Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

tctham
post Feb 10 2012, 12:13 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(enJiNer @ Feb 9 2012, 11:50 PM)
thanks for u reply...i will remember or try to remember.... how come u positively sure while u never meet me...
judging people let people judging u bro.. (no offend)..maybe u are a Pro...so just give some help for a poor dude like me to improve...

i had some experience shooting outdoor...but thats was just for fun... when the boss asked me, u got to know, the fun is lost..and i'm just hope nothing bad happen... hehe
..i know some bacis based on my hard learning process..i dont go to photo lesson or course... i just shot and learn.... but this time i just a bit scared coz the boss asked me... coz he saw some of my photos collection and he think (i dont) that i'm a good (or maybe cheap/free alternative..) hahaha
so i dont wanna to spoil the event photo...and the boss wont blame me or who knows i got a paid job (in my dream).........
white balance OK...
D-ligthing - wakarimasen
HDR - tried it but gave up
EV comp - pening ooooo
auto bracket - OK sikit2... hihihih

so about the flash thinghy, no answer yet..

btw, thanks for ur great comments....
me think, the sifu(s) not judging or shooting you.. just giving you practical advice.. if the D-day arriving so soon, it's better to go in there and be yourself rather than trying too many new things at a time.. actually, as long as composition right, exposure right.. the picture wun really go wrong edi.. if you bother too much of the settings, and then neglected the main event which is to take golf pictures, then your boss might go into fit (note: not that you will neglect it.. just afraid suddenly too many things to think / take care of, then gelabah)..

be natural, be yourself! get the pictures that your boss seen in your photo collection.. smile.gif i'm sure he'll be satisfied and proud of you. smile.gif ganbatte and all the best!!!

Note: able to go to sample scene to test shot is a great idea!
tctham
post Feb 18 2012, 10:54 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2012, 10:00 PM)
yeah. i'm shooting around daytime and outdoor. so yeah. but i cant be buying this lens just for that school magazine. Like in the future i might need it for night photography. will the 35mm do it's job good in low light conditions? and i would like to know what's the minimum focal range?

Sorry that i'm asking so many questions.  blush.gif you guys are the best.
i think the thing you are asking is the minimum focus distance for the 35mm 1.8g.. that would be 30cm.. whether that lens would be useful for you or not.. depends on what you're shooting.. i personally like the 35mm lens alot.. smile.gif
tctham
post Feb 21 2012, 12:31 AM

653 posts

here is my favorite ad when watching movie in cinema.. song title is "Welcome Home, Son" by "Radical Face"
tctham
post Mar 3 2012, 08:22 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Mar 3 2012, 02:19 PM)
now i am confused further, between a prime 35mm or 17-50 tamron non vc. given i only had 1.2k to spend and no lens atm.. this going to be my first lens sad.gif
i'd vote for the 17-50 non vc.. if you can spend the money on the vc.. then you can go ahead.. otherwise, the non vc ain't bad too.. 35 is good but if you are just starting out.. the zoom helps a lot.. smile.gif can help you take group photo (easier) in friendly outings too..
tctham
post Mar 4 2012, 01:38 PM

653 posts

spam pictures..

The samyang 85mm really sharp wor~ for its price.. kekeke.. however i still have much to improve on composition.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: Mar 4 2012, 01:39 PM
tctham
post Mar 5 2012, 12:39 AM

653 posts

agito.. the chick and your signature pic not really a good combo.. that's like a combo breaker..
tctham
post Mar 6 2012, 11:32 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 6 2012, 04:57 PM)
plug D800 with HDMI cable and play HD movie in body  brows.gif
*this sounds so wrong*  tongue.gif
use D800 as pendrive.. altho not so much of a "pen" anymore.. lolz!
tctham
post Mar 7 2012, 08:28 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 7 2012, 07:24 PM)
spam noob photo, just now edit photos found got a nice korean chick in frame tongue.gif

oh nais!! om nom nom nom
tctham
post Mar 7 2012, 09:03 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 7 2012, 08:58 PM)
You sure she's Korean? Looks like tourist looking at the English guide map.
as long as cute girl.. eyes see comfortable.. cukup dah.. wakakaka
tctham
post Mar 10 2012, 05:54 PM

