Australian Wii console, regional lock issue

TSshairein
post Dec 20 2011, 10:15 PM, updated 14y ago

Hey guys,

I need some help here. I recently bought a Wii console in Australia and will be heading back to Malaysia soon. But I just realised that there's gonna be an issue with my Wii console being locked to certain regions etc etc.

Is there a way tht I can maybe "jailbreak" it or have it modified or it's just hopeless?

Techies out there!! Please help me!!! Any sort of advice or suggestion would be very much appreciated!
Thanks~
Kyoyagami
post Dec 21 2011, 09:31 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

You can. But i think my Wii Faq would've showed you the cons of the modifying.
fastreader
post Dec 22 2011, 10:37 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(shairein @ Dec 20 2011, 10:15 PM)
Hey guys,

I need some help here. I recently bought a Wii console in Australia and will be heading back to Malaysia soon. But I just realised that there's gonna be an issue with my Wii console being locked to certain regions etc etc.

Is there a way tht I can maybe "jailbreak" it or have it modified or it's just hopeless?

Techies out there!! Please help me!!! Any sort of advice or suggestion would be very much appreciated!
Thanks~
locked to what region?...i brought one home from australia and no problem pun..
yangkuo
post Dec 23 2011, 02:15 PM

90 posts

where did you buy the original games from? if the Wii games are for Australia/UK (PAL region) ... of course you don't a problem playing it.

well, i am assuming the machine itself u bought is for AUS/PAL region. you could have bought a US Wii machine in Australia too... and those plays US region games (which is the more common region of original Wii games used/sold locally)

another possibility is .... the machine has been ... (please refer to Kyo's FAQ on modding)

QUOTE(fastreader @ Dec 22 2011, 10:37 PM)
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Dec 23 2011, 02:16 PM
TSshairein
post Dec 26 2011, 08:10 PM

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 21 2011, 09:31 AM)
You can. But i think my Wii Faq would've showed you the cons of the modifying.
lol to be honest your FAQ made me rclxub.gif so i just skimmed through it. thanks for replying though!!!

Added on December 26, 2011, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(fastreader @ Dec 22 2011, 10:37 PM)
really?? locked to the aussie region? tht was what i found out from my 'extensive' research online lor. they said it's locked and this and that so it got me so worried that i was considering of selling it dirt cheap at one point.

so you bought one from aussie and u just plugged in and play?

Added on December 26, 2011, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(yangkuo @ Dec 23 2011, 02:15 PM)
where did you buy the original games from?  if the Wii games are for Australia/UK (PAL region) ... of course you don't a problem playing it.

well, i am assuming the machine itself u bought is for AUS/PAL region.  you could have bought a US Wii machine in Australia too... and those plays US region games (which is the more common region of original Wii games used/sold locally)

another possibility is .... the machine has been ... (please refer to Kyo's FAQ on modding)
my original games are from australia. i just want to know if i set up the console in KL will i be able to use it? man i'm so confused now.

wait let me get my head straight, so you are saying that i can still use my wii console but i just cant play games tht i buy in KL, did i get tht right??

i believe my wii console is the AUS/PAL region one.

This post has been edited by shairein: Dec 26 2011, 08:16 PM
yangkuo
post Dec 26 2011, 09:53 PM

90 posts

yes, you can setup the AUS/PAL Wii in KL.

if the AC/power adapter that came with your Wii has a AUS plug type then you need a socket adapter/converter to plug it into the standard M'sia electrical outlet.

AUS plug type => http://users.telenet.be/worldstandards/ele...ity.htm#plugs_i
M'sia standard type => http://users.telenet.be/worldstandards/ele...ity.htm#plugs_g

also double check your AUS Wii power adapter input voltage ... i think it should be around 220-240V range which is what is compatible with M'sia.

you got the games portion absolutely right ... only AUS/PAL Wii games can be played on AUS Wii hardware (another example of PAL region is the UK). that means your AUS Wii can play games designated for UK too.

usual original Wii games sold in M'sia are US region so can only be played on US Wii hardware.

the main problem is, there is more pirated/copy Wii games for sale here and people play them on modified Wii machines ... so to these people it's NEVER been a 'limitation' ....

*extra info* - the official Wii hardware for sale/distribution in SG/MY plays US region games only ... bcos the hardware is same as US model. they only repackaged it with a different serial number range and provided a locally compatible power adapter.

QUOTE(shairein @ Dec 26 2011, 08:10 PM)
my original games are from australia. i just want to know if i set up the console in KL will i be able to use it? man i'm so confused now.

wait let me get my head straight, so you are saying that i can still use my wii console but i just cant play games tht i buy in KL, did i get tht right??

i believe my wii console is the AUS/PAL region one.
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Dec 26 2011, 10:11 PM
TSshairein
post Dec 29 2011, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Dec 26 2011, 09:53 PM)
yes, you can setup the AUS/PAL Wii in KL. 

if the AC/power adapter that came with your Wii has a AUS plug type then you need a socket adapter/converter to plug it into the standard M'sia electrical outlet. 

AUS plug type => http://users.telenet.be/worldstandards/ele...ity.htm#plugs_i
M'sia standard type => http://users.telenet.be/worldstandards/ele...ity.htm#plugs_g

also double check your AUS Wii power adapter input voltage ... i think it should be around 220-240V range which is what is compatible with M'sia.
you got the games portion absolutely right ... only AUS/PAL Wii games can be played on AUS Wii hardware (another example of PAL region is the UK).  that means your AUS Wii can play games designated for UK too.

usual original Wii games sold in M'sia are US region so can only be played on US Wii hardware. 

the main problem is,  there is more pirated/copy Wii games for sale here and people play them on modified Wii machines ... so to these people it's NEVER been a 'limitation'  ....

*extra info*  -  the official Wii hardware for sale/distribution in SG/MY plays US region games only ... bcos the hardware is same as US model.  they only repackaged it with a different serial number range and provided a locally compatible power adapter.
oh thank you so much!!! everything has suddenly become so clear to me now! smile.gif all the confusion and panic i had before, all gone!
really, i appreciate your patience in explaining these stuff to such a noob like me.
signither
post Jan 1 2012, 12:43 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

region locked means the console is locked to play games from it's region only. not that it is locked to geographical region. nod.gif
fastreader
post Jan 3 2012, 10:46 PM

4,554 posts

so that means that for those that have bought a Wii PAL or from Australia, would not be able to play the NTSC games that is widely sold here, right?..

signither
post Jan 17 2012, 09:20 AM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jan 3 2012, 10:46 PM)
so that means that for those that have bought a Wii PAL or from Australia, would not be able to play the NTSC games that is widely sold here, right?..
yup. PAL console can only play PAL games nod.gif
gundamalpha
post Jan 17 2012, 09:51 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Buy from UK eBay sellers, they can be very cheap at many times. That's my solution for owing a PAL Wii nod.gif
blah2blah
post Jan 17 2012, 10:52 AM

748 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 17 2012, 10:51 AM)
Buy from UK eBay sellers, they can be very cheap at many times. That's my solution for owing a PAL Wii nod.gif
+1
and find some retro stuff too.
fastreader
post Jan 17 2012, 01:23 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 17 2012, 09:51 AM)
oic..alrite..will hunt for wii PAL seller from ebay UK..thank you for the suggestion!! icon_rolleyes.gif
fastreader
post Jan 21 2012, 04:53 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 17 2012, 09:51 AM)
who are some of the usual seller tat u go to?..i mean those tat ship to Malaysia. smile.gif

0.0203sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:31 PM