Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

gark
post Feb 20 2013, 10:16 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2013, 10:13 AM)
That's why I only allocate 20-50% for stocks lo...

Generally I'm only looking at consumer stocks, main focus on "sin stocks" tongue.gif
Eeee most consumer stocks is now already PE 20x... doh.gif Hard to buy at this rate...
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 10:20 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2013, 10:18 AM)
But PE for BAT, GAB and Carlsberg rarely fall below 20... hmm.gif
Got... 2007/08 they fell to PE 12x.. even nestle fell below 20x...from 30x.. laugh.gif

Even lower 2001 & 1998 these stocks fall below PE 10x..

Never fight market sentiment.. use it for your profit. rclxms.gif
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 10:50 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2013, 10:31 AM)
But I found one very good stock (dividend 7% and growing earnings, albeit slowly). The maker of Ping Pong crackers icon_idea.gif

Of course, being a small cap, not much liquidity. But holding for dividend, I think very nice rclxms.gif
Hupseng? Current PE 12x..2x NTA..7% DY%, low growth quite high for smallcap. Very low liquidity, easy to get in , hard to get out... sweat.gif

I am holding a more diversified one, plantation/printing/bulking/sardin company PE 7x, NTA 0.8x, DY 6%, Net cash 50% of share price...good growth.. and more liquid. laugh.gif

Ok lah enough talking about stock.. already off topic many times. sweat.gif

Anyway I am allocating 40% UT (foreign) 40% Stock... (local + SG) + 20% Bond/FD

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 20 2013, 10:56 AM
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 04:50 PM

12,534 posts

You can buy Templeton funds from FSM Sg, Dollardex or POEMS... all offer 1%-2% sales charge. brows.gif
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 05:15 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2013, 04:56 PM)
SGD T/T charges already way more than the Sales Charge doh.gif
No wor... my bank foreign TT is just RM 10 each time + SGD 12 at destination bank. So each time I transfer 5k SGD only cost me 0.32%. Also my SGD changed since the rate is 2.10-2.30 now is 2.48. drool.gif

Dollardex/POEM have promo... 0% sales charge.. for everything brows.gif

The SGD holdings in for just in case, this country kick me out for being a 'pendatang' tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 20 2013, 05:18 PM
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 05:19 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Feb 20 2013, 05:18 PM)
lol now all online already. where got carry physical cash, later officer tahan me at kastam.

Yeah dollardex 0% SC, i can only open next month cause now switching job.
You can legally bring in/out USD 10,000 equivalent in cash and no need to declare. tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 06:38 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Feb 20 2013, 06:04 PM)
hi pinky & Gark, im following this thread bout sometimes and invest in FSM SG & MY currently. Can u give some opinion on my current portfolio build? Ur advice is much appreciated

Im noticed I do not own any fund of Hwang's.  shakehead.gif
Currently im maintain bond : equity with 60:40  or 50:50.
For me if bond, I would rather hold Templeton Global Bond/Total Return. Reason although earnings is less than united funds, but it is less fluctuation and more stable. Also they hold bond glabally while your bonds are mostly concentrated in the Asia region.

For other funds, I like First State GEM, rather than Aberdeen GEM but both very good performing funds. First State dividend select is good, but I prefer Aberdeen Pacific. Aberdeen global is a good fund and covers it all.

Overall quite a good portfolio. tongue.gif

Malaysia's international UT cannot beat SG's UT offering as they are less experienced... laugh.gif
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 09:42 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Feb 20 2013, 07:37 PM)
Is it 10k ringgit or USD?
10K USD.. not RM.. that is rules at Kastam. Anything more all you need is to declare where the money comes from and where it goes...
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 09:43 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 20 2013, 07:44 PM)
FYI, Alliance Global Equities available thru FSM MY feeds into Fullerton Global Equities managed by Fullerton Singapore laugh.gif
Yep, but the performance is wayyyyy below Aberdeen Pacific or First State Asia. tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 10:11 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Feb 21 2013, 10:01 AM)
Ya 10K USD.. but hor, I also dont dare to bring so much cash into JB. Wallet only RM20 and some SG dollar.. haha tongue.gif
A lot of people do it lar.. especially those who work overseas. Sometimes bring in more than 10K usd... whistling.gif
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 12:57 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 21 2013, 12:39 PM)
what fund is targeting shanghai? china focus de only? i heard china no open their market for foreigners, we can only invest thru hang seng.
There are some funds investing in A,B & H-Shares which is directly traded on SHEX.

Example is Fidelity China Focus & DWS China Equity
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 03:43 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 21 2013, 01:50 PM)
I thought H-shares are China enterprises shares listed in HK? unsure.gif
4 types of shares.. all counted as pure china that track SHEX

A Share - Company formation in China, Primary Business in China, Listed in China, Traded in RMB
B Share - Company formation in China, Primary Business in China, Listed in China, Traded in USD
H Share - Company formation in China, Primary Business in China, Listed in HK, Traded in HKD
Red Chip - Company Formation in HK, Primary Business in China, Listed in HK, Traded in HKD

A lot of company is dual listed as H-Share and A/B Share

Basically A,B & H is considered pure china play... tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 06:06 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 21 2013, 04:41 PM)
i have to change job..to OnG...thanks your advice.
1mil net worth is very common nowdays in Malaysia... but even now millionaires also don't feel rich one... doh.gif Damm inflation. tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 06:14 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 21 2013, 05:50 PM)
Told ya u are investing in shares/stocks/equities of gold mining/producing companies and companies generally involved in mineral resources (copper, tin, oil and gas etc)

Gold producers does not necessary follow gold price, but the trend is there. The actual production output of the gold matters so is the cost. But if everything is stable, gold producer do earn more as the commodity price goes up. Unfortunately since mid 2011 the commodity downtrend is coming but gold is still holding up.

Most of the gold producers produce other minerals extracted together with gold like copper. For every ton of gold mined, they get like 1000 tons worth of copper and 1-2 ton silver. So even though they are called gold companies, they are more like copper companies. laugh.gif

Basically not all gold company is good, some are downright shitty... tongue.gif

P/S One of my funds have large stake in Newmont Mining... but it is part of the diversification. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 21 2013, 06:20 PM
gark
post Feb 21 2013, 07:33 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 21 2013, 06:50 PM)
yes very common, but not common for someone who is just an employee. malaysian company is paying peanuts and expect u work like cow, but they dont know the fact that u pay peanuts u get monkeys biggrin.gif
Lots of employees also millionaire, depends whether you can control your spending and invest sufficiently. I know some people after 10-15 years working as mid range employee is also practically millionaire.

How much employers willing to pay you depend how much money you make for them... have you considered that? wink.gif

If you just work for the sake of work.. then peanuts more suitable for you.. nod.gif
gark
post Feb 22 2013, 09:35 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Feb 21 2013, 08:47 PM)
for those who buy from FSM SG, how do you pay for the purchase?
By purchase and then TT to cash fund. From cash fund then buy...
gark
post Feb 22 2013, 09:36 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 22 2013, 07:59 AM)
I was at Amanah Mutual Berhad table...1st table on the right after the entrance. Got a very nice chick at OSK-UOB table (right side of the projector screen) wub.gif
Wah ... you all looking for investment OR looking for future wife? I though that is investment seminar not dating seminar? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 22 2013, 09:36 AM
gark
post Feb 22 2013, 09:38 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 21 2013, 09:21 PM)
Gark-san, $1M USD or Pound sterling still quite ok leh tongue.gif
$1M RM or Vietnamese Dong then  cry.gif
Ya lor.. $1 M RM, nowdays no feel. Almost everyone that own at least 1 property in klang Valley is now a millionaire... doh.gif
gark
post Feb 22 2013, 09:40 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 21 2013, 07:47 PM)
depends on the company u working in, u whole life work in chinamen company u think u get 1million? not all employers think like tat, of coz it a basis that they pay u depend on how much can make the company profit. But different employers different way, 1 company 1 yr turnover 2mil, maybe they pay u 2k only when u die die find 2mil business for them? Different employers different expectations, as i said, u need alot of luck.

well, i din even touch about investing and spending, i mean ur net salary from the company. An employee in Shell if ur total salary gained is below 3mil when u retire is consider puny. I believe Oil and Gas is different thing, the company like exxon net profit 40bn USD a year after they pay all ur salary, that's why salary big. getting 40-60k per month as a department manager in shell is not something big. So anyone plan to come over to work here? biggrin.gif
Maybe you got wrong perception about chinaman company, some chinaman company pays very competitively, especially those larger ones... laugh.gif
gark
post Feb 25 2013, 11:37 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Feb 25 2013, 11:29 AM)
What about Hwang AUD Income Fund? I'm thinking on going in soon.
Hwang AUD income fund is investing Australia bond.

Recently Australia is aggressively reducing interest rate. that is why you see outperformance in this fund, but for how long more?. wink.gif

Also this fund is risky with 14% holding BBB credits and 51% holding A credit, 20% in AA credit.... no AAA credit. laugh.gif

Good for those with appetite for higher risk bond funds...

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 25 2013, 11:39 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0459sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:27 AM