azriel
post Feb 15 2012, 11:19 AM

Yak-130 Perfect for Southeast Asia?

by  Neelam Mathews

February 14, 2012, 3:00 PM

Russian defense marketing agency Rosoboronexport believes Southeast Asia is a prime market for the Yakovlev Yak-130 two-seat advanced jet trainer/light attack aircraft. Malaysia and the Philippines, in particular, have shown interest in the trainer, according to Rosboronexport deputy general director Viktor Komardin.

During a recent visit to the Irkutsk Aviation Plant last year, Malaysian defense minister Ahmad Zahid Bin Hamidi hinted at an interest in parts manufacturing for the program. “There is a good probability that we will work with this aircraft. The details will be discussed,” he commented.

A $550 million order last year for 36 Yakovlev Yak-130 Mitten combat trainers gave the program a boost. But this contract was reportedly from Syria, much to the annoyance of the U.S. Earlier this month Russia and China vetoed a European-backed U.N. Security Council resolution threatening sanctions against the Syrian regime, with which they have close trading ties. Last November, 16 Yak-130s were also committed to Algeria.

In December, Russia’s defense ministry signed a contract for 55 Yak-130s to be delivered between 2012 and 2015. “This will facilitate the training of Russian pilots for mastering new generation fighters on the eve of their acquisition in bulk,” said Russian defense minister Anatoly Serdjukov.

Irkut also is looking at upgrading the Yak-130’s armory with an opto-electronic aiming system and is reviewing the radar. Enhancement of the trainer’s combat characteristics are a requirement in local conflicts for a light attack aircraft armed with three tons of armory and capable of using guided weaponry, said Irkut president Alexey Fedorov. An in-flight refueling system is also being considered.

Currently, the Yak-130 is fitted for guided bombs with a caliber of up to 1,000 pounds. It is also armed with the 10-mile range R-73 short-range guided missiles.

According to the Russian manufacturer, the Yak-130 is a generation ahead of rivals such as BAE’s Hawk in technological terms.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Feb 17 2012, 03:21 PM
azriel
post Feb 17 2012, 10:42 AM

Military finalizing plan to acquire 1 squadron of F-16 fighter jets

Thursday, 16 February 2012 20:28  Zaff Solmerin / Correspondent

A RANKING military officer said the Armed Forces high command is already discussing the details on the procurement of one squadron of F-16 “Fighting Falcon” jet fighters from the US.

Maj. Gen. Roy Deveraturda, Armed Forces deputy chief of staff for plans and programs (J-5) said although the acquisition of jet fighters was not included in the first batch of approved big-ticket items the project is now being discussed thoroughly.

“Since we decommissioned our [fighter] jets in 1995 there had been a long gap. So we need [jet] fighter capability. We’re proposing the procurement of at least one squadron. We are talking here of 14 to 24 F-16s,” Deveraturda said.

Earlier, reports said the Department of the Foreign Affairs (DFA) had already started negotiations with the US government for the acquisition of F-16.

But Deveraturda said the Armed Forces has no update yet about the ongoing process of negotiations.

Earlier, the military announced that four of the eight utility helicopters, that were bought by the previous administration under the Armed Forces Modernization Program, are already in the country.     Deveraturda said four of the eight Sokol (Falcon) helicopters from Polish-Italian defense supplier Augusta PZL Swidnik have arrived at Clark Field in Pampanga and are now being assembled.

“The four utility helicopters will soon be inspected by the Air Force. These are a great addition to our capability, and we hope to use them soon,” Deveraturda said.

He said the remaining four are being expected to be delivered at the third quarter of this year.

Deveraturda said the delivery of the four helicopters set into concrete action the eight-year modernization program that Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin charted for the Armed Forces.

Gazmin wants to acquire armored vehicles, radar systems, missile-guided and multi-role vessels and aircraft that include fighter jets under the program with a projected total cost of at least P70 billion.

