--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day

sarungman
post Jan 17 2013, 07:00 PM

105 posts

Hi guys, wanna ask regarding this car.

Im going to buy a 2005 savvy (manual) from someone. ANd what i have heard from left and right, dun buy a proton car at its first year, which savvy first year is 2005 CMIIW. Whats the different between each version/year?

And can you guys suggest me what i need to check before buying this car. I dun have anyone i know who works as a technician to help me, and i dun want to pay someone for it because i have some cars to check. But if that person can check multiple cars with only one time payment then ok smile.gif.

sarungman
post Jan 26 2013, 11:37 AM

105 posts

bought this car at 85km. Dunno if this car ever change its timing belt no one able to tell. Usually savvy should change its timingbelt for the first time at what KM? is there any way to check if the timingbelt has been changed?
sarungman
post Jan 27 2013, 10:28 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 26 2013, 06:24 PM)
Send to Renautech for diagnostic. Regardless, buying 2nd hand car alone is already a risk, u wanna risk ur engine for some 2-3 hundred bucks 1time maintenance cost over the next year or 2?
Yeah u r correct. Better i change it nod.gif
btw if the speedometer sensor is died, does it cause the jerking?
Savvy manual btw
sarungman
post Jan 28 2013, 11:13 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 28 2013, 01:08 PM)
I mana ada sakap speed sensor no need replace sleep.gif I was saying IF TDC sensor NOT ROSAK, then send for servis lar. According to my knowledge, speedsensor if only cable detach can be repair, if rosak can't be repair need replacement. sleep.gif
haha ya im going to send it to renautech for service.
Btw a small incident happen today. a stupid driver bump to my car bumper, leaving a white wide scratch and small dent (i think that is the stupid drivers car paint left on it ).
Can i use nail polish remover to remove that 'foreign' paint? I try a bit amount and i can remove some part of the scratch mark. But i dunno the side effect if i use acetone to remove it. Is it safe for my car paint? i dun really care about the dent, its 2005 car anyway, but the scratch mark is really annoying to see biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sarungman: Jan 28 2013, 11:14 PM
sarungman
post Jan 29 2013, 01:51 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 29 2013, 01:20 AM)
Be grateful for 2005 car. I started my driving year with 1987 Plotong Knight sleep.gif Nail polish is fine, after wipe away paint remember to use soup water to clean the whole part, than rinse with tap water to make sure the nail polish remover doesn't stain. However, safer manner is to use polishing/rubbing compound, less harsh to the paint. Anyway, regardless which way you do, remember to after rinse water wipe it dry then sapu a layer of wax to protect the surface yawn.gif
i c... thanks!
sarungman
post Feb 2 2013, 04:31 PM

105 posts

today when i go to renautech to change my car belts, suddenly i smell something burnt... like a burnt rubber. Im not sure if it comes from the aircond but even from outside car, i still can smell it. Very2 strong burnt smell. I tot it is engine overheat, but the indicator showed fine, and the engine still running smooth.

I suspect it is from clutch disc. Coz i feel the car sometimes feel like loss of power even the revs are high. I asked the mechanics to check the clutch plate. Or anything that might be the source. has anyone here ever experience this before
sarungman
post Feb 2 2013, 11:09 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 2 2013, 07:16 PM)
u were there too? im the first today. luckily made appointment with william 1st. after i came, so many savvy beratur.

total damage 537.8
-front brake pad
-flush n replace new brake fluids
-speed sensor
- front (driver side) lower arm - not expected to change this, but wth
yeah i was there at 11am. Maybe u spotted my black savvy with R3 sticker on the windscreen.

