Help Apple TV Users in Malaysia -Official Thread, Guides, FAQS, Jailbreaking, XBMC, etc.

TSaceedburn
post Jan 18 2012, 01:33 PM, updated 10y ago

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

I thought its time to start a dedicated thread for all Apple TV users so that we can discuss new features, problems, troubleshooting, jailbreaking, etc

What is Apple TV

Apple TV is a handy little media streaming device that has been around for about 2-3 years. The 1st generation (silver box) and now the current 2nd generation (black box). If u have an itunes account, you can purchase movies, TV shows, Netflix, etc, BUT only if you're in the US or have setup a VPN. Otherwise with the latest software, u can airplay movies, music etc from any idevice and if u have iphone 4s or ipad 2, you can do airplay mirroring, i.e. whatever's on your device appears on your LCD TV, including games, apps, anything! More info on Apple TV in the link below.
http://www.apple.com/appletv/

Why You Should Jailbreak Apple TV

The question is, why the hell not?? You open up a whole new world of entertainment, 24/7/365. Stream any movie, tv show ever released from the past and up to current releases. Basically, you will never ever need to buy another DVD/BLURAY in your life! Due to obvious reasons, I cannot elaborate more, but check the guides below on what your little black box can do for you. It's magical!

Jailbreaking the Apple TV

The latest jailbreak version for Apple TV is SeasonPass for 5.3 (iOS 6.1.4 - 10B809) Untethered. Below is the download page and simple instructions that you need to jailbreak your Apple TV. Sometimes you may need to try a few times, especially getting the Apple TV into DFU mode which requires the right timing and patience. Please be informed that the jailbreak is currently only available for the Apple TV 2. Apple TV 3 is not supported yet.
http://support.firecore.com/entries/387605...-101-seas0npass

Installing XBMC & nitoTV

Below is a simple guide for you to install XBMC and nitoTV, 2 of the most important programs you need for your Apple TV. To install XBMC and nitoTV, you can use the Terminal application on your MAC to SSH into your Apple TV or use a small utility called Putty if you're using Windows. Download Putty here. http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatha...y/download.html

P.S. get your Apple TV IP address from General and then Network tab. Then use root as username and alpine as password. Click yes to any security warnings that pop up.

Then go to the link below and follow the instructions to install XBMC and nitoTV.
http://www.lotheron.com/2011/05/24/how-to-...-2-running-ios/
P.S. in the XBMC instructions, you can skip steps 3-6 as it's not needed anymore.

Installing addons into your Apple TV

You can install addons such as Icefilms, LiveStreams, 1Channel, Navi-X and many more that you need using a small utility called WINSCP which you can download here. http://winscp.net/eng/download.php

Here's another guide with video step by step guide for using WINSCP and installing Icefilms, etc
http://sliced-apple.com/2011/06/17/how-to-...ur-apple-t-v-2/

p.s. always log in to your Apple TV using username : root and password : alpine
you need to determine your ip address of the Apple TV by going to your General and then Network tab in the Apple TV.

Addons List for Apple TV

Go to the link below to download the zip files for the addons that i recommended above. Then use WINSCP to drag the zip files into the /private/var/mobile/media folder of your Apple TV.
http://www.xbmchub.info/

This post has been edited by aceedburn: Dec 9 2014, 11:02 AM
wiraone
post Jan 18 2012, 02:36 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

2. wiraone (black, Aug 2011)
olivur
post Jan 18 2012, 02:58 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

3. olivur (black, xmas '10)
khoh
post Jan 18 2012, 04:20 PM

157 posts

4. Khoh ( 2 silver , May'10 , 1 black still in the box )
hamswat
post Jan 18 2012, 10:20 PM

iFanatic
758 posts

Hamswat (Black, 2010)
FieldEngineer
post Jan 18 2012, 10:48 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(khoh @ Jan 18 2012, 04:20 PM)
4. Khoh ( 2 silver , May'10 , 1 black still in the box )
1 black still in the box <--- why?
ShinRyu
post Jan 18 2012, 11:41 PM

49 posts

Where to get em?...I cant find any.. =(
JaysonGoh
post Jan 18 2012, 11:53 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(ShinRyu @ Jan 18 2012, 11:41 PM)
I think all of them are buying from overseas?
TSaceedburn
post Jan 19 2012, 08:57 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Yep, from US or UK or Australia
khoh
post Jan 19 2012, 03:54 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Jan 18 2012, 10:48 PM)
1 black still in the box <--- why?
Stil using the 2 Apple TV 1G jail broken with USB enable for external HDD . Tons of music and podcast installed very convenient without the need to switch on my mac book and of course airtunes and airplay function.

The Apple TV 2G is slick and tiny but then no HDD , play music/movies need to stream from MAC/PC very lazy and troublesome , that why still in intact in the box.

Apple TV 2 G bought mainly for airplay and mirroring function.

This post has been edited by khoh: Jan 20 2012, 02:39 PM
TSaceedburn
post Jan 31 2012, 11:11 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

If there are any Apple TV resellers, kindly come in here and make your presence known. There are many interested people that want to buy this magical device!

p.s. No con men allowed, ok?
m|key
post Feb 1 2012, 02:11 PM

271 posts

m|key (black, dec 2011)
koaybl
post Feb 1 2012, 02:31 PM

119 posts

koaybl ( black, January 2012)

This post has been edited by koaybl: Feb 1 2012, 02:31 PM
FieldEngineer
post Feb 1 2012, 07:17 PM

372 posts

FieldEngineer (Black, January 2012)
bx6330
post Feb 2 2012, 07:29 AM

Black, January 2012

Added on February 2, 2012, 7:31 am
I bought it from ebay (us)

This post has been edited by bx6330: Feb 2 2012, 07:31 AM
TSaceedburn
post Feb 3 2012, 09:07 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Just updated the 1st post with Guides for Jailbreaking, Installing XBMC, etc.

This post has been edited by aceedburn: Feb 3 2012, 09:07 PM
Jing-leBelle
post Feb 3 2012, 10:05 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Is streaming from my Mac with Apple TV have delay between audio and video?

Coz i tried with my linux PC connecting wit my TV yesterday, my drama will have a slight delay around 0.5sec between audio and video.

Just wondering if this gonna happens on Apple TV?
Zidane Chan
post Feb 4 2012, 03:52 AM

287 posts

Buy the Apple TV from overseas and then jailbreak it to use?
FieldEngineer
post Feb 4 2012, 07:23 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Feb 3 2012, 10:05 PM)
Is streaming from my Mac with Apple TV have delay between audio and video?

Coz i tried with my linux PC connecting wit my TV yesterday, my drama will have a slight delay around 0.5sec between audio and video.

Just wondering if this gonna happens on Apple TV?
No delay when stream from my iMac
wiraone
post Feb 4 2012, 08:50 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(Zidane Chan @ Feb 4 2012, 03:52 AM)
Buy the Apple TV from overseas and then jailbreak it to use?
Well, it works great without jailbreak too but you're limited with streaming from online services or iTunes. You can't play xdiv, divx or mkv files. Jailbreak is to allow us to install xbmc which one of the best media player frontend available.
milky
post Feb 4 2012, 08:51 AM

- King -
4,743 posts

Guys What is the usage of this AppleTV and with the power of JB where can the AppleTV does?
wiraone
post Feb 4 2012, 10:50 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Feb 4 2012, 08:51 AM)
Guys What is the usage of this AppleTV and with the power of JB where can the AppleTV does?
Hope my previous answer answered your question too.

Added on February 4, 2012, 11:33 am
QUOTE(aceedburn @ Feb 3 2012, 09:07 PM)
Just updated the 1st post with Guides for Jailbreaking, Installing XBMC, etc.
Well done Bro, another few things you may want to add and have been raised few times in this thread and the other thread:

1) What is AppleTV really and what can or can't it do.

2) What are the advantageous of jailbreaking the AppleTV.

Thanks Bro..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Feb 4 2012, 11:33 AM
TSaceedburn
post Feb 4 2012, 12:52 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 4 2012, 10:50 AM)
Hope my previous answer answered your question too.

Added on February 4, 2012, 11:33 am

Well done Bro, another few things you may want to add and have been raised few times in this thread and the other thread:

1) What is AppleTV really and what can or can't it do.

