4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page

emkay
post Jan 7 2012, 11:17 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(azrieqb @ Jan 7 2012, 11:00 AM)
Hello guys ! How long until u receive the ewarrany sms? Bought the SGW for 1 weeks edy but still no sms. Is it normal, or i got con? LOL. Thanks in advance.
I bought on 28 dec. got confirmation frm samsung yesterday.

emkay
post Jan 7 2012, 11:55 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 7 2012, 09:37 PM)
that shop nearest liao...
petrol expensive cannot go far  blush.gif
When I bought it @ loyat ( 28 dec) the price is rm920 but black color out of stock. The only black left is a demo unit.

emkay
post Jan 8 2012, 11:09 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 8 2012, 10:01 AM)
I was transferring files into my sd card via MTP connection (I had debugging off) and there wasn't enough space inside my card. But there was no error msg or anything. On my phn, it say "synchronizing" and on my pc it shows it is still transferring, no error msg. I was wondering what is the problem.

Then, I switched to debugging mode, and immediately it say no enough space, before any files are copied. A few questions:

1) My phn has got some bug problems?
2) Should we always use debugging mode or MTP?
3) Is there a way to transfer files via wifi instead of usb cable?

Many thanks.

If yours not unrooted, there is Kies Air for transfering via wifi

emkay
post Jan 8 2012, 11:10 PM

420 posts

Without enabling data enable, gps lock take very long time. But with data enable, took only few second. I'm using sygic (paid version). Sygic got TTS (text-to-speech) navigation ( kinda funny and confusing too when it tried to say malaysian street name)
emkay
post Jan 9 2012, 08:31 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Setsuna95 @ Jan 9 2012, 06:09 PM)
Can anyone teach me how to use gpsfix? Getting bored waiting for gps to lock. Is too slow...
No nid to use gpsfix. just turn on data enable. it will assist gps (A-GPS). But u got to have dataplan. if not the chsrges will be higher
emkay
post Jan 10 2012, 09:22 PM

420 posts

Off topic a lil' bit. I heard in the future there is no more Sony ericsson phone any longer in the market. there will be only sony phone.
emkay
post Jan 12 2012, 11:11 PM

420 posts

I set my phone to automatically update the software (firmware). Why it doesn't get automatically updated. Have to do it manually. Very funnyuser posted image

This post has been edited by emkay: Jan 12 2012, 11:35 PM
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 06:40 AM

420 posts

With 2.3.5 my W was laggy compare to my last SE x10i (2.3.4). Now after upgrade to stock 2.3.6, I'm happy with the performance. The lock screen animation a lil' bit jerky (cartoonish). Mebbe on coz the W is faster than older gen galaxy. I think the lock screen is smoother on slower galaxies.
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 06:52 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 13 2012, 01:22 AM)
mine is class 4 .. 16gb
About this sd memory classes, I found that my 16GB class 2 kingston is a little bit faster than my 16GB class 4 transend sd card. Is there a way to test the genuinity of the sd cards?
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 11:02 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(dcon @ Jan 13 2012, 10:54 AM)
I'm  using my SGW accessing internet via WIFI and data plan.
Anyone know any application I can use to keep track of data usage separated from WIFI and operator data plan?

Use Onavo. very detail data monitoring app. BTW, Does anyone know how to transfer to movable apps to extetnal sd? Using Apps2sd only move the apps to internal usb.
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 11:20 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:06 AM)
Apps2sd actually move the apps to external sd.
It is the confusing part on Samsung 3 layer memory.

