SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page

jananan
post Dec 28 2011, 05:20 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 05:19 PM)
anyway, anyone spot bigger battery for SGW avaiable in market?
thinking to get 1800 or 2000 mAh. haha.
if you push in hard enough, Galaxy S2 battery does go in SGW. it is 1650mAh compared to SGW's original 1500mAh
jananan
post Dec 28 2011, 05:48 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 05:28 PM)
no thanks. don't want push it so hard. ==

then shall wait for bigger battery to launch in market.
i prefer bigger, not enough for me.
when on papago or constantly gaming, beh tahan. ;p
i am using sanyo eneloop mobile booster which has 5000mAh juice in it and charges at 1000mA (1A), so i always have juice...
jananan
post Dec 28 2011, 06:21 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 28 2011, 06:07 PM)
I mean fixed focus during video. No doubt the focus during video is fixed.  tongue.gif
I understand the concept behind EDOF. Erm... But you also need to know that when a camera focuses a distance from the sensor, the DOF is actually deeper compared to close up. And actually due to the small sensor size, most camera phone has very deep DOF.

Btw, seems like most newer HTC got continuous AF, Galaxy S/SII also got Cont. AF. Why not in W???  doh.gif
Galaxy S2 continuous AF acts a bit weird if you ask me... most of the time its out of focus...

well, at least samsung gave us autofocus capable camera for such a low priced device...
jananan
post Dec 30 2011, 05:24 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Dec 30 2011, 12:45 PM)
Yes for documents ... cause of the auto focus .. always snap pics of my lecture notes haha ..
there's document mode in the camera app. it works

Added on December 30, 2011, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(Besanth @ Dec 30 2011, 10:58 AM)
I got a question. Is it only me or anyone else got experience the Galaxy W suddenly will turn off? My phone so many times already happen like this. Put for charging, go washroom come back the phone off. I put my phone on the table while playing game, when I want on the screen check the phone already off. Uncountable times this problem has occur. Anyone got the solution?
that sounds like hardware issue. android might auto reboot when there is a fault but it should not power off just like that...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 30 2011, 05:25 PM
jananan
post Dec 31 2011, 12:59 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 31 2011, 12:45 PM)
For those who has Wifi on after boot, did your guys install "GT Racing: Motor Academy Free+" ? Just a wild guess...
thats why i always make it a point to check the permissions of each app... some fishy permissions on some apps...

Added on December 31, 2011, 1:07 pmfor freezing system / regular apps for rooted devices, there is a new utility on the market for free (Antek AppManager is ad supported)

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.r...d.appquarantine

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 31 2011, 01:07 PM
jananan
post Jan 13 2012, 02:44 PM

Android
1,513 posts

the question is...

if free space is not an issue, can a class 10 microSD outperform W's internal storage in a disk benchmark and indirectly increase antutu benchmark scores ?

how fast exactly is W's internal storage and how is the calculation done for SD card read/write benchmark in antutu ?
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 03:44 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(and.inc @ Jan 14 2012, 03:28 PM)
Dont worry this is arco68's favourite he has managed to get it to work just round the corner
yeah, easier to flash using CWM. don't have to rely on PC and ADB to flash stuff...
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 06:19 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 14 2012, 06:15 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 06:41 PM

Android
1,513 posts

i just tried cowwithgun's slim ROM, not bad 'out of the box' experience

i just need to remove few more stuff from Samsung and then will be perfect...
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 07:30 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 14 2012, 07:20 PM)
Can! Will customize it for you when I have time. Tell me what you need. Err.. I will try, but please dont get mad if I have not got time... the following is on my list at the moment:

1. Remove TourchWiz (not as easy as I think)
2. Compile new kernel with wifi patch (to allow Ah Hoc AP) and OC!
3. Many other small experiments to further reduce memory usage and internal device usage
- next release, i definitely remove fotaclient, etc..]
yeah, TouchWiz is everywhere.... touchwiz calendar, touchwiz calculator, touchwiz this, touchwiz that...

some of the TouchWiz based apps have inter-dependencies...
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 07:42 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(ultrajack @ Jan 14 2012, 07:32 PM)
Can this phone be updated to ics using custom rom? Im comsidering between this phone and ics smile.gif
ICS based on CM9 is being worked on for Galaxy W... it might take some time.

at the moment rooting is possible, there are several custom ROMs as well based on GB 2.3.6, custom kernel is being worked on so its only a matter of time before OC'ing is possible as well.

if you want ICS right now, then you better off purchasing Nexus
jananan
post Jan 14 2012, 09:18 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 14 2012, 07:26 PM)
LOL. thanks for testing! Got any improvement in Antutu score? Not much, but should be faster than standard
I8150DXLA2...
haven't got to Antutu yet... still wanna do other stuff first...

did you use the new roboto font from ICS ?

imho it looks better than droid sans...

just need to rename and drop into fonts folder

rename the Roboto.ttf > DroidSans.ttf

and RobotoBold.ttf > DroidSans-Bold.ttf

and you shall have Roboto all over

* i think the filename is case sensitive, do exercise caution...
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 07:00 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 14 2012, 11:31 PM)
TouchWiz is good, but kindna heavy on the RAM. SGW has limited RAM... so, I decided to go for Zeam Launcher. It's really light! But i think, you gonna hate it! it's too simple! LOL. anyway, this ROM is now really light and fast! Like the way I want it!

Here is some SS. Device memory usage is only 86mb (with nothing but Antutu installed)
yup RAM usage on mine is around 86-88MB too with TouchWiz removed and replaced with ZeamLauncher.

but can't get anywhere near 4000+ on Antutu, only getting 3860 scores.

tested using both sdcard (microSD) and externalSD (internal mem) because of the swapping of int/ext media.

getting read speeds close to 17MB/s and write speeds 10MB/s on my Class 10 MicroSD.

there must be some other bottleneck that's preventing me from reaching 4K Antutu scores... hmm.gif

maybe i should change the cluster size on microSD FAT32 filesystem...

Added on January 15, 2012, 7:05 am
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 14 2012, 11:38 PM)
i swap the internal / external sd card. so now, /sdcard is my 32gb external sd card. it's class 10... even faster than internal sd card tongue.gif

SS list of running services after boot: To check, click "Setting", "Applications", "Running services"
i don't use Samsung TaskManager, it stays in the RAM and uses resources. I prefer use other task manager that i can quit entirely or sometimes i dont bother with any task managers at all.

Warning : removing the TaskManager is possible, but it will cause FC when you long-press the home button and click on "Task Manager". otherwise no issues at all if you don't touch that "Task Manager" button.

Added on January 15, 2012, 7:13 amwow... i need to sleep.........

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 15 2012, 07:13 AM
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 11:22 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 15 2012, 10:30 AM)
anyone here know how to change go locker default theme?
mine always changed the theme to default after reboot
go locker is buggy. a lot of issues...
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 11:43 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 15 2012, 11:23 AM)
what locker nice?  unsure.gif
i just use default from samsung only... simple and works 100%

go locker sometimes 'accidentally' unlocks even if you put a password to secure it... doh.gif
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 01:46 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 15 2012, 01:02 PM)
just upgraded to 2.3.6 .. new lock screen .. new alarm alert.. that all that i notice... nothing much ,,,

Added on January 15, 2012, 1:04 pm

SGW speaker really not loud .. dont know why .. if u far away and someone calling u .. sometimes cant hear anything.. so slow .. huhu!!~
seriously, W's speakers are not that bad... can be loud...

use louder ringtone as music la...

choose some 320kbps mp3 and just cut the louder parts out.

(it might sound weird and illogical, but i do notice higher bitrate mp3 files are somewhat louder)

you also can increase the dB gain of the mp3 file, it will be loud but a bit crackly due to clipping.

Added on January 15, 2012, 1:53 pm
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 14 2012, 11:53 PM)
need to wait for approval from Go developers and Zeam Launcher... otherwise, can release already...

OK, nitez guys... wanna get some sleep. been having lotsa fun modding ROM...
for your ROMs next iteration, you might want to try to recompress the all the APKs with 0 compression so that the processor does not waste cycles when launching APKs by decompressing on the fly, squeeze a little bit more performance out of it...

* there are some other folks out there who also recompress PNG image files within APK files using OptiPNG but that is done for the purpose of reduce overall ROM size. it might cause color banding on images if done improperly.

i wish i had the time to cook a ROM myself, but you are already doing a great job... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 15 2012, 01:53 PM
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 02:03 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Jan 15 2012, 01:58 PM)
anyone tried to root by recovery mode..any luck?
you mean rooting through RZ Recovery and its new set of utilities update ? nop... haven't tried that yet...
jananan
post Jan 15 2012, 02:31 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 15 2012, 02:05 PM)

Wow! Using 0 compression will help? It will surely increase the size, but will it load faster??? Hmm.. guess it's interesting to test. Thanks for the tips!

This is first time I try to mod a ROM...  sweat.gif any advise will be helpful...
APK files are basically zip files containing the resources needed for each app. when you launch an app it will open the APK file and decompress on-the-fly-in-the-RAM to execute the app.

using 0 compression means less effort for the processor and less RAM usage when launching apps.

of course the final RAM usage of the app itself when its running does not change.

in other words, apps load faster AND some tasks running in the background like music playing wont skip a beat when launching apps because the processor usage wont spike when decompressing > overall smoother experience when multitasking esp. on single core devices like ours. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

* the bigger the app size the more noticeable the effect.

the downside, like you pointed out > will slightly increase APK file sizes. sweat.gif
jananan
post Jan 18 2012, 10:57 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(nuoxer @ Jan 18 2012, 10:22 PM)
hotter = fast android
hotter = heat generate from cpu

hahaha...just joking around. if OC to 1.8 then can support ICS rite?
ics runs fine even on slower processor g think. it was never an issue. main constrain is the partition size of the w and the 512mb ram...
jananan
post Jan 18 2012, 11:02 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 18 2012, 07:37 PM)
Successfully OC to 1.8ghz biggrin.gif But still no word from Zeam Launcher... think I should release the one with TouchWiz?
wow... congrats....

i wonder how low it can go with undervolting kernel...

anyway 1.8ghz does seem a bit overkill for this phone...

Added on January 18, 2012, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 18 2012, 10:59 PM)
Jus hope Samsung will release an update to fix the Ram issue soon.  vmad.gif
the ram is fixed, can't change it... unless you want to desolder the ram from the SoC....

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 18 2012, 11:06 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0559sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:56 PM