard disk .
2.5 Western Digital Elements vs 2.5 Western Digital Elements.
Which one better ?

134 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:09 AM