2) What are the advantageous of jailbreaking the AppleTV.

Thanks Bro..
1st post updated. Let me know if i missed out anything.

cheers

DarkNite
post Feb 5 2012, 11:07 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Many thanks aceedburn & wiraone!

Some of my questions.

1. Why Apple TV instead of WD TV Live Hub? hmm.gif

2. What broadband speed/internet connection are we looking at to enable pleasant viewing of bought overseas movies, TV shows, Icefilms, navi-x & Netflix?
Ans:Minimum Unifi VIP5? << correct?

3. Can AppleTV access my media in server running Windows Home Server or XP pro?

4. Which media file Apple TV is unable to render?
Ans: Apple tv can play.mkv and h.264 format up to 720p, .avi 720p file will result in stuttering as the A4 chip in the apple tv can't handle it.
<< is this correct anything else? how about able to read the srt file or several srt files as well? RMVB file?

4. Do you have a 'To-do-list' or 'step-by-step' tutorial or services required for setting up AppleTV to be a media center?
wiraone
post Feb 7 2012, 06:52 PM

3,892 posts

@Darknite:

1. Why AppleTV? Well, it is cheaper than WD TV Live Hub. Though we're deprived of the internal HD and native player which can play load of video formats .. but the real answer is .. because it is Apple! smile.gif

2. I've tried Netflix on Celcom broadband and I will say it is acceptable though sometime it goes into buffering. I haven't tried navi-x or icefilms or movies purchased using itunes.

3. With XBMC, yes, this will work. JB is needed, otherwise you'll stuck with whatever itunes can play.

4. aceedburn can answer this smile.gif

5. aceedburn has updated the first page, it has the step-by-step on how to do the jailbreaking and installing xbmc etc.
TSaceedburn
post Feb 8 2012, 12:06 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 5 2012, 11:07 AM)
Many thanks aceedburn & wiraone!

Some of my questions.

1. Why Apple TV instead of WD TV Live Hub? hmm.gif

2. What broadband speed/internet connection are we looking at to enable pleasant viewing of bought overseas movies, TV shows, Icefilms, navi-x & Netflix?
Ans:Minimum Unifi VIP5? << correct?

3. Can AppleTV access my media in server running Windows Home Server or XP pro?

4. Which media file Apple TV is unable to render?
Ans: Apple tv can play.mkv and h.264 format up to 720p, .avi 720p file will result in stuttering as the A4 chip in the apple tv can't handle it.
<< is this correct anything else? how about able to read the srt file or several srt files as well? RMVB file?

4. Do you have a 'To-do-list' or 'step-by-step' tutorial or services required for setting up AppleTV to be a media center?
Hi, bro wiraone has answered most of your questions. On the format of media file, the above statement is correct as of now. Maybe with future software upgrades more formats can be supported. Srt file has always been a hit and miss on the apple tv, rmvb will no play as far as I know.
DarkNite
post Feb 8 2012, 12:46 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 7 2012, 06:52 PM)
@Darknite:

1. Why AppleTV? Well, it is cheaper than WD TV Live Hub. Though we're deprived of the internal HD and native player which can play load of video formats .. but the real answer is .. because it is Apple! smile.gif

laugh.gif many thanks bro, but just cos it is Apple?! sad.gif

I was thinking about an awesome pull factor for noobies to jump into AppleTV, like FREE programs/series/movies off the net.

Nowadays the talk is getting SAT TV and/or Asiabox. brows.gif

wiraone
post Feb 8 2012, 01:07 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 8 2012, 12:46 PM)
laugh.gif  many thanks bro, but just cos it is Apple?! sad.gif

I was thinking about an awesome pull factor for noobies to jump into AppleTV, like FREE programs/series/movies off the net.

Nowadays the talk is getting SAT TV and/or Asiabox. brows.gif
Well, that is why I believe AppleTV is not sold here. There is no pulling factor for it, not for those living outside North America or Europe where paid streaming services are no commonly available.

BTW, didn't you read the news last week or so? Tim Cook said that Apple TV is still a 'hobby' device smile.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 8 2012, 01:14 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 8 2012, 01:07 PM)
... Tim Cook said that Apple TV is still a 'hobby' device smile.gif
did not gave it much thought.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Feb 8 2012, 01:15 PM
TSaceedburn
post Feb 8 2012, 01:48 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 8 2012, 12:46 PM)
that's what I got my Apple TV for, mate. After Jailbreaking, all that you mentioned is possible, so much so that you'll be spoilt for choice!
mwtang
post Feb 8 2012, 07:42 PM

765 posts

hi all , just got myself ATV2 from Japan. Would like to know how to setup to stream movies from my eternal HDD ? It was suggested to me to go via airport extreme.

Can i just plug in the external hdd via USB at airport extreme and the RJ45 to and fro the ATV2?

wiraone
post Feb 8 2012, 07:57 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Feb 8 2012, 07:42 PM)
hi all , just got myself ATV2 from Japan. Would like to know how to setup to stream movies from my eternal HDD ? It was suggested to me to go via airport extreme.

Can i just plug in the external hdd via USB at airport extreme and the RJ45 to and fro the ATV2?

Yes, you can use the airport extreme sharing, but I believe airport extreme won't be able to stream movies, so you need to install 3rd party media player on your AppleTV2, XBMC is a good choice.
mwtang
post Feb 9 2012, 12:26 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 8 2012, 07:57 PM)
Yes, you can use the airport extreme sharing, but I believe airport extreme won't be able to stream movies, so you need to install 3rd party media player on your AppleTV2, XBMC is a good choice.
TQ so much for the reply. this means that XBMC will act as the interface to browse my HDD via airport extreme ?
wiraone
post Feb 9 2012, 07:39 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Feb 9 2012, 12:26 AM)
TQ so much for the reply. this means that XBMC will act as the interface to browse my HDD via airport extreme ?
XBMC is a media centre, yes, it will let you browse the HDD and it is the media player too.
mwtang
post Feb 9 2012, 01:04 PM

765 posts

tq mate, will give it a try tonight on the setup
soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 03:59 PM

11,455 posts

Nice! An AppleTV thread at last. I have:

1. AppleTV 160GB
2. AppleTV Black

Both jailbroken and installed with Firecore's ATVFlash.

and

2 more AppleTV Black still in boxes, waiting for TVs to connect to.

Noramanis
post Feb 14 2012, 05:30 AM

Is it posible too view malaysia live tv from overseas with a jailbroken appel tv ?
DarkNite
post Feb 14 2012, 07:20 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Noramanis @ Feb 14 2012, 05:30 AM)
Is it posible too view malaysia live tv from overseas with a jailbroken appel tv ?
what means 'malaysia live tv'?
ericpires
post Feb 15 2012, 05:17 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Izzit ok to buy Apple TV from overseas? i mean if spoil then how??

This post has been edited by ericpires: Feb 15 2012, 05:18 PM
TSaceedburn
post Feb 15 2012, 06:15 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Feb 15 2012, 05:17 PM)
Izzit ok to buy Apple TV from overseas? i mean if spoil then how??
Spoil, then aiyooyoo la! Hehe.
With that said, it's a media device with no moving parts, so it will not spoil so easily, except if you throw it a dog or something, it will crack, but it will not suddenly stop working, or at least with a full restore it will work again.
en_mizi
post Feb 15 2012, 09:08 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 03:59 PM)
Nice! An AppleTV thread at last. I have:

1. AppleTV 160GB
2. AppleTV Black

Both jailbroken and installed with Firecore's ATVFlash.

and

2 more AppleTV Black still in boxes, waiting for TVs to connect to.
Xmau jual ke boss? biggrin.gif
iSean
post Feb 15 2012, 09:12 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

Hmm... Apple has released a AppleTV? A first to me.
Or it's just a Set Up Box like Astro/UniFi.

Added on February 15, 2012, 9:20 pmHow nice, A TV remote from your iDevice.
I wonder why Apple don't call it iTV

This post has been edited by iSean: Feb 15 2012, 09:20 PM
wiraone
post Feb 15 2012, 09:59 PM

3,892 posts

Apple can't call it iTV since it has been trademarked in many countries. It is actually a media player and not a set top box.
soonwai
post Feb 15 2012, 11:45 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 15 2012, 09:12 PM)
Hmm... Apple has released a AppleTV? A first to me.
Or it's just a Set Up Box like Astro/UniFi.

