hi all the sifus,
i want to convert my current 3ft tank to shrimp tank
want to start with some fire red or red cherry biggrin.gif
currently have a few guppy, neon tetra, and amano shrimp in it
the LFS in my area recommend me H.E.L.P. Advanced Soil for Shrimp
Any comment about the soil?
http://www.jpc-co.jp/help/english/soil/
I read that ADA new amazonia will release ammonia hmm.gif

might need 3 bags as i want to create a slop, 4-5cm at the back, 2-3cm at the front

I guess i need to rescape the whole tank and recycle everything before it's shrimp safe, right?

Thanks in advance for all the inputs!

Found a link regarding the soil
http://www.aquaticquotient.com/forum/showt...2510#post582510

looks good hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ivan92: Apr 9 2013, 03:38 AM
ivan92
post Apr 9 2013, 05:09 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 9 2013, 08:55 AM)
H.E.L.P. Advanced Soil for Shrimp , for me no good.
go get Benibachi shrimp soil 9kg rm128 @ http://www.facebook.com/MyAquariumShop?fly...ster=ts&fref=ts

but if you only intend to keep Neocaridina type shrimps and not CRS, actually shrimp soil is not needed, sand or gravel will do.
The major benefit of shrimp soil is to buffer the PH at lower range for those CRS type shrimps that prefer soft acidic water.
Neocaridina type shrimps like fire red/cherry can survive in wide range of ph level, soft/hardwater.
Just that a well cycled tank is always needed and the first upmost requirement of any shrimp tank.
I see.

Too bad I'm too far from the shop you listed above. sad.gif
I'm in Sabah. Shipping would costs a bomb.

So I can just get sand from hardware shop/soil for planting and clean it then pour into my current tank, correct?
Any types of small gravel from LFS is good enough already, yes? How about the gravel that used in landscaping?

I want to start with Neocaridina as they are more hardy biggrin.gif
Then might move to CRS once I gained more experiences on keeping shrimps. Wouldn't want to have massacre on expensive shrimps laugh.gif
The 5 essential food/supplement for basic shrimp keeper that you're selling, do I need it for my setup?

Bought a few amano to test my tank after I removed all the fishes into another tank to. No casualties on the new amano, I guess the tank is fully cycled and should ok for Neocaridina shrimps, will keep them until putting the sands/gravel, then only throw them into the community tank.

I didn't test the water as I don't have any freshwater test kit. I guess I should get a API Freshwater Test Kit. smile.gif

Any comment on the Fluval Ebi 30L Shrimp Tank Kit? It looks quite nice in my area's LFS with heavily planted setup. The price is quite high IMO.

This post has been edited by ivan92: Apr 10 2013, 12:34 AM
ivan92
post Apr 10 2013, 02:52 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 10 2013, 01:42 AM)
Fluval Ebi 30L Shrimp Tank Kit? i using that for almost 2 year now, not bad, just that need to cycle the tank thoroughly as the fluval stratum soil will leech quite alot of ammonia although still alot lesser then ADA soil. KL selling this tank set for around rm340-370.

sand/gravel , get those that won't alter the water PH, refer here http://freshaquarium.about.com/od/termsand...outdoorrock.htm

You only use those food/supplement after your shrimps settle in.
I see. LFS here selling at 388.
Maybe will get the Fluval Tank in the future after become more experienced.
Thanks for the info on gravel/sand. Will go to look around at hardware store/garden supply shops for the sand/soil.
Hopefully can get the tank fully converted by the end of the month. biggrin.gif

ivan92
post Jun 11 2013, 09:04 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Jun 11 2013, 08:25 PM)
ANyone can advise on moving shrimps n soil?
just transfer shrimp into empty container, then transfer soil and water into new tank, then put shrimp into new tank

provided that you reuse the water from the old tank, i dont think there will be any problem hmm.gif
ivan92
post Jun 11 2013, 09:33 PM

398 posts

My LFS is selling Fluval EBI Nano Shrimp tank at RM300, tempted to get it and transfer all my shrimp into it. biggrin.gif
Currently using a free 3ft old tank with river sand for shrimp keeping. Feel like divide it into half to keep betta and other small size fish.

Saw it at other LFS selling at 350-4xx
Is it a good buy? hmm.gif
ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 01:53 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jun 12 2013, 12:17 AM)
I bought this Fluval Ebi Tank 1year++ ago at rm370. Before you transfer your shrimps , make sure you cycled the fluval stratum soil that come with tank first if you intend to use the soil.
The internal filter is almost useless , will suck in shrimplets. I like the Light set and the shrimps net though. The thermometer is useless as well.
I see. Thanks for the advice biggrin.gif
Previously saw it at the same LFS selling at 388, now new unit 300. Luckily didn't bought it that time.