653 posts

sad.. if got ai lens then how?
tctham
post Mar 10 2012, 05:59 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Mar 10 2012, 05:57 PM)
Any tips on shooting a short film for a project from D5100?
if dun have external mic, then mute sound? patch in later? haha.. i personally feel the internal mic abit cacat.. wakaka~ let's hear other ppl tips.. so i can learn too.. smile.gif
tctham
post Mar 10 2012, 10:23 PM

653 posts

how's the animax event?
tctham
post Mar 11 2012, 04:54 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Mar 11 2012, 10:51 AM)
How much does a external mic costs?
And how to keep a subject always in focus?
Cause it gets very annoying when it the camera keep trying to get the subject into focus while making clicky motor sounds  vmad.gif
use manual focus when video recording.. it's easier to control focus via manual than auto.. each scenes don't need to be too long.. you will seldom see scenes longer than 20 secs.. most of it is less than 10 secs i guess.. once you set the parameters, don't change it.. else each time you do anything to your camera will have clicky sounds.. no idea how much external mic costs..

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Mar 11 2012, 11:35 AM)
Hey,

i have this College guy which i've been poisoning in the past few months and finally pay off and he decided to buy a DSLR.

So whats left is D5100.

Next Q, 18-55 vs 18-105.Since he want something which is for general use. Wide is a must, to take group photo for college chicks i guess. So i recomend him to buy 18-105 instead.

But lately when i check out garage forums, saw plenty of ppl selling off their 18-105, and i believe they're having hard-time selling too. It seems too many of them in the market but too little demand, so far the cheapest 18-105 i saw is around RM650.

Maybe i should ask my fren to buy D5100 body only and help him get a good copy of second hand 18-105?

nikon d5100 is decent.. but if possible to hop to d7000 then by all means go ahead.. i not sure about other people, but as a d5100 user, i owiz find myself wishing if i had the d7000 for the top lcd, two command dials and more dedicated buttons.. but somehow i still manage to live with the current d5100.. smile.gif personal opinion feel 18-105 has better zoom range than the 18-55.. you can opt for the 2nd hand if you want to smile.gif
tctham
post Mar 11 2012, 07:29 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Mar 11 2012, 06:26 PM)
Thanks for reply...  rclxms.gif
So what mode is the most suitable mode for video?
Sorry for being a noob here  notworthy.gif
i not pro le.. also learning from this forum only.. i using A mode le.. but actually if i not mistaken, the d5100 cannot change parameter during recording also.. cannot change aperture and the ISO is controlled by the camera since i on A mode..
tctham
post Mar 11 2012, 09:54 PM

653 posts

hi ya nikonians, 2nd hand nissin di622 mk2 at rm350.. is it an ok price?
tctham
post Mar 11 2012, 10:41 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 11 2012, 09:58 PM)
i saw some selling SB600 2nd hand for RM450. i'd reckon u save up another 100 and get the 600 smile.gif
i saw that too.. but the nissin is said to have warranty until 2013.. then the sb600 not sure can find back pouch and tripod stand or not.. that's why i kinda at loss here.. @_@
tctham
post Mar 11 2012, 11:40 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 11 2012, 10:57 PM)
i had some nissin flashguns back then, its was good, yes it was. but its not consistent. that was the major prob. even with 430ex2/SB600 (entry level-but can tilt head flashes la), they gave me consistent results. which is better than just 'good'.

mostly, people will buy nissin first because of the cheapness, then when they r fedup with the inconsistency, they'll switch the to the brand they're using. means, more money spent.

if u really scared/concern about warranty/pouch/tripod stand, then go with the nissin then. like i said, it delivers. but the SB series are better smile.gif

just my opinion laugh.gif
i more "interested" in the warranty and tripod stand.. cuz the sb600 wan, i sked he cannot find back.. cuz i play to put that thing off camera.. i hope.. this is just the 1st hop i guess.. will use this.. when i have enuff funds.. i'd probably jump to sb700 or so.. or mebbe sb600 if i really could not stand the inconsistency.. haha.. both the sb600 and di622, i felt the price was quite attractive considering most ppl sell sb600 at rm 550 and di622 at 400-450..

