○ Galaxy Nexus V3 ○, latest Google flagship

ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 02:32 PM

602 posts

Browse thru xda forum and seems like lots of complains about firmware 4.0.2.. Think I should just wait for release 4.0.3 as the current version (4.0.1) seems fine to me hmm.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 03:03 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 13 2012, 03:02 PM)
they say they will come here again tomorrow, BUT I CANT WAIT!
Maybe you can go to GDEX office with your dad to collect it later? icon_rolleyes.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 03:16 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(zemmien @ Jan 13 2012, 03:11 PM)
mine was yakjuzs but no turning back after i flashed custom rom ..its already 3PM in my batt still 91%  brows.gif  unplugged from charger at 7AM, data always on and very light usage.

anyway anyobody with AOKP M2 + Franco #12 ? ..my idle consumption very great about 2% throughout the night with wifi on, but when browsing the battery consumption quite high, but still way better than stock  hmm.gif
Wow! The battery performance sounds amazing! Tempted to flash la~! drool.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 04:34 PM

602 posts

Hi guys, just to clarify since there are too many terms here:-

1. In order to change to yakju, I should follow the following guide? Link

2. Once done, that means the bootloader has been unlocked and should I need to send for warranty, I need to lock back the bootloader right? Any guide on this?

3. From previous post, I understand that changing to yakju does not equal to root. I still need to perform additional steps for root right?

Hope sifus here can clarify on this... biggrin.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 04:48 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jan 13 2012, 04:44 PM)
i'm not sife.. but just try to help...
no.. using these guide will not unlock your bootloader.. so no worries...
but if you plan to do flashing custom rom or flash to latest official rom from google once it make available instead of waiting for OTA, is advisable to unlock your bootloader 1st as unlocking bootloader will wipe your phone...
1. So you mean the link provided is just merely changing the firmware to yakju without any unlocking or rooting process involved?

2. Do I need to perform nandroid backup before doing Step 1?

3. And once I want to flash custom or official ROM, I need to unlock the bootloader either using ODIN or Fastboot method?

ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 04:54 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jan 13 2012, 04:52 PM)
1. yes.. it will just change your firmware to yakju without unlocking or rooting

2. if you wanna do a nandroid before step 1, then you will need to unlock and root your phone 1st...

3. yes.. but you can use the Galaxy Nexus Toolkit that available in XDA forum to unlock and root your phone.. is very easy...

Added on January 13, 2012, 4:53 pm
yea... mine can stick on the bottom edge of the screen properly.. now can start seeing dirt stick around... sweat.gif
Thank you so much for your kind clarification edwinlcw! rclxm9.gif Will try to change the firmware to yakju first which I guess will not wipe out my data huh?
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 05:00 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jan 13 2012, 04:56 PM)
oh.. i think it will wipe your data if you change to yakju...
i did it on mine once i got my phone fresh... tongue.gif
Aiks, but I can't do any Nandroid backup without rooting cry.gif Any suggestion for the backup before changing to yakju?
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 05:06 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jan 13 2012, 05:03 PM)
what you want to backup??
sms, can use sms backup+
contact, sync with google...
app data.. this i not sure if there any app available can backup without rooting, maybe some sifu can help to answer it..
Yup, already done backup for SMS and Contact with the methods you mentioned. Left only the apps data cry.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 08:15 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 13 2012, 08:10 PM)
YES warranty void. There is actually nothing special about yakju build except you will get firmware updates faster directly from Google while non-yakju build you have to wait from Samsung
How can we return back to yakjuxw status when we want to claim for warranty if we are using this method earlier?
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 08:33 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 13 2012, 08:29 PM)
No solution at the moment as no yakjuxw build available for download yet. You'd need someone to dump the rom so that you can flash it
doh.gif Mind to clarify what do you mean by "dump the rom"?
ho-ll
post Jan 13 2012, 08:53 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jan 13 2012, 08:39 PM)
Means making a copy out from the phone.
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
Dumping your ROM means to create a backup of it, so one can use some parts of it to cook a custom ROM. This is NOT for any casual user to do
I see. Thanks for the clarification. Finger-crossed my gnex does not need any warranty service since I have jumped ship to yakju whistling.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 15 2012, 12:43 AM

602 posts

For those of you who are looking for case, I just received this on Sat morning, bought from garage sales (seller: eurocase). Here are the pics of the case:-

Overall the case feels good on hand, cutting is precise and fits my Gnext comfortably smile.gif Plus you get a free SP too! rclxms.gif The downside of this case is it does not really protect 100% the top and bottom parts of the phone as it only covers "half" of the corners, so might get scratch if fell~ shocking.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 16 2012, 11:14 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(andy8274 @ Jan 16 2012, 09:47 AM)
which custom rom is the best recommend now?  laugh.gif
Me currently using this ROM: Android Revolution Hd™ 2.1.4. Everything same as stock ROM, but with better battery life! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Jan 16 2012, 10:39 AM)
I really dony get it why ppl piss with other service provider over the promotion. It stated clearly that promotion last until 15th jan. I bet the reason why u ask after promotion period is because u are still wondering whether to get GNex until feedback from other early users. If have money just get it, dont cry like a baby.
I'll blame digi when they starts giving me bad customer service. that happen to me with maxis.

Im also a digi tranferred user from maxis abt 6mths. Coverage is not bad. just as good as maxis.

drink lesser alcohol and quit smoking will help. cut down ur other expenses as well to help u get GNex

I ordered mine d @ SEP Garden. they said arriving this week. getting it @ retail price RM2099
+1
ho-ll
post Jan 17 2012, 05:19 PM

602 posts

Hi guys, I have a question regarding the android keyboard. How can we jump to next line when typing as I could not find a dedicated keypad on the stock keyboard? sad.gif
ho-ll
post Jan 17 2012, 05:36 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 17 2012, 05:31 PM)
stock SMS app can't do that, even if you install a keyboard that does that. The only way is to install a 3rd party SMS app  sweat.gif

try Go SMS, Chomp SMS, or Handcent SMS?
sweat.gif Arghh! Sad lor.. cry.gif Anyway, thanks for the info ya!

0.0369sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:55 PM