The Official Blu-ray Thread v15, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 02:25 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:36 PM)
Packing, pricing, content, etc can difference.  Imported some times is cheaper than purchase locally.

Depend which country you buy the Blu-ray and also depend on the studio to decide which subtitle should include in movie.  So, it is case by case basis.  blush.gif
Are the local selling have sensorship? Which can see the sticker behind.
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 03:02 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 02:32 PM)
For some movie, censorship did happened.  So countries version maybe have censorship while other countries don't have depend on their country laws and regulations.  Thus this again is case by case basis. 

Unfortunately, their won't mentioned this in sticker behind or in any cover.  You have to find information from internet.  blush.gif
I see you guys get a lot from amazon. How cheap is the shipping cost? If add in the shipping cost, would the disc price same as local selling?
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 04:36 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(bobtahar @ Dec 22 2012, 04:24 PM)
It's way cheaper than local...  some promotion sale, it's even cheaper than Jack Sparrow bd.
Just now I try to check with the amazon US. Take example of 1 title.

Local selling is RM119. I check at Speedy.

Amazon US : 29.96 + 8.98 = $38.94. (include shipping cost). That is $38.94 x 3.15 = RM122.60.

My finding is that, it is not cheaper than local. Or I looking at the wrong site?
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 08:57 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 04:44 PM)
Beware of the calculation of shipping charges.  Amazon US calculate shipping charges according to 2 components.  One is per shipment (which is charge only once per order, US$4.99) + per item (which is charge per item in an order, US$3.99 per item).  So, it mean, the more your items you order in one order, the cheaper the shipping charge.

Beside, you should look for cheaper BD not Avatar 3D.  Or you can wait until it price reduce or wait until sales season.

Too bad, for Amazon US, the biggest sales season is Black Friday Sales which just ended weeks ago.

Price for BD in Amazon US is not fixed.  It will change depend on Amazon.  Use track function to check the price movement or monitor the price.

Example, http://www.blu-ray.com/deals/?sortby=price&category=bluray

Why, I keep thinking Titanic 3D when you mentioned is Avatar 3D?  rclxub.gif
Thanks for your info.

I understand the amazon charge. As I brought some item before from them. But not BD.

You means I should wait longtime before I can get the cheap price? And I cannot get 3D too? Very susah tahan wor. sweat.gif

But how can you get US$4.99 that low for the shipping cost? Even for 1 BD? I try checkout and it show US$8.98 for the shipping cost. rclxub.gif

Anyway, I will think another way to bring in here from amazon. Since the BD itself is cheap compare local. smile.gif
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 10:51 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 09:28 PM)
No. What I mean, Avatar 3D is popular 3D movie, so, I think Amazon usually will keep it at higher price.  I think you should look for some other nice 3D movies since there are lot of 3D movies and animation around.

US$4.99 is cost per shipment.  But when Amazon calculate shipping charges, cost per shipment is only part of the cost.  Still need to add number of item in an order x US$3.99 to get a total shipping cost.

What I mean is you can include more BDs in one order to share this cost per shipment (US$4.99)

Amazon US shipping charges is calculated like this:

Cost per Shipment (US$4.99) [Charge only once per order] + per item (no. of BD in an order x US$3.99) = Total shipping charges for Standard Shipping.

For Priority shipping charges, cost per shipment is US$29.99 and per item is same as Standard Shipping.  tongue.gif
Here is another example from amazon US. Titanic 3D cost US$19.98 for the BD

If 1pcs of BD, shipping cost is US$8.98. If buy 10pcs, shipping cost is US$4.489/pcs.

user posted imageuser posted image

Is this correct?
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 11:10 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 10:58 PM)
Just like I told you.

Standard shipping charge for 1pc = US$4.99 + (1 x US$3.99) = US$8.98.

Standard shipping charge for 10pcs = US$4.99 + (10 x US$3.99) = US$44.89.  biggrin.gif
Thanks low98944. smile.gif

Will think a way to reduce the shipping cost. Still quite expensive.
ozak
post Dec 22 2012, 11:43 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 11:35 PM)
Alternatively, you can buy from Amazon UK which sometimes, is cheaper than Amazon US.  But one very important thing for buying from Amazon UK, check the BD whether it is region locked or not.  You definitely don't want to buy BD that you can't play.  tongue.gif
Thanks. My player is region A / All.
ozak
post Dec 23 2012, 12:11 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Dec 22 2012, 11:51 PM)
I don't think those mass market blu-ray player sold locally was region A/All unless it's Oppo or others similar to Oppo. It's more likely those blu-ray disc with All region playable on a region A player.

A region B locked disc can't play on a region A player..
QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 22 2012, 11:53 PM)
Your player probably Region A for BD and Region All for DVD.  tongue.gif
So, since UK is under Region B, beware don't buy region B locked BD.  Only buy those region free or region A and B BD.  tongue.gif
I read clearly the manual. BD is A/All. DVD is code 3/All.