But if you look at bottom of Apps2sd, it saying that total is only 1.7GB (which is the size of internal usb/sd). Now I'm oso confused rclxub.gif

emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 11:30 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:23 AM)
Yes, that's your internal storage.
Are you installing lot of gameloft games or gps apps?
The data eat up a lot of space. Try to remove them.
I don't have any game installed. My external sd is 16GB. The biggest app that I have is dolphine. Izzit becoz I use free App2sd?
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 03:14 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 12 2012, 08:36 PM)
I am proud to present to you a new cROM based on Malaysian 2.3.6 with the following features:

1. Rooted
2. Busybox
3. Deodexed
4. The following bloatware removed:
- GameHub, Maps, MusicHub, PhoneSky, SamsungApp, SocialHub, VoiceSearch
- You may still download it from Market
5. Mount point swap for internal / external sd
6. Better memory management (tweaked Task killer)

Everything else remain the same! Here is some screen shots:

New GUI in 2.3.6:

Build:

Swap internal / external:

Only 2 pages of App after removal of bloatware:

Like it? Here is how to install:

1. Root your phone with DooMLoRD's Easy Rooting Toolkit:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1321582

2. Enable recovery:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1376196

3. Download which ROM you like (if you cannot access Megaupload, set your DNS to 8.8.8.8):
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5ZUOBOE0 (Plain)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=GFZ3IWG5 (ICS Theme) Removed due to instability.

4. Put the zip into Internal SD

5. Boot into RZRecovery, backup your current ROM using nandroid (just in case) then, use Install menu to install it.

Requests are welcome biggrin.gif

Disclaimer: I am not responsible if you brick your phone biggrin.gif I tried it, it work on my phone and a few others.
Seems that rooted phone doesn't have 2nd layer (internal usb storage) listed hmm.gif

This post has been edited by emkay: Jan 13 2012, 03:19 PM
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 03:41 PM

420 posts

Just tested video call wif my wifey SE K810i. it works.
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 04:43 PM

420 posts

On previous stock rom and the latest stock rom 2.3.6, mine doesn't bloated ware (phonesky). why does it different than you guys? not that I want the bloated wares, just curious.
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 04:47 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 13 2012, 04:44 PM)
Sorry but I can't understand.
"doesn't bloated ware (phonesky)" what is the meaning??
Oops sorry my bad. does stock rom have phonesky? some one did mentioned that stock rom have those bloated wares like phonesky, social hub etc.
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 06:39 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 13 2012, 06:35 PM)
wow.. ur proc more than 1.4ghz ..  rclxms.gif
Unrooted phone oso hv same proc speed @ 1401MHz.

Added on January 13, 2012, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 13 2012, 06:38 PM)
my sd card bran is DNA... i heard its not so good but it's really hard to get 32gb class 10 biggrin.gif

Added on January 13, 2012, 6:38 pm

the new 2.3.6 has Phonesky.apk in the ROM. i don't know what it's for, but i removed that from my cROM. smile.gif
Mebbe my stock ROM 2.3.6 oso hv the phonesky, it just wasn't get installed. it's fine by me. less bloated wares smile.gif

This post has been edited by emkay: Jan 13 2012, 06:44 PM
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 09:19 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(wymencmw @ Jan 13 2012, 08:56 PM)
new user here. happy with the phone for its smoothness... got some issues here. application force closed and SD card removed unexpectedly.. are these common?
Congrat on your new W, could u care to elobrate which apps that fc? have u update to 2.3.6?
emkay
post Jan 13 2012, 10:54 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Zero-Enna @ Jan 13 2012, 10:22 PM)
i'm hesitating to update though. isnt 2.3.6 has some kind of wifi problem? and few pages before mention about unable to root 2.3.6
I updated to stock 236 yesterday. No problem with wifi or data enabled. Everything is faster and smoother than 235. I installed GO Launcher EX ( a very nice launcher thumbup.gif ) and it still run smoothly. No FC on apps. Previously on 235, dolphin hd browser hang twice ( cant do anything even to switch the phone off) and I have to take out the battery.
emkay
post Jan 14 2012, 12:16 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Jan 14 2012, 12:06 AM)
i think the updates is more to background rather than upfront...
if u get what i mean...

luckily i got no problem like iwan as i got 75 games excluding apps...
even so i always reboot my phone coz always switch sim card between celcom and umobile...
now i wish this phone got dual sim slot...
Sony ericsson oso recommended their user to restart the phone everyday nod.gif ? Darkz, why u nid to switch sim card? For internet usage izzit?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0565sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:04 PM