Total damage 1112 (RM212 for labour).
- timing, alternator, aircond belt
- engine(agip semi-sync) and gearbox oil(tranself) with filter
- rear brake pump
- sparkplug Bosch set
- and brake fluid
- reverse lamp bulb
Supposed to change the speedsensor too, but my budget was so tight. Maybe next month or else i have to eat grass for a couple weeks. Fortunately the clutch plate is still good. They just did the readjustment

William is so nice guy. He waited me to pick up my car (should be 6.30PM, but due to traffic jam I was late, arrived at 7.37PM smile.gif )

This post has been edited by sarungman: Feb 2 2013, 11:20 PM
sarungman
post Feb 7 2013, 07:03 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Feb 6 2013, 06:03 PM)

Aih.... the car rosaked ady, how ar whistling.gif
341.7K??? how come?? u altered it or it just happened ur car travel that far blink.gif

btw, i just realize something(part) is missing from my car. Do u know the long rubber lining between the roof and doors(left/right) (outside)? I just realized it is lost shakehead.gif
What's the use of it? can i find the replacement for it somewhere? it looks a bit ugly for the car detail blush.gif

This post has been edited by sarungman: Feb 7 2013, 07:03 PM
sarungman
post Feb 10 2013, 08:48 PM

105 posts

damn, my car tyre got leak sad.gif. Where can i find shop who can fix tubeless tire specially in PJ area?
sarungman
post Feb 21 2013, 11:54 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(gagahput3ra @ Feb 21 2013, 11:33 PM)
Hi guys smile.gif i just bought a 2nd hand 2006 savvy (MT) with 71k++ km clocked in...any advice on what parts to replace? Just want to be on the safe side here since the care doesn't come with full service record

Thanks smile.gif
bring it to Renau Tech at subang jaya USJ8
tell them ur situation and ask them to diagnostic your car

btw since you dunno the history of its timing belt, and normally savvy timing belts need to be changed at 60k (or 80k? CMIIW), better if u change it. But if u confident enuf to assume prev owner had changed it, so u can gamble to postpone it until 100k-110k km which i suggest u not to do it smile.gif

btw.
My eng temp sometimes reaches and stays in 4 bars. Normally should maintain 3 bars rite?
Do i need to bring my car to service? i checked the coolant is still sufficient, no clogged in the reservoir. Rad fan still running good, and sometimes it runs even the engine is turned off (i think this part is normal). and oil level is a bit towards to min mark (cool condition)

This post has been edited by sarungman: Feb 22 2013, 12:03 AM
sarungman
post Feb 22 2013, 09:29 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Feb 22 2013, 12:28 AM)
When it up 4 bars, is your aircon on? mellow.gif
No. But if i turn it on it never goes up to 4 bars.
sarungman
post Feb 22 2013, 05:36 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Feb 22 2013, 03:22 PM)
I KNEW IT!!!!!!!  icon_idea.gif Yiu go ask around, almost all aged Shawie got the same problem doh.gif I tried ask my magician, figured the thermostat could be the culprit. I have not decide to remove it as I do not wish to jeopardize the cold start emission control, neither I want to spend money for replacement due to expansive price. I put in a brand spanking new external fan infront of cooling condenser whistling.gif Plobrem solved icon_idea.gif
so its actually more on to thermostat prob? can explain abit detail on the bold?
sarungman
post May 17 2013, 10:48 PM

105 posts

Anyone knows why my savvy sometimes stay idle at 1k rpm? usually around 900rpm. If happen to reach 1k rpm at idle, the temp will constantly change between 3-4 bar.

This happen with aircond is on. Worst if no aircond... stay in 4 bar and i could feel warm-hot around bonet/ engine compartment from 2-3 feet away.

btw im going to go away around 10 days. And i will leave my car not being use for the time being. Issit okay if i leave the battery still connected and parking brake is engaged?

