KwangMin.MingChee AD: Part#1 - PhotoGlebe Showcase

TSPhotoGlebe
post Jan 8 2012, 05:28 PM, updated 14y ago

13 posts

Sharing some photos I shot for KwangMin.MingChee's AD.

Due to it's a church wedding, I've selected quite a number of photos for sharing, but since I only allowed to post maximum 8 photos per thread, I will post in 3 threads, each thread contains 8 photos from a particular session, i.e. Morning ceremony, Church & Banquet.

Part#1: The morning ceremony.
Part#2: The Church

First Thread:The morning ceremony。

There are more images of this wedding can be found in KwangMin.MingChee Album.
Please like our facebook fan page, to follow our updates, thank you smile.gif

01.user posted image

02.user posted image

03.user posted image

04.user posted image

05.user posted image

06.user posted image

07.user posted image

08.user posted image

There are more images of this wedding can be found in KwangMin.MingChee Album.
Please like our facebook fan page, to follow our updates, thank you smile.gif

Part#1: The morning ceremony.
Part#2: The Church

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Jan 11 2012, 09:59 AM
Calvin_low84
post Jan 9 2012, 05:02 AM

Face problem all. XD

This post has been edited by Calvin_low84: Jan 9 2012, 05:03 AM
TSPhotoGlebe
post Jan 9 2012, 09:15 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 9 2012, 05:02 AM)
Face problem all. XD
Face, what problem?

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Jan 9 2012, 09:19 AM
chrisling
post Jan 9 2012, 02:27 PM

Helper Trainee+
1,684 posts

Adjusted the way too much on noise reduction on colour may resulted a bit fake on the colour...A bit of noise is acceptable, try not to be overwhelming at that part.

CPL filter for #2 is recommended. smile.gif

@Calvin,
People talk about technique and artistic points, you pinpoint others' outlook (if that was what you mean by "face problem all". Is that means the winner for a great photo must be a pretty girl or handsome instead? Don't discriminate photography. = =
TSPhotoGlebe
post Jan 9 2012, 10:53 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(chrisling @ Jan 9 2012, 02:27 PM)
Adjusted the way too much on noise reduction on colour may resulted a bit fake on the colour...A bit of noise is acceptable, try not to be overwhelming at that part.

CPL filter for #2 is recommended. smile.gif

@Calvin,
People talk about technique and artistic points, you pinpoint others' outlook (if that was what you mean by "face problem all". Is that means the winner for a great photo must be a pretty girl or handsome instead? Don't discriminate photography. = =
Noted on the NR comment. Actually, I hardly adjust color NR, usually, only adjust the NR for luminance.

CPL... I kept mine in dry box for years.... cos things are moving too fast in AD, not practical to use it, unless I'm a second shooter, then no problem biggrin.gif
Infact, #2 I like how the top half of the glass the groom's face is shown and the bottom half of the glass the gate front is reflected. Though it is not exactly how I want it to be, but still like it tongue.gif

If what you said about "face problem all" is right... then really too bad... sad.gif
Photography is definitely more than those beautiful faces shots from exhibitions or pretty models shots from the studio.. pretty sad to know the actual meaning of that comment.

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Jan 9 2012, 10:54 PM
Tony Stark
post Jan 13 2012, 03:46 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

I love the last pic, good face impressions there. Work more on lighting dude n ur good to go!
Calvin_low84
post Jan 13 2012, 10:24 AM

Face problem from yr photo are not good.

We as photographer must capture the moment when they smile, nice pose and not a messy face.
If i am the wedding guy would not accept such photo lo.

Could you tell me from photo 1-7 got any of it?

i can see you edit the saturation too high.
yankiat
post Jan 13 2012, 08:59 PM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 13 2012, 10:24 AM)

We as photographer must capture the moment when they smile, nice pose and not a messy face.

agree
yuhi
post Jan 13 2012, 10:25 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:54 AM)

I disagree, this were the pics that he chose to showed us, he could've chose all those posed, smiled pics instead but he only limited it to the last pic.
The pics the TS posted reflected the atmosphere of the wedding (documentary style of wedding photography). All the emotions were there. I personally prefer these pics compared to those pics that were "set-up" (posed, etc...) Those pics could be taken earlier in the pre-wedding photoshoot.

