3D graphic, i want to learn!

TSkevin7
post Nov 8 2005, 10:02 PM, updated 21y ago

Validating
131 posts

i've some experience in adobe photoshop...
and i wish i can learn some 3d modelling... for better skill in graphic...

i been heard bout the lightware, 3d studio max and maya..
so, i'm so new in 3d modelling, what do u recommend me to use as a beginner?

thx
wantanseller
post Nov 9 2005, 12:02 AM

anonymous
1,565 posts

generally it would seem 3d studio max is better suited for 3d modelling and it's easier to learn compared to maya and lightwave. I learnt 3DSMax first anyway.
ikram_zidane
post Nov 9 2005, 12:11 AM

489 posts

me too. i too wanna learn 3d..but i kinda sucks.. so anyone plz help us..
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 9 2005, 01:48 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

best way to start in 3D modeling is ..Dun start off wif Human modelling..

try inorganic objects such as Car, bottle ...anything Lifeless will make u confident to keep modelling..

Myself haf a really tough moments to adapt into 3D world. It looks simple from video tutorial. but it is totally a different story when u r doin at ur own. i am still really sux in it. I found dat Modelling jst a minor part in 3D world. The most scary part will be how to rendering something u wish to achieve.

Texturing & rendering is a depth knowledge.

After u start modelling, u won;t laugh at others ppl poor/ugly modelling. U will oso less complaining on others ppl game design & movie design.

U will feel urself is even stupid dat dunno how to built an horrible thing like dat.

NiTrOLaNCeR
post Nov 9 2005, 03:49 AM

-WootnesS!-
668 posts

theres a little program called zmodeler.. its free and it got some basic modeling and texturing tools. maybe u can try that for start smile.gif

Zanoza Modeler
SUSchewxy
post Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM

Flying Side By Side with my beloved Pretty Swallow
11,234 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Nov 9 2005, 01:48 AM)
best way to start in 3D modeling is ..Dun start off wif Human modelling..

try inorganic objects such as Car, bottle ...anything Lifeless will make u confident to keep modelling..

Myself haf a really tough moments to adapt into 3D world. It looks simple from video tutorial. but it is totally a different story when u r doin at ur own. i am still really sux in it. I found dat Modelling jst a minor part in 3D world. The most scary part will be how to rendering something u wish to achieve.

Texturing & rendering is a depth knowledge.

After u start modelling, u won;t laugh at others ppl poor/ugly modelling. U will oso less complaining on others ppl game design & movie design.

U will feel urself is even stupid dat dunno how to built an horrible thing like dat.
The only game FMV that I have not laughed at in recent years is WarCraft III and Frozen Throne FMV. The rest, I continue laughing

Tm89
post Nov 9 2005, 01:23 PM

.Master of Pupu.
1,780 posts

QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM)
The only game FMV that I have not laughed at in recent years is WarCraft III and Frozen Throne FMV. The rest, I continue laughing
laugh cause of?

Wad other skill we need other than modelling?i heard there are lots more elements like lighting etc.......
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 9 2005, 03:01 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

u can laugh ..cuz u oredi beyond tos skills ...not for me yet..hehe..

Warcraft cinematic short-clips really inspire me to move on into 3D too.. Really stunning until today.

basic steps in 3D modelling:

1. Modelling
2. Texturing
3. Rendering

Animating learn it last unless u can;t wait to produce a motion clip.

try some good soure cg forum such as www.cgtalk.com . der got multiples of different 3D sw sub-forums. there got Pin topics for Tutorial websites. spent sometimes over der, u will be amazed by tos top-notch quality artwork.

SUSlauyah
post Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM

ViSiToR
811 posts

QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 9 2005, 01:08 PM)
So u got any good things to show sicne you are so good at laughing at other peoples stuff? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lauyah: Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM
SUSchewxy
post Nov 10 2005, 02:44 PM

11,234 posts

QUOTE(lauyah @ Nov 10 2005, 02:38 PM)
So u got any good things to show sicne you are so good at laughing at other peoples stuff? tongue.gif
No.. that's what I'm really good at... laughing at other people's work even when my own sucks.

I'm a critic yay!
SUSchewxy
post Nov 10 2005, 03:55 PM

11,234 posts

I'm also good at doing crap like this :
Original picture can be found here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=217324

0.0236sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 05:38 PM