Is my house too brown/bright?, how to tone down?
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 12:45 PM, updated 14y ago
Hi all, after house is finally painted and lamps installed, seems like my house is too bright, yellow, brown. My hubby said it's ok but I feel not right. Is it? First pic is living room. The paint color I wanna buy not available, so I had to choose base on their catalog. Ended up my feature wall too light brown and other walls too yellow. Paired with yellow light, it's very bright. Im thinking to repaint feature wall to dark brown, or tone down with curtain or furniture?  2nd pic is master bedroom. Original color reddish earth for feature wall, others beige color. Again, with yellow light is too bright. Tone down with furniture or curtain again? Actually I like this color during the day.
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 02:43 PM
The living room is beside a sliding door, so in the day the brown also very bright. Like this can I paint the brown to dark brown?Adele, you think my house looks very chinese traditional? I thought so too! I'm aiming for contemporary style but came up like this. How do I get comfortable lighting like hotel rooms? I agree need to change to lower wattage but should I change the yellow lights to white or mix them up? Added on January 4, 2012, 3:01 pmQUOTE(Hornsen @ Jan 4 2012, 02:40 PM) Maybe can try put some painting with different color to tune it abit. Have plan to do so but couldn't make out what color theme will fit this. This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 4 2012, 03:01 PM
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 09:09 PM
Thanks all, I think I'll try like what mostly said, tune down the light bulb watt first. Eleganz, I think I know the light with netting that you talked about, cause I install these at my staircase and landing, my favourite amongst the lights I bought!
My light in living room is actually donut shaped and inside got 2 ring bulb, one smaller than the other. Can I remove one of the ring bulb to tune down the light? Any safety issue?
Thanks Adele, I like the color of master bedroom too, just don't like it when paired with the light. I'll change the light bulb and see if it gets any better.
Adrianjc, warm white is not as yellow as 'yellow' right? Cause when I mentioned warm white with the light sellers, they always answered, "You mean yellow lah."
TSlowlowc
Jan 5 2012, 09:47 AM
Aiya, need to repeat this question cause I really want to know.
My light in living room is actually donut shaped and inside got 2 ring bulb, one smaller than the other. Can I remove one of the ring bulb to tune down the light? Any safety issue?
Jollysheep, can't paint timeless white la because it's big area. That will mean I can't move in before cny already.
TSlowlowc
Jan 6 2012, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Jan 6 2012, 12:25 AM) hi lowlowc, whats the color name and brand for both colors? You meant living or master room? Jollysheep, I grille up already for months before start the reno.
TSlowlowc
Jan 8 2012, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Jan 6 2012, 05:24 PM) It's Cocoa Bean and Chaff, both from nippon.
TSlowlowc
Jan 11 2012, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(JollySheep @ Jan 8 2012, 08:44 PM) Save the trouble. Buy one tong of paint and ask your painter to re-paint both rooms (except the featured wall). Can complete the job within one day. Then u can move in before CNY. My painter already 'sau kong' already. Packed and cabut already.