Since the amount needed is too large, he said the acquisition will be pursued through a Congress-approved Multi-Year Obligation Agreement (MYOA), with a government to government as the procurement mode.

Deveraturda said the military is also hoping to sign the contract for the delivery of another Hamilton class cutter from the United States until March this year.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Feb 17 2012, 03:21 PM
azriel
post Feb 17 2012, 03:20 PM

Indonesian Air Force Eyes More Fighters

Feb 16, 2012

By Leithen Francis

SINGAPORE — As the Indonesian air force works on its plan to field around 150-160 combat aircraft in 12 squadrons, it is starting to consider how to replace its fleet of F-5s.

Current plans represent merely a “minimum essential force,” with the actual air force needs being much greater to provide the full range of military capability for a country the size of Indonesia, ACM Imam Sufaat, the service’s chief of staff, tells Aviation Week during the Singapore air show. The current force counts seven squadrons equipped with combat aircraft.

The current fighter modernization plan has the Indonesian air force fielding a fleet of Sukhoi Su-30 Mk2s and Lockheed Martin F-16s, with the latter comprising 24 F-16 Block 25 aircraft being upgraded to Block 52s and four F-16 Block 25 and two F-16 Block 15 aircraft for use as spare parts. The F-16s are to be delivered by July 2014 to form two more squadrons.

The air chief sees the need for more F-16s and Su-30s. While a type decision has yet to be made on the F-5 replacement, the F-16 is the frontrunner.

Growing Fleet

The Su-30 fleet is due to grow in the coming three years as well, with two aircraft to be handed over in 2012, 2013, and 2014. Indonesia is still in the process of finalizing plans for the weapons package for the fighters, with interest in a medium-range missile.

Midyear also should see the arrival of the first of 16 Super Tucanos to replace the OV-10s, with the first of 16 T-50 trainers to be handed over by Korea Aerospace Industries next year to replace Hawk Mk.53s.

The rest of the Hawk fleet is due to be replaced by the South Korean KF-X fighter after Indonesia joined the development program.

To help control the fighters, Indonesia is looking to field an airborne early warning and control system aircraft, although a decision is not expected before 2014. Even though the air force is buying C-295 airlifters, the service chief says the country would be looking for a larger system than the AEW concept put forward by Airbus Military. The AEW aircraft will need more endurance than the C-295 can deliver, he notes.

The fleet of CN-235s for maritime surveillance is being upgraded — with three more added for the navy — and the Boeing 737 maritime patrol aircraft also are due for an update.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Feb 17 2012, 03:22 PM
azriel
post Feb 22 2012, 12:06 PM

Turkey loses bid for Indonesia submarines

ANKARA - Hürriyet Daily News

Indonesia picks up a South Korean offer for three U209 model submarines instead of a Turkish-German joint offer. Still, the two countries may bid for a tender for the more developed U214 models, Jakarta says

Indonesia has informed a German-Turkish partnership that South Korea has won Jakarta’s competition for U209 submarines and that the duo should instead focus on the sale of more-developed U214 subs to the Southeast Asian giant, a senior Turkish official has said.

The message was conveyed during the visit of Adm. Agus Suhartono, the chief of staff of Indonesia’s military forces, to Turkey last week, the Turkish official said this weekend.

Turkey, led by the Undersecretariat for Defense Industries, SSM, and Germany, led by ThyssenKrupp’s shipyard, HDW, entered the Indonesian Navy’s competition of more than $1 billion after it came to an end, effectively ensuring Seoul’s victory.

South Korea’s Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering announced on Dec. 22 that it had won the Indonesian deal $1.1 billion for three submarines.

As for Turkey, a $2 billion submarine deal with HDW for the joint manufacture of six U214 platforms formally took effect in July, the German company said. Turkish procurement officials also confirmed the information.

“As a longstanding partner and supplier to the Turkish Navy, ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems can now begin executing the order. The order will contribute to securing employment at [ThyssenKrupp’s] HDW in Kiel, as well as at many subcontractors in Germany and Turkey, for the next 10 years,” it said.

A major loan deal between German banks and the Turkish Treasury rescued the multibillion-dollar submarine contract between the Turkish state and Howaldswerke Deutsche Werft (HDW) on the last day of 2010, Turkish procurement officials said earlier.

“We will try to work hard to meet the requirements for the second competition [for the U214 deal],” said the Turkish procurement official.

The Indonesian side also offered a number of consolations to the Turkish side. The Indonesians will come up with a $100 million Turkish proposal to make military radios produced by Aselsan, the procurement official said.

The Indonesians separately plan to propose a facility to produce Roketsan-made missiles after they sign a contract with the company.

Jakarta will also produce FNSS-made 8x8 vehicles.

Turkey and Indonesia are two of the largest Muslim countries and are keen to develop their defense industries and ties.

February/20/2012

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Feb 22 2012, 12:09 PM
azriel
post Mar 22 2012, 11:54 AM

Mar 21, 2012 5:25pm

Dramatic Military Helicopter Crash Caught on Camera

Dramatic new video gives a rare, up-close view of an American military attack chopper apparently losing control and crashing hard at a remote, mountainous outpost in Afghanistan.

The video, which appeared online recently, shows an Apache helicopter coming into view before swooping down low over the coalition outpost. The person shooting the video, who has not been identified, shouts in apparent fear as the helicopter narrowly misses a building and then chuckles in relief after it pulls back up. But after coming back around, the chopper drops down low again and slams its belly onto the snowy ground just feet from the camera.

The helicopter skids towards another group of people, but comes off the ground briefly before crashing again in the distance.

A spokesperson for the U.S.-led International Security Assistance Force told ABC News the video was taken Feb. 6 in the Paktika province in Afghanistan. Remarkably, no one on the ground was injured and the aircrew survived, the spokesperson said.

There was no enemy activity in the area and Army is currently investigating the incident, he said.

While the cause of the crash is unknown, former Marine Corps pilot and current ABC News consultant Steve Ganyard said it appears the pilot was performing dangerous low-level maneuvers for spectators and then lost control.

source

azriel
post Mar 24 2012, 10:37 AM

ST Kinetics and SAIC Team For Marine Personnel Carrier Programme

16:28 GMT, March 23, 2012 Singapore | ST Kinetics, the land systems arm of ST Engineering, and Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC) today announced they will team for the upcoming U.S. Marine Corps Marine Personnel Carrier (MPC) programme.

The MPC will provide U.S. Marine infantry formations with an advanced generation eight-wheeled armoured personnel carrier. The MPC is intended to be a highly protected and swim-capable vehicle, with requirements shaped to provide a balance of performance, protection, and payload to ensure it is effective across the full range of military operations. The MPC programme calls for the production of approximately 100 units per year for up to 7 years, with initial awards for the testing and demonstration phase expected in April 2012.

"The SAIC and ST Kinetics team will base its offering on the modern TERREX 8x8 Armoured Personnel Carrier already fielded by the Singapore Armed Forces. By using existing and proven technology, tailored to Marine expeditionary requirements, we will be able to quickly deliver a simple, elegant, enduring and USMC-usable capability to meet the programme's critical needs and schedule." ~ Dan ZANINI, Senior Vice President and Landforce Systems Operation Manager, SAIC.

Under the teaming agreement, SAIC will serve as the prime contractor for the MPC programme, with both companies combining their ground vehicle integration, design, production, fielding, and support expertise to field and provide the best solution to the U.S. Marines.

"We are proud to field ST Kinetics' TERREX as the basis for our team's offering for the USMC MPC programme. We are confident that the advanced design of the TERREX, particularly in the areas of survivability and crew habitability, will underpin an effective and affordable solution usable by the US Marines in a myriad of tough environments." ~ Patrick CHOY, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, ST Kinetics.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Mar 24 2012, 10:37 AM
azriel
post Apr 16 2012, 09:51 PM

Spanish - English Translation:

Malaysia shows interest in Russian tanks T-90S as Rosoboronexport

16/04/2012 13:22
Kuala Lumpur, April 16, RIA Novosti.

Malaysia shows interest in acquiring a Russian tanks T-90S, today announced Victor Komardin, deputy director of the Russian corporation Rosoboronexport.

"This is several tens of tanks," said Komardin, who represents the fair Rosoboronexport Defence Services Asia (DSA-2012) which opened on Monday in Kuala Lumpur.

He recalled that the Malaysian Army to Poland earlier bought 46 tanks PT-91 Twardy that "are, in fact, another modernized version of Soviet T-72 model." He questioned the quality of that amendment, stating that Malaysian officials "are given full consideration" that the T-90S is far superior in performance to Twardy.

The mode T-90S has a new fire control system, better chassis and enhanced protection.

Komardin also expressed hope that Russia Malaysia amount Buk anti-aircraft missile systems in 2015-2020. The country could spend up to one billion dollars in the purchase of new weapons for national air defense system that, today, is integrated into the Army Air and basically comprises aircraft, he said.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Apr 16 2012, 09:51 PM
azriel
post May 7 2012, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(keown83 @ May 7 2012, 12:19 AM)
this vita berapi u mean?

dont know bout the performance, but judging from the looks, i think i understand why it never have a chance

damn it...even that simplistic AK-47 have a gorgeous design, why Berapi design so fail wan? macam senapang tak sempat siap...the russian haz trolled the company? company tak bayar gaji dia?
compare it with Pindad's next SS3 project;

ini baru namanya senapang!

Pindad SS3 Bullpup afaik is still a prototype:

Pindad's Rifles featured in Point Blank Game:

This post has been edited by azriel: May 7 2012, 09:33 AM
azriel
post May 18 2012, 01:38 PM

Australian Army Skill at Arms Meeting (AASAM) 2012

AASAM 2012 International Match Results: http://www.army.gov.au/Army-life/Sport-and...sults%20V2.ashx

United States Marine Corps member draws his pistol during the Pistol Falling Tiles Match at AASAM 2012.

Major General Smith examines a weapon at AASAM 2012.

Sergeant Poltak Siahaan TNI is presented with an Australian slouch hat and trophy for Champion Shot International AASAM 2012 by Chief of Army, Lieutenant General David Morrison.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: May 18 2012, 06:36 PM
azriel
post Jun 4 2012, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Jun 4 2012, 03:35 PM)
precisely, the IDF still think their enemies still uses RPG7, while many already operating advanced ATGW, where Hezbollah uses Kornet-E..

Most Merkava Mk.4 are now already equipped with the TROPHY:

azriel
post Jun 6 2012, 10:30 AM

Damen Schelde Naval Shipbuilding signs contract for SIGMA 10514 Guided Missile Frigate, PKR (Perusak Kawal Rudal).

The Ministry of Defence of Indonesia and Damen Schelde Naval Shipbuilding, The Netherlands today signed a contract for the engineering, build and delivery of a SIGMA 10514 Guided Missile Frigate, PKR (Perusak Kawal Rudal). The PKR will be built for the Indonesian Navy, TNI AL, and is to be delivered in 2016.

The acquisition of this ship is part of the further modernization and expansion of the Indonesian Navy, TNI-AL. The main missions and tasks of the SIGMA PKR 10514 will be in the domains of naval warfare as well as Maritime Security missions and tasks. Also, the ship may be used for humanitarian support tasks.

The ship will be built according to the successful SIGMA modular building strategy, as a sequel to the earlier built four SIGMA Corvettes for TNI AL. This means that modules of the frigate will be built in Europe as well as locally at PT PAL in Surabaya Indonesia. The assembly and trials of SIGMA PKR 10514 will take place in and from Surabaya, Indonesia.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Jun 6 2012, 10:32 AM
azriel
post Jun 20 2012, 11:39 AM

The Philippine Air Force (PAF) to acquire 12 TA-50 jet fighters from Korea:

Air Force to acquire 12 jet fighters from Korea

Posted at 06/19/2012 9:34 PM | Updated as of 06/20/2012 10:46 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine Air Force (PAF) said they will be acquiring fighter jets in the next two years.

Twelve surface attack aircraft lead-in fighters or TA-50s from South Korea are expected to be delivered by 2013.

Each jet costs P1.25 billion for a total of P25 billion for the dozen jets.

The TA-50 is a supersonic aircraft that requires more experienced pilots.

Authorities said bulk of the P70 billion allocated for the modernization of the Armed Forces under the Aquino administration will go to the Air Force.

“Dati hindi natin pinapansin ang territorial defense dahil wala nga tayong capability gaya ngayon. ‘Yung  bangka ‘yung atin, ‘yung kalaban natin napakalaking platform. Ngayon, tumaas ang rating ng problema natin sa territorial defense. Hindi pala natin pwedeng isantabi,” said Defense Sec. Voltaire Gazmin.

The Air Force currently has two trainer jets, which are now nearly 25 years old.

The S-211s were originally meant for training purposes but the military was forced to use them in actual operations.

The PAF admits that this is the current image of the air power of the Philippines, which has been left behind by its neighbors.

The country's lone fighter jet, an F-5, was sidelined in 2005 and has yet to be replaced.

“At that time, the leadership decided that we didn’t need this because there's no threat in that area kaya nag-concentrate tayo sa mga ginagamit nating aircraft para sa internal security operations,” said Col. Miguel Ernesto Okol, spokesman of the PAF.

But the current tensions at the Scarborough Shoal have placed a spotlight on the country's air inferiority.

Last week, a suspected Chinese fighter jet flew over the disputed shoal.

Gazmin says President Aquino is serious in beefing up the military so as not to be ignored by foreign powers. -- Reports from Anthony Taberna, ABS-CBN News; ANC

source
azriel
post Jul 3 2012, 11:04 AM

FARNBOROUGH: Interview with Boeing Defense’s Dennis Muilenburg

By:   Greg Waldron 
10 hours ago 

In spite of a challenging defence environment at home, Boeing Defense, Space, Security sees big opportunities to grow its business beyond the USA. The unit is involved in major competitions in a number of countries, and also hopes to sell more C-17 strategic transports in order to keep the Long Beach, California production line open beyond 2014. Dennis Muilenburg, president and chief executive of Boeing Defense, Space & Security talks about the key opportunities and challenges facing Boeing in the global defence market, with a particular focus on Asia.

How are things are going with Boeing's defence business?

The overall global defence environment continues to be challenging. In the USA and European markets, defence cuts are well under way. This is not surprising, these are reductions we've been anticipating for some time and we've been planning to factor those into our plans. On the other hand, we see growth in defence budgets beyond the US and Europe, especially in Asia and the Middle East. We continue to make good progress serving our customers in those markets. Over the past five years the international segment of our defence business has grown from 7% of our revenue base to 24% last year. This represents a very significant increase in the international mix of our defence business, and we see this trend continuing to strengthen. In the long run, we expect 25-30% of our defence business to be outside the USA, and that this will be a sustained level.

We continue to invest in building industrial partnerships around the globe. Not only are we providing platforms and products that support our defence customers in the Asia Pacific region, we're also helping to build industrial capacity. Boeing's presence here is growing, but in addition to that our industrial partnerships are growing as well. This is an important part of the investment out here. From a Boeing perspective, this applies across the entire enterprise.

Even though it is a challenging time in the defence environment, we are pleased with the progress we've seen and are honoured to support our customers in the Asia pacific region.

Indonesia's ambassador to the US told the Jakarta Post in May that Boeing has agreed to give Indonesia offsets for Civil and military programmes. What offsets has Boeing agreed to?

I can't comment on any specific offset agreements. The nature of the discussions we've been having is both on the commercial airplane and defence business. We have growing opportunities to support our Indonesian customers. Typically, as we grow our presence in product lines we'll have opportunities to build industrial partnerships.

Industrial partnerships come in many forms. Our global supply chain is extensive. We will work to build a supplier base around the world, and help this supplier base to be competitive in developing technologies and capabilities. There is also potential to build commercial supply bases. When defence products are delivered, we hope to build industrial capability to augment those defence products.

There are no specific arrangements or agreements with Indonesia, but there has been dialogue on building industrial capacity over the long run. I would view that as a strategic discussion at this point.

We've met nearly $40 billion in offset agreements over the last decade in more than 30 countries. This is an important part of how we do business.

What is your view on selling AH-64D Apache Longbows to Indonesia?

Indonesia has expressed interest in acquiring Apaches. These are government-to-government discussions, as such discussions typically are. Our role is to support those discussions. If Indonesia decided to procure Apaches, we will support this requirement.

Can you update us on South Korea's requirement for 36 attack helicopters?

This is another important opportunity. We've partnered extensively with the Koreans to build global production lines that includes Korean content in Apaches sold to US and international customers. Apache is a strong match to mission requirements in Korea. We are confident on our ability to deliver on cost and on schedule. We're hopeful in that competition as well, and if selected we'll deliver on that commitment.

What are the trends for your defence products in Asia-Pacific?

If you look broadly across the Asia-Pacific there is a great deal of interest in a number of our product lines. Certainly, fighter aircraft are important, with the F/A-18E/F Super Hornet and F-15 Silent Eagle being of high interest. Recently, we completed the delivery of 24 Super Hornets to Australia, which was achieved on schedule and on cost. We remain very confident in our ability to deliver Super Hornets.

On the F-15 side we are involved in a competition in Korea with the Silent Eagle. We have great industrial partnerships in Korea that are a part of this.

We also see interest in our C-17 cargo aircraft. Australia just announced interest in a sixth and India has ordered 10. The C-17 has a tremendous track record for performing its missions during wartime and for humanitarian relief missions. There is also a lot of interest in Rotorcraft such as Apaches and CH-47D Chinook.

Asia-Pacific is a growing and expanding market for us, both in commercial aircraft and defence. It is a long-term strategic market and one where we have strong industrial partnerships. It also represents a broad portfolio of opportunities.

With C-17s you have on contract, how long will that keep production line going?

With our current firm backlog, we'll run the production line out to about the third quarter of 2014. We continue to see international opportunities beyond the current firm backlog, and so we're hopeful to extend our production deadline. Last year we reduced our production rate from 15 C-17s a year to 10 a year. And while that has been a challenge it has been done very effectively by our team. At the rate of 10 a year we're hoping we can extend a little longer out into the future.

How much longer?

It's difficult to say. We do see opportunities for perhaps two or three more years internationally. It's highly dependent on those decisions moving forward on a pace that supports the production line. We go through a deliberate process every quarter looking at the future order potential and the longevity of production, and continue to manage things to be sure we continue to deliver on schedule and on cost. In this environment the ability to deliver on cost and on schedule and keep promises is becoming more and more important to defence customers around the world. We intend to be that consistent deliverer of products, and that will contribute to the longevity of the C-17 line.

There is no other aircraft in the world that can do what the C-17 does.

Following Japan's decision to choose the Lockheed Martin F-35 for its F-X requirement last year, what is the outlook for Boeing's defence unit in Japan?

We continue to support their installed fleet of F-15s, which have provided an excellent capability for our JASDF customer for a long time. We were clearly disappointed with the decision that was made earlier where we offered the Super Hornet in the F-X competition. That said, we respect our customer's decision.

We've been in Japan for decades, both with our commercial and defence business, and we expect to be there for the long run. We have extraordinary industrial relationships with Japan. They do work for us on both industrial and commercial lines. While we were disappointed with F-X Decision, we respect it, and will continue to work with them in the long run.

More broadly, there are many opportunities ahead of us where the F/A-18 E/F and F-15 are very good offerings.

Any opportunities to upgrade Japan's F-15Js?

The F-15 is designed from the start to be upgradeable. That design philosophy has proven itself. We continue to upgrade the US F-15 fleet. If you look at the aircraft we're delivering in Singapore and South Korea, and the aircraft we'll be delivering in Saudi Arabia, they include new defensive electronic warfare systems, fly by wire, and more advanced radars.

Our ability to upgrade technology over time, and do it on cost and on schedule, is important. If our customers decide on an F-15 upgrade, we'd be honoured to support them. But this is a decision for them to make.

If you look at fighter competitions today, being able to deliver capability, as promised, on cost and on schedule is what counts. Today, we are doing that on the F/A-18 E/F and F-15. I would put our track record up against anybody's.

Are you still in discussions with India after losing MMRCA?

While we were disappointed to lose India's fighter competition, India is still a strategic partner. We have ten C-17s on order and they have indicated interest in potentially more. We have eight P-8I Neptunes on order with options for four more. There is ongoing interest in Apaches and Chinooks and a lot of interest in commercial airplanes as well.

How many more C-17s could India potentially buy?

Well, some initial indicating that they might be interested in as many as six to eight more. These are decisions that will have to be made by the Indian customer. These are the kinds of numbers that they have been discussing in public.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Jul 3 2012, 11:05 AM
azriel
post Jul 3 2012, 09:30 PM

Indonesia ditches Dutch tank deal, goes to Germany instead

Tuesday 03 July 2012

Indonesia has abandoned plans to buy 80 second-hand tanks from the Dutch army and has placed the order with Germany instead, according to local media reports.

According to the Jakarta Post, the government opted to do business with Germany because it 'offered more security about the delivery date and the number of tanks'.

A majority of Dutch MPs had opposed the sale because of the human rights situation in Indonesia. The deal would have generated €200m towards the defence ministry budget.

Relationship

Kees Homan, from the Clingendael international institute, said he did not think the relationship between the Netherlands and its former colony had been damaged by parliament's reluctance to approve the deal. 'Indonesia will respect parliament's decision to block the deal,' he told BNR radio.

However, foreign minister Uri Rosenthal is quoted by the Volkskrant as saying the relationship between the two countries has been 'scratched' and that he would do all he could to repair it.

Meanwhile, the ruling right-wing Liberals have accused the Labour party of double standards over the deal.

VVD parliamentarian Han ten Broeke told Radio 1 news the party was part of the government both four and six years ago when frigates were sold to Indonesia.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Jul 3 2012, 09:31 PM
azriel
post Jul 26 2012, 06:00 PM

Don't know if this news is true...

Thursday, 26 July 2012 08:43

Singapore to start negotiations for 4 Scorpene SSKs with France's DCNS

According to rumors (infosdefense.com), the Republic of Singapore Navy is about to start negotiations with France for the possible purchase of 4 Scorpene class SSKs. The deal could include transfer of technologies.

Contacted by Navy Recognition however, a DCNS source refused to comment on the rumors.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Jul 26 2012, 08:33 PM
azriel
post Jul 27 2012, 09:56 PM

Cool vid of the Swedish Leopard Stridsvagn 122:

azriel
post Aug 7 2012, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Aug 7 2012, 10:28 AM)
Indonesia Receives Four A-29 Super Tocanos
News Desk |  6 August 2012 Monday | 15:24

Embraer Defense and Security has today delivered four light attack and tactical training A-29 Super Tucