QUOTE(wyh @ Dec 24 2011, 12:06 PM)
its being worked on as we speak... but its christmas... so look forward for more news after the holidays...SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page
SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page
Dec 24 2011, 12:39 PM
1,513 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
Dec 24 2011, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Dec 24 2011, 12:42 PM) that version of snake873 ROM still has some issues. several people had trouble booting after flashing the ROM.it is based on EU version 2.3.6 ROM and it does not have much features at the moment. for now the best option would be to just root it first and wait for a better custom ROM, preferably based off ICS. |
Dec 25 2011, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(HOT-rod @ Dec 25 2011, 02:45 PM) hi. i just bought one samsung galaxy w last week. it's a great phone but it seems to have problem receiving mms and i dont know why. need some help please.. merry christmas to all press power button like 5 seconds > menu will appear > choose data modeyour MMS will come in unless it has expired... Added on December 25, 2011, 2:53 pm QUOTE(Dannyl @ Dec 25 2011, 03:28 AM) 1. Phone charge till 99% only 1. Phone charge till 99% only - the last few percent takes longer, it will charge up to 100% if you stop playing with it while its charging.2. Phone calls cannot hear the other side 3. Receive SMS vibrate non-stop Depending on ur luck, u may experience none, one, or all of the above. 2. Phone calls cannot hear the other side - software bug - just decrease volume and increase it again while in call - but i dont have this bug on my W 3. Receive SMS vibrate non-stop - i have never encountered this, neither have some of my friends who are using W This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2011, 02:53 PM |
Dec 26 2011, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(TongCN @ Dec 26 2011, 06:37 AM) Weird, put it overnight charged. It shows that 100% fully charged. its just battery calibration issue. Then I went and checked the battery status after unplug it, it showed 99% Why like this, ugh .. after you use it sometime it will get more accurate, esp if you do full discharge and full recharge few times. make sure you dont go play with it when its charging. |
Dec 26 2011, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(zaku90 @ Dec 26 2011, 11:27 AM) i LOL at your statement when reading... seriously, my keyboard never crashed.... not even once....Added on December 26, 2011, 11:33 amback to the phone problem~~ this is what i had faced.. 1. Phone calls cannot hear the other side - but like other say, can just lower the volume and rise it back.. 2. Receive SMS vibrate non-stop - just faced it last week, 2 time... need to reboot the phone back 3. and this 1 i think i'm the one facing it, LOL... force closed keypad while sms or whatsapp » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Dec 26 2011, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(zaku90 @ Dec 26 2011, 12:29 PM) i know that, i am so special always crash, LOL... last time already ask, but everyone never faced this problem.. did you install any 3rd party programs that conflicts ?hoping that custom rom will make it better... did you root and delete/change something ? does it crash randomly / all the time ? try disabling all animations, install 'spare parts' and disable 'fancy input animations' Added on December 26, 2011, 2:18 pm QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Dec 26 2011, 01:48 PM) Some apps do run on background and some apps like trying to get updates. So it will use the rams although you kill it multiple times.one way is you can uninstall unused apps our you can freeze it using tb many widgets eat up memory. even widgets that are only shortcuts to apps use memory. widgets are full/partial apps that run in the background.use shortcuts instead, shortcuts do not consume memory as it is only a link to the app. another culprit is live wallpaper - use only static wallpaper. don't run any apps that create background services that run unnecessarily all the time. i am not using TwLauncher (Samsung TouchWiz), using 3rd party lightweight launcher. install a lightweight 3rd party task manager that allows you to list all apps and services (including hidden) and sort apps according to memory usage. make sure your task manager is not the type that stays in memory, get one that has a quit/exit button. on fresh boot i always have like 200-220MB free - but of course i have done more tweaks as well and removed loads of rubbish. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 26 2011, 02:24 PM |
Dec 26 2011, 02:47 PM
if the screenshot software is not running, i have about 230MB free RAM on boot.