This post has been edited by sarungman: May 17 2013, 10:59 PM
sarungman
post Jun 10 2013, 08:59 AM

105 posts

Now my car get serious prob. After running idle for 10-15 min the temp got max bars. But no warning lite is shown. If try to drive slooowwly then got one. If fast enuf it won't show but stay in max bar indicator. Checked the radiator the water is empty. I fill it again and empty after couple km. No leak I can see from below. But when the indicator is max I could not feel excess heat around the engine.... strange

And the engine starts to shake wildly. Very hard to accelerate from full stop using 2nd gear. Feel very heavy. All trouble come very sudden. I dun know what happen

This post has been edited by sarungman: Jun 10 2013, 09:01 AM
sarungman
post Jun 11 2013, 08:04 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 11 2013, 12:26 AM)
Could be fried gasket, water leaked into engine oil. Tomolo morning take out your dipstick check and see what color is the engine oil. If white color....

Seriously, it's f***ed up
cry.gif cry.gif

estimate repair cost?
sarungman
post Jun 11 2013, 08:11 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 11 2013, 08:06 AM)
if major overhaul = same as new engine..

if top overhaul = ~ rm2-3k.. depend on what to be replace..

*this is depend on the damage condition..
sweat.gif i dun know what to say ... i put it at renautech ald. Hope to hear good news soon

--edit---
so far they said, prob on thermostat housing / radiator housing (what i heard from phone CMIIW), and ignition coil....

This post has been edited by sarungman: Jun 11 2013, 10:27 AM
sarungman
post Jun 11 2013, 04:32 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 11 2013, 12:50 PM)
owh.. stuttering is cause by coil.. good.. different prob then the overheat..

what i read up and translate is the overheat make the car slow and heavy pickup..

so coil + thermostat = ~ rm500-600 depend on what type of coil.. the ori renault or aftermarket.. aftermarket cause you rm190 + / -..

termostat housing is less 100.. changed mine before at proton..
haha... should be the car slow and heavy pickup + overheat problem
but till now i hvnt received any news of my car. Unable to contact renautech, no one picks up my call sad.gif
sarungman
post Jun 17 2013, 01:46 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 11 2013, 12:50 PM)
owh.. stuttering is cause by coil.. good.. different prob then the overheat..

what i read up and translate is the overheat make the car slow and heavy pickup..

so coil + thermostat = ~ rm500-600 depend on what type of coil.. the ori renault or aftermarket.. aftermarket cause you rm190 + / -..

termostat housing is less 100.. changed mine before at proton..
Renautech charged me for 210 shocking.gif
the coil is 360ish if im not mistaken
sarungman
post Jul 5 2013, 11:33 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(gagahput3ra @ Jul 4 2013, 08:10 PM)
I seem to have overheating problem with my savvy now suddenly. sad.gif The first time it happens i am not aware until the aircond seem to stop working then i pull over and wait for it to cool down. Now it happens almost everytime, half an hour of driving it will hit 4 bar, even 5 if the aircond is on.

I check on the engine when it starts to overheat and it seems the radiator fan is not working. Any tip on how to DIY and fix this myself?
last month i got this prob also.

Everytime im in the middle of heavy jam, my car easily get hot. Temp raised up till 4 bar. Finaly it reached max bar untill overheat warning sign showed up. Coolant in the reservoir also gone.... no leaking. Bring it to renautech they fix the thermostat housing because of rust or clogged... and thermostat sensor too. Because i was late to fix it, the overheat problem caused the ignition coil to crack...

now with the new parts, the problem seems to be solved. But now it starts to happen again. In heavy jam (and slow moving traffic), temp easily raises up between 3 and 4 constantly. I noticed that even when the temp reaches 4 bar, the radiator fan does not spin... but eventually spins after couple secs. i think the problem is because of the electrical fan. It doesn't seem accurately know when to start spinning. which part that control the fan? thermostat? ECU?

@davidke20

i wan to mod my radiator like that where to go and how to explain to the foreman? i stay in pj
sarungman
post Jul 5 2013, 03:46 PM

105 posts

if u see carefully, even when you turn on your aircon, the fan only spins when the aircon kicks in. i saw my friend's savvy also like this.

0.0507sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:21 PM