8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V24, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 19 2012, 10:51 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jan 19 2012, 10:38 AM)
Hopefully Samsung can release an official ICS Stock Rom for us before this weekend, so that we can have the long CNY holidays to play with flashing...haha

icon_rolleyes.gif
I'd doubt that samsung would release ICS so soon. Most likely arnd mid feb to march then ICS will be released. But thats for european sgs2, if u wanna wait for official firmware update in kies, gotta wait long long time
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 19 2012, 07:40 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 19 2012, 06:37 PM)
I will look at it tonight.  I also blur about what u want now.  tongue.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 6:38 pm
Yes. Its their super secret base.
Now not so secret anymore tongue.gif btw ant, I don't really like westcrip wifi and battery icons, so if I want to havecm9 icons instead, I just open u the systemui.apk from both roms, go to res, drawable hdpi, then copy the images from cm9 to westcrjp, then save, then done right?

Btw @pikachu I can't seem to remember which script I can flash and can't flash on ics, so I wanna ask agn, which can I flash n not flash? I'm on westcrip now btw

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Jan 19 2012, 07:43 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 19 2012, 07:47 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 19 2012, 07:44 PM)
Check first whether the icon names are the same. Some of CM7 and samsung GB rom icon names are different. Dunno about ICS.
if names are different, can I just rename them and put into westcrip systemui?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 09:50 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jan 20 2012, 01:51 AM)
welcome to the family.
here's the rules
no depressing posts
no mention about cracked apps and still post depressing stuffs of S2
no post depressing stuffs even after everyone's advice.
not doing any of the above will earn you treatment like positron
+100! biggrin.gif

also:
no posting antutu benchmarks biggrin.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 9:53 am
QUOTE(guard_x @ Jan 20 2012, 09:34 AM)
ok.. i'll keep that in mind..  wink.gif

lots of info in the first page.. you guys done a great job.. and because of that somehow my S2 now on the stock ICS.. been testing for the past 3 days..  thumbup.gif
Wow i havent seen u ask any questions abt how to flash ics in here, yet u still manage to flash it succesfully! I salute u! notworthy.gif stock ICS still kinda buggy, even on westcrip i still get FCs, i got more FCs on westcrip in a day than the FCs i got on CM9 since i started using it and switched to westcrip doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Jan 20 2012, 09:53 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 09:55 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Jan 20 2012, 09:54 AM)
antutu benchmarks  doh.gif

who created this kind of crap? at first it was fun to see all the numbers. but after you realized that it was useless, its not fun anymore. i don't care about what score does my phone have coz it doesn't matters to me at all...
Post first time here ok, then everyday seeing positron posting antutu every day makes me go doh.gif doh.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 09:59 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 20 2012, 09:56 AM)
Ok you change my mind about trying westcrip's  nod.gif
I was thinking about warning u abt not flashing westcrip. When go m.facebook.com, and while trying to like someone's post, it just shows the top blue bar, it doesnt show the feed anymore, and i have open a new tab to go back to feed, and the whole process repeats itself doh.gif doh.gif But battery seems ok so far, and runs cooler than CM9 (thank god)
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 10:16 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jan 20 2012, 10:07 AM)
hold ur move then. my GalNex oso got some issues. btw mine one dun have reaction when i swipe my IC/TnG/Visa card at backside of my GalNex. thinking bout my NFC chip spoiled or wat. shit.
Or mabye ur card spoil tongue.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 11:00 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Jan 20 2012, 10:50 AM)
Hello guys,

Just a query on EFS. I have several file in my sd as per bellow;
1. EFS_Backup folder then in there have efs_23Oct2011-1437.tar.gz
2. efsbackup.tar.gz
3. efsdev-mmcblk0p1.img.gz
4. efsdev-mmcblk0p1.img
5. efs.autobackup.img

I believe that i am missing something on this.  sweat.gif
Nothing's missing. Most likely when u flash custom roms/kernels it auto backup efs for u, so ur safe if ur efs ever gets corrupted

Added on January 20, 2012, 11:03 am
QUOTE(guard_x @ Jan 20 2012, 10:49 AM)
few days of reading the 1st page and all the links.. and some pointers from friend (actually he poisoned me to buy S2) tongue.gif .. yup the stock ICS is not really stable yet.. sometimes app hang, lag, and network not detected (i think the network signal bar not working right?) and connection sometimes fail when using facebook, 4sq and waze..
My network bar working fine, maybe its cuz mine's a custom rom ics.

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Jan 20 2012, 11:03 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 11:51 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Jan 20 2012, 11:50 AM)
are you trying the one version 7.3 westcrip?
then i had better wait for official release
yea im on 7.3. i also did a full wipe just to be sure
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 12:58 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 20 2012, 12:20 PM)
Yeah it happen to me once before also. But my sd adapter not with me, only can settle at home later.  doh.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:21 pm
I think ICS dun have USB storage mode right, not just galnex.  hmm.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:23 pmNow re-doing TB backup to internal storage just in case.
I read online that ics supports usb mass storage, only if the phone has an external sdcard.

