Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

izzudrecoba
post Mar 21 2012, 05:52 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 19 2012, 08:48 PM)
Account finally updated.

Price bought was 0.6160
Hi David83,

Bravo! Can you share with us your investment fund? And why you choose that fund instead of others? hmm.gif
izzudrecoba
post Mar 22 2012, 09:50 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:21 PM)
As recommended by other forumer, AmDynamic is one the best bond fund in the market as of now. It invests in corporate papers which have credit rating of AAA, AA and A.

Bond fund that could provide an annual of return of 8 to 10% is not common.
Thank you David83 for your response. Looks awesome! Since I'm a Muslim, I plan to invest a portion of my allocated saving into Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund. Any advise on this fund? smile.gif
izzudrecoba
post Mar 22 2012, 10:47 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 22 2012, 09:57 AM)
Check out also Eastspring Investments (formerly Prudential) Asia Pacific Syariah icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks but it is a 3 star rating by Morningstar, while KSGF was awarded 5 rating for all years by Morningstar.

Is it wise to invest in KSGF with NAV priced at RM 2.98/unit?
izzudrecoba
post Apr 14 2012, 01:38 PM

749 posts

Guys, Fundsupermart offers sales charge of only 0.88%! Take this opportunity to start your investment or accumulate more of your favourite unit trusts! thumbup.gif

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2248

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Apr 14 2012, 01:39 PM
izzudrecoba
post Apr 25 2012, 08:20 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 25 2012, 12:32 AM)
when involved  money, only kids will LOL...

i have said whatever i want. if u want to hear, hear, dont want to hear, just ignore it.

me, bye too, i  wont be at this topic anymore.
Set aside of clashing opinions, i believe both of u share coherent value; that is how to grow your money in the long term through optimal unit trust platform. I think both of u are intelligent enough to form your conclusion about fsm. Cheers.
izzudrecoba
post Jun 21 2012, 05:44 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 21 2012, 05:21 PM)
Just joined FSM today... let's see what to buy smile.gif
Great. For Malaysia equity, you can't go wrong with both Kenanga Growth Fund & Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund. One of the best performing fund in FSM flex.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jul 21 2012, 12:41 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:04 AM)
Understand master.

My shopping list would be:

1. EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS GLOBAL LEADERS MY FUND 
2. AMASIA PACIFIC REITS 
3. AMASEAN EQUITY or OSK-UOB ASEAN FUND
Hi David83, may I know why you pick Amasean equity, not Pheim Asia Ex Japan?
izzudrecoba
post Jul 25 2012, 08:40 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 25 2012, 01:56 PM)
TA GLOBAL TECHNOLOGY FUND is more volatile but the fund is investing heavily in US tech giants.

S&P 500 is still trading within range of 1335-1373. Have a support around 1330. See tonight how will it perform.
Anyone invested in AmAsean Equity? What's your thought on these fund? Based from my observation, the fund invested in top telcos in S'pore and Indonesia such as Singtel and Telkomsel. icon_question.gif
izzudrecoba
post Aug 19 2012, 11:19 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 19 2012, 10:02 AM)
I had already initiated a transaction requiring my lumpsum to be invested in a unit trust. The transaction is now approved and currenty the fund performs at -1% profit or RM30.

Given the fact that lumpsum investment strategy is not feasible especially when FBM KLCI is likely to reach its peak before the next recession, should I withdraw the fund now and switch it to dollar cost averaging approach?

If yes, will I be charged? Please help me to calculate its Sales charge. I'm currently holding Kenanga Growth and OSK/UOB Emerging Market Bond.

Aiseh....pro English....  blush.gif
If an insider like Soros starts moving his entire financial portfolio into gold, it suggests a very serious market move is set to happen soon ~_~

http://www.infowars.com/report-soros-unloa...illion-in-gold/
izzudrecoba
post Aug 22 2012, 09:51 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 21 2012, 04:00 AM)
So he doesn't like financials, it doesn't mean the world is going to end if he sells financials, it just means the financial sector is not going to be doing well anytime soon smile.gif
In a harbinger of what may be coming our way in the Fall of 2012, billionaire financier George Soros has sold all of his equity positions in major financial stocks according to a 13-F report filed with the SEC for the quarter ending June 30, 2012 – and bought $130 million dollars worth of gold via the SPDR Gold Trust (GLD).

Soros, who manages funds through various accounts in the U.S. and the Cayman Islands, has unloaded over one million shares of stock in financial companies and banks that include Citigroup (420,000 shares), JP Morgan (701,400 shares) and Goldman Sachs (120,000 shares). The total value of the stock sales amounts to nearly $50 million.

What’s equally as interesting as his sale of major financials is where Soros has shifted his money. At the same time he was selling bank stocks, he was acquiring some 884,000 shares (approx. $130 million) of Gold via the SPDR Gold Trust.

If there’s anyone with an inside track of where things are headed next, it’s Soros, [so it begs the question, "What's up?"]
Soros, who has written extensively of a coming global paradigm shift in his book The Crash of 2008 and What It Means, calling the current economic and political model ”an end of an era,” has recently suggested that:

- the financial and economic situation across the world is so serious that Europe could soon descend into chaos and conflict,
- the world is entering “one of the most dangerous periods in modern history”, and
- violent riots in America and a brutal clamp-down by the government will dramatically curtail civil liberties in the near future.

This is an individual who not only:
-predicted the collapse of 2008,
-took action to insulate himself, and
-proposed the various fixes that governments in Europe and the US would eventually implement in order to stave off a deflationary depression.

In his above mentioned book he:
-suggested that central banks infuse the system with massive amounts of monetary expansion, but also
-warned that not injecting enough money would simply extend the onset of deflation and printing too much could lead to hyperinflationary currency collapse.

Based on recent activity in Soros’ US held accounts, it seems that governments and central banks have failed at those efforts to stabilize the system. As such, Soros is getting out of those companies which are most at risk should the financial system buckle like it did in 2008 and he’s shifting his assets into what may be the only asset class left standing when it’s all said and done – gold.

http://www.munknee.com/2012/08/soros-selli...-more-gold-too/

izzudrecoba
post Sep 21 2012, 11:54 PM

749 posts

Hi Kenanga Growth Fund investors,

Anyone here coming to dine with Fund Manager: Chen Fan Fai of Kenanga Investors Berhad next Thursday @FSM Office?

izzudrecoba
post Sep 22 2012, 02:46 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 22 2012, 12:43 AM)
How u know? blink.gif
For Kenanga Growth Fund investors, we have been invited by FSM to attend to the said event.
izzudrecoba
post Oct 6 2012, 09:37 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 5 2012, 10:30 AM)
So did you go? Any insider tips.. hehe
Hi Kaka23,

Apologize as I was outstation to Pasir Gudang on the said date. Sad cry.gif
izzudrecoba
post Oct 6 2012, 12:48 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:13 PM)
Pinky bro,

I always prefer to invest in funds that give dividends (income). At this point of time or in near future, these dividends I would want to reinvest (this is what FSM is doing). Well.. maybe you will say there may be no meaning by giving dividends in UT... haha

My target, when I am  retired or near my retiring age (if I want to retire early), I can use this dividends.

It may be just me.. When I want to buy UT, one of my screening criteria is also to look at the NAV price. Lower NAV, I will consider. Higher NAV (capital growth funds), will always makes me think few times before going in. Example, the growth fund lets say been in the market for 5 - 6 yrs, and nAV is like 1.00 (from initial 0.50).

I am no pro.. just my thinking as I dont have much sharing of experience or chit chatting with ppl with finance UT knowledge. That is why I am here in LYN.. haha
Investors should never judge if a fund is cheap or expensive based on its fund price. Instead, investors should be aware of the valuations of the underlying markets which the fund invests in. When market fundamentals (such as attractive estimated PE ratios and strong earnings growth) and economic outlook are both supportive, it still makes good sense to invest in a fund even though its unit price is high.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2288
izzudrecoba
post Nov 23 2012, 11:55 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 22 2012, 12:15 AM)
Marketing is one reason, but not the main reason.

FSM got no option for receiving distributions in cash, all are reinvested for investors. If u are investing with FSM, and u want "income", u have to manually sell your units.

With other distributors, investors can have the option of receiving cash distributions. But its just "left hand go right hand", if u get what I mean.
Hi Guys,

Do you have any ideas why Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund Designated Manager was changed, from Mr. Chen Fan Fai to Chung Yee Wah? Who is this Chung Yee Wah? Is his stock-picking stratey coherent with Mr. Chen Fan Fai?

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...eetMYKNGSGF.pdf

izzudrecoba
post Nov 26 2012, 05:31 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Nov 25 2012, 11:33 PM)
Maybe can ask FSM? Hehe..
Let me ask straight from Mr. Fan Fai himself icon_rolleyes.gif
izzudrecoba
post Nov 26 2012, 05:44 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 26 2012, 05:40 PM)
VIP investor spotted notworthy.gif
Haha what a word. I wish, dude brows.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 18 2013, 06:47 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 17 2013, 10:10 PM)
eh - bro, low compared to?
U've the 3 to 6 years' historical NAV?
With that can calculate the median, 5% percentile, 25% percentile, median, standard deviation, 5 yrs or 3 yrs moving averages, etc.
Thus can see (comparatively to itself) low or not.

Or U mean it's benchmark / base assets fell like a stone, thus, generally lelong?

Or U mean low just by looking at the NAV VS the 3 months' NAV (FSM online only 3 months' data) or VS other funds' NAV?

-------
PS: Whoops - just clicked on the link and saw 3yr's Sharpe ratio NEGATIVE... er.. be careful bro
Wong Sifu,
Thank you for your insights.

I'm in a midst of diversifying my local equity fund to Asia ex-Japan (shariah) fund. Looking on your advise for the following fund:-

i. EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS ASIA PACIFIC SHARIAH EQUITY FUND
ii. PHEIM ASIA EX-JAPAN ISLAMIC

For above fund, which fund is recommended by you overall? I've noticed that Pheim Islamic is a recommended asia ex-japan for muslim investors. However, my initial finding is that the fund past return was rather underperform and Morningstar awarded 2 star for Pheim. Eastspring Asia Pacific Shariah looks much better with 4 star rating awarded by Morningstar.

Your advise is highly appreciated.

thumbup.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 18 2013, 06:55 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 18 2013, 06:51 PM)
Eastspring Investments. Yea its got higher expenses ratio, but the past returns show that it's more than able to make up for that.

Note - Pheim is more focused on small-mid caps, hence the volatility
Hi pink spider. Thank you for your advice.

Why you plan to buy Aberdeen Global Islamic? Any story behind your decision? brows.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 30 2013, 11:07 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Jan 30 2013, 10:26 AM)
Abang2 and Kakak2,

Equity funds promotion. Anyone buying anything? Lol. W

P.S why REITs not in the promotion =(
I'll be buying Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund. Thank you very much FSM! thumbup.gif

0.0685sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:53 PM