Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc & Arc S ~~Version 3~~, a smashingly fabulous phone

pc-ox
post Jun 9 2012, 08:44 AM

174 posts

I'm plan to install custom rom MooDed ICS for my arc. For those who used this rom, can it update new version via over the air (OTA) or need repeat installation for new version via CWM recovery?

pc-ox
post Jun 10 2012, 04:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 10 2012, 03:12 PM)
guys, wana ask, ur locked screen is on potrait mode or landscape mode when the phone is on landscape mode/position?
If you're using stock ICS rom, the lock screen will rotate back to portrait mode although the phone is on landscape mode before lock screen kick in.

Maybe some custom home launcher have landscape lock screen setting, I think you can find some at android market.
pc-ox
post Jun 10 2012, 06:18 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 10 2012, 05:11 PM)
Actually im on custom rom, mooded 80.8.. i just got the feelin b4 this the locked screen able to rotate to both portrait n landscape.. anyone wit mooded rom can confirm this? im afraid im being confused wit my tablet as my tablet can rotate in locked screen.  rclxub.gif
I'm using MooDeD 80.8 too, if you select "Trebuchet" home launcher, you can rotate to landscape at home screen, but when lock screen kick in, lock screen will change to portrait.
pc-ox
post Jun 20 2012, 04:11 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(art_535 @ Jun 20 2012, 03:51 PM)
alrite..so i need to flashback into stock ROM.
by the way can u share the fastboot package and the drivers, cause tried to download, but the failed.
You can try download from this link. I'm followed these instructions and successfully unlock bootloader.
http://www.theandroidsoul.com/how-to-unloc...c-play-neo-pro/
pc-ox
post Sep 26 2012, 10:46 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(shah1313 @ Sep 26 2012, 09:53 AM)
guys nak mintak tolong skit..mcm mana nk bg ram kita free skit?aku macam byk sangat program yg running..pastu fon mcm lembab..secureclockservice,sim contact,crash monitor boleh buang ke benda2 tu?thankx

aku da root fon and now guna .431
.431 firmware got a lot of bugs (dealer lag, camera slow record, etc). .587 firmware (most of bugs in .431 resolved) much much better than .431. I'm happy with my xperia arc with rooted .587 firmware.

You can use swap method to simulate extra memory.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1821071

Edit:
You can use "Titanium Backup" to backup those apps u going to uninstall. Uninstall one app each time then reboot, check the phone whether perform normal or not. Repeat same step for next app. You can uninstall a lot of boatware by this way, but take a lot of time trial and error. You can freeze the app if you have paid version Titanium Backup.
You can use this list as a guideline to check which apps suitable to remove without impact phone stability, but the list are not up to date for ICS.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1089470

This post has been edited by pc-ox: Sep 26 2012, 01:06 PM
pc-ox
post Sep 26 2012, 01:10 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(airputra @ Sep 26 2012, 12:59 PM)
anyone here face with usb connection problem? now my phone can't connect to pc anymore, even change mtp and whatever, but it can charge battery with pc. maybe usb port at my phone got problem. anyone know where the great place to do great job to change it? im at shah alam...
Which kernel are you using now? Custom? Stock?
Sometimes kernel can cause this issue.

pc-ox
post Sep 26 2012, 02:12 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(airputra @ Sep 26 2012, 01:38 PM)
im flash n root with stock kernel before. but now it can't connect too pc anymore. so i can't flash it with flashtool anymore...
Even check "USB debugging", still can't connect to computer?

If your phone bootloader unlocked. You can try install kernel by using fastboot method. Turn off phone, press and hold "menu" button then connect USB to computer. The side LED will turn to blue color (in fastboot mode).

pc-ox
post Sep 27 2012, 09:58 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(airputra @ Sep 26 2012, 05:31 PM)
yes still cannot, even in fastboot mode
This is a case (USB can charge, but can't connect to pc) from Sony forum. Not sure your case similar to this one? You tested your phone with other computer?
http://talk.sonymobile.com/thread/50440?start=0&tstart=0
pc-ox
post Sep 27 2012, 12:57 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(airputra @ Sep 27 2012, 11:59 AM)
now i know, before this i connect with pc running win XP and win 7 32 bit, but when i connect to win 7 64 bit, it running smoothly... but why this happen..
Answer replied from Sony forum members, it look like something related to windows problem, not the phone. My one OK with Win XP, Win 7 32bit and Win 7 64bit.
pc-ox
post Sep 27 2012, 01:44 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(airputra @ Sep 27 2012, 01:21 PM)
but i still can't detect with flashmode even with msc n debugging on
So, currently you can browse your SD card, but when use Flashtool, the Flashtool can't detect your phone?
Try re-install ADB driver again.
pc-ox
post Sep 28 2012, 09:36 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(aidilchica @ Sep 28 2012, 03:18 AM)
cmna nk root arc s 4.1.B.0.587?