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(Positron @ Jan 20 2012, 12:57 PM)
It's okay, I have already flashed Frankenstein Firmwares...
back to android 2.3.6..
No problems...

laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Since u did do a nandroid backup of stock rom, u can just go into cwm, backup and restore, select restore/restore from internal sdcard(depends where ur backup is), select the backup file then wait till it finish restore then done

Added on January 20, 2012, 1:00 pm
QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Jan 20 2012, 12:39 PM)
Seems like I need to send back my phone to Samsung for warranty as consistently facing problem with "Mobile Network not Available" @ "Emergency Call only" despite flash, re-flash rom.

Not yet try flashing official ROM.. hmm...
U shud try full wipe and flash official rom, monitor a few days then report back here

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Jan 20 2012, 01:00 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 01:16 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Jan 20 2012, 01:04 PM)
Thanks alot, but actually I tried that already..
Before this I was on Batista ROM..
But then I did the restore for the stock ROM..
But still it came back to the custom ROM..
I did some research, and some people said that even if wiped cache, or factory reset, cannot get back to stock ROM..
The only way is to flash the original firmware using ODIN..

Is it true, for my case it was true..

Hmm.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Never had such a problem that restoring nandroid backup won't change back to the rom of the nandroid backup hmm.gif u sure u did what I said?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 06:38 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Jan 20 2012, 01:24 PM)
Actually, I went to Advanced Backup and I click on the Date I did the backup..
But to my dismay, when the phone rebooted, it is still Batista ROM...
I thought maybe the date I remembered was wrong, so I clicked on the second date..
Still the same, when back to BATISTA rom....

So I just did some research,  it seems there are people facing the same problem..
And the solution stated was just to flash back the original firmware using ODIN...

cry.gif  cry.gif
doh.gif doh.gif ur not supposed to go to advanced restore, ur supposed to click restore then select the backup
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 06:40 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 20 2012, 06:36 PM)
Try to use this one. Drop your apk into the respective folders in the zip.

http://www.mediafire.com/?u9rdwhv6c1zobvo

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:37 pmSakit jiwa really. Copying out stuff from micro sd, formatting, and copy back 21gb of stuff is so slow on class 4..  doh.gif  doh.gif
The awkward moment when u know its time to get a faster sd card tongue.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jan 20 2012, 06:25 PM)
when i use SGSII, 16gb+32gb i use till left external 1.2gb internal 400+- mb.
If u so heavy data user, why u go for a gnexus that doesn't have sd card slot -.-

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Jan 20 2012, 06:41 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 06:43 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jan 20 2012, 05:17 PM)
yes can. sms if u scared you can use gosms to schedule backup for you also can wan. if you open titanium backup, those backup GREEN colour wan, is important stuffs, as u can see got all the things i mentioned, even call logs. the trick is, once you restore, it wont immediately appear, you have to wipe data for the current data, restore back the old data, then restart, then only it will appear. only thing that is not working or i couldnt figure out how, is widgets, it will backup, problem is getting it to work correctly  sad.gif
Can teach me how to backup bookmarks in titanium backup? Never knew that tb can do those things
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 06:54 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 20 2012, 06:45 PM)
Just backup everything and bookmark will be included. Then look for one of the green one.

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:46 pm
haha was actually thinking of getting class 10 for some time now... tongue.gif
What u mean by backup everything? In batch select backup all user apps?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 20 2012, 07:06 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jan 20 2012, 06:49 PM)
his hands itchy wan try ics  icon_idea.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:50 pm
my videos i use VLC direct stream via wifi when at home  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:54 pm
oh mai  rclxub.gif  tried reflash?  icon_rolleyes.gif
look for [BOOKMARKS] Internet 2.3.6

its green in colour very ez to find, it seems that it also work for dolphin i think
Ok thanks! biggrin.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 21 2012, 07:02 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jan 21 2012, 03:02 AM)
shizuru! playing minecraft?  brows.gif which server? or play alone  brows.gif me hardcore minecrafter, wan play together?  brows.gif
LBE if got root, no root go try my data manager, i confirm those two error around 1-5%
If u guys ever gonna play online count me in!

Btw, is it just me, or is auto correct on android keyboard on westcrip resurrection ics not working? I set auto correction to on already
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 21 2012, 08:56 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 21 2012, 08:27 AM)
Hey u still on westcrip? Thought u say got lots of FC...  hmm.gif
After the first day, not that many FCs anymore. Just reverted back to checkrom, i cant stand the crappy battery life of ICS anymore. That post was before i switched back to checkrom
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 21 2012, 09:03 AM

2,583 posts

1) rattan - CheckROM V4
2) niregi - Turkbey
3) Shizuru - CheckROM V4
4) FallenOut - CheckROM V4
5) destEX - CheckROM V4
6) game4life - CheckROM V4
7) senbonzakura123 - Omega ROM v10
8) antt00 - Turkbey 30.3
9) snigapoe - Turkbey 30.3
10 ) xbbshampoo - CheckROM V4
11) botakbin- CheckROM V4
12) ashwin1234- Criskelo v38
13) yehlai - Cognition 777 r2
14) iori57 - Turkbey 29.5
15) Me,me and me - Criskelo v38
16) scofield - WanamLite V7.3 ICS 4.0.3 XXLP2
17) TheLaptopDudeGuy - CheckROM V4
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Jan 21 2012, 09:23 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 21 2012, 09:12 AM)
hehe.. play alone only. just started. hurry go to sleep as soon as it get dark level sweat.gif
U play with loleditor? Or play it the real (and hard) way?

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:23 PM