126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V11, It has been a crazy roller-coaster week!

Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2012, 11:51 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 30 2012, 11:44 AM)
The app still beta, that's the reason why Gabe never invite the whole human civilization in.

Btw, DCS Black Shar sales. I think I gonna get it tonight. Good simulation, but not as good as Arma. smile.gif
I know its a beta, as evidently in the screenshot tab has a big under construction sign but some of the aspects of the app is a bit worrying, like the bandwidth it uses.

They'll fix it sooner or later, but the current state, i dont see whats wrong to ignore it till its officially released.
temptation1314
post Jan 30 2012, 12:10 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 30 2012, 11:51 AM)
I know its a beta, as evidently in the screenshot tab has a big under construction sign but some of the aspects of the app is a bit worrying, like the bandwidth it uses.

They'll fix it sooner or later, but the current state, i dont see whats wrong to ignore it till its officially released.
There's nothing wrong if you are ignoring it.
But stating "It's not worth it" is just too general, as if you're trying to force this to everyone reading it (I know you didn't)

Some others might found this app actually helps them connected to Steam, especially those having their network banned from visiting steam and so.

As for the bandwidth issue, mind to post how "much" is much they uses.

This post has been edited by temptation1314: Jan 30 2012, 12:10 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2012, 01:00 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 30 2012, 12:10 PM)
There's nothing wrong if you are ignoring it.
But stating "It's not worth it" is just too general, as if you're trying to force this to everyone reading it (I know you didn't)

Some others might found this app actually helps them connected to Steam, especially those having their network banned from visiting steam and so.

As for the bandwidth issue, mind to post how "much" is much they uses.
I do not have the figures on how much it uses, because i do not have the amount of bandwidth used before i used Steam mobile. All i know is, i never used more than 500MB per month for mobile internet, but this month, i manage to break the limit after installing Steam mobile and mess around with it.

I am not forcing anyone not to use this app. The current state of the app, isnt really worth dying for it. If someone's office network banned Steam, just wait till one goes home to use Steam. It's not like Steam is having hourly sales or something where one needs Steam on the go.

Steam mobile is just an extra, not a necessity yet. Maybe they will do something with Steam mobile on the coming summer sale, but now, there isnt anything really special about it.
temptation1314
post Jan 30 2012, 01:12 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 30 2012, 01:00 PM)
I do not have the figures on how much it uses, because i do not have the amount of bandwidth used before i used Steam mobile. All i know is, i never used more than 500MB per month for mobile internet, but this month, i manage to break the limit after installing Steam mobile and mess around with it.

I am not forcing anyone not to use this app. The current state of the app, isnt really worth dying for it. If someone's office network banned Steam, just wait till one goes home to use Steam. It's not like Steam is having hourly sales or something where one needs Steam on the go.

Steam mobile is just an extra, not a necessity yet. Maybe they will do something with Steam mobile on the coming summer sale, but now, there isnt anything really special about it.
It might be you, or probably you only. I honestly admit that I need to be connected to Steam most of the time I can possibly afford.
The lacks of having a community is you, and probably you only also. If I can connect to Steam Group chat, I can at least chat on the go.

So far I only saw Yung( Faptimus laugh.gif ) uses the Group chat during his working hour.

Again, it just seems you trying to force your thoughts on people(I know you didn't)."Steam mobile is just an extra"

"Someone's rubbish is another person's treasure"
Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2012, 02:46 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 30 2012, 01:12 PM)
It might be you, or probably you only. I honestly admit that I need to be connected to Steam most of the time I can possibly afford.
The lacks of having a community is you, and probably you only also. If I can connect to Steam Group chat, I can at least chat on the go.

So far I only saw Yung( Faptimus laugh.gif ) uses the Group chat during his working hour.

Again, it just seems you trying to force your thoughts on people(I know you didn't)."Steam mobile is just an extra"

"Someone's rubbish is another person's treasure"
You are only assuming the community feature is worthless to me. Just because i dont join you and your (snobbish, i know they arent) friends, that doesnt mean its useless. I do use and welcome this feature and i want to be connected at all times just like having Skype, Whatsapp or Facebook on my phone.

The problem with the current beta is the steam mobile logs you out of the client when you lock your phone. It doesnt seem to be connected to Steam at all times, which means you can talk to other people, but its harder for other people to talk to you. Tested it on wifi. I still think it needs to have the ability to send message offline like Skype, Whatsapp and so on, as its rather annoying that the current client stops you from sending message suddenly you drove into a tunnel with no 3G.

It's a beta and it is meant to have a lot of broken features. The current state isnt really worth getting, in my opinion, not yours, mind you. Once they fixed everything, this little companion app will be quite useful.

fat cat
post Jan 30 2012, 10:43 PM

449 posts

was wondering, do you stay online if the app is minimized? cause i have the steam mobile app, but it seems when I'm not actually on it, I'm offline.

This post has been edited by fat cat: Jan 30 2012, 10:43 PM
Lurker
post Jan 31 2012, 01:15 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

OT question
I am downloading dragon age via origin
I am reading a 1.2mb/s average download speed. Using unifi vip5
Is that speed normal? Normally I only get 500kb/s via steam
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2012, 01:23 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fat cat @ Jan 30 2012, 10:43 PM)
was wondering, do you stay online if the app is minimized? cause i have the steam mobile app, but it seems when I'm not actually on it, I'm offline.
No, you dont online when minimised or lock your phone.
fat cat
post Jan 31 2012, 01:31 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 31 2012, 01:23 AM)
No, you dont online when minimised or lock your phone.
oh, they need to fix that then. so your online when the app is actually launched, but your offline when you actually task kill the app or sign out.
-Torrz
post Jan 31 2012, 01:36 AM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 31 2012, 01:15 AM)
OT question
I am downloading dragon age via origin
I am reading a 1.2mb/s average download speed. Using unifi vip5
Is that speed normal? Normally I only get 500kb/s via steam
Yes normal but it will drop to >500kb/s. However I get >1.5mbps in Aussie, so unifi is pretty darn good.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2012, 01:37 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fat cat @ Jan 31 2012, 01:31 AM)
oh, they need to fix that then. so your online when the app is actually launched, but your offline when you actually task kill the app or sign out.
No doubt, as the current state of the software, its pretty much worthless to have it.

I signed mine out because its just useless.
JinXXX
post Jan 31 2012, 03:40 AM

2,516 posts

gg have some sales for spellforce

up to 75% off

http://www.gamersgate.com/DDB-SFU/spellforce-universe-bundle

only 5 USD , can activate in steam ? its not a steamwork game..
kianweic
post Jan 31 2012, 07:04 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jan 31 2012, 03:40 AM)
gg have some sales for spellforce

up to 75% off

http://www.gamersgate.com/DDB-SFU/spellforce-universe-bundle

only 5 USD , can activate in steam ? its not a steamwork game..
Non Steamwork game.
rikimtasu
post Jan 31 2012, 07:57 AM

Tired...
760 posts

Ok,just got a steam mobile app invite,and a extra invite.
Does steam mobile invite ever worth the money,like DOTA 2 invite right now?
TStalexeh
post Jan 31 2012, 09:00 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,101 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Jan 31 2012, 07:57 AM)
Seriously facepalm'd. doh.gif
memphiz_zero88
post Jan 31 2012, 09:27 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

^ laugh.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 31 2012, 09:53 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

good troll effort as talexeh kena facepalmed
newuserex
post Jan 31 2012, 10:21 AM

キャッハハ…キャハハッキャッ……キャハハ…
546 posts

Fortune Summoner is now at steam! Check it out.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2012, 11:20 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Jan 31 2012, 07:57 AM)
Don't tell me you want to make money out of a beta. doh.gif
-Torrz
post Jan 31 2012, 11:25 AM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

Nothing surprising as majority of tf2-hat farmers Steam players out there use currency on anything Steam-related

126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:58 AM