da cari..tp pening  shocking.gif
Rooting procedures:-
1) Install Flashtool. Flashtool file can get from:-
http://androxyde.github.com/

2) After install Flashtool, install ADB driver from Flashtool\drivers folder (file name: Flashtool-drivers). Make sure check the component "Sony Ericsson Xperia arc,...drivers" during Flashtool driver installation.

3) (Optional) Flash 4.1.B.0.587 firmware using Flashtool (see Flashtool procedures below). (This step is optional if your phone already in 4.1.B.0.587 firmware).
(LT15i 4.1.B.0.587 Generic Global World) http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1836071
(LT18i 4.1.B.0.587) http://hotfile.com/dl/167361348/43349db/LT...716%29.ftf.html

4) Flash 4.1.B.0.431 downgrade kernel using Flashtool (see Flashtool procedures below). (file name: 1_lt18i_4.1.B.0.431_kernelDowngrade.ftf)
https://www.box.com/s/ivau06ox4wu4p4p8y3ch
Remark: After reboot, will get a lot of error messages. Ignore it. Go to Menu\Settings\Developer options, then check "USB debugging". After that, go to Menu\Settings\Security, check "Unknown sources".

5) Root the phone with DooMLoRD rooting toolkit.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1601038

6) Flash back 4.1.B.0.587 kernel using Flashtool (see Flashtool procedures below).
Arc kernel only: http://minus.com/l2nHaaZknNLkx
Arc S kernel only: http://minus.com/lbmSo2ZcMtQban

7) Done. your phone should be rooted with 4.1.B.0.587 firmware now.

Flashtool procedures:-
1) Launch Flashtool program. [Don't click on the Flashmode (Thunder icon)]

2) Drag and drop the *.ftf (firmware or kernel files in ftf format) into Flashtool main window and the Flashmode window will automatically open with the *.ftf file.

3) Check "No final verification" at bottom right of Flashmode window and click "OK".

4) A messages pop-up (1-Unplug the device,...,4-Plug the USB cable). Turn off phone, press and hold "BACK" button, then connect the phone to computer.

5) It will start flashing the firmware or kernel.

6) Once completed, disconnect phone from computer.

7) Close Flashtool program.

This post has been edited by pc-ox: Dec 1 2012, 11:19 AM
pc-ox
post Oct 3 2012, 10:35 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Jjdesu @ Oct 3 2012, 07:55 PM)
hey guys! is android ics upgrade available in malaysia already? i've been using gingerbread for ages, thinking of upgrade sleep.gif but in setting about phone, i cant locate anything relating to the update yet sad.gif
ICS upgrade already available for Malaysia. You can update phone through PC Companion or SE Update service.
pc-ox
post Oct 4 2012, 12:27 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(Jjdesu @ Oct 3 2012, 10:58 PM)
but i dont understand the part - prepare ur phone for update...the steps are not clear thou...been annoyed by this for long

it says u nid to plug in computer while holding the 'back' button...nothing happen after i did that  mad.gif
Do you turn-off your phone before press and hold "back" button, then connect usb to computer?
If still can't update through PC Companion, use SE update service (download from SE website).
pc-ox
post Dec 1 2012, 11:35 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(jerry4174 @ Dec 1 2012, 01:24 AM)
how to flash rom at arc s??
Flash stock rom or custom rom?
For custom rom, normally it requested unlocked bootloader, but some custom rom can flash with locked bootloader.
You can refer xda developers forum, there got a lot of custom rom for arc/arcs.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=965

QUOTE(kronologi88 @ Dec 1 2012, 09:58 AM)
I updated my Xperia Arc to ICS via the sony pc companion update. But how do I root this version?
You can refer Post#2067 in this thread for firmware 4.1.B.0.587 rooting procedures.

pc-ox
post Dec 3 2012, 12:00 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(jerry4174 @ Dec 1 2012, 02:00 PM)
got fully teaching plan??
i wan flash custom rom..
Very tough question because each custom rom required a bit different flashing method. You need to go to particular custom rom thread, rom developer will post their best method to flash their rom.

