SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V4, Be intelligent; read thoroughly.

arct
post Feb 15 2012, 10:13 PM

377 posts

hi all! im new to smartphones, and may wanna get one. currently interested with galaxy w. i've read alot of reviews online, and i've read thru the pinned post of this thread (4 threads in fact! in just a few months shocking.gif ) noticed that there are quite a number of galaxy w owners here.

pardon my ignorance on smartphones but its hard for me to go through each post in these threads, i've only read the first few pinned by TS.

anyway, is there anything i should be aware/know regarding this model? i mean, so far i see no huge problem with this phone (from online reviews, etc), but sellers at my area warned me about the quality of this phone. one shop told me there's prob with the speakers (or earphone im not sure), another told me to watch out for 1st batch of phones (claimed that 1st batch has bad build quality and asked me to wait for 2nd batch and stuffs like that), truth is, i dont know which is true. plus not many shop carry this model in my area, most of them either say they dont have stock or the display unit is the last one.

anyway TLDR: a newb getting touchscreen smartphone for the first time, wanna know is it safe to get this model at this time? notworthy.gif cheers

thanks all!
arct
post Feb 16 2012, 09:57 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 16 2012, 02:54 PM)
Why people get the perception that Galaxy W has loads of problems. We probably get questions daily. I think most are new or 1st time android users.
Weird  doh.gif
im seriously new to smartphones, in fact, i would still opt for tactile feature phone if i could. but the more i read, the more i realize smartphones are like slow mini pc. and then i read about all these OC and ROMs, somehow now kena poison abit. i read that there are tons of thirdparty ROMs out there so what other ROM to be recommended? how does cyanogenmod compared to cow rom?
arct
post Mar 4 2012, 12:44 PM

377 posts

anyone encountered "Not registered to network" error message? just bought a galaxy w yesterday, got the same message when testing at shop, shop girl said its due to old sim card; so she cleaned the sim and restart and everything's ok. today same message pop up again, so we tried switching to another sim card, same "not registered to network" message. thanks!
arct
post Mar 12 2012, 04:51 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Mar 12 2012, 12:47 PM)
LOL, my phone is not restarting by itself anymore, yay~
But, from the last 10 days.. i hve been using this phone, seems useless without a data plan T_T

and is FLAC format is it smaller than MP3? if it is , i am converting the songs all to flac, hehe
converting your mp3 to flac doesnt improve the quality at all.

0.8324sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:29 AM