Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

izzudrecoba
post Jan 30 2013, 11:43 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 30 2013, 11:15 AM)
Even with the looming GE? hmm.gif

Asia Pac REITs had a great run
Dow and S&P 500 reached new highs
Hang Seng and STI back to levels last seen 2 years ago

Everyone is so bullish sweat.gif

Maybe we should top up on Emerging Markets bond...yield has gone up lately hmm.gif
Nice view, Pinky.

In view of the looming GE, I maybe looking to make the cash payments on the last day of promotion i.e. 8th March 2013. Hopefully, I can bargain hunting on that period (pray that KLCI drop in value early March '13 if Parliment dissolved on Apr '13)

Your thought?

izzudrecoba
post Feb 4 2013, 11:07 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 4 2013, 11:03 AM)
Limited capital upside for bonds, possible loss when interest rates are normalised (but I don't foresee it happening anytime soon).

Why not switch some to equities? If u are fairly conservative, a 80/20 portfolio might suit u
I thought 80/20 is for aggressive mode? hmm.gif
izzudrecoba
post Feb 4 2013, 11:53 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 4 2013, 11:16 AM)
80% fixed income la boss doh.gif
I thought 80% equity 20% bond..shoot sweat.gif
izzudrecoba
post Feb 8 2013, 11:26 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 8 2013, 01:40 PM)
Today sold 90% of both my OSKUOB G&G and Energy funds, cut loss and move on. Will use the $ to invest in Asia ex-Japan...

Sakit hati betullll
I feel you Kaka :|
izzudrecoba
post Feb 10 2013, 11:46 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(naddie @ Feb 9 2013, 10:43 AM)
Hi guys... have been lurking around this thread & the Fund Investment thread for a few weeks now, just reading everything to gain some insights in investments hehe. Must've read 200+ pages already.

Anyway, opened my FSM account based on all the discussion, and hoping to buy my first fund within this month. Right now am looking at these funds:

Bond - AmBon Islam vs. Hwang Aiiman Income PLUS (still trying to decide between both, probably am going to go for Hwang for easy switching with the equity...)
Equity - Kenanga Syariah Growth, Hwang Aiiman Growth and possibly Aberdeen Islamic World a bit later for global exposure

Cannot get all at once since I have limited cash at the moment tongue.gif Have to wait for bonus later. Anyway, am looking forward to joining in the discussion here and learning together, just wanna thank you guys for all the awesome insights you've provided for us  thumbup.gif Pity I didn't start investing earlier, but better start now than never hehe.

And happy CNY hols to everyone as well!
Hi Naddie,

Welcome to FSM! Based from your fund selection, I assume that you are a Muslim investor.

As for my asset allocation, I have invested in these two funds:-

Equity - Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund (Slow and steady...less volatile than Hwang Aiiman Growth)
Bond - RHB Islamic Bond Fund (1% ROI in one week...not bad eh whistling.gif )

Yet to explore Asia ex-Japan (Eastspring Investment Asia Pacific Shariah) or Islamic (Aberdeen Islamic) due to the volatility of the region in 2012. However, looks like Asia ex-Japan has promising upside potential this year moving forward.

izzudrecoba
post Feb 10 2013, 03:21 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2013, 01:28 PM)
Oi, dun mislead ppl...u got 1% up in one week yet many many months ago the fund also experienced a >1% drop in one day laugh.gif
Last year, the fund recorded 15%roi. Higher than Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund. But agree that in 2011 the fund nav declined by 6%.

Apologize if I appear to mislead others.
izzudrecoba
post Feb 12 2013, 08:31 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:13 PM)
LOL. OK Sis, I am also a muslim investor. Very few of us here in this thread. So keep us updated with your choice of funds. BTW, I am considering below funds recommended by FSM specialists, or if any other guru here can recommend a better choice than these .

Pheim Asia ex-Japan Islamic
Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Shariah Equity Fund
Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund
AmBond Islam
Hi s_kate81, I'm a muslim investor too. So hello to you.

My question is that you plan to invest in one fund or two fund for asia ex-japan? My observation is that Eastspring Investment AP Shariah equity fund is preferred than Phem Asia ex-Japan islamic due to the lower volatility, higher sharpe ratio, fund's past performance, and higher Morningstar rating as compared to Phem Asia ex-Japan islamic.

However, the downside for Eastspring AP Shariah Equity Fund is the higher annual charge and management expenses ratio compared to Pheim Asia ex-Japan Islamic.

Happy Investing. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 12 2013, 08:34 PM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 15 2013, 12:37 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 15 2013, 12:10 AM)
2012 was all about the Fiscal Cliff

What for 2013? Sino-Japanese war? biggrin.gif
Some observation for 2013:-

i. Putin's Russia accumulating massive gold, and Putin’s gold strategy fits in with his resource nationalism agenda
ii. US debt ceiling debate
iii. Iran Election June 2013
iv. Najib's public humiliation from the recent PSY Oppah Gangnam Style (Are you ready for BN? NOOOOO!!!!)
v. Joe Kennedy III, the grandson of Robert F. Kennedy set to be assassinated (prediction)

0.0426sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:43 PM