I enjoyed pics #2 and #7

Despite that, I agreed that the saturation and hue is too high, the sky of pics #4 and #5 hurts my eyes laugh.gif (also, I'm not sure what the story behind #3 is, I can't really relate it to the other pics)
Calvin_low84
post Jan 13 2012, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(yuhi @ Jan 13 2012, 10:25 PM)
I disagree, this were the pics that he chose to showed us, he could've chose all those posed, smiled pics instead but he only limited it to the last pic.
The pics the TS posted reflected the atmosphere of the wedding (documentary style of wedding photography). All the emotions were there. I personally prefer these pics compared to those pics that were "set-up" (posed, etc...) Those pics could be taken earlier in the pre-wedding photoshoot.

I enjoyed pics #2 and #7

Despite that, I agreed that the saturation and hue is too high, the sky of pics #4 and #5 hurts my eyes  laugh.gif (also, I'm not sure what the story behind #3 is, I can't really relate it to the other pics)
Let me explain all the weakneses photo above.
#2 [ CPL to cut off the reflection + should not do B/W color, What viewer want to see is nice color of the car, B/W is like Taking dead man photo *sorry for my examples*]

#3 [The gals eyesbow want to drop liao, still want to take peoples photo... how others guy will like the gal wor? Rambut so messy, macam auntie le.... You should take the photo when the gal eyes was looking through yr camera with smile, Since the purpose of the photo is mean of she is getting the Flower]

#4 & 5 [Malas mau cakap, the Tie color macam budak tadika coloring... expression kinda funny... still okayla. Background no.5 seem not cantik]

#6 [ The guy was closing his eyes, as a photographer should know this la... close eyes also need take meh? For this kind of background is better dont bokeh.]

#7 [ same of the above la.]

Added on January 13, 2012, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(chrisling @ Jan 9 2012, 02:27 PM)
@Calvin,
yuhi & chrisling,

Ok, if you free, plz let me shoot you with ugly face and messy hair. Then put in Showcase let people see lor! Let people C & C comment!

What the point if a photographer is needed? You balik do thinking la. XD

This post has been edited by Calvin_low84: Jan 13 2012, 11:29 PM
yuhi
post Jan 14 2012, 02:11 AM

194 posts

It is not perfect, but it is not as bad as you think it is.

Calvin: A photographer is hired to produce/record photos that are memories of a particular event that you took part in (hence you were unable to take the photos yourself)

Ask yourself this: As a professional, Do you reject a client just because that they are ulgy or do you refuse to take their pic when they pay you to do it because they were all sweaty and messy? Do you discriminate them because they are ulgy? I wonder how many clients you could get with your way of thinking

It seems like you have never done wedding photography before and do not understand the high stress levels that a wedding photographer experiences when carrying out their jobs. Moments missed will cost them a lot of money and produce unsatisfied clients.

Your immature and unthoughtful comments are indirectly insulting the client, wedding photographers and photography in general.

I don't mind getting shot with ulgy face and messy hair during my wedding, as long as ppl knew I had to endure countless barriers that were set up by the groom maids before getting to hold my wife in my hands. Despite other ppl like you saying stuff like "wth, ulgy face and messy hair", what matters the most is that the client will be able to recall what happened during that time when his wife and him are looking at the photos many years from now (I bet you would've even forgotten how they looked like after your first glance).

I apologize to the thread starter for the comments and will not post any more comments after this post as I do not want to start an argument with a person who does not understand wedding photography.

TS: Great job, learn from your mistakes and keep on shooting!

This post has been edited by yuhi: Jan 14 2012, 02:20 AM
-kytz-
post Jan 14 2012, 07:23 AM

12,573 posts

I personally like #4 and #7.

#7 shows good moment and emotion. Angle is nice and you framed your subjects nicely. Good job here smile.gif

#2 is nice though you could have tried framing the reflection on the wind shield of the car a little more to show what is the bride groom looking at. Here's the shot from Edmund Tham.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arrMUZZLsow Check picture of bride at 1:06

#3 doesn't quite show much here.

#6 for me it works nicely smile.gif

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 13 2012, 10:24 AM)

There is a difference between "face" and "expression"... rolleyes.gif

Have you actually shot an actual day wedding before? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:22 PM)
yuhi & chrisling,

Ok, if you free, plz let me shoot you with ugly face and messy hair. Then put in Showcase let people see lor! Let people C & C comment!

I still don't quite get your take on this..

There are certain things within the control of the photographer and certain things that aren't.

Most of the events in Actual Day shoots are out of the Photographer's control where they cannot pose/direct the subjects. They just move around and try to capture as many expressions as they can..

