4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

vearn27
post Feb 28 2012, 10:28 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 27 2012, 11:07 PM)
means when its pointing up or down...
i already mentioned mine 3 posts before u just now...

but anyway, both my focus and zoom ring is tight but can still be turned with 1 finger.
the zoom ring is just slightly tighter than focus cos has to move all the glass...but nevertheless...1 finger no problem.
Yeah, I saw your post and the discussion. However, it was about focus ring and not zoom ring. I'm asking about zoom ring.

Hmm... I'm yet to experience any problem with my 17-55 yet *touch wood*. Just wondering if the zoom ring tight is an issue...

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Feb 28 2012, 02:02 AM)
28-300 vr?

hows the D800?
It's the 85mm f/1.8G laugh.gif

First impression when I held the D800E, it's "fatter" than the D7000. I didn't hold D700 or D300/D300s that much yet, therefore it gives me that fat feeling. Didn't get chance to save the image or put into computer for review of course, but when max zoom the photo using the camera can see superb details. Taken half-portrait of a model but yet able to see the red lines of her eyes clearly. Marvellous...

Somehow they updated the UI icons also.
vearn27
post Feb 28 2012, 11:42 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 28 2012, 11:03 AM)
BTS got put liao there ar?  unsure.gif

time to eat maggi for whole year load liao ph34r.gif
BTS hasn't got their unit yet. You can see obviously from my photo I'm outside BTS that time laugh.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 28 2012, 11:31 AM)
What is an UI icon?
User Interface Icon or the Camera Menu. Well, I'm not sure if that's the final firmware since it's a prototype unit and they claimed the production unit performance is much better. Somehow I believe Nikon is using good panel for the LCD display as the colours reproduction seems to be far better than the D7000.
vearn27
post Feb 28 2012, 12:15 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 28 2012, 11:45 AM)
Of course, the D7000 is small. D700 grip feels much better than D7000. The D800 is supposed to be a little bit smaller than the D700... which I think is good! Because D700 + grip is taller than a D3s ._. hard to fit in some bags.
That's why I mention I have used to D7000's grip and less experience with D700 and D300/D300s which is bigger. However, after my experience with D7000 + BG, more likely for my next body I'll scrap the idea of having BG. It is not that I dislike the weight, in fact I'm kinda big size and like to hold heavy stuff. But the tendency of doing portrait is somehow higher when you have a BG and I have actually been advised by a senior wedding photographer to remove the BG. Unless you're shooting portraiture, best to take the BG off the camera.

Stock for D800 should be available by the end of March 2012 smile.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 28 2012, 11:51 AM)
ohh.... i thought bg is window of BTS... XD

oh well play with my D70s first, just sometimes duno what to do when go to aquarium, low light liao, aperture max open, iso max open to 1600, still get blurry shot... hmm.gif
I bet you'll like the D800/D800E LCD after seeing how much you complained about yours tongue.gif
vearn27
post Feb 28 2012, 02:44 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 28 2012, 01:56 PM)
Grip is good to balance for bigger lens... ;-)
Initially, I have the same thought of balancing the body for bigger lens such as 70-200. However, later I found that it's just the matter of how I hold the camera. Now I seem to understand why many wedding photographers that I know didn't use BG for the body.

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 28 2012, 02:39 PM)
Too good LCD is not a good thing as well. Ask those NONAC users and you will know what I mean hehehee
Huh? Why is that so? Share with us la... huh.gif
vearn27
post Feb 28 2012, 03:00 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 28 2012, 02:43 PM)
A camera that is better than D7000. I havesuper hard choice to make. E or no E or mk3. Damn you japs!
QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 28 2012, 02:53 PM)
Took photos using the paideemarktoo. See photos on the LCD. Wahh damn nice. Colours damn sharp. Go home upload to computer. Eh! Why the colour is not as beautiful arr?

Hahahaa... So now I use the LCD for focusing aid (live view) and histogram only. The rest computer see
Hahaha... yaya, now I remember you did shared this with us before. Well, let see if this case will happen to Nikon as well tongue.gif

Behold the D800E + 85mm f/1.8G + SB-910 laugh.gif

vearn27
post Mar 1 2012, 01:49 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 1 2012, 01:24 PM)
noob pork chop shot

should i lower aperture from f/2.8 to f/4 for sharper shot?
duno...my camera already show "LO" in shutter speed there even i use max iso 1600, f/2.8 liao....
Shoot with your Nokia N8 tongue.gif