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2012, 11:01 PM)
i find the nissin di622 mk2 ok.
what got me irritated at it was the AF assist light on it is completely useless...and iirc doesnt even cover the center AF point.
thanks for the opinion! smile.gif hope i will be ok with it
tctham
post Mar 12 2012, 08:11 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Predator10 @ Mar 12 2012, 05:05 PM)
as far as i know, the 70-300 is fx lens while the 55-300 is a dx lens..
the 70-300 is a af lens means it will not focus on entry level bodies (d60, d50, d3000, d3100, d5000, d5100)
the 70-300 lens don't have vr.. with tele lens like that, i would suggest getting vr lens..
any other details you are looking for?
tctham
post Mar 12 2012, 10:21 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 12 2012, 09:54 PM)

Hehehe, managed to save this pic xD
this isu nais!
tctham
post Mar 14 2012, 09:37 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(moonmemory @ Mar 14 2012, 04:34 PM)
need to have some suggestion from all sifu here

i just started learning photography around half year ago & still got lot of thing need to learn.
now i using a D5100 & recently i planning to buy a prime lens mainly for low light situation portrait to have some nice bokeh effect & nightview.
but i have totally no idea that AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G or AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G which 1 much more better. sad.gif

any suggestion?
I would presume you have your 18-55.. try to set your 18-55 to 35mm for a week, then see how it goes.. then the next week set it to 50mm and finally compare which focal length you are more used to..

QUOTE(moonmemory @ Mar 14 2012, 04:50 PM)
for my DX format camera, AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G will still get the exactly 35mm focal length but for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G will like be 75mm?
Wrong! 35mm regardless of DX/FX lens on a DX/FX body will still be 35mm focal length..the same goes for 50mm DX/FX lens on a DX/FX body is still a 50mm focal length.. the field of view is still the same.. only the angle of view is different..

very hard to explain this without paper.. haha.. i'm too used to drawing..

QUOTE(moonmemory @ Mar 14 2012, 05:11 PM)
may i know why? tongue.gif
the 35mm is more preferable for DX body users because of the crop factor.. it will give a angle of view that is close to what the 50mm would give to the FX body.. that angle of view is very suitable for most day-to-day use (depends on individual).. it also allows you to take pictures in tight spaces..

that is the reason why i chose the 35mm.. even though the 50mm has better bokeh (smoother.. the 35mm is a bit harsh), cheaper, and has better build (imho).. but still i like my 35mm for it's angle of view.. smile.gif

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Mar 14 2012, 07:47 PM)
50mm(on a DX) you will have trouble working in small spaces... I have a 50mm 1.4G(on a d90). in small rooms/spaces it can be very challenging to take a shot with more that 2 people in... and for full body portrait.... u'll have to be quite far from the subject.

You can try if you have a zoom lens the different focal length and see if you are ok with it... =)
For all the sifus here... any one using a 50mm on a DX? u guys have difficulty nailing the focus wide open(F1.4/1.8)? really having some difficulties.. most shot will be tend to be off focus.. any tips??
Step down the lens by about 1-2 stops.. then it should be easier to focus.. smile.gif the lens would looks sharper too.. smile.gif nowadays i tend to stop down (unless i really have insufficient light)

edit: hope I no say anything wrong.. haha.. also still learning

This post has been edited by tctham: Mar 14 2012, 09:39 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0542sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:42 PM