What is within the control of the photographer is let's say the making up part, bride groom grooming himself, prewedding or ROM,etc.

TSPhotoGlebe
post Jan 21 2012, 05:59 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 13 2012, 03:46 AM)
I love the last pic, good face impressions there. Work more on lighting dude n ur good to go!
Noted with the comment, thank you for viewing smile.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(yuhi @ Jan 13 2012, 10:25 PM)

I enjoyed pics #2 and #7

Despite that, I agreed that the saturation and hue is too high, the sky of pics #4 and #5 hurts my eyes  laugh.gif (also, I'm not sure what the story behind #3 is, I can't really relate it to the other pics)
Thank you for your appreciation of candid pictures smile.gif

Noted with the comment on saturation and hue, I think I was focusing too much on the face exposure, and thus neglected the rest tongue.gif

#3... tongue.gif really nothing much, she is one of the groom mates (the gang in red tie), helping the groom to carry the flower smile.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 6:16 pm
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 14 2012, 07:23 AM)
I personally like #4 and #7.

#7 shows good moment and emotion. Angle is nice and you framed your subjects nicely. Good job here smile.gif

#2 is nice though you could have tried framing the reflection on the wind shield of the car a little more to show what is the bride groom looking at. Here's the shot from Edmund Tham.
     http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arrMUZZLsow Check picture of bride at 1:06

#3 doesn't quite show much here.

#6 for me it works nicely smile.gif
Thank you bro.
Noted with the comments, very much appreciated.

Added on January 21, 2012, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(yuhi @ Jan 14 2012, 02:11 AM)
It is not perfect, but it is not as bad as you think it is.

Calvin: A photographer is hired to produce/record photos that are memories of a particular event that you took part in (hence you were unable to take the photos yourself)

Ask yourself this: As a professional, Do you reject a client just because that they are ulgy or do you refuse to take their pic when they pay you to do it because they were all sweaty and messy? Do you discriminate them because they are ulgy? I wonder how many clients you could get with your way of thinking

It seems like you have never done wedding photography before and do not understand the high stress levels that a wedding photographer experiences when carrying out their jobs. Moments missed will cost them a lot of money and produce unsatisfied clients.

Your immature and unthoughtful comments are indirectly insulting the client, wedding photographers and photography in general.

I don't mind getting shot with ulgy face and messy hair during my wedding, as long as ppl knew I had to endure countless barriers that were set up by the groom maids before getting to hold my wife in my hands. Despite other ppl like you saying stuff like "wth, ulgy face and messy hair", what matters the most is that the client will be able to recall what happened during that time when his wife and him are looking at the photos many years from now (I bet you would've even forgotten how they looked like after your first glance).

I apologize to the thread starter for the comments and will not post any more comments after this post as I do not want to start an argument with a person who does not understand wedding photography.

TS: Great job, learn from your mistakes and keep on shooting!
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 14 2012, 07:23 AM)
There is a difference between "face" and "expression"... rolleyes.gif

Have you actually shot an actual day wedding before? rolleyes.gif
I still don't quite get your take on this..

There are certain things within the control of the photographer and certain things that aren't.

Most of the events in Actual Day shoots are out of the Photographer's control where they cannot pose/direct the subjects. They just move around and try to capture as many expressions as they can..

What is within the control of the photographer is let's say the making up part, bride groom grooming himself, prewedding or ROM,etc.
I guess both of you are right about Calvin, apparently, he has no idea what AD Photography is.

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Jan 21 2012, 06:20 PM
yankiat
post Jan 22 2012, 10:51 PM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

TS, I assume you uploaded the best shots to share with us. Just want to put in my humble comment here...

IMO, most of the photos are too tight and lack of composition.
Try not to apply fancy nancy presets or colour adjustment to the photo for AD photography. Keep to the natural colour, sepia and BW would be the best way.

It is NOT only AD photography is beyond our control, in fact there are many other like birds, sports, street photography and etc which are totally not under our control.
Each moment will just gone in a blink of an eye without you knowing.. So the key here is you must be able to "predict" what will happen next during the gate crashing and important moment during the actual day.
Once you know what will happen next, you'll know where to stand by to capture that moment.