The soil is quite thin, you just use the one came with the tank, didnt add additional soil?

Will cycle it, does test kit really needed? Or I can just put a few yamato/cap ayam shrimp after 2 weeks to see whether it's done? hmm.gif
So now you're using what filter for the Fluval Ebi Tank?
And I read some complaints regarding the light came with the tank, yours got any issues? hmm.gif
Now I'm using Boyu's digital thermometer.

This post has been edited by ivan92: Jun 12 2013, 02:02 AM
ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 11:27 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(cookietiau @ Jun 12 2013, 09:59 AM)
Hello Guys..

I know im stupid and lazy..

But may i know roughly the cost of starting up this hobby..? I really like to start an aquascape hobby and looking at this shrimp as a very good addition.

Can anybody that is kind enough to let me know and perhaps list the equipment needed?

I have seen this kind of shrimp in Midvalley. But the guys is cold as somebody's ex wife.. So i cant really get a good resource.

Perhap a good shop that selling the equipment with a good price and friendly assistance will be a good resource to start..

Thanks in advance.. tongue.gif

P/S: Im thinking of becoming a breeder..
I think you can start from Neocaridina type like red cherry or fire red biggrin.gif
http://www.planetinverts.com/
this site provide quite complete information for new starter thumbup.gif
also can refer to arrow to get info and shrimps biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ivan92: Jun 12 2013, 11:28 AM
ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 11:29 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jun 12 2013, 10:23 AM)
yes. They only give 2l soil. So tuck was around 2cm. I didn't add any more soil as I keep neocaridina type only so buffering is not much a problem. The light set seem ok just that the on/off switch bait hard to press and I not sure whether we can change the lightbulb. My tank background fake stone board came out due to glue giveway. Now floating like a iceberg in the tank hahahaha.
I see.
I think I gonna take away the background to give more space to the shrimp.
But saw some people use it to create moss wall.
Any updated pictures for your Ebi tank? laugh.gif
Mind to share it?
ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 06:05 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(cookietiau @ Jun 12 2013, 11:34 AM)
Hahaha.. Okay.. Thanks.. i will start studying on this subject..

Any idea about the cost?
depends on how you want to start
The Fluval Ebi tank set costs about 3xx.
If you buy normal glass tank from LFS, price vary depending on the size.
normally from 20-100 depending the size and thickness of the glass
then filter, airpump, anti chlorine, shrimp food, got cheap one and expensive one
gravel/sand(optional), ceramic tube(optional), decoration(optional), driftwood(optional), plants, etc is up to your preferences
the the shrimp, red cherry costs about 1 each, fire red costs about 5-7 each depending on the shops, here got a few breeders also selling it

ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 06:06 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(bumpo @ Jun 12 2013, 05:48 PM)
anyone had success keeping these shrimps for long period without cooler/chiller in typical m'sia weather?
in my condo (no direct sunlight) the water temp is 28-29 degrees
mine is lowest 29 degree, highest 31 degree, no direct sunlight
all still alive biggrin.gif
ivan92
post Jun 12 2013, 06:28 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(bumpo @ Jun 12 2013, 06:21 PM)
how long have they been surviving?
i've tried before but last about 5mth only before "expiring"  sad.gif
during this period they are not very active at all.. like unlike at the lfs where they are constantly scampering around nibbling on something.
i only see mine do that when its cooler, i.e. rainy nights when the temp dips to 26-27. back then when i check water param it is all a-ok, only temp isn't optimal and i worry that might have contributed to their early demise
i started with 10 fire red, then 6 died, left 4 only. since april until today
then i bought 40 red cherry from breeder here, all are quite small, cant really see them as they are good at hiding.
all are quite active scampering around the tank and digging the sands
they even created a big slope near the end of the tank
ivan92
post Jun 13 2013, 12:28 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jun 12 2013, 11:56 PM)
The background actually look like real and I quite like it. It just save you 2cm space but up to you to remove it. I'm using eheim hob.
Attached is the current outlook of the tank with the background floating. I left it there until I decide what to do with it as my shrimp like playing slope climbing on it.smile.gif .
I put the tank on the floor for 3 mths.
Someone here ask whether shrimps ok with no fans at normal room temperature. This tank is without fan after I relocate it. Inside neocaridina plamata is breeding. Have orange rabbit snail and 3 Boraras brigittae in there too. Temp vary 27~31'c. Water change once a mths.
Looks great. Maybe I need to put more silicone to make the background firmly stick on the back.
Then use it to create a moss wall. LFS told me that the light came with this tank won't promote algae growth, true? hmm.gif
Saving money now. Hopefully can get the tank by August biggrin.gif

