Short Review on the Exora Bold

kochin
post Dec 20 2011, 10:06 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

can anybody recommend me the best place to get exora bold premium?
best place as in offering the best, biggest discount and super duper highest trade in for an old junk.
thanks.

PS: within klang valley lah of course. kindly PM me instead of posting here.
kochin
post Jan 9 2012, 04:48 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

full tank, security tint, rm1k rebate.
ok kah?
kochin
post Jan 9 2012, 10:04 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 9 2012, 04:59 PM)
new car also got so many free things?
sure is bold?
bold premium.
oh i forgot to add, it's 2012 engine and not 2011. rclxms.gif
kochin
post Jan 30 2012, 10:56 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

exora bold owner reporting in. got my car on 20th jan and travelled outstation on 21st itself. stuck 8 hours in the jam and luckily passengers were occupied with the dvd screen.
already clock about 700km till to date.
pros:
1. everything seems okay for the time being
2. power is sufficient (i carry full load most of the time during this festive season)
3. space. need i say more?

cons:
1. my alarm mode buzzer seems to be slightly faulty. everytime i arm it, the light will flash once together with the buzzer but the buzzer will not be able to sound normally. it's like abruptly cut short. will get SC to check it during the 1k service
2. extreme slow speed or everytime lifting off throttle, seems like the car have a lot of resistance. sensing some sorta resistance at the front left side of the wheel.
3. insufficient covered storage space. i would have prefered a covered storage space at the center console to the front and perhaps another at the center between the front seats.
4. dvd connection to speakers could be better. during silent scenes, notice considerably hissing sound. maybe i should change FMM channel to improve it?
5. no security tint? i ask my sales rep to do it for me but i think he retinted the car instead. damn!
6. no place to put tissue box ler....

PS: i did not get any vibration after 100km/h. on my way back to kl, was going approx top at 140. everything was still nice and easy.
PS: notice only yesterday and today, seems to have a slight delay in terms of acceleration from low speed to medium speed. this was not present during the past week. sad.gif

overall, i would rate it a 8/10.
kochin
post Jan 31 2012, 04:58 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 31 2012, 10:21 AM)
Turbo timer keeps the engine and radiator fan running after ignition off to cool down the engine, not for increasing power.

Added on January 31, 2012, 10:21 amUnless its a boost controller.
i guess it comes with built in turbo timer liao since when i switch the engine off, the fan is still running on a few occasion.
kochin
post Feb 8 2012, 04:16 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

seems like most are getting circa 10 to 11 l/100km mileage.
guess it's normal lah then.

when for my 1st service liao.
not too happy about their SC at all. my 1st bill came close to RM200. it involves the usual oil change (3l of 0/30 and 1 l of 0/40). i ask why mix, they just claim that 0/30 oil does not come in 4l package and they do not have 1l package too. i ask them whether normal or not and safe or not, they say yes wor....
and also rm68 for magnatec which is suppose to clean the engine?
i think it's very expensive for 1st service. gulp!
and the buzzer sound i highlighted, they said it's normal also. wtf! it definitely does not sound normal to me.
but i give up since it's minor issue.
while driving these past few days, i decided to screw it, i drive more aggresively liao since the turbo is really satisfying to drive. anything below 90km/h is really no oomph as the bold brings me up to speed really really quick.
the other day i was driving back a 7 years old nissan sentra. feels completely no power lah.
kochin
post Feb 8 2012, 09:36 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

i browse through the manual before sending to service.
from what i gathered, the recommended oil is indeed 0/30.

and like what you mentioned, i was a bit pissed that they did not consult me on the mixing. and the 1l cost rm30 wherelse the 3l cost rm78. i got ripped off big time. damn.
is it advisable to bring my own oil in the future?
kochin
post Feb 9 2012, 01:44 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 8 2012, 09:51 PM)

Which SC is that? have to complain to Proton and boikot.

you can bring your own oil, but do expect these type of replies to you;

1) warranty void (most common) <normally I just tell them to fly kite
2) "kita tak akan bertanggungjawap terhadap apa-apa yang akan berlaku masa kelak"
3) "warranty tak akan void, tapi kita tak akan bertanggungjawap terhadap apa-apa yang akan berlaku masa kelak"

And my first service only used the SC punya Petronas 10-40. Second service I used my own Castrol 10-40. Recently during my third service, I using my own TorqNm 10-30. In the receipt they will just stat "Engine oil owner supply" No mentioning of voiding engine warranty or whatsoever.

First service done at Ampang, second done at PJ Section 13 and third service done at Center of Service Excellence, Shah Alam.
my service was carried out in PJ Section 13.
kochin
post Feb 9 2012, 02:06 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(2die4 @ Feb 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
Yesterday, already done 1st service of my EB after getting the car on last Friday night and drove all the way to KL - Kota Bharu - KL... Milage clock in 1180 before done servicing...

Just need to confirm, on what type of engine oil the SC used because mine yesterday the SC using Petronas Syntium 800 (Semi Synthetic). when checking the Service Booklet, the service interval is 10k and i think they suppose to used Fully Synthetic...

When i ask the at the SC, they told me that they don't have the Fully Synthetic engine oil...

another thing, is it i've been cheated by the SC to installed the magnetrak (not sure the spelling) or not... (RM68)...
same case bro.
it's magnatec.
but referring to the service brochure by them, supposedly recommended for the first 3 times. so dunno believe or not.

and they claim that semi synthetic suits turbo. if full synthetic, not recommended wor...

Added on February 9, 2012, 2:07 pmbtw, anybody buzzer when alarming on sounds funny?
in my case, the buzzer will go tut..... and then abruptly cuts off to silence once the light blinks.
pls tell me whether normal or not.

This post has been edited by kochin: Feb 9 2012, 02:07 PM
kochin
post Feb 13 2012, 04:59 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

mine is like 11.2l/100km.
mostly city driving.
have to go through 4 levels of steep ramps everyday. guess that's part of the reason, huh?
kochin
post Feb 20 2012, 12:21 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

ok some updates and correction about my earlier post.
check my invoice from SC and it's stated 10/30. i suppose it's the same as manual's recommendation. when i mentioned 0/30, it was from memory and i could have been wrong.

got a question actually. the service booklet mention something about 5000km service interval and 10,000km service interval. the 5k interval is for heavy usage? i don't really understand what it means by that?

i was given the impression that proton with its recent badge is going for 10k service interval concept. i am actually planning for 10k service interval as well.

any problem with that? appreciate all sifu help here as i'm not a auto techie person.

thanks.

PS: planning to buy my own oil there in future. same brand, same viscosity of course. any issue with that from SC then?

0.0320sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:08 AM