Gong Hei Fatt Choy! rclxm9.gif

kyosho
post Jan 23 2012, 02:44 AM

206 posts

i like no.2
the rest if possible, make them look better, although it's their natural expression, but wrinkles and flaws must be comprehended well. decolor ur shots will be a lil added advantage.
TSPhotoGlebe
post Jan 26 2012, 01:36 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(yankiat @ Jan 22 2012, 10:51 PM)
TS, I assume you uploaded the best shots to share with us. Just want to put in my humble comment here...

IMO, most of the photos are too tight and lack of composition.
Try not to apply fancy nancy presets or colour adjustment to the photo for AD photography. Keep to the natural colour, sepia and BW would be the best way.

It is NOT only AD photography is beyond our control, in fact there are many other like birds, sports, street photography and etc which are totally not under our control.
Each moment will just gone in a blink of an eye without you knowing.. So the key here is you must be able to "predict" what will happen next during the gate crashing and important moment during the actual day.
Once you know what will happen next, you'll know where to stand by to capture that moment.

Gong Hei Fatt Choy!  rclxm9.gif
With regards to color and saturation, I have somehow explained to yuhi, so not going to repeat here.

Whether these are the best shots is depends on which group of viewer that you are from.
I won't say these are the best shots if I want to target the common viewer group; I would rather post those nice loving posed shots with well planned compostion.

But since this is a "Special Interest -> Photography..." and since I don't see many AD photographers sharing this kind of door game candid shots, I was thinking why not I try to share this kind of photos, which I think that is not easy to achieve without certain level of experience and photography skill.

I'm not sure how do you relate birds, sports, street photography to AD photography. I do have many friends who are good in birds, street photography, one of them is even doing bird photography for publisher. He did often share with me the techniques he used in capturing nice bird photography, eg. sometimes he even need to setup the scene to get those feeding shots. However, he will try his best to stay away from AD photography, which will requires you to get certain number of decent shots from each session through out the day.

With regards to the "prediction" comment, yes, I do agree as an experienced photographer, you should be able to "guess" what will happened next. Nevertheless, I still believe the famous quote from Weegee's, "f8 and be there".

Added on January 26, 2012, 1:41 am
QUOTE(kyosho @ Jan 23 2012, 02:44 AM)
i like no.2
the rest if possible, make them look better, although it's their natural expression, but wrinkles and flaws must be comprehended well. decolor ur shots will be a lil added advantage.
Thank you for viewing and your like for #2.

Not sure what do you mean about flaws, but usually, I won't do much on wrinkles, I might mild it, but I don't get rid of it, unless I'm doing glamour shots for magazine or special request from my pre-wedding clients.

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Jan 26 2012, 01:41 AM
yankiat
post Jan 26 2012, 12:45 PM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

QUOTE(PhotoGlebe @ Jan 26 2012, 01:36 AM)
With regards to color and saturation, I have somehow explained to yuhi, so not going to repeat here.

Whether these are the best shots is depends on which group of viewer that you are from.
I won't say these are the best shots if I want to target the common viewer group; I would rather post those nice loving posed shots with well planned compostion.

But since this is a "Special Interest -> Photography..." and since I don't see many AD photographers sharing this kind of door game candid shots, I was thinking why not I try to share this kind of photos, which I think that is not easy to achieve without certain level of experience and photography skill.

I'm not sure how do you relate birds, sports, street photography to AD photography. I do have many friends who are good in birds, street photography, one of them is even doing bird photography for publisher. He did often share with me the techniques he used in capturing nice bird photography, eg. sometimes he even need to setup the scene to get those feeding shots. However, he will try his best to stay away from AD photography, which will requires you to get certain number of decent shots from each session through out the day.

With regards to the "prediction" comment, yes, I do agree as an experienced photographer, you should be able to "guess" what will happened next. Nevertheless, I still believe the famous quote from Weegee's, "f8 and be there".

Added on January 26, 2012, 1:41 am

Thank you for viewing and your like for #2.

Not sure what do you mean about flaws, but usually, I won't do much on wrinkles, I might mild it, but I don't get rid of it, unless I'm doing glamour shots for magazine or special request from my pre-wedding clients.
Need not to explain on the colour saturation as that was only my personal opinion. In fact, many of the pro are doing that natural colour.. so it's up to you. Maybe you wanna make yourself stands out smile.gif

Common viewer group = Looking for nice photos

AD photography is very standard, what makes you stand out from there is the portraiture session.