Added on February 15, 2012, 9:20 pmHow nice, A TV remote from your iDevice.
I wonder why Apple don't call it iTV
iTV belongs to the BBC. I don't think Queen Elizabeth will be too happy if Apple took the name. Jony Ive will have his knighthood stripped. :-)
wiraone
post Feb 16 2012, 09:07 AM

3,892 posts

Didn't know iTV is trademarked by BBC, but I know there is a broadcasting company in UK, private entity called ITV. In fact, they're competitors in UK smile.gif
soonwai
post Feb 16 2012, 12:49 PM

11,455 posts

Sorry, my mistake, ITV, BBC = 2 separate broadcasters in the UK. Not sure why I typed "iTV belongs to the BBC".

thanks wiraone for pointing that out.
jepunnye
post Feb 20 2012, 10:41 AM

anyone know where can i send my Atv2 for jailbreak? tried jailbreak it myself and now at2 is not working sad.gif Thanks
SUSnatzakaria
post Feb 20 2012, 10:48 AM

1,022 posts

Mine:

2 units ATV2 JB untetherd and working very well.
Ditched Ashthrow long time ago.
wiraone
post Feb 20 2012, 11:07 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 20 2012, 10:41 AM)
anyone know where can i send my Atv2 for jailbreak? tried jailbreak it myself and now at2 is not working sad.gif Thanks
Where is you location? Probably someone nearby can help you.
loveyourenemy
post Feb 21 2012, 10:02 AM

94 posts

Hi All, anyone selling? Please let me know and PM me the details....Thanks
wiraone
post Feb 21 2012, 10:27 AM

3,892 posts

Do check mudah.my, there are few for sales there, but insist on COD ..
loveyourenemy
post Feb 21 2012, 10:31 AM

94 posts

k cool...Thanks

nihc75
post Feb 21 2012, 12:48 PM

Hi. I am getting a new Apple TV as a gift and been told about this wonderful things I can do once it is jailbreak. I am not a techie in anyway and am hoping I can get someone help to do it.

wiraone
post Feb 22 2012, 07:44 AM

3,892 posts

Easiest is to follow the step-by-step found in youtube.
tancth
post Feb 23 2012, 02:49 PM

92 posts

what is the most effective way to subscribe to Netflix beside buying Itunes gift cards?

Or is there a way to use Netflix for free? I remember reading something about it on this thread but it didnt say how.
wiraone
post Feb 23 2012, 04:06 PM

3,892 posts

Don't think you can subscribe netflix using itunes gift card. You need to have a debit/credit card issued in the US or online. I'm using an online debit card which I reload quarterly with the value of US$50.

Netflix for free? Nope, not that I know off.
tancth
post Feb 23 2012, 05:38 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 23 2012, 04:06 PM)
Don't think you can subscribe netflix using itunes gift card. You need to have a debit/credit card issued in the US or online. I'm using an online debit card which I reload quarterly with the value of US$50.

Netflix for free? Nope, not that I know off.
can you give me the link to the online debit card? i wanna check it out. thanks
wiraone
post Feb 23 2012, 05:51 PM

3,892 posts

I'm using entropay .. www.entropay.com
latias93
post Feb 24 2012, 11:44 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Not an AppleTV related question, but if I remember correctly, I saw a post on another AppleTV thread before on how this member managed to access Netflix from Malaysia.

I'm studying in USA and now in Malaysia to balik kampung. I have Netflix subscription and I wanna watch it from here. How? sad.gif
wiraone
post Feb 25 2012, 01:15 AM

3,892 posts

You need to subscribe to vpn service or unblock.us. If you're going for vpn, look for one with us server and not local. Am using astrill right now and quite happy with it.
latias93
post Feb 26 2012, 08:30 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 24 2012, 09:15 AM)
You need to subscribe to vpn service or unblock.us. If you're going for vpn, look for one with us server and not local. Am using astrill right now and quite happy with it.
Thanks a lot man, I will go check out some VPN services right now. smile.gif
Elanges
post Feb 28 2012, 12:08 PM

706 posts

guys im very interested in this apple tv, my question is can i hook the hdd into apple tv and watch 1080p movies using xbmc?

if wanted to stream movie like netflix, does i need unify ? IF streamyx 4MB ?

does netflix work well using vpn ?
TSaceedburn
post Feb 28 2012, 12:12 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Feb 28 2012, 12:08 PM)
guys im very interested in this apple tv, my question is can i hook the hdd into apple tv and watch 1080p movies using xbmc?

if wanted to stream movie like netflix, does i need unify ? IF streamyx 4MB ?

does netflix work well using vpn ?
Hi, Apple TV outputs at 720p only. So watching HDD movies at 1080p may be choppy.

To use Netflix, u need to have a US based credit card for payment and a VPN. Streamyx 4MB should be good enough to stream without buffering, but Unifi 5MB is recommended.
Elanges
post Feb 28 2012, 12:14 PM

706 posts

but unify 5 is capped to 60GB right? download + watch movie enough ?

wiraone
post Feb 28 2012, 12:25 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Feb 28 2012, 12:14 PM)
but unify 5 is capped to 60GB right?  download + watch movie enough ?
Is the cap already enforced? I've not receive any notification, am not heavy downloader though but I do use netflix everyday (well, actually my son smile.gif.
TSaceedburn
post Feb 28 2012, 12:57 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Unifi bandwidth capping is not enforced yet. If ur worried about bandwidth capping, get Unifi biz 5, RM50 more per month but no capping at all, minus IPTV of course.
teohvs
post Feb 28 2012, 07:24 PM

Great thread. Was searching for info and local ATV user in Jan 12 but din find much info then.

Wiraone, I am trying to get Hulu on my ATV2. Know of any addon that could do that.

Also just for info, that I just subscribe to VPN and bought the wrong wifi router. Shuda go with unblock.us in the first place.

TQ.
wiraone
post Feb 28 2012, 10:50 PM

3,892 posts

teovh, I haven't try installing hulu yet but officially, it is not available on atv. The only way to get hulu working is through xbmc, do search for hulu and bluecop on Google and you'll find few guides on how to get hulu working on atv.

What vpn provider do you subscribe to? For my setup at home, I've an Asus router which.serves vpn traffic only. The setup works well for me, I could access netflix from ipads anywhere in my house if I use the Asus as my AP. But surely, unblock.us should be the easiest to setup.
grandspy
post Feb 29 2012, 04:22 AM

The Mothership is here!
1,339 posts

Just bought one an hour ago. It's such a pretty little device smile.gif
wiraone
post Feb 29 2012, 08:32 AM

3,892 posts

Just installed Hulu plugin from bluecop and yes..!! Hulu works ..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Feb 29 2012, 08:35 AM

SUSnatzakaria
post Feb 29 2012, 09:11 AM

1,022 posts

The ones that work for me:
1. Hulu
2. Navi-X
3. Whatthefurk
4. 1channel
5. ustvnow
6. Icefilm

many others - cant remember

This post has been edited by natzakaria: Feb 29 2012, 09:11 AM
soonwai
post Feb 29 2012, 09:31 AM

11,455 posts

Some of you have PMed me if I want to let go one of my ATVs. Sorry I haven't replied to any of you yet. I will go dig out my records to see how much I paid for them and get back to you asap. I remember I paid AUD129 each for them, I just need to look for the courier charges.
jepunnye
post Feb 29 2012, 02:51 PM

Need help. I installed Navi X and it worked for 2 days and now it's not working at all. When i click on Media portal it's either show " No File" or Freeze the atv. How do i uninstall or remove the Navi X on my atv? or how to fix it? Thanks
SUSnatzakaria
post Feb 29 2012, 02:58 PM