You need do some study first before flash custom rom. General things like:-
1) Unlocked bootloader
2) Custom Kernel
3) ClockworkMod Recovery
4) Particular custom rom

Flashing custom rom not as easy as flashing stock rom, it required some knowledge. But still not too hard if you have basic idea which I mentioned above.

If you go custom rom, you might encounter bootloop issue or app bug (can't run or force close). You better backup your previous workable rom in case something happen, so you can restore previous rom.
pc-ox
post Dec 8 2012, 09:18 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:20 AM)
guys, i need help. i rooted my arc s. installed cwm and i flashed  Xperia Ultimate HD™ 2.0 rom... but after i reboot the phone, it stuck in sony screen....
i tried reflash the kernal using flash tool.. but still the same..

now im running of ideas... anyone can help??
Your bootloader unlocked or locked?

If unlocked bootloader and custom kernel (CWM included) installed, boot to CWM and install the custom ROM again. Make sure follow the procedures provided by developer.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...cked+bootloader

If locked bootloader and stock kernel, flash stock firmware (.587) with flash tool and root again. Then install custom ROM using this guide.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1955248
pc-ox
post Dec 15 2012, 09:43 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(B u B u @ Dec 14 2012, 11:57 PM)
Bro can help me? I just bricked my Arc sad.gif

First time installing custom ROM on Sony....tried ultimate HD rom. Whenever i power it up, shows Sony Ericsson logo, then black screen....

sad.gif
Flash stock firmware with flash tool first, then flash custom ROM again. Please browse post# 2067 & 2099, you can get all download link there.
pc-ox
post Dec 15 2012, 10:41 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(B u B u @ Dec 15 2012, 09:50 AM)
Just flashed the stock ICS.. no more bricked smile.gif
But anyhow, what is the best custom ROM in terms of stability and battery life?

TQ
Currently, I'm using custom kernel + rooted stock firmware.

I can't recommend which the best custom ROM since I not using them. You need read through the users feedback for each custom ROM thread (xda-developer website).

I used few custom ROM before. This is own experinces and opinions, I can't denied some custom ROM are fast and smooth, but at the same time it create some bugs at certain area. I encountered GPS software lag at some custom ROM, bootloop issue during upgrade, etc. Some ROM developer updated their ROM too frequent, they not resolve previous bugs and continue add new features, new bugs with new features.

At the end, I choose go back to stock firmware and rooted it, remove all unwanted apps, applied themes from other xperia model. I'm happy with all modifications which I applied to stock firmware, it run smooth and all apps run fine for my daily use.

As conclusion, you need to try custom ROM by yourself and see whether suit for your need or not. Sometimes, you need to try few custom ROM before you can find the best ROM for your need.

This post has been edited by pc-ox: Dec 15 2012, 08:55 PM
pc-ox
post Feb 9 2013, 02:53 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Feb 9 2013, 02:17 PM)
reporiting in arc s user
anyone feel heating on phone when using calls?
This is quite normal for smartphone nowadays.

pc-ox
post Feb 10 2013, 01:16 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Feb 9 2013, 11:45 PM)
eveything is good with this phone, sound, camera, display, all is good
but i fould battery drain extremely fast, one hour can finish 50 percent of power wor
i bought second hand
is there any way can cure?
posiblility phone problem or battery problem?
i dun seem battery got gemuk
Battery drain fast can be many factors.
Your phone running stock ROM or custom ROM? Some custom ROM's battery life not so good.
What's your phone setting? If you set everything in maximum (brightness, live wallpaper, etc), sure the battery drain more faster.
Any app running background while in sleep mode? Check what app drain more battery from setting page. Study your battery drain from app first, then decide the solution.

Use this method to test your battery drain. Charge your phone to 100%, then leave your phone in sleep mode for 2 or 3 hours. Check your battery percentage after 2 or 3 hours, if battery percentage around 96-98%, the battery drain consider quite normal. If battery percentage drop more than 10-15%, then battery drain too fast, go to setting page and look the battery status, check which app drain most battery.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0397sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:06 AM