Why I can't relate sports, birds and street photography to AD? They are all beyond our control.
Yes, your friend can setup food to lure bird for shooting, but he can't do it when shooting bird flying, catching fish and so on.
Sports? You need to predict what's his next move, you can't plan it. Likewise, you need to guess-timate what the person going to do, where to look at before taking the shot when come to street photography.
This is why I relate all these to it.. It is all beyond our control..

F8 and be there.. use it at the right time only ok.. you shoot at f8 la during wedding dinner when the light is low (not group photos, but the candid shot).

On wrinkle and blemishes part, no one wants them to look unpleasant in the photo.. I saw your pre-wedding album earlier in showcase.. If I'm not married, I wouldn't go to you as a client. Hope you get what I mean (btw, my face is smooth smile.gif )

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yankiat: Jan 26 2012, 12:53 PM
TSPhotoGlebe
post Feb 1 2012, 12:30 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(yankiat @ Jan 26 2012, 12:45 PM)
Need not to explain on the colour saturation as that was only my personal opinion. In fact, many of the pro are doing that natural colour.. so it's up to you. Maybe you wanna make yourself stands out  smile.gif

Common viewer group = Looking for nice photos

AD photography is very standard, what makes you stand out from there is the portraiture session.

Why I can't relate sports, birds and street photography to AD? They are all beyond our control.
Yes, your friend can setup food to lure bird for shooting, but he can't do it when shooting bird flying, catching fish and so on.
Sports? You need to predict what's his next move, you can't plan it. Likewise, you need to guess-timate what the person going to do, where to look at before taking the shot when come to street photography.
This is why I relate all these to it.. It is all beyond our control..

F8 and be there.. use it at the right time only ok.. you shoot at f8 la during wedding dinner when the light is low (not group photos, but the candid shot).

On wrinkle and blemishes part, no one wants them to look unpleasant in the photo.. I saw your pre-wedding album earlier in showcase.. If I'm not married, I wouldn't go to you as a client. Hope you get what I mean  (btw, my face is smooth smile.gif )

icon_rolleyes.gif
Please refer to the Posting Guildlines #1 as below,

1) This subforum is for posting photographs and related discussion such as technique and execution (lighting, composition, posing, makeup etc.). Discussion about photographers or models is prohibited.

Therefore, whether your face is smooth or not has nothing to do with photography.

FYI, I shoot a lot of candid during wedding dinner with f/8, and even f/11.
There are many things that one should learn before challenging others, which will just exposes your ignorances.

This post has been edited by PhotoGlebe: Feb 1 2012, 01:04 AM
yankiat
post Feb 1 2012, 03:31 PM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

Since when I'm talking about the model or photographer.

My point is on how you should fine tune the colour and skin tone, composition and so on.
If by commenting is a challenge to you, then you better propose the moderator here to amend the button from "Add Reply" to Challenge" smile.gif

Wow you shoot f8 and f11 during wedding dinner... You must be very pro smile.gif I must learn from you already... laugh.gif

All the best and good luck to your business laugh.gif
chrisling
post Feb 2 2012, 11:14 AM

Helper Trainee+
1,684 posts

QUOTE(Calvin_low84 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:22 PM)
Let me explain all the weakneses photo above.
#2 [ CPL to cut off the reflection + should not do B/W color, What viewer want to see is nice color of the car, B/W is like Taking dead man photo *sorry for my examples*]

#3 [The gals eyesbow want to drop liao, still want to take peoples photo... how others guy will like the gal wor? Rambut so messy, macam auntie le.... You should take the photo when the gal eyes was looking through yr camera with smile, Since the purpose of the photo is mean of she is getting the Flower]

#4 & 5 [Malas mau cakap, the Tie color macam budak tadika coloring... expression kinda funny... still okayla. Background no.5 seem not cantik]

#6 [ The guy was closing his eyes, as a photographer should know this la... close eyes also need take meh? For this kind of background is better dont bokeh.]

#7 [ same of the above la.]

Added on January 13, 2012, 11:28 pm
yuhi & chrisling,

I am totally disagree of your point of view that photography is intended for 'nice' scene only. We capture the moment, we express the moment as a memory and view to reader. We are not hired to make only nice or beautiful moment, instead, we convey the situation and environment regardless sad, happy, or ugly to the readers. If everyone is thinking the same with you, there's no more B&W art, no more sad face from a old lady, no more crying child in photography world.

I feel nothing wrong with so called face problem in author's picture here, instead of the way he apply luminance noise reduction the way too much. The one should do "thinking", perhaps is you? blink.gif

0.0195sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:56 AM