1,022 posts

Since I have lots of time on my hands.
Got XBMC running great on my ip4s
jepunnye
post Feb 29 2012, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 20 2012, 11:07 PM)
Where is you location? Probably someone nearby can help you.
I'm in Klang sad.gif
wiraone
post Feb 29 2012, 03:13 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 29 2012, 02:58 PM)
I'm in Klang sad.gif
Ayoo.. in Klang .. anybody here from Klang can help out? smile.gif .. to far away .. btw, aceedburn did say before he is going to have a get together .. probably can push him and bring your atv along smile.gif
jepunnye
post Feb 29 2012, 03:14 PM

i am in Klang working but staying in Ampang..
now my Atv is not working at all..the light keep blinking but on the screen got nothing sad.gif sooo sad
SUSnatzakaria
post Feb 29 2012, 03:46 PM

1,022 posts

Press Arrow down and Menu button for 6 seconds

jepunnye
post Feb 29 2012, 03:50 PM

already and nothing working...the led light keep blinking and the screen is black..
SUSnatzakaria
post Feb 29 2012, 03:54 PM

1,022 posts

remove power cable for 5 minutes and restart
soonwai
post Feb 29 2012, 07:26 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 29 2012, 03:14 PM)
i am in Klang working but staying in Ampang..
now my Atv is not working at all..the light keep blinking but on the screen got nothing sad.gif sooo sad
Blinking lights means it's in restore mode (hopefully). You'll need to connect it to iTunes and that should allow you to restore it to stock firmware. If you need help and don't mind coming to my house in Sg Long, let me know. I will need some form of compensation, the last time I helped someone from this forum, I got a guitar in exchange and one other time a cheesecake. No, really. :-)
TSaceedburn
post Mar 1 2012, 11:26 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 29 2012, 02:51 PM)
Need help. I installed Navi X and it worked for 2 days and now it's not working at all. When i click on Media portal it's either show " No File" or Freeze the atv. How do i uninstall or remove the Navi X on my atv? or how to fix it? Thanks
Navi-x was down yesterday. It's back up now. All works nicely.

Added on March 1, 2012, 11:29 am
QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 29 2012, 03:50 PM)
already and nothing working...the led light keep blinking and the screen is black..
U will need a micro USB cable which can be found in any hand phone or computer shop. Then make sure u have the latest version of iTunes. Plug in your apple tv into the USB port of your laptop/pc, wait for about 5 seconds then press the play and menu buttons together on your apple tv remote for about 10 seconds to get your apple tv into dfu mode. Then open iTunes and restore to original firmware and it will work. But if you want to jailbreak it after that, then follow my guide in the first post. Good luck.

Added on March 1, 2012, 11:32 am
QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 29 2012, 03:13 PM)
Ayoo.. in Klang .. anybody here from Klang can help out? smile.gif .. to far away .. btw, aceedburn did say before he is going to have a get together .. probably can push him and bring your atv along smile.gif
Yes I did suggest a gathering. I'm actually game for it, but we need to find a suitable venue. In order to demonstrate how to jailbreak, install xbmc and addons, etc, we need to meet in a place with a LCD tv and Internet access. Any suggestions?

This post has been edited by aceedburn: Mar 1 2012, 11:32 AM
jepunnye
post Mar 2 2012, 12:36 AM

thank you everyone and aceedburn smile.gif my atv2 is working now smile.gif
SUSnatzakaria
post Mar 2 2012, 01:07 PM

1,022 posts

Any add ons for korean drama since joonmedia and dapdate is not working
alister88
post Mar 3 2012, 10:04 AM

1,367 posts

Question,
after jailbreaking the appletv, means we cant log in using our itunes account?
Then we cant use airplay?
TSaceedburn
post Mar 3 2012, 11:02 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Mar 3 2012, 10:04 AM)
Question,
after jailbreaking the appletv, means we cant log in using our itunes account?
Then we cant use airplay?
After Jailbreaking, you can still do everything as per a non jail token apple tv. Nothing is changed. Jailbreaking just widens your viewing experience by hell of a lot. AirPlay etc works flawlessly.
alister88
post Mar 3 2012, 11:19 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Mar 3 2012, 11:02 AM)
After Jailbreaking, you can still do everything as per a non jail token apple tv. Nothing is changed. Jailbreaking just widens your viewing experience by hell of a lot. AirPlay etc works flawlessly.
great! thanks for de info mate!
gonna get one soon! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SUSnatzakaria
post Mar 3 2012, 12:00 PM

1,022 posts

Nice the EDEN RC2 now on my IPAD & IP4S- HULU etc working well
Awesome touchscreen interface

DarkNite
post Mar 7 2012, 05:07 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Guy I heard Apple TV going to get an upgrade also, Bluetooth 4.0 Broadcom chip as well as a higher powered processor capable of 1080P video, no?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Mar 7 2012, 05:07 PM
SUSnatzakaria
post Mar 7 2012, 06:00 PM

1,022 posts

I'll buy it
wiraone
post Mar 7 2012, 06:24 PM

3,892 posts

Tired of typing using the onscreen keyboard .. bluetooth is surely welcomed.
DarkNite
post Mar 8 2012, 05:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

several new features were announced last night, including:

1. 1080p movies and TV shows from iTunes Store
2. Redesigned 1080p user interface
3. Ability to re-download purchased movies through iCloud
4. "Genius" recommendations for movies
5. Photo Stream resolution bumped up to 1080p
6. Single-core A5 chip
7. 1080p output

Read more >> http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57390999.../#ixzz1oX6NwHwL

Jing-leBelle
post Mar 8 2012, 09:13 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

The new Apple TV 2012 is same price with previous one eh? Good thing! biggrin.gif
akkihiko
post Mar 8 2012, 10:21 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

new apple tv only for $99? means around 300++ only?
wiraone
post Mar 8 2012, 11:07 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Mar 8 2012, 10:21 AM)
new apple tv only for $99? means around 300++ only?
Yup, but bad thing, it is not available world wide. Only at countries where Apple can sell movies through itunes. Oh BTW, the ATVG2 price is also the same.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Mar 8 2012, 11:12 AM
dealerbanker
post Mar 8 2012, 11:41 AM

53 posts

Any bulk order for aptv3?i interest get 1 but dun know how to order
TSaceedburn
post Mar 8 2012, 11:47 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Hold your horses guys, I would only consider buying the apple tv 3 after the official untethered jailbreak is out. Otherwise it's very limited in its usage here. The official untethered jailbreak could take sometime. So be patient la.
dealerbanker
post Mar 8 2012, 12:07 PM

53 posts

Streamyx 2mb enough for xbmc?
Mik3l5595
post Mar 8 2012, 08:49 PM

Any person got sell new apple Tv??
Please pm
cosmicmeadow
post Mar 9 2012, 09:09 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 29 2012, 08:32 AM)
Just installed Hulu plugin from bluecop and yes..!! Hulu works ..
How did you get Hulu to work? Any special settings?
On my ATV2, it plays the commercial, then get error message, cannot play the main content.
I am using BolehVPN.

wiraone
post Mar 9 2012, 09:53 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Mar 9 2012, 09:09 AM)
How did you get Hulu to work? Any special settings?
On my ATV2, it plays the commercial, then get error message, cannot play the main content.
I am using BolehVPN.

Have you tried to re-play it again? I was getting error message on some of them, but re-play it again and it seems to be alright.
TSaceedburn
post Dec 8 2014, 08:41 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Reopened this topic
Pat89
post Dec 8 2014, 09:29 AM

2,092 posts

Owh thanks for this haha....can start pose here already.
TSaceedburn
post Dec 8 2014, 05:43 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

yes, i don't why why it was closed in the 1st place. biggrin.gif
SUSchokia
post Dec 11 2014, 09:06 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Why until today nobody jb the ATV3?
TSaceedburn
post Dec 11 2014, 10:35 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 11 2014, 09:06 AM)
Why until today nobody jb the ATV3?
because there is no jailbreak available for atv3.
SUSchokia
post Dec 11 2014, 10:52 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Dec 11 2014, 10:35 AM)
That's not answering the question
TSaceedburn
post Dec 11 2014, 01:15 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 11 2014, 10:52 AM)
That's not answering the question
then you have to ask the question properly. you asked "why until today nobody jb the atv3?". we can only jb the atv3 if the jailbreak is available, right??
Pat89
post Dec 11 2014, 02:00 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Dec 11 2014, 02:15 PM)
then you have to ask the question properly. you asked "why until today nobody jb the atv3?". we can only jb the atv3 if the jailbreak is available, right??
Haha rileks bro.....

