3D graphic, i want to learn!
TSkevin7
Nov 8 2005, 10:02 PM, updated 21y ago

i've some experience in adobe photoshop... and i wish i can learn some 3d modelling... for better skill in graphic...
i been heard bout the lightware, 3d studio max and maya.. so, i'm so new in 3d modelling, what do u recommend me to use as a beginner?
thx
wantanseller
Nov 9 2005, 12:02 AM
generally it would seem 3d studio max is better suited for 3d modelling and it's easier to learn compared to maya and lightwave. I learnt 3DSMax first anyway.
ikram_zidane
Nov 9 2005, 12:11 AM
me too. i too wanna learn 3d..but i kinda sucks.. so anyone plz help us..
dinodog_Jr
Nov 9 2005, 01:48 AM
best way to start in 3D modeling is ..Dun start off wif Human modelling..
try inorganic objects such as Car, bottle ...anything Lifeless will make u confident to keep modelling..
Myself haf a really tough moments to adapt into 3D world. It looks simple from video tutorial. but it is totally a different story when u r doin at ur own. i am still really sux in it. I found dat Modelling jst a minor part in 3D world. The most scary part will be how to rendering something u wish to achieve.
Texturing & rendering is a depth knowledge.
After u start modelling, u won;t laugh at others ppl poor/ugly modelling. U will oso less complaining on others ppl game design & movie design.
U will feel urself is even stupid dat dunno how to built an horrible thing like dat.
NiTrOLaNCeR
Nov 9 2005, 03:49 AM
theres a little program called zmodeler.. its free and it got some basic modeling and texturing tools. maybe u can try that for start Zanoza Modeler
SUSchewxy
Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Nov 9 2005, 01:48 AM) best way to start in 3D modeling is ..Dun start off wif Human modelling.. try inorganic objects such as Car, bottle ...anything Lifeless will make u confident to keep modelling.. Myself haf a really tough moments to adapt into 3D world. It looks simple from video tutorial. but it is totally a different story when u r doin at ur own. i am still really sux in it. I found dat Modelling jst a minor part in 3D world. The most scary part will be how to rendering something u wish to achieve. Texturing & rendering is a depth knowledge. After u start modelling, u won;t laugh at others ppl poor/ugly modelling. U will oso less complaining on others ppl game design & movie design. U will feel urself is even stupid dat dunno how to built an horrible thing like dat. The only game FMV that I have not laughed at in recent years is WarCraft III and Frozen Throne FMV. The rest, I continue laughing
Tm89
Nov 9 2005, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM) The only game FMV that I have not laughed at in recent years is WarCraft III and Frozen Throne FMV. The rest, I continue laughing laugh cause of? Wad other skill we need other than modelling?i heard there are lots more elements like lighting etc.......
dinodog_Jr
Nov 9 2005, 03:01 PM
u can laugh ..cuz u oredi beyond tos skills ...not for me yet..hehe..
Warcraft cinematic short-clips really inspire me to move on into 3D too.. Really stunning until today.
basic steps in 3D modelling:
1. Modelling 2. Texturing 3. Rendering
Animating learn it last unless u can;t wait to produce a motion clip.
try some good soure cg forum such as www.cgtalk.com . der got multiples of different 3D sw sub-forums. there got Pin topics for Tutorial websites. spent sometimes over der, u will be amazed by tos top-notch quality artwork.
SUSlauyah
Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM) The only game FMV that I have not laughed at in recent years is WarCraft III and Frozen Throne FMV. The rest, I continue laughing So u got any good things to show sicne you are so good at laughing at other peoples stuff? This post has been edited by lauyah: Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM
SUSchewxy
Nov 10 2005, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(lauyah @ Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM) So u got any good things to show sicne you are so good at laughing at other peoples stuff?  No.. that's what I'm really good at... laughing at other people's work even when my own sucks. I'm a critic yay!
SUSchewxy
Nov 10 2005, 03:55 PM
I'm also good at doing crap like this :  Original picture can be found here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=217324