Mountain Biking Heaven V25.5, Noobs... go read page 1

kaizer
post Mar 19 2012, 12:52 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Mar 19 2012, 11:19 AM)
Price: RM600-800, KS probably cheap but need to know how to maintain....RS Reverb lightest, higher rating...im using KS, Tim use CB Joplin, Cypher and Xand use Reverb

This is based on my own experience...

I ride a HT and my fav trail is Kiara...which is quite technical. So having a dropper post really makes a difference for me....with a HT I need to be a bit more accurate and move around the cockpit a bit...meaning I need to shift my weight back and forth, side to side more. The biggest benefit for me is it allows you to lower your center of gravity therefore making it more stable during downhills ...I m not sure if it makes me faster ...but it makes me more assured and confident going downhill. ..so I do use it quite a bit when riding...

I also dont like the idea of stopping to lower the seat...cut steam

Another factor is ...the saddle tends to get stuck in between my fat thighs ...its not a fun feeling when you re about to go downhill..can throw of your balance...

Having said a lot of riders been surviving without it ...I think if you can shift around your cockpit with ease ...without needing to adjust it...then you probably dont need it..just like the XC guys...

You ll also need to know how to maintain it cause with mud it can jam seatpost...covering with unused Tyre tube and Greasing it will help...under heavy usage you ll probably need to send it for service once a year

Pros: Allows you to move around the cockpit easily...seamless riding experience (no need to stop and adjust)..more stable ride as you can go lower on the bike

Cons: Adds weight to the bike...requires TLC and maintenance

Hope that helps
thumbup.gif

Can live without suspension or gears, but not without a dropper post blush.gif
kaizer
post Mar 19 2012, 06:52 PM

60 posts

7 or 8spd also kenot get?
kaizer
post Mar 21 2012, 12:31 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Mar 20 2012, 10:31 PM)
spez frame lifetime warranty last i heard.
If FS, so called lifetime warranty is only applicable to the front triangle. The rear triangle is only 2yrs.
kaizer
post Mar 23 2012, 05:33 PM

60 posts

Fulcrum wheels comes in 32/36 holes rims wan meh?
kaizer
post Mar 24 2012, 12:10 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Mar 23 2012, 07:54 PM)
Sometimes, one need to learn it the hard way...
Soli looo... I dunno now got 32/36 holes fulcrum rims mah. blush.gif
kaizer
post Mar 24 2012, 10:12 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Mar 24 2012, 01:56 AM)
Got? huh.gif
I dunno... I tot u implied that they have? hmm.gif
kaizer
post Mar 24 2012, 11:32 AM

60 posts

Fulcrums are 36pts. CK is 72pts. Yup... Half the engagement points for half the price. Fair deal?
kaizer
post Mar 24 2012, 01:01 PM

60 posts

Your guess is as good as mine... I'm running kones bearing on my Deore hubs.
kaizer
post Mar 24 2012, 11:58 PM

60 posts

Higher engagement points is good for tech climbs when one needs to rachet the pedals lo... Also good for trackstanding.
kaizer
post Mar 26 2012, 01:44 PM

60 posts

FRIM has it's own fun too. But the climbs are tough...
kaizer
post Mar 26 2012, 02:08 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Mar 26 2012, 01:56 PM)
After you climbed Jim Thomson Trail in Cameron. FRIM is only Kacang Kulit matters. *True Story*
Hahaha... I can't climb for sheetz. cry.gif U ask me go Jim Thomson mean u wan me die jek? blink.gif
I heard it's a damn hardcore trail wo? With climbs like Everest and descends like volcano? You must be a super pawa rider to do it. I got no guts.

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Mar 26 2012, 01:47 PM)
FRIM can has it's own fun. but Kiara can has everybadi's fun.
Scary lah Kiara. sweat.gif
kaizer
post Mar 26 2012, 03:40 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Mar 26 2012, 02:19 PM)
Ayam not pawa rider. I pushed bike only.  Not damn hardcore laa. All you have to do is to climb climb climb none stop only. Downhill part not syok. I prefer Kiara if downhill.  thumbup.gif
Dont be so humble lah... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Mar 26 2012, 02:20 PM)
thumbup.gif

Added on March 26, 2012, 2:30 pm
Most of us here in LYN completed it already. Sure u can  rclxms.gif
Gutless balless breathless strengthless rclxub.gif
kaizer
post Mar 26 2012, 07:05 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Mar 26 2012, 06:41 PM)
Actually it is. If you start from the heli pad straight down to the lake. thumbup.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif HARDCORE BADASS!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
kaizer
post Mar 28 2012, 03:07 PM

60 posts

At another thread... LOL

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0506sec    0.46    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:12 PM