I get the player free from sharp. It is a new model.
ozak
post Dec 23 2012, 12:57 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 23 2012, 12:28 AM)
Most often than not, even after we add shipping cost... buying from Amazon is much cheaper. Let's take an example for a title I bought last month; Unstoppable:

$3.96 (bd price) + $3.99 (per item fee) + $4.99 (per shipping fee) = $12.94 --> about RM40.80  thumbup.gif

if u buy locally like $peedy, they'll sell... RM149.90? RM109.90? RM99.90? ...or the cheapest price RM79.90?....  shakehead.gif

okla, that title is a special case: a super-duper "lightning deal" I bought during last month's Black Friday sale....  tongue.gif
The amazon BD is cheaper than here. Even don't have sale as what I check.

By the way, how many Black Friday sale did amazon have over a year?
ozak
post Dec 23 2012, 09:33 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 23 2012, 12:54 AM)
Sharp is one of the member of Blu-ray Disc Association. Do you really think Sharp will break the rules their set and manufacture region free player without damage the interest of other members or non-member?

Plus, Region A is Region A and Region Free is Region Free.  Why describe player as Region A/Free?

I do know in some countries, market do have region free sharp player or other well known brand BD player but that is modified by third party already not manufacture as Region Free player at the beginning.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(willkso @ Dec 23 2012, 01:12 AM)
I guess it's referring to blu-ray disc with region A or region All.. and to test it out and confirm that your player was region free, can always buy a region B locked blu-ray title and test it out on your player..  thumbup.gif
I m confuse here with the region from you guys explaning. Here is the BD and manual that show.

I brought 2pcs BD from local just for test it out. The title avatar 3D show region ABC (is that mean all ?) and title Speed show region A. Both BD play well in the player.

user posted imageuser posted image

The wrote here exactly what the manual write. Is that something I read wrong?

Added on December 23, 2012, 9:44 am
QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 23 2012, 01:31 AM)
yup, that's true... but during non-sale period, you've got to check now and then, because prices fluctuate like stock market... just grab once you felt is the best price for you to go for. here's another price-monitor-for-bluray site if you chose Amazon US as the place to purchase region a BD online.

ok, there you go... bro low has answered for me on BF sale. if you are the type who only buy rarely in a year (like me) and not the type who wants to own every new releases by the release date (like me oso  tongue.gif ), then why not wait and go for BF. just for sharing, I bought no less than 7 titles (total 9 movies; as one title is a boxset) for RM290+.... that's less than RM300 inclusive shipping fee.... now howzat sound? i saved a lot there comparing buying all those same titles here at local shops!  nod.gif
It look like good bargain with RM290+ for 9 movie. thumbup.gif

I like to collect good movie only. And not crazy type buy every release. As you know good movie is not cheap as the seller know how to nail us. I guess waiting for over a yrs or 2 is enough to let the price down enough. Or I might be wrong.

The BD is cheap from amazon. But will try to find a cheaper way to shipping over here.

This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 23 2012, 09:44 AM
ozak
post Dec 23 2012, 09:48 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(lkj @ Dec 23 2012, 07:50 AM)
Indeed .. for RM290, you'd only be able to get 2 BDs (3 at most) from local retailer in Malaysia. Btw, is the boxset a triple feature?

@ozak Triple feature sets are a real bargain since they can be priced at about the same as for one BD. Plus, you save on the per item shipping cost and get 3 movies at the same time, as the triple feature set count as 1 item.

Several of these presently at $9.99 for instance:

The Departed/Goodfellas/The Aviator
Twister/Poseidon/The Perfect Storm
300/Alexander Revisited/Troy
Austin Powers:International Man of Mystery/The Spy Who Shagged Me/Goldmember
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III: Turtles in Time
What you mean the " Triple feature " ? A bundle of 3title BD in 1 package?
ozak
post Dec 23 2012, 10:03 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 23 2012, 09:53 AM)
Region A,B,C mean that BD is actually Region Free BD.

Unlike DVD, the World have divided into three Region by Blu-ray Disc Association, further information in page 1 of this thread.

So, when the BD said it is Region ABC, it mean this BD is Region free Disc or unlocked disc.

Region A BD player can play Region A and Region Free BD discs. Or sometime got Region A,B or A,C BD disc.

Region B BD player can play Region B and Region Free BD discs.

Region C BD player can play Region C and Region Free BD discs.

Region free BD player can play all region BD discs in this World.

So, your player actually is Region A BD player which can play Region A, Region Free or Region A,B or Region A, C BD discs.

As long as BD disc mentioned it got include Region A or it is Region free BD, your player can play it otherwise, it will not play in your player.  laugh.gif

P/S: Your player can play Region 3 and Region Free DVD only.
Thanks for your explanation. So I makesure don't buy the region B or C only BD. Others is safe.

I think I better go and get a media player. That save me from all this trouble. tongue.gif
ozak
post Dec 24 2012, 12:38 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(lkj @ Dec 23 2012, 11:48 PM)
Yes, 3 BD titles in 1. I listed a few examples presently at a good price at Amazon.com

There are also double feature sets i.e. 2 BD titles in 1. Do a search by typing in Triple Feature or Double Feature on the Amazon search box under Movies & TV.

The price is unbelievable low. The movie title is abit old. But put my memory back.

How about the quality? Sometime I doubt about the different price. Does the low/high price associated with the quality?

0.0391sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:38 PM