Damn! I can't get hulu but can get Netflix...how weird is that???
TSaceedburn
post Dec 11 2014, 02:24 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Dec 11 2014, 02:00 PM)
Haha rileks bro.....

Damn! I can't get hulu but can get Netflix...how weird is that???
which dns unblocking service u using? I've been using unlocator since beginning of this year. no issues with netflix, hulu, vevo etc. Streaming is top notch at hd quality.
allvin
post Dec 11 2014, 05:14 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Dec 11 2014, 10:35 AM)
lol

the thing is it's not that popular and this year no update. JB nowadays is release by china ppl (based on iDevices). Angmo ppl playing the 'cat and mouse' game.
Pat89
post Dec 12 2014, 07:36 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Dec 11 2014, 03:24 PM)
which dns unblocking service u using? I've been using unlocator since beginning of this year. no issues with netflix, hulu, vevo etc. Streaming is top notch at hd quality.
I use a DNS someone posted here.

And I singup for unblock-us but seems tedious with the settings! Now signup up for unlocator free trial....works fine for now despite the Unifi is having problem at Selangor so the speed kinda slow.
BigMan123
post Dec 14 2014, 09:16 PM

2,470 posts

I tested mirroring on my iphone 6...quality of stream is superb. I did that on my ipad mini gen 1 months ago and it was bad. Now i purposely play games on apple tv....
artman
post Dec 18 2014, 12:35 AM

145 posts

14 days trial using smartdnsproxy without any lag watching netflix.
Now subscribed their 1 year service for just US19.90. Pricing not bad at all comparing unblockus.

BTW, any chance or idea to watch HBO GO, Disney, Fox etc?
broham
post Dec 19 2014, 10:13 AM

Anyone using ProxyDNS? Currently using the free version only for Pandora
Pat89
post Dec 20 2014, 12:10 AM

2,092 posts

Tried smartDNS proxy, kinda slow....change back to unblock-us.....having fun streaming the videos super fast without lagging....

Well, each people must have their own personal opinion tho.....so i choose unblock-us hehe
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 21 2014, 08:28 PM

5,580 posts

What do u guys use your apple tv other than airplay, netflix, hulu?
TSaceedburn
post Dec 21 2014, 09:59 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 21 2014, 08:28 PM)
What do u guys use your apple tv other than airplay, netflix, hulu?
Apple TV 3 very limited use. But Apple TV 2 is the only home cinema device you need. drool.gif
TSaceedburn
post Jan 9 2015, 11:09 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

As far as VPN services are concerned, I've been using unlocator for the past 1 year and have had no problems at all so far. Smooth streaming at full speed and no down time. And now they have added a smart VPN feature so you can access blocked sites like Netflix, Hulu, and everything else anywhere in hotels, cafes, airports and best of all it also works with your mobile data connection, no need to connect to wifi. Free trial for 7 days without risk or the need to key in your credit card info. Go to https://unlocator.com/account/aff/go/bxWxMwTCuaV58YDY
artman
post Jan 15 2015, 11:28 PM

145 posts

Guys, my neflix got error message recently...
'A problem occured while playing this item. Try again later. (139:NFErr_AuthFailure)'
Changed other dns, still the same thing happen.

Any ideas?
TSaceedburn
post Jan 16 2015, 08:19 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(artman @ Jan 15 2015, 11:28 PM)
Guys, my neflix got error message recently...
'A problem occured while playing this item. Try again later. (139:NFErr_AuthFailure)'
Changed other dns, still the same thing happen.

Any ideas?
Are you using maxis fibre Internet?
artman
post Jan 16 2015, 01:50 PM

145 posts

Yes indeed, but it happens recently. All the while is fine.
TSaceedburn
post Jan 16 2015, 04:05 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(artman @ Jan 16 2015, 01:50 PM)
Yes indeed, but it happens recently. All the while is fine.
I'm also facing the same issue. It's nothing to do with your DNS provider, it's the maxis network. This problem has been ongoing for the past 3-4 days. They are aware of it and hopefully will rectify it soon.
artman
post Jan 16 2015, 04:43 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jan 16 2015, 04:05 PM)
I'm also facing the same issue. It's nothing to do with your DNS provider, it's the maxis network. This problem has been ongoing for the past 3-4 days. They are aware of it and hopefully will rectify it soon.
Then I'm not the only one sad.gif
crossed finger they will solved the issue. btw, did you call maxis regarding it?

TSaceedburn
post Jan 16 2015, 06:04 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(artman @ Jan 16 2015, 04:43 PM)
Then I'm not the only one  sad.gif
crossed finger they will solved the issue. btw, did you call maxis regarding it?
A lot of people are facing this issue, apparently its a nationwide issue. Yes, I have sent an email complaint to Astro iptv.
epicure
post Jan 17 2015, 10:23 AM

229 posts

Heard that Netflix is blocking VPN users..

TSaceedburn
post Jan 17 2015, 11:57 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jan 17 2015, 10:23 AM)
Heard that Netflix is blocking VPN users..
Nope that's not true. It was a rumor. Anyway all working fine for me since yesterday evening.
epicure
post Jan 17 2015, 12:03 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jan 17 2015, 11:57 AM)
Nope that's not true. It was a rumor. Anyway all working fine for me since yesterday evening.
Good news then wink.gif
mohd86
post Jan 22 2015, 03:07 PM

46 posts

did you guys got problem with airplay from mac to ur apple tv?

it lags a lot and sometime no sound comes out from the appletv. router problem?
AracaZam
post Jan 24 2015, 06:32 PM

17 posts

just bought Apple TV 3 yest.
use to airplay my moviebox.
can i use the netflx if its not jb?
TSaceedburn
post Jan 25 2015, 09:28 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(AracaZam @ Jan 24 2015, 06:32 PM)
just bought Apple TV 3 yest.
use to airplay my moviebox.
can i use the netflx if its not jb?
Yes, Netflix and Hulu will work. First you have to subscribe to a DNS unblocking service. Try unlocator. To me, it's the best out there at the moment Go to https://unlocator.com/account/aff/go/bxWxMwTCuaV58YDY and sign up for a free trial.
AracaZam
post Jan 25 2015, 02:11 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jan 25 2015, 09:28 AM)
Yes, Netflix and Hulu will work. First you have to subscribe to a DNS unblocking service. Try unlocator. To me, it's the best out there at the moment  Go to https://unlocator.com/account/aff/go/bxWxMwTCuaV58YDY and sign up for a free trial.
thank you! apreciate it very much! biggrin.gif
TSaceedburn
post Feb 6 2015, 10:53 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Kodi 14.1 is out for the apple tv2. Great new interface, smoother flow and hardly buffers anymore. Check it out now.
amoxacilin
post Feb 13 2015, 01:57 PM

513 posts

Anyone here having problem with Hulu Plus on ATV 3?
I got Geo Restriction error message when i want to watch a show in Hulu.
Netflix is just working fine.. Just Hulu got problem.
TSaceedburn
post Feb 13 2015, 11:15 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Feb 13 2015, 01:57 PM)
Anyone here having problem with Hulu Plus on ATV 3?
I got Geo Restriction error message when i want to watch a show in Hulu.
Netflix is just working fine.. Just Hulu got problem.
Which DNS provider are you using?
amoxacilin
post Feb 14 2015, 10:53 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Feb 13 2015, 11:15 PM)
Which DNS provider are you using?
I'm not sure. I get it from Netflix n Hulu acc seller in LYN. Netflix is working without any problem. Just got that Geo Restriction msg on Hulu.
Btw, i just using the trial acc from the seller before deciding to purchase the full acc.
TSaceedburn
post Feb 14 2015, 05:23 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(amoxacilin @ Feb 14 2015, 10:53 AM)
I'm not sure. I get it from Netflix n Hulu acc seller in LYN. Netflix is working without any problem. Just got that Geo Restriction msg on Hulu.
Btw, i just using the trial acc from the seller before deciding to purchase the full acc.
If I don't know which DNS provider you're using, then how to help you?
alanelf
post Feb 14 2015, 05:26 PM