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 1 2012, 01:36 PM)
Woo hoo just received some money from EPF lol! Just in time for d800 happy day for me lol
EPF? How you withdraw them? blink.gif
vearn27
post Mar 1 2012, 02:08 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 1 2012, 02:00 PM)

nah n8 shot. unsure.gif
i duno, last time somebody said not sharp then later on someone show me the MTF chart then for now on i try to use f/4~ f/8 if can, if too low light then wide open.  unsure.gif

err suppose to be...what is actually "LO" means? in shutter speed there...  in what kind of situation the Aperture mode will show "LO"? SS lower than 1/15 sec?
Please don't mix fry between SHARP and DOF... they do blend together but I believe it's not as what you mean for this time doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
vearn27
post Mar 1 2012, 03:34 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Mar 1 2012, 03:05 PM)
DOF on a DX is ultra thin if you open wider. The angle of the photo should be higher to get the whole dish infocus. Unless you are taking a specific detail of the dish, i.e. showpiece of the dish sharpest while other part of dish little blurred out, then the whole dish should be infocus/sharp all the way. From the photo, it looks like you should have used f8 to get everything on the plate infocus, and probably f11/f16 to get the edge of the plate sharp, i think by then you SS would have been like 1/2 sec or so already

you need to add another zero at the end of your camera...... drool.gif

You mean DOF on DX is thinner than FX? Shouldn't that be the other way around? tongue.gif

In anyway, there are much more than just angle and camera setting for food photography. How the light setup to be is the more specific. If it's just take a photo on-the-go, that's more depends on how the photographer wanted to "express" as it is smile.gif
vearn27
post Mar 1 2012, 06:10 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 1 2012, 03:47 PM)
For the sharpest point of most lenses is at 1-2 stops I think or was it 2-3? so for ur 24-70 is f2.8, for its sharpest is at f4 or f5.6 wink.gif
For most lenses, sharpest should be between f/8 ~ f/11.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 1 2012, 03:49 PM)
if both object at the same distance.
DOF on DX is thinner.
Yeah, the DOF on DX is thinner given the same distance between camera and object. My bad and thanks for correcting me blush.gif

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 1 2012, 05:36 PM)
Hey guys on my recent trip I was at a wedding and shot a family portrait.

What do you guys think about it? Is it to under expose? Do you think its over-cooked?
Please comment happy.gif I need to make an album soon for this lovely weds!
What happened to their skin texture??? OMG!!!
vearn27
post Mar 1 2012, 07:17 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 1 2012, 07:11 PM)
cant afford a flash and dont wanna buy one, that will be the last thing i will ever get whistling.gif

for now, i'll just learn to shot with natural light or available light

i hate flash the most, hate being flash and hate flashing it, it make my eyes uncomfortable and some more that day my friend flash a sb900 full power on my face  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
My 2nd gear to my camera bag is actually the SB-900. I need it for actual day wedding photography and I believe one of the best item to pair up with DSLR. I'm not sure what kind of experience you're going through with flash, but I can say less than 1% of my shooting with flash actually pointing the flash head towards my subject.
vearn27
post Mar 5 2012, 12:56 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Who's more interested with Canon 5DMK3 than D800/D800E now?
vearn27
post Mar 5 2012, 09:32 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 5 2012, 09:31 PM)

Long time no edit portraiture really bengang how to edit ._.
Her legs pose look awkward sweat.gif
vearn27
post Mar 5 2012, 11:13 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ Mar 5 2012, 11:02 PM)
I currently own a D90 and with its 18-105mm kit lens and a 50mm 1:18D. Looking to upgrade into a decent overall all rounder lens to replace my 18-105 kit. Any sifus here willing to enlighten me ? Most photos I shoot are like objects or portraiture.
In my humble opinion, 18-105 is doing a great job as all rounder lens. Portraiture wise you could stick to your 50 f/1.8D. If you haven't get a flash, probably I will suggest you to get one and to play with it and reflector as well for your portraiture.

Beside... you never state us your budget?
vearn27
post Mar 6 2012, 11:37 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 6 2012, 11:24 AM)
2 choice, a flash (SB700) or another prime such as 35mm f/1.8G.
I do have 2x SB-900 but yet to do much with them yet. Haven't got myself any wireless trigger too.
vearn27
post Mar 6 2012, 12:14 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 6 2012, 11:58 AM)
Use the pop up flash and commander la, no need wireless trigger unless you're ready to fork out additional cash.
Yeah, I have been doing that but sometime I failed to trigger when I wanted to do back lighting. Pocket Wizard has released their 3rd version of their wireless trigger, izzit? biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Mar 6 2012, 02:35 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 6 2012, 02:01 PM)
You only painful once. It's better than keep on thinking whether you should get it or not. Hahaa
ifer laugh.gif

So, you're gonna be painful for 5DMK3 or D800/D800E? biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Mar 6 2012, 04:42 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 6 2012, 04:24 PM)
I get both. Mk3 and E hahahaa
vearn27
post Mar 6 2012, 05:00 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 6 2012, 04:57 PM)
plug D800 with HDMI cable and play HD movie in body  brows.gif
*this sounds so wrong*  tongue.gif
D800/D800E HDMI is output only and no input... should be the case
vearn27
post Mar 19 2012, 02:06 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

I am lost... where are we now? sad.gif

tongue.gif
vearn27
post Mar 21 2012, 10:17 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

I met with a Nikon folk yesterday and he owns D3s and D300 after D70 and D80.

He said that according to some source, the battery of D800 couldn't last many shots when shoot at maximum MP. Anyone pass through this kind of information? unsure.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0247sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:42 PM