Anyway, lava rock is safe in shrimp tank? hmm.gif
ivan92
post Jun 13 2013, 01:43 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jun 13 2013, 12:56 AM)
This light set is 11w and quite bright when new, Your LFS is lying, algae will growth if you not careful , i have only brown/green dust algae on
the glass which are normal though. I only scrape the front glass of those brown/green algae as shrimplets feed on them.
I see. I knew it!!
Algae = natural food for shrimp, so I won't mind that biggrin.gif
Anyway you mentioned anti-chlorine, now i'm using those rm1.50/bottle anti-chlorine. Shrimps are quite ok. sweat.gif
What anti-chlorine you would recommend? Fluval or API? The Fluval one came with the tank is quite small. hmm.gif
Gonna use better anti-chlorine for the ebi tank laugh.gif
ivan92
post Jun 13 2013, 01:58 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jun 13 2013, 01:51 AM)
that mean your tap water is quite ok not filled with bad stuff.
seachem prime is the best, nutrafin by fluval aslo ok.
i see, i didn't see seachem prime in the LFS, maybe will go to other shops to look for it

i only saw this one in LFS, should be ok since it's bundle with the tank? hmm.gif

mind to share what anti-chlorine you're using now? hmm.gif
ivan92
post Jul 16 2013, 07:16 PM

398 posts

guys, what type of filter are you all using?

wanted to put the one came with fluval ebi tank in my upcoming betta tank

easy aqua mini canister filter looks good, will 500L/H be too strong for fluval ebi tank (30L)? hmm.gif
price is about rm20 more than the fluval C3 HOB in my LFS hmm.gif

or i should get a curved 1.5 ft normal tank plus all the accessories instead of fluval ebi tank for shrimp tank? hmm.gif
want to move my shrimps from 3ft tank to a smaller tank because i cant see them except during their makan time rclxub.gif

ivan92
post Jul 17 2013, 12:07 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 16 2013, 10:26 PM)
Get the easy aqua mini canister , i using a similiar one on my 25L tank.
The ebi fluval tank i using Eheim HOB.
3ft tank , let the shrimps breed more then you can see more of them.
hmm, any comment on astro canister filter?
it's priced at RM100+- like the easy aqua hmm.gif
only difference is easy aqua can hang on the side of the tank while astro cant

because i'm moving out by the end of this year
so i would like to sell off the 3ft tank and move all the shrimps into a smaller tank like fluval ebi as the new place doesn't have much room for a 3ft tank sad.gif

anyway i got 2 fire red died a few days ago, so far only my fire red keep dying
red cherry, rili, oto all are all right
bad batches fire red i guess sad.gif
ivan92
post Aug 18 2013, 10:01 PM

398 posts

new tank in coming icon_idea.gif brows.gif brows.gif
moving all my shrimps from 3 ft tank to this laugh.gif

now still waiting the silicon for the background to cure

anyway, driftwood from nursery can be use in shrimp tank?
or must use the one from fish shop

saw a few one quite nice in the fish shop but pricing shakehead.gif
ivan92
post Sep 11 2013, 12:56 AM

398 posts

just sharing my tank smile.gif

initial setup stage

mostly are red cherry, 2 fire red, and 1 rili shrimp

algae started to grow around the shrimp tube and the glass
natural food for them
now only feed them once every 2 days biggrin.gif
ivan92
post Sep 11 2013, 02:11 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Sep 11 2013, 02:06 AM)
You scare me with the internal hagen filter in first picture, glad you remove it , it suck in shrimplets.
Using Easy Aqua EX500 , look nice.
You really like clay decor.
Add more shrimps if can , shrimps are social creatures, they need to be in mass group to stay happy happy.
Your shrimps food gonna arrive tomorrow if no delay. Don't overfeed, feed one type per day , one time enough.
i use the internal filter to clear the dirt and store carbon in it
after 3 days then i use EX500 only
now shifted it to soon-to-be betta tank smile.gif

now i got about 30++ shrimps + countless shrimplets
mostly red cherry, fire red left the strongest 2 as the other 8 long gone already, rili left 1 the strongest laugh.gif
clay decor looks nicer than plastic decor IMHO laugh.gif

all right, maybe i shall get some fire red supply from you as well brows.gif
ivan92
post Sep 12 2013, 10:53 PM

398 posts

aarow my shrimps really like your food thumbup.gif
all keep fighting to get the food laugh.gif

0.0549sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled