6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Grill or no grill

TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 09:23 AM, updated 13y ago

19 posts

We do not like to have grills on our windows as we feel that it feel like ring in a cage. sad.gif But we are also concerned about security? hmm.gif
Any suggestion? We were advised to install laminated windows with 1.2mm pwdr coated alu frame. Along with CCTV, and alarm, is it enough? Please share.

TQ

Hornsen
post Dec 31 2011, 09:27 AM

131 posts

house or apartment? single or double storey?
gid
post Dec 31 2011, 09:42 AM

119 posts

really depending where you stay
whether landed house with guard or condo loh..
lck*G9
post Dec 31 2011, 09:42 AM

2,026 posts

if you have to do it, you have to do it... that's all...
if you don't want too, then the only suggestion is to move to a safer neighborhood
TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 10:35 AM

19 posts

It is a semi-d. Neighbors say it is safe but still .. There's a guard.
TQ 4 the prompt reply. Maybe have to rethink our choices.

Hornsen
post Dec 31 2011, 10:49 AM

131 posts

is it gated and guarded neighborhood?

semi-d need a lot of grill, or if install alarm also need a lot of sensor for every windows i think...

This post has been edited by Hornsen: Dec 31 2011, 10:51 AM
weikee
post Dec 31 2011, 11:28 AM

12,019 posts

Active protection = Grills, thick glass, personal guard house, dogs
Passive protection = CCTV, Alarm, Neighbor

If you don't have grills, make sure you have good quality safety glass like thick tempered glass.
TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 11:35 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 31 2011, 11:28 AM)
Active protection = Grills, thick glass, personal guard house, dogs
Passive protection = CCTV, Alarm, Neighbor

If you don't have grills, make sure you have good quality safety glass like thick tempered glass.
I was told that it is better to have laminated windows (8.23mm) compared to tempered glass. Is this true? Another advised on having a tempered glass but coated with a film like the v-cool. Got confused when sourcing for windiws rclxub.gif .

Btw, have u had any exp. with invisible grill?

weikee
post Dec 31 2011, 11:44 AM

12,019 posts

Personal view, invisible grill look nice from outside, inside worse than normal grills.

Tempered glass is stronger, but once break it shatter to small pieces. Is at least few time stronger than laminated. Is use in high rise building. You have to get good quality. Difference tempered glass have its properties.
jforjean
post Dec 31 2011, 11:59 AM

424 posts

In my opinion, live in malaysia wo got no choice. Is a MUST to install grill at landed property.

This post has been edited by jforjean: Dec 31 2011, 11:59 AM
phoenix69
post Dec 31 2011, 12:04 PM

1,836 posts

Another option is to get wrought iron grill. Nice design (do not look like jail) with the protection of a regular grill.
If you get a tempered glass, it look like a regular glass,
Look at window without grill = a leeeetle bit more look like an easy mark, slightly higher chances of burgular giving it a try.
Look at window with grill = look like a leeetle less easy mark, as burgular have to go through the grill.
TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 12:14 PM

19 posts

Thanks for all the feedbacks. Looks like I have to source for some grills... Got no choice then.

Pheonix69, have been following ur reno and the house looks great...
phoenix69
post Dec 31 2011, 12:38 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Kkrs @ Dec 31 2011, 12:14 PM)
Thanks for all the feedbacks. Looks like I have to source for some grills...  Got no choice then.

Pheonix69, have been following ur reno and the house looks great...
Thanks, Hope your grill turns out great too biggrin.gif
skng03
post Dec 31 2011, 01:16 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kkrs @ Dec 31 2011, 09:23 AM)

We do not like to have grills on our windows as we feel that it feel like ring in a cage. sad.gif  But we are also concerned about security? hmm.gif
Any suggestion? We were advised to install laminated windows with 1.2mm pwdr coated alu frame. Along with CCTV, and alarm, is it enough? Please share.
TQ
Dont install grill ,use tempered +laminated glass with high end alu frame, add safety glass tint. Install external alarm/ electronic fence smile.gif

TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 01:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Dec 31 2011, 01:16 PM)
Dont install grill ,use tempered +laminated glass with high end alu frame, add safety glass tint. Install external alarm/ electronic fence smile.gif
Hi skng03,

Do u have grill at ur place? Did u use the tempered + laminated glass windows? Mind sharing the pic and how much the cost? Electronic fence ? blink.gif
Hornsen
post Dec 31 2011, 02:01 PM

131 posts

Dont install grill, use tempered + laminated glass with high end alu frame, add safety glass tint. Install external alarm/electronic fence smile.gif
is alu frame like this good enough to prevent break in? how much will it cost if it is a high end one?

weikee
post Dec 31 2011, 04:49 PM

12,019 posts

Electric fencing need special license if not any injury you will get sue too.

The windows you recommend is more expensive than thick tempered glass + grill. If one can afford this level than ok lah. You looking at around RM 100 per square feet onward.
sonerin
post Dec 31 2011, 05:36 PM

8,690 posts

Well i had a friend living in semi-d without grill. It is quite safe but depend on location. As my friend house is in puchong
TSKkrs
post Dec 31 2011, 05:57 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 31 2011, 05:36 PM)
Well i had a friend living in semi-d without grill. It is quite safe but depend on location. As my friend house is in puchong
Do you know what he/she used for her windows/doors?

ahter
post Dec 31 2011, 06:12 PM

250 posts

u lock ur windows 24 hrs a day ? otherwise laminated or tempered doesn't make any difference since people can just slip in thru windows

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:56 AM