Added on December 26, 2011, 2:52 pmonce we get our hands on a custom ROM that is fully deodexed i am sure we can squeeze more RAM out of it... This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 26 2011, 02:52 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 27 2011, 11:36 AM
Dec 28 2011, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Lightsaber @ Dec 27 2011, 05:22 PM) for its price its an amazing piece of HW.no regrets... Added on December 28, 2011, 10:36 am QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 27 2011, 05:53 PM) no problems with my usb... works 100% perfectly all the time... Added on December 28, 2011, 10:37 am QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Dec 27 2011, 08:04 PM) Quite dissapointed with the battery life when using 3g and the 3 layer memory..memory full after installing 5 gameloft games..my galaxy tab was better you can't compare your SGW to Galaxy Tab... these are 2 different devices altogether...This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 10:37 AM |
Dec 28 2011, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(zaku90 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:10 PM) i forgot one big thing i faced~~ did anybody in here notice that when u record a HD video, 1280x720, i record for about 6 minute, but the size is huge~~~ 565Mb try looking at a friend's Galaxy S2 video file size at 1080p, then you'll appreciate your 'smaller' files from SGW@720pmy Chuck series for 1 episode only 349Mb.... why my recording is sooooo huge why videos recorded from camera is larger in size than encoded movies ? because when recording there is not enough processing power to compress the files optimally. if you recompress the videos recorded from your camera on your PC again using other 3rd party sw you will get smaller sized files, similar in size to (legal) movies that you download. |
Dec 28 2011, 11:03 AM
Dec 28 2011, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(kopiPeng @ Dec 28 2011, 10:56 AM) Anyone can introduce me a good and cheap car phone charger? any cigarette lighter socket charger that has usb port will do. just use your samsung microUSB cable or any other standard microUSB cable to charge. Can tell me where can I get it? Or any thread/seller selling it? Hope you can share with me. Need it badly..>< one model that i particularly like is the Belkin 1A (1000mA) charger. it should charge your phone a tad bit faster than your Samsung original charger that charges at a slow 700mA. don't worry it wont damage your phone or your battery. http://www.lelong.com.my/sales-belkin-micr...7-01-Sale-I.htm (this is only a sample thread, the seller is not me or affliated to me) i have seen other places sell even cheaper. but i have a feeling there are a lot of fake ones in the market. do use caution when you purchase super cheap ones. |
Dec 28 2011, 11:18 AM
or you guys could get this baby that charges at 2.1A (2100mA) 5V. it could probably charge a flat battery on a Samsung Galaxy W / S2 / S-Plus to 100% in less than 45 minutes.
it does come with cables for charging iPad. you could probably give the cables away to your iDevices toting friends. ![]() http://www.lelong.com.my/belkin-auto-charg...7-01-Sale-I.htm again, this seller is not affliated to me. the current original Samsung charger charges painfully slow... Added on December 28, 2011, 11:20 am QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 11:15 AM) that's why I reject to buy at shop now. most phones can't utilize class 10 memory cards. class 10 cards has fast continous reading/writing speed. shop now mark up sd card v high. the 1st avenue SEP wan sell me class 4 16GB at RM160. siao. == i buy online from lelong, class 10 16GB only RM93 include post laju . ~ most of read/writes from phones are random read/writes. only can feel the speed of the class 10 when connecting your memory card to PC and using as mass storage. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 11:20 AM |
Dec 28 2011, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 12:03 PM) Cow, anyway to recompress our mp4 record at 720p in smaller size but still good-looking quality? lolz the popular and free Handbrakeany "software" to recommend? (phone or PC also can) XD http://handbrake.fr/downloads.php and my name is not Cow... Added on December 28, 2011, 12:15 pmgood-looking MP4 =/= smaller size try using lower bitrate for video and audio and VBR settings to bring down the file size when re-encoding the resultant file size also depends on the amount of noise in the video, motion in the video and changing scenes. even amount of variations in color can cause a lot of difference in result file size. also check if there is 2 audio tracks in the video, no point having 2 redundant tracks since our SGW only records in mono using 1 mic. you cant have the best of both worlds... unless they develop a new super codec that can further improve current compression techniques. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 12:15 PM |
