I'm planning to purchase Exora Bold CFE.. would like to get your sincere comment about that MPV? Any problem so far? Worth to buy it or not? What's the reliability of the 1st Proton CFE engine??
Short Review on the Exora Bold
Apr 19 2012, 11:56 AM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
I'm planning to purchase Exora Bold CFE.. would like to get your sincere comment about that MPV? Any problem so far? Worth to buy it or not? What's the reliability of the 1st Proton CFE engine??
Apr 23 2012, 10:39 AM
erm...so sorry to ask a very lame question; what is the firewall insulation? where is actually the location that you guys talking about?
Apr 23 2012, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(pgkia @ Apr 23 2012, 10:58 AM) read up the wiki...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firewall_(construction), under "Firewalls outside of building construction". thanks man! it is indeed helpful! so pgkia, how's your EB as of now? satisfied? is it worth/value of money buying EB? hope to get your personal opinion as i'm ready to 'angkat' one ;p |
Apr 23 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(pgkia @ Apr 23 2012, 11:33 AM) for that price tag, i am very happy for now. Nobody knows the reliability and durability of this new car engine. you just have to balance out what you get and what you have paid. The next nearest competitor is Innova which has 30k extra to pay. Innova is obviously better NVH than EB in terms of NV. Handling part, i would say both are equal. pgkia, Space?..Innova slightly better, when needed, u can fit in extra person legally. Power? you can get it from the spec. From the test drive, pickup from EB turbo is addicting. We dun have lots of long stretches of highway on Penang island, so i can't comment in details. For short range pickups, i would say it is better than Innova. For me, i am trying to handle the NV parts. Noise part i am trying to do soundproofing, which might spend RM2-3k. Vibration part, maybe a basic chassis foam ranging from 500-1k. If i add up all these, it is still <5k. if i choose to go premium solution, that might shoot up to 10k (or more?). So, it is still a sub 90k monster. you guys are lucky 'cos KL has a lot of good soundproofing solution providers. We hard to get here. less providers, means less price competitiveness. don't you feel a bit of sluggish at the initial stage (when u start kick the pedal for accelaration)? Is it because of the turbo engine will start to pump when it hits 2K rpm? |
Apr 24 2012, 10:23 AM
pgkia,
would like to check with you, time you bought EB CFE, what are the free gifts you've got? |
Apr 24 2012, 05:56 PM
Apr 25 2012, 01:46 PM
Just a query...
EB CFE service interval 10K? Using fully synthetic oil? |
Apr 26 2012, 05:14 PM
pgkia,
just asking you since you are in penang (island or mainland?), which Proton Service Center u sent your EB CFE? Does that SC good service and not simply give "biasala, tak apala" reasoning...? appreciate your sharing... |
May 2 2012, 12:06 AM
Manage to test drive both EB and preve today ;p
EB not bad, i push up to ~160km/h on 'kampung' road and it didn't shake much (still stabil, even the road is not as even as the highway plus ;p) but it can't beat the rear suspension system offered by preve (multilink)... But one thing i noticed...both EB and preve kinda sluggish at the beginning...it start to have full pickup when the RPM near to 1.8-2K....is this the behaviour of the CFE engine??? Anyhow, i found out that preve more sluggish than preve...hmmm...any comment guys... |
May 3 2012, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(2die4 @ May 3 2012, 03:42 PM) that wan was standard issues, you can find in at previous post as few owner already mention it... If i not mistaken is due to ABS or something else (forgot edy)... Just go visit SC and the mechanic will tighten it... opss..this one looks like a new issue for me, besides the engine suddenly off during driving due to the untighten nut at the battery connection...so for this new prob (ABS or something else), which area actually is not fully tighten? after tighten, issue solved? |
May 4 2012, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(sejuhy @ May 4 2012, 09:14 AM) Only the seat back. I can rocking it by hand and got click sound as well. Sejuhy,Last Monday, PE called. My replacement seats has arrived already. Only problem, I was unable find free date to do it. Maybe end of this month will go to SC. The whole 2nd and 3rd row seat rocking? What's the real root cause of it? Hope you can share with us, as you know, some SC not expert enough to find the root cause... |
May 9 2012, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(zakinawi @ May 8 2012, 05:38 PM) aih.. korang tak kena lagi..u can kutuk me all..nanti exora korang kena, berjage jagela..kipas yang slalu on (i mean moooost of the time, lame jugaklah on.. almost 3 minit. can cook meggi, when my car is standard gaban without any MB coolant or whatsoever) lepas enjin berhenti tu pon tanda tanda enjin akn overheat, but just cross your fingers that will not happen. i own a gen2 and saga blm, i tot its normal when the fan is on, but for exora bold, its a sign..just like more than 17 eB owners at proton COSE and 2 person from exora club.. if that happens, welcome to the club of changing cylinder head.. babai allz opsss...so u are saying that EB now is having cylinder head issue even in the newly purchased one? is it inherit issue? how to solve it? overhaul engine?? what's the 1st symptom/rpoblem we will faced with this kind of issue?appreciate your knowledge and experience sharing... |
May 13 2012, 12:52 AM
hi those EB owners as of today, would like to get your inputs and experienced:-
1) what should i do when i first get the EB? What things to check in details? Any tips? 2) is it true that some people say, new car can't drive more than 120km before it complete the 1000 km (for the 1st sevice)? If we still do that, does it really gonna harm the engine? 3) is it true that the turbo engine (CFE), is 'manja'? what actually it means by 'manja'?? we cannot continuosly drive over than 3k rpm for certain period of time?? appreciate those experienced EB owners or car experts/mechanics to share the knowledge.... |
May 13 2012, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(ultramaman @ May 13 2012, 08:15 AM) 2)got different school of thoughts on proper procedure of engine break-in. some say drive slow. some say. drive fast.officially proton says drive slow.. proton says drive slow; means? <120km/h ?3) didnt know about this. but i usually cruise on the highway at a constant engine speed of 3k to 3.1k |
May 14 2012, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(taqu @ May 13 2012, 11:10 PM) how you guys know the coolant temp.? got meter in the panel showing that? so, you guys drive EB CFE <90km/h when you 1st get the car? For how long? 1 week? hhmmm...i'm kinda not so comfortable with 90km/h only..usually my average 120km/h...huhuhuh ;p |
May 14 2012, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(taqu @ May 14 2012, 12:51 PM) taqu,the device looks cool..is it really worth to spend RM75 for that? What's the main function of it actually? What else it benefits us? Is it really benefit us? Last but not least, any reply to my previous query:- so, you guys drive EB CFE <90km/h when you 1st get the car? For how long? 1 week? |
May 16 2012, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(neo1point3 @ May 15 2012, 09:21 PM) Nope, mine working fine Hi neo1point3,A few owner at EOCM also have the same problem, you send to SC and they will change or tighten the connector. Checking with you, how's your EB as of now? How long already you've been using it? What's the top speed you've reached as of now? Any major/minor problem that should look for especially for those who is going to get the new EB soon? Appreciate your sharing... Thanks. |
May 16 2012, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(bskhoo @ May 16 2012, 12:17 PM) Hi, Hi bskhoo,I own an EB Premium since Jan 2012. Mileage is around 7K. Here is some feedback after 4 months used. Here are some of the problems: 1) External Door Handle Paint comeoff due to friction between the moving part (everytime you pull the door handle). All Exora model have this issue. Please check your Exora, sure kena... 2) Washer Cap broken. The quality of the plastic not good, due to heat, the plastic string holding the cap will be broken. I think this happen to all proton cars.. 3) Right Head Lamp Got vapor inside during heavy rain - awaiting replacement lamp 4) Radio The radio will generate 'noise' when you put on reverse gear when the radio frequency is between 100 ~ 103Mhz Not sure if it is due to interference from the reverse camera. Proton had refer me to Clarion service centre - will visit them later this week or next week. Please check your Exora, if you have this issue... In term of drivability, I have 2 complains 1) The CVT gearbox is very noise especially when slowing down (Below 40km with radio off) 2) The car may/will 'jerk' will moving at low speed (Start/Stop at traffic jam) - around 10km ~ 30km Overrall the car is good and value for money... On your 1st point, which area/part actually is hitting each other?? Is it design intent of the car? Nothing we can do from our side to prevent it from happening?? On your 2nd point, u mean washer cap on the engine compartment? But during warranty proton should bear the replacement cost right? On your 3rd point, when actually it start to vaporized? After 3 months? Head lamp cover by the warranty? What else covered? Please update us again on the 4th point after you've met Clarion ya' Thanks man! |
May 17 2012, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(bskhoo @ May 17 2012, 10:49 AM) ir5, just a quick query...Item#1. Attached is a photo to show. I personally think that it's a design issue. Too much free play on the handle. Saga, Persona, Satria Neo share the same handle unfortunately it's not an issue. (Their handle don't have some much free play compare with Exora) It should happen to all Exora (Bold, FL etc), let me know if it happen to your Exora also. After complaining to SC, they said can touch-up for me, unfortunately they can't guaranty it won't happen again. I think it will happen again since the issue is not address! Will complain to iCare later. Item#2, should be under warranty, if they don't honour it, I will complain to iCare. (Waiting for part) Item#3, I notice it about 2 months ago when I wash my car. Understand it's an issue with Exora (Blod, FL etc) Waiting for parts to arrive. By the way, I am also waiting for 'Rear View Mirror with LCD'. I don't have any issue with the mirror/LCD, but SC said got issue. They had order a new one for me. (Probably there is some known issue with the mirror/LCD, they are doing a silent replacement once they detect the mirror/LCD belong to the problem batch) what's actually the different between SC and iCare?? if got problem need to report to both parties? |
May 21 2012, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(cocodemon @ May 20 2012, 09:40 PM) fyi i just received my exora last thursday (17/05). arrived from factory the previous day. odo shows 20km (the dealer brought to tint shop) cocodemon,i'm aware of the common problems related to eb's. so after 4 days and 350+km, from my observation my eb does not have all these common problems: - jerking of the cvt gb - intermittent aircond - engine shut off - dashboard rattling - weird engine sound - oil leaking - friction on door handle (they're not touching at all) - strange sound after hitting potholes what i do have: - wind noise on driver's window. but really minimal one. almost unnoticeable. - hu only managed 2 find hitz.fm & nothing else. maybe dealer wrongly installed the antenna my AFC so far is 9.7. prior to my trip to nilai (fr malacca), the AFC was even lower. from what i see, proton has manage to sort out most of the problems faced by earlier batches of eb. then again, it might be too early to judge p/s damn i love the car. god bless proton! what do you get for free gift when u 'angkat' your new EB CFE? |
| Change to: | 0.0426sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:12 PM |