Is my house too brown/bright?, how to tone down?
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 12:45 PM, updated 14y ago
Hi all, after house is finally painted and lamps installed, seems like my house is too bright, yellow, brown. My hubby said it's ok but I feel not right. Is it? First pic is living room. The paint color I wanna buy not available, so I had to choose base on their catalog. Ended up my feature wall too light brown and other walls too yellow. Paired with yellow light, it's very bright. Im thinking to repaint feature wall to dark brown, or tone down with curtain or furniture?  2nd pic is master bedroom. Original color reddish earth for feature wall, others beige color. Again, with yellow light is too bright. Tone down with furniture or curtain again? Actually I like this color during the day.
NaShRiCk
Jan 4 2012, 12:55 PM

Maybe the ceiling could use a brighter color... :0
amd9999
Jan 4 2012, 01:01 PM

Nothing wrong with ur color.. all looks great!! just change the white lamp to yellow bcoz not stack with background color and can make it more romantic
@Adele
Jan 4 2012, 01:04 PM
Lowlowc, it looks ok to me. It really depends on what type of design u want. Perhaps after pairing with curtain and cabinets it'll not look so bright?Yellow is a Chinese color, hmm..if u know what I mean..if u a going for English feel then yellow is not so suitable, in my opinion la.
svage98
Jan 4 2012, 01:12 PM
I think you should change your light as well.
tiensong
Jan 4 2012, 01:17 PM
Usually bright colour will make a room more spacious feel...
katijar
Jan 4 2012, 01:28 PM
a bit warm... can put some plant/fake plant (green) as deco...
Jo_da48
Jan 4 2012, 02:04 PM
On morning / noon, are you OK on it? Night are too brigth after turn on the light? If yes, why not you get low watt light bulb?
phoenix69
Jan 4 2012, 02:08 PM
Try changing the bulb to a lower watt e.g. 18 watt to 10 watt or from white to more yellowish e.g Daylight to Cool White before anything else. It seems that most of the issue you have is due to how the brightness of the lamp affect the colours of the wall.
Eleganz Concept
Jan 4 2012, 02:31 PM
on my point of view. the tone of the wall is bit too close, to make the tube batter it should be darker chocolate and brighter yellow (batter to off white yellow) then will be bring out the tone. But if that is too diff to do so, or if u concern about brightness, then turn down the light power will help
Hornsen
Jan 4 2012, 02:40 PM

Maybe can try put some painting with different color to tune it abit.
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 02:43 PM
The living room is beside a sliding door, so in the day the brown also very bright. Like this can I paint the brown to dark brown?Adele, you think my house looks very chinese traditional? I thought so too! I'm aiming for contemporary style but came up like this. How do I get comfortable lighting like hotel rooms? I agree need to change to lower wattage but should I change the yellow lights to white or mix them up? Added on January 4, 2012, 3:01 pmQUOTE(Hornsen @ Jan 4 2012, 02:40 PM) Maybe can try put some painting with different color to tune it abit. Have plan to do so but couldn't make out what color theme will fit this. This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 4 2012, 03:01 PM
Endevor
Jan 4 2012, 04:57 PM

Buy brighter colour furniture like white colour bed frame, or white colour wardrobe ..... or white colour curtains .....
Nice colour on the walls btw ....
lck*G9
Jan 4 2012, 05:13 PM
actually i had the same problem. bought a similar color ( teh ice color), didn't like it then switch to a darker color. i prefer something darker so that the feature wall would have some kind of depth.
@Adele
Jan 4 2012, 05:28 PM
Lowlowc..bright hall is good...  ya..abit Chinese looking but no worries a bit only  don't choose yellow curtains sum more..mix and match with contemporary colors for furniture and cabinets may turn out different one ...
Eleganz Concept
Jan 4 2012, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2012, 02:43 PM) The living room is beside a sliding door, so in the day the brown also very bright. Like this can I paint the brown to dark brown?Adele, you think my house looks very chinese traditional? I thought so too! I'm aiming for contemporary style but came up like this. How do I get comfortable lighting like hotel rooms? I agree need to change to lower wattage but should I change the yellow lights to white or mix them up? Added on January 4, 2012, 3:01 pmHave plan to do so but couldn't make out what color theme will fit this. actually there is some other way to do. example like turn down the light power, but dont think mixing color is nice, and also change the paint color if you want. And you see, your wall or whole location is look like (flat) becoz of the light fitting, coz the light fitting make the light (too) even, so the wall is feel like 1 pcs, to look like hotel feel, usually is saperate light source to create uneven light to wall, but since you dont have plaster ceiling, u can change to light fitting to other design with create shadow, say like net finishing or some other thing, then your wall will become texture by light shadow. and also choose of light fitting also very important.
@Adele
Jan 4 2012, 05:29 PM
My feature is kind of long. It isn't really a dark color, more like khaki, let me see whether I can snap a pic later at night, and u see whether u still wanna change ur color. Coz at night if dark dark..for me.i don't like..coz scary..haha
Added on January 4, 2012, 5:31 pmBy the way I think ur master bedroom looks fabulous le!! I love it
This post has been edited by @Adele: Jan 4 2012, 05:32 PM
adrianjc
Jan 4 2012, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2012, 02:43 PM) The living room is beside a sliding door, so in the day the brown also very bright. Like this can I paint the brown to dark brown?Adele, you think my house looks very chinese traditional? I thought so too! I'm aiming for contemporary style but came up like this. How do I get comfortable lighting like hotel rooms? I agree need to change to lower wattage but should I change the yellow lights to white or mix them up? Use warm white light colour... for fluo tube the code is 827. For energy saving bulbs i'm not sure. If you feel the light it too yellow, go for the higher rated W bulbs which will give you a brighter feel. Try 23W or 24W bulbs.
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 09:09 PM
Thanks all, I think I'll try like what mostly said, tune down the light bulb watt first. Eleganz, I think I know the light with netting that you talked about, cause I install these at my staircase and landing, my favourite amongst the lights I bought!
My light in living room is actually donut shaped and inside got 2 ring bulb, one smaller than the other. Can I remove one of the ring bulb to tune down the light? Any safety issue?
Thanks Adele, I like the color of master bedroom too, just don't like it when paired with the light. I'll change the light bulb and see if it gets any better.
Adrianjc, warm white is not as yellow as 'yellow' right? Cause when I mentioned warm white with the light sellers, they always answered, "You mean yellow lah."