Dec 28 2011, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 12:22 PM) I didn't ask you la bro. continuous auto focus results in sharper frames being encoded into the video. I was asking cow, which is "Cowithgun" the pro in this thread, if you knew. lolz. anyway, jananan, thanks for the reply. Hope it helps on other who have low storage memory problem. I don't really record so much, somemore our SGW 720p don't have continous focus, too bad. wonder if it have, will it be larger storage size? haha. sharper frames do require more space to store the extra details it is capturing, hence the answer to your question is yes. continuous autofocus will produce slightly larger files than out of focus videos. but the main impact on filesize is from the bitrate of the video and audio is being recorded. you can have a high bitrate 720p video that is much larger in size compared to a low bitrate 1080p video file. so at the end of the day, bitrate is the key in adjusting quality / file size for video files. Added on December 28, 2011, 12:55 pm QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Dec 28 2011, 12:43 PM) ICS still WIP. you guys need to be patient. in the meantime you can see the kernel being worked here by arco68 who is porting CM9 for us. (ancora is the codename for SGW) https://github.com/arco/samsung-kernel-ancora/tree/ics you can see some updates last pushed on the 21st December, its still Christmas / NY 2012 mood people. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 12:55 PM |
Dec 28 2011, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 01:30 PM) ya. thanks for everything. continous autofocus is entirely software. any camera that has focusing capability can implement continuous autofocus as well. so our SGW do not have continous focus is due to software or hardware? if software, then possible update or in CM7 or CM9 might can include continous focus? that would be great. ;D but you wont be able to stand the noise that gets recorded in the video when the autofocus moves continuously. unless its a digicam/SLR with one of those ultrasonic motors. Added on December 28, 2011, 1:54 pm QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 28 2011, 01:19 PM) I don't think so. It's not to say sharper frame but is the main object is OOF but the other parts of the frame is in focus. When it comes to fixed focus in movie, it means a certain range at a certain length from the camera is in focus while continuous AF refocus to the object we wanted the camera to focus on. At this point of time, only the object is in focus. Btw, I believe the fixed focus during movie has a deeper DOF, which causes more things in focus. I really don't think your statement is valid. Anyway, this need to be experimented. Anyone can find a phone with almost similar bitrate to W that can record 720p and do Continuous AF then carry out the experiment. Sounds fun though hmmm... but then the SGW camera is not fixed focus. fixed focus as in Nokia's EDOF cameras have a deeper DOF and create larger files when recording videos.with Samsung SGW and S2, the camera just focuses on a certain distance when the video recording begins and stays that way and the DOF is not that great to begin with. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 01:54 PM |
Dec 28 2011, 03:09 PM
Dec 28 2011, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 28 2011, 03:19 PM) How about Window's WMV file? It's incredible small even for 720p movie. I always convert to WMV first before uploading to Youtube. Samsung was generous with Galaxy W, they included a lot of codecs. To convert to WMV, just download and use Microsoft Essential's Movie Maker, it's free. Good thing is, SGW can play WMV file natively without anything extra. if i am not mistaken, even FLAC support is there in the default music player Added on December 28, 2011, 3:55 pm QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 28 2011, 03:23 PM) it is compatible for our processor and GPU, since it's playable on HTC snapdragon and same adreno 205 GPU. i think you need to change the build.prop of your phone temporaily so these games think you have HTC phone ?somehow I install it said uncompatible. I guess not yet release for samsung phone? even GTA such big games can play, or those brother in arms 2(1gb), golf 3 (1gb) and modem combat 3 also can. backstab also same 1gb nia. should be ok. >< icic. was thinking about recording parts. hope next update gave us the continous focus for the camera? it would be great. i am not a gamer so i am not an expert on these things anyway... This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 03:55 PM |
Dec 28 2011, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(GTH @ Dec 28 2011, 04:04 PM) the answer is.... not yet... work in progress...good news, already rootable... and custom kernel is being developed as we speak, so custom scheduler, OC and maybe undervolting is on its way too.. This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2011, 04:26 PM |
Dec 28 2011, 05:05 PM
my hands are itchy for Samsung S2 Skyrocket ~~
the curves its got are sexier than the regular S2... |