QUOTE(camikun @ Jan 11 2013, 02:25 AM)
LYN, price abt rm250, no sure , maybe since Celcom is only 7.2Mbps, you can try a cheaper version E5832 , abt rm150~rm180
USB/USB-WiFi/MIFI Modem Owner Club V1, Huawei/ZTE/Option Icon and other...
Jan 11 2013, 02:28 AM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
Jan 20 2013, 04:56 AM
QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 20 2013, 02:18 AM) I myself am actually a fan of mifi's due to it's portability. I can easily take my mifi with me and get internet where ever i go. how much you bought it ?Vacation (no need to request for hotel wifi), makan, shopping (while waiting for my wife to shop), car (use gps stuff like waze). All this one just one internet plan. I just bought an e5756 DC-HSPA mifi modem which i traded in with my previous e586. And so far it's great. Oh and the e5756 lasts up to 10 freakin hours lol and it also works as a power brick! how fast you ever used it on Maxis , > 20Mbps ? Thanks |
Jan 20 2013, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 20 2013, 11:14 AM) Bought at rm600, but since i traded in my previous mifi, it was much less Have you tried to use it with the USB cable plug into the pc or USB main adaptor without the battery inserted ?Since i only used it for 1 night, can't really average out the speed but best i got was dl 15mbps. Here's my speedtest now :- ![]() Keep in mind that it's the weekend and probably alittle bit congested. My area is not a high speed area anyways in kepong. I believe the MiFi reception will be best if the power source is at its optimum. So far i have not come across any MiFi that can be power up without battery inserted except a YES Huddle. |
Jan 20 2013, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 20 2013, 03:54 PM) I'm using it via wifi. Haven't tried plugging it directly yet. Will do so later on and see but from previous tests with my previous mifi (e586e), the speeds are quite similar regardless of wifi or direct plug in. oh pardon me, i din know that the e5756's battery is the built-in type As for the e5756 battery, it's actually built in and normal user can't take out the battery without some tools. So i probably can't really test if it works if the battery is taken out as i'm not that techy to do that. The battery itself has more capacity than normal mifi's though. The e5756 has battery capacity of 3300mAh which lasts 10 hours vs e586e 2200mAh which last 5 hours, and i think that the yes huddle has the 2200mAh one? I suppose that it will take a couple of years to run down a battery that lasts 10 hours. So enjoy it while i can lol. Right now mifi that supports 4g is quite expensive. I would probably sell my e5756 off in a year or so and take up a mifi that supports 4g, if got 4g provider that has a superb plan la. Probably will take sometime before any company does that though, or will ever do that at all If you wan to prolong the battery's life, BEST IS DUN CHARGE while using it, same way we use out Laptop. Btw, my Huddle's battery is 2700mAh. |
Jan 20 2013, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 20 2013, 04:33 PM) Yup best to not charge while using. However i've been using my previous mifi for about a year while charging (lol) and the battery life never drops below 4 hours. I think that the new devices have an in built feature that stops the battery from charging when it's full. The only problem is the heat, but that is also taken care of as there's a feature that prevents heat. Take the info with a pinch of salt though as it's what i read. Abt laptops, i can only see only Newer Macs have these feature really working, others are dubious ~ correct me, if i am wrong. Some laptops these days also have the in built battery. Most ultrabooks anyways. We'll see how that turns out in a year or two as i've also got an ultrabook with the battery built in How long does Yes Huddle last on battery? I have not really used the Huddle from full charge till empty at one go before as the most i used on Battery was abt one hour most and used it a couple of times b4 recharging. I usually use my Zoom and while travelling in a Car, i will use my Ciggy adaptor (2A) to power it without the battery inserted. |
Jan 26 2013, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 25 2013, 09:34 PM) Hi, Trust me, go for MF680, 42Mbps , PM Blacktubi I have a question. Does anyone have any comment on ZTE MF190 3G modem? Any negative or positive comment are welcome. Does RM120 look ok? Pricey or cheap? MF190: HSDPA 7.2M HSUPA 5.76M My HSDPA phone which used as a modem like to turn off randomly. So looking for replacement. |
Jan 27 2013, 09:02 AM
Jan 27 2013, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(xelamil @ Jan 27 2013, 05:41 PM) How long would the Ninetology last when tethering? Pls dun use your Smart Phone to do tethering so often, the 3G chip will get burn off fasterI tried with my older android phone. Lasted under 2 hrs. There isn't any dumb or feature phone with tethering capability is there? Do you feel the heat when tethering ? |
Jan 28 2013, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(xelamil @ Jan 28 2013, 12:57 PM) MiFi are built that way, if you use it on battery WITHOUT plugging into the mains and charge while you use, it should be fine, BUT if you use it while charging with the battery on, the battery will konk faster, same as some older laptop, try using them while the battery + adaptor is turned on ~ the lappie's mobo & battery will konk faster , unlike newer Mac Books which have a cutoff switch to cut off the current when the battery is fully charged or rather bypass the charged battery Fon is a different story altogether ............. |
Jan 30 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Jan 30 2013, 04:30 PM) hey guys, thinking of a new modem to replace my old ones.. which 1 u recommend? e355 for wireless and always on the go, however its limited to single Channel a.k.a 21Mbps onlywas thinking e355, mf680, e372, any modem u recommend? mifi also can.. mf680 ~ its a "beast" speed sometimes very fast , dual Channel e372 ~ steady connection with the option of using MDMA to do some tweaks , dual Channel |
Jan 30 2013, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Jan 30 2013, 06:10 PM) i dont mind so much for the dual vs single channel.. best bet for long hour of usage just thinking is e355 hardy enough for long period of usage.. and is it compatible with router... E372+Asus RT-N16( factory FW ) Superb Wireless penetration and stable throughput |
Jun 22 2013, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(fatenagisa @ Jun 22 2013, 07:53 PM) may i know what brand and model number is the free 42 Mbps USB Modem that maxis give for the WIRELESS BROADBAND package ? and does it compatible with TL-MR3420 v2 This world where got free one, you will be contracted to 12mths for the modem package, its called Huawei E372.Just buy your own LTE modem E398 for abt rm200 from Blacktubi and E372/E398 is compatible with MR3420 V1/V2 I believe E372 sells less than rm200 now. Why get a 42Mbps modem when the network support 75Mbps now |
Jun 23 2013, 02:38 PM
Jun 23 2013, 02:47 PM
Jul 21 2013, 05:56 PM
Aug 11 2013, 07:19 PM
Sep 13 2013, 08:18 PM
Sep 14 2013, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(nordingh @ Sep 14 2013, 07:18 AM) Quota really impose after you hit 10GB ?My area not listed on the Celcom's coverage area but i can detect Celcom LTE via my E398, do you think i can log onto LTE ? You signed the modem package or just the simcard package ? Thanks |
Sep 14 2013, 09:31 AM
Sep 14 2013, 09:47 AM
| Change to: | 0.0405sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:22 AM |