The Geek
640 posts

Hi guys I would like to ask .. is the any problem with qvod player airplay on apple tv?
koonghx
post Feb 14 2015, 05:53 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(alanelf @ Feb 14 2015, 05:26 PM)
Hi guys I would like to ask .. is the any problem with qvod player airplay on apple tv?
Apple Tv shouldn't have any problem with airplay.
alanelf
post Feb 14 2015, 06:37 PM

The Geek
640 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Feb 14 2015, 05:53 PM)
Apple Tv shouldn't have any problem with airplay.
Have you try?
koonghx
post Feb 14 2015, 06:45 PM

888 posts

Normally qvod very slow wo.. you use what client and which website? send me the link i try.
If airplay normal cannot, then airplay mirror sure can..
alanelf
post Feb 14 2015, 07:44 PM

The Geek
640 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Feb 14 2015, 06:45 PM)
Normally qvod very slow wo.. you use what client and which website? send me the link i try.
If airplay normal cannot, then airplay mirror sure can..
Normally I download from this two
Tw116.com
Dehua.la
vivre
post Mar 11 2015, 03:23 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

Hi, just wondering whether ATV has good integration with PLEX? Has anyone tried this? I have my media collection hosted on NAS running PLEX. Tried play media via Chromecast, but the 1080p playback is really struggling. With the recent price reduction for ATV, this option seems attractive, but yet to find any evidence.
NightFelix
post Mar 11 2015, 06:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(vivre @ Mar 11 2015, 03:23 PM)
Hi, just wondering whether ATV has good integration with PLEX? Has anyone tried this? I have my media collection hosted on NAS running PLEX. Tried play media via Chromecast, but the 1080p playback is really struggling. With the recent price reduction for ATV, this option seems attractive, but yet to find any evidence.
ATV is not recommend to get, reviewer said rather get a Roku.
vivre
post Mar 11 2015, 07:19 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 11 2015, 06:17 PM)
ATV is not recommend to get, reviewer said rather get a Roku.
Thanks mate. notworthy.gif Will jump to other thread instead.
Rui.low
post Mar 16 2015, 10:59 AM

may i know, isit "QVOD" app, able to use airplay or anywhere to play the qvod video to TV? if its ok, then i plan to buy 1.....coz i only used QVOD for watching movies
meon55
post Mar 16 2015, 04:42 PM

226 posts

hey guys... i just got my apple TV today. When i scrolled to through the apps, No Netflix app available. I bought it because I wanna watch Netflix.

Currently using Tnlr 184.82.222.5

What might be wrong here?
LegendLee
post Mar 16 2015, 06:07 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(meon55 @ Mar 16 2015, 04:42 PM)
hey guys... i just got my apple TV today. When i scrolled to through the apps, No Netflix app available. I bought it because I wanna watch Netflix.

Currently using Tnlr 184.82.222.5

What might be wrong here?
Have you change your location to the states and sign in with a U.S. iTunes account ?
meon55
post Mar 17 2015, 11:24 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 16 2015, 06:07 PM)
Have you change your location to the states and sign in with a U.S. iTunes account ?
Got it fix d. thanks to your suggestion. Was on a Malaysian account.

Next will be getting a netflix account and ESPN Go.

Any recommendations?
LegendLee
post Mar 17 2015, 07:15 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(meon55 @ Mar 17 2015, 11:24 AM)
Got it fix d. thanks to your suggestion. Was on a Malaysian account.

Next will be getting a netflix account and ESPN Go.

Any recommendations?
I'm subscribed to Netflix HD
But I'm canceling it lol. Don't really have time to watch...
meon55
post Mar 17 2015, 09:05 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 17 2015, 07:15 PM)
I'm subscribed to Netflix HD
But I'm canceling it lol. Don't really have time to watch...
oh, how did you subscribe to Netflix? Purchase direct or through reseller?
LegendLee
post Mar 17 2015, 10:10 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(meon55 @ Mar 17 2015, 09:05 PM)
oh, how did you subscribe to Netflix? Purchase direct or through reseller?
Direct purchase.
All they need is your credit card number. For address, put a relative address from the states.
You may need a VPN though if you're viewing from Malaysia.
VPN unlimited use to have a RM 50 for 3 years VPN service but netflix on appleTV only work via airplay for that.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Mar 17 2015, 10:13 PM
meon55
post Mar 18 2015, 09:51 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 17 2015, 10:10 PM)
Direct purchase.
All they need is your credit card number. For address, put a relative address from the states.
You may need a VPN though if you're viewing from Malaysia.
VPN unlimited use to have a RM 50 for 3 years VPN service but netflix on appleTV only work via airplay for that.
Thanks for the info. will check it out.
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 18 2015, 04:05 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hey guys, I have seen so many Apple TVs going for sale in the Resellers here in PJ but what can we actually use one for? AFAIK, we cannot view Netflix or Hulu in Malaysia, so what other streaming TV services can we get then? hmm.gif

I was thinking of getting one, even if the Samsung TV in my condo is a "Smart TV" with full Internet capabilities! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Mar 18 2015, 04:05 PM
LegendLee
post Mar 18 2015, 04:09 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Mar 18 2015, 04:05 PM)
Hey guys, I have seen so many Apple TVs going for sale in the Resellers here in PJ but what can we actually use one for? AFAIK, we cannot view Netflix or Hulu in Malaysia, so what other streaming TV services can we get then? hmm.gif

I was thinking of getting one, even if the Samsung TV in my condo is a "Smart TV" with full Internet capabilities! rclxms.gif
AirPlay from your iPhone/iPad/Mac.
Hulu and Netflix is possible if you're willing to use vpn or opendns.

There is crunchyroll and a few news channels as well.
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 18 2015, 04:56 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 18 2015, 04:09 PM)
AirPlay from your iPhone/iPad/Mac.
Hulu and Netflix is possible if you're willing to use vpn or opendns.

There is crunchyroll and a few news channels as well.
Thank you mate! rclxms.gif
kokmengng
post May 7 2015, 09:19 AM

882 posts

Guys,

ATV2 still available in the market? New set i mean.

Or everybody is using ATV3 now?
TSaceedburn
post May 7 2015, 02:37 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ May 7 2015, 09:19 AM)
Guys,

ATV2 still available in the market? New set i mean.

Or everybody is using ATV3 now?
Atv2 is not available outright. You may be able to find it from eBay or other sellers at crazy prices. Much sought after now due to jailbreak.
kokmengng
post May 7 2015, 03:15 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ May 7 2015, 02:37 PM)
Atv2 is not available outright. You may be able to find it from eBay or other sellers at crazy prices. Much sought after now due to jailbreak.
Just ordered a ATV3 from Apple store. I can still AirPlay from my jailbroken iPhone. brows.gif
Connect2USales
post May 13 2015, 05:27 PM

No 1 imos Malaysia Authorised Online Reseller
5,745 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ May 7 2015, 02:37 PM)
I'm thinking of selling my atv2. Hardly watch Xbmc nowadays. Mostly use for Netflix only. Thinking of upgrading to atv3 for 1080p instead.

Should I?
SUSXnet
post May 13 2015, 09:00 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ May 13 2015, 05:27 PM)
I'm thinking of selling my atv2. Hardly watch Xbmc nowadays. Mostly use for Netflix only. Thinking of upgrading to atv3 for 1080p instead.

Should I?
Swap with my ATV3 - hardly used
Connect2USales
post May 14 2015, 12:25 AM

No 1 imos Malaysia Authorised Online Reseller
5,745 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ May 13 2015, 09:00 PM)
Swap with my ATV3 - hardly used
Mine no more warranty. Plus swapping about difficult cos I'm based in KK, Sabah.
SUSXnet
post May 14 2015, 12:49 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ May 14 2015, 12:25 AM)
Mine no more warranty. Plus swapping about difficult cos I'm based in KK, Sabah.
Noted that
ProfessorR
post May 14 2015, 01:04 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ May 13 2015, 05:27 PM)

Should I?
Lots of android media players come with AirPlay, which to me makes appletv kinda redundant.
Slash21
post Oct 27 2015, 01:29 PM

214 posts

Hi All,

Anyone getting ATV4? I'm deciding between Roku4, Amazon Fire TV or ATV4...
oldtimer05
post Oct 29 2015, 09:22 AM

396 posts

A sealed box of apple tv 3. Does the warranty begin from the time it was bought or from the time it is registered (begin to use it) ....thanks.
seed80
post Nov 2 2015, 01:30 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Oct 27 2015, 01:29 PM)
Hi All,

I'm waiting for my atv4 to be delivered (ordered on 30th oct). This link lists out the differences between the devices u mentioned and might be helpful... Check it out yea

ATV4,AFTV,Roku4, chromecast comparison

seed80
post Nov 2 2015, 01:31 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(oldtimer05 @ Oct 29 2015, 09:22 AM)
A sealed box of apple tv 3. Does the warranty begin from the time it was bought or from the time it is registered (begin to use it) ....thanks.
From the time it was bought
redza2k4
post Nov 8 2015, 12:36 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Oct 27 2015, 01:29 PM)
Hi All,

ATV4 hv potential to be better than the others & same par with nvidia shield

This post has been edited by redza2k4: Apr 24 2024, 06:48 PM
imran85
post Dec 1 2015, 02:51 PM

92 posts

Anyone know where can repair Apple TV. Have a unit buy no signal appearing on tv. Have tried on 2 other tv and hd monitors.. :S
chilskater
post Dec 19 2015, 11:17 PM

1,124 posts

i have apple tv3.. need some directv account to see cnn go, hbo go
BRY7
post Dec 26 2015, 07:46 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

i just bought an Apple TV 4, still have yet to unbox it.
those using Netflix, how did you purchase the subscription and what VPN/DNS are you using?
thanks in advance
eikozai
post Dec 29 2015, 09:24 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Dec 26 2015, 07:46 AM)
i just bought an Apple TV 4, still have yet to unbox it.
those using Netflix, how did you purchase the subscription and what VPN/DNS are you using?
thanks in advance
Using SmartDNS by Getflix. No problem so far, stable and maintain original ISP highspeed. Find the link to buy it cheap below my signature.
Subscribed via the official web, from which accessible once u get your SmartDNS configured.
Lynixx
post Dec 29 2015, 05:03 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 29 2015, 09:24 AM)
Using SmartDNS by Getflix. No problem so far, stable and maintain original ISP highspeed. Find the link to buy it cheap below my signature.
Subscribed via the official web, from which accessible once u get your SmartDNS configured.
Getflix better or UnblockUS?

im using UnblockUS and no problem so far...thinking to switch to Getflix due to cheaper price.
eikozai
post Dec 29 2015, 05:16 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Dec 29 2015, 05:03 PM)
Getflix better or UnblockUS?

im using UnblockUS and no problem so far...thinking to switch to Getflix due to cheaper price.
I think they works the same.. SmartDNS wont affect speed, but VPN will.
This Getflix stuff is easy to use on computer(Mac or PC) and phones (Android, iOS or Windows) as they have standard applications where you just need to install, login your account ant it will do the job. No need manual configure.
But for ATV or whatever devices that not able to install these apps, then you have to manually configure the DNS, which is just few clicks away.
I guess there's no harm to try to use Getflix for such a low price..
BRY7
post Dec 31 2015, 09:59 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 29 2015, 09:24 AM)
how much is the monthly subscription via official web? cant check now as i do not have any VPN/DNS yet

eikozai
post Dec 31 2015, 10:02 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Dec 31 2015, 09:59 AM)
how much is the monthly subscription via official web? cant check now as i do not have any VPN/DNS yet
BRY7
post Jan 1 2016, 11:27 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Dec 31 2015, 10:02 AM)
is this attached to the Apple ID or totally independent account from Netflix?
Payment would be made to Netflix directly or through iTunes?
eikozai
post Jan 1 2016, 12:59 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 1 2016, 11:27 AM)
is this attached to the Apple ID or totally independent account from Netflix?
Payment would be made to Netflix directly or through iTunes?
Its independent. Nothing to do with Apple. Payment made directly to Netflix.

You can download the Netflix apps from US App Store, then login using the subscibed account and there you go with all the contents.
BRY7
post Jan 1 2016, 07:09 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 1 2016, 12:59 PM)
Its independent. Nothing to do with Apple. Payment made directly to Netflix.

You can download the Netflix apps from US App Store, then login using the subscibed account and there you go with all the contents.
Okay, thank you again
Can I make subscription on Netflix website without a US Credit Card?
And the Apple TV I'm using is 4th gen, can I make a US Apple ID just to get the Netflix app and then use my primary Malaysian Apple ID that is associated to my other Apple Devices?
Or it would make more sense to leave a US Apple ID signed in instead of using my Primary Malaysian Apple ID?
I bought the Apple TV 2 weeks back and it's still in the box.
Don't know how to set up properly.
fadzlie
post Jan 1 2016, 10:07 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 1 2016, 07:09 PM)
Okay, thank you again
And the Apple TV I'm using is 4th gen, can I make a US Apple ID just to get the Netflix app and then use my primary Malaysian Apple ID that is associated to my other Apple Devices?
Or it would make more sense to leave a US Apple ID signed in instead of using my Primary Malaysian Apple ID?
1. i believe most netflix users in malaysia is buying account from a reseller. not subscribing using own credit card. (billing address issue?)
2. i use only my US Apple ID signed in to app store. i don't see any advantages of using my Malaysian Apple ID (which is my primary too, like yours). easier to control purchase too, as i only use itunes gift card for my US account.

for smartdns, currently i am trying a few before deciding to pay for which service provider. i've tried unotelly, and currently on simpletelly. both are almost the same. both have issue with Disney XD, Disney Junior app (with comcast xfinity account). after my simpletelly trial is over, i'll try unblock.us and getflix. if all are the same, pricing would be the deciding factor.

BRY7
post Jan 1 2016, 10:15 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(fadzlie @ Jan 1 2016, 10:07 PM)
1. i believe most netflix users in malaysia is buying account from a reseller. not subscribing using own credit card. (billing address issue?)
2. i use only my US Apple ID signed in to app store. i don't see any advantages of using my Malaysian Apple ID (which is my primary too, like yours). easier to control purchase too, as i only use itunes gift card for my US account.

for smartdns, currently i am trying a few before deciding to pay for which service provider. i've tried unotelly, and currently on simpletelly. both are almost the same. both have issue with Disney XD, Disney Junior app (with comcast xfinity account). after my simpletelly trial is over, i'll try unblock.us and getflix. if all are the same, pricing would be the deciding factor.
whats the billing address issue?
can payments be made to Netflix without using US Credit Cards?
eikozai
post Jan 2 2016, 11:11 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 1 2016, 07:09 PM)
Okay, thank you again
You're welcome.

I used my Malaysia credit card for subscription payment on Netflix subsciption. Used PayPal before as well.
It all works just fine.

Yes, you can use the US Apple ID just to download the app, and then switch back to your primary M'sia Apple ID and you still will be able to enjoy the downloaded apps, which in this case was the Netflix. I done this, all the time.

Its easy to set it up, hook the power point plug and HDMI to your tv, then turn on the power. The rest is quite a few clicks away, quite straight-forward for techies like us.
BRY7
post Jan 2 2016, 03:57 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 2 2016, 11:11 AM)
You're welcome.

I used my Malaysia credit card for subscription payment on Netflix subsciption. Used PayPal before as well.
It all works just fine.

Yes, you can use the US Apple ID just to download the app, and then switch back to your primary M'sia Apple ID and you still will be able to enjoy the downloaded apps, which in this case was the Netflix. I done this, all the time.

Its easy to set it up, hook the power point plug and HDMI to your tv, then turn on the power. The rest is quite a few clicks away, quite straight-forward for techies like us.
Thanks again.
What about the setup of the getflix?
I'm planning to set everything up tomorrow night or Monday after getting home from my vacation
eikozai
post Jan 2 2016, 06:35 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 2 2016, 03:57 PM)
Thanks again.
What about the setup of the getflix?
I'm planning to set everything up tomorrow night or Monday after getting home from my vacation
Once you subscribed to Getflix, you will be able to access to a list of DNS.
There's also a direct step-by-step guidelines from Getflix to setup the Apple TV(and other devices as well) which you can follow. Everything will just work in breeze.
BRY7
post Jan 2 2016, 10:17 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 2 2016, 06:35 PM)
Once you subscribed to Getflix, you will be able to access to a list of DNS.
There's also a direct step-by-step guidelines from Getflix to setup the Apple TV(and other devices as well) which you can follow. Everything will just work in breeze.
alright, will try it out and if i encountered any difficulties, i'll post here
eikozai
post Jan 2 2016, 10:56 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 2 2016, 10:17 PM)
alright, will try it out and if i encountered any difficulties, i'll post here
Yeap.. Will be glad to assist biggrin.gif
TSaceedburn
post Jan 3 2016, 11:20 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

Got this silicon cover for my Siri remote. Just to share.

Mavik
post Jan 4 2016, 09:31 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jan 3 2016, 11:20 AM)
Got this silicon cover for my Siri remote. Just to share.
That looks good! I need one too. Where did you get it from?
TSaceedburn
post Jan 4 2016, 10:42 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 4 2016, 09:31 AM)
That looks good! I need one too. Where did you get it from?
got it from ebay
BRY7
post Jan 4 2016, 10:43 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 2 2016, 10:56 PM)
Yeap.. Will be glad to assist biggrin.gif
Real face palm, setup was fine managed to make an US iTunes Account, separated iCloud with iTunes Apple ID BUT the problem is Getflix is having issues with registration of new accounts with @me.com emails doh.gif
can you check if its possible to change emails after setting up the account, if its possible i'll use my other email account then later switch to my @me.com email.
or else i'll just wait for 1 week tops to see if they fixed the issue
eikozai
post Jan 5 2016, 02:19 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 4 2016, 10:43 PM)
Real face palm, setup was fine managed to make an US iTunes Account, separated iCloud with iTunes Apple ID BUT the problem is Getflix is having issues with registration of new accounts with @me.com emails  doh.gif
can you check if its possible to change emails after setting up the account, if its possible i'll use my other email account then later switch to my @me.com email.
or else i'll just wait for 1 week tops to see if they fixed the issue
I think you should get in touch with the Getflix admin then. I don't see why it don't work with .me emails.

I assumed you bought your Getflix from the link below my signature? Well, if that's the case, have you activated the codes?
If you haven't, then you can register another account using another email address, and then, activate the code in that new account. I do this coz i don't wan't 'New Account' which was rubbish written in StackSocial for Getflix.
BRY7
post Jan 5 2016, 06:57 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 5 2016, 02:19 AM)
I think you should get in touch with the Getflix admin then. I don't see why it don't work with .me emails.

I assumed you bought your Getflix from the link below my signature? Well, if that's the case, have you activated the codes?
If you haven't, then you can register another account using another email address, and then, activate the code in that new account. I do this coz i don't wan't 'New Account' which was rubbish written in StackSocial for Getflix.
Yes I purchased it from stack social as I have already have an account with them.
You mean it's possible to activate the code twice? Once on my other email and another time on a new Getlfix account once they can accept @me.com email?
eikozai
post Jan 5 2016, 08:18 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jan 5 2016, 06:57 AM)
Yes I purchased it from stack social as I have already have an account with them.
You mean it's possible to activate the code twice? Once on my other email and another time on a new Getlfix account once they can accept @me.com email?
No, it can only be activated once on a single email address.
The only thing you see after entered the code was the extension of usability period, for 30 years. You need contact Getflix support team if it dont work.
TSaceedburn
post Jan 5 2016, 04:50 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

My Steelseries Nimbus has arrived. rclxm9.gif

hellbonez
post Jan 6 2016, 01:23 PM

got 10 HBO now sharing acc 100rm/year
holoman
post Jan 7 2016, 10:28 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

guys,apple tv 3 can jailbreak not?

This post has been edited by holoman: Jan 7 2016, 10:29 PM
mochicake
post Jan 8 2016, 09:48 PM

258 posts

I have a few ATV 3 and want one more for another room, just because it's so cheap and convenient for Netflix, Hulu and iTunes collection.

Should I just spend more for an ATV 4 instead to replace in the main room? It's RM729 vs RM296 at the moment. What am I missing out between ATV 3 and 4 that would make it worth that RM433? Not into mobile/light gaming, have consoles and PC for that. Apple Music have the iPads and don't actually use it that much to be honest. The interface looks sweet though.
Lynixx
post Jan 8 2016, 10:42 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(mochicake @ Jan 8 2016, 09:48 PM)
I have a few ATV 3 and want one more for another room, just because it's so cheap and convenient for Netflix, Hulu and iTunes collection.

Should I just spend more for an ATV 4 instead to replace in the main room? It's RM729 vs RM296 at the moment. What am I missing out between ATV 3 and 4 that would make it worth that RM433? Not into mobile/light gaming, have consoles and PC for that. Apple Music have the iPads and don't actually use it that much to be honest. The interface looks sweet though.
if you already have ATV 3 i suggest you keep it.

what you'll get ATV 4 is only siri and app store and the games are really bored, i play twice already deleted.
mochicake
post Jan 8 2016, 10:50 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Jan 7 2016, 10:28 PM)
guys,apple tv 3 can jailbreak not?
Don't think they have jailbreak, last I checked was Oct '15. Say there's low demand.

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jan 8 2016, 10:42 PM)
if you already have ATV 3 i suggest you keep it.

what you'll get ATV 4 is only siri and app store and the games are really bored, i play twice already deleted.
Thank you, I'll probably skip it then.
elmolee
post Jan 14 2016, 12:05 PM

142 posts

Hi guys

Any ideas how to watch hk channels on atv3?
ericlawyh
post Jan 18 2016, 04:40 PM

116 posts

Has anyone tried Netflix with Apple TV 3?

When the Audio is set to Dolby Digital (DD), there is no sound output.

The sound output is fine when the Audio is set to Auto (Stereo).
ctvtec
post Jan 19 2016, 11:43 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(ericlawyh @ Jan 18 2016, 04:40 PM)
Has anyone tried Netflix with Apple TV 3?

When the Audio is set to Dolby Digital (DD), there is no sound output.

The sound output is fine when the Audio is set to Auto (Stereo).
Is your Apple TV connected to your TV directly? Not all TVs support Dolby Digital and that could be why you got no sound when you set to DD.
You need to connect the Apple TV to your AVR either via HDMI or optical cable to get DD sound if your TV does not support it.
ericlawyh
post Jan 19 2016, 12:28 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(ctvtec @ Jan 19 2016, 11:43 AM)
Is your Apple TV connected to your TV directly? Not all TVs support Dolby Digital and that could be why you got no sound when you set to DD.
You need to connect the Apple TV to your AVR either via HDMI or optical cable to get DD sound if your TV does not support it.
I can only hear from Stereo instead of Dolby Digital in the following connections:
Apple TV -- HDMI --> Samsung TV
Apple TV -- Optical --> Samsung TV
Apple TV -- HDMI --> Denon AVR
Apple TV -- Optical --> Denon AVR
Noregrets
post Jan 19 2016, 12:51 PM

1,124 posts

I bought the Nimbus Steelseries for Apple TV - a lot easier to play games.
Recommended buy but only if you play games.

This post has been edited by Noregrets: Jan 19 2016, 12:53 PM
redsixths
post Jan 19 2016, 01:46 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Noregrets @ Jan 19 2016, 12:51 PM)
I bought the Nimbus Steelseries for Apple TV  - a lot easier to play games.
Recommended buy but only if you play games.
where do u bought?
can pm recommend me the shop?
Noregrets
post Jan 19 2016, 07:15 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(redsixths @ Jan 19 2016, 01:46 PM)
where do u bought?
can pm recommend me the shop?
Bought in Apple Shop Hong Kong.
Cheaper then I thought - about RM 240 - far cheaper then the replacement Apple remote which is nearly RM 400.
fadzlie
post Jan 22 2016, 05:19 PM

99 posts

i read somewhere you can install MAME emulator in the new apple tv 4. anyone here tried installing it?

i haven't tried it yet because i don't have any game controller and also usb-c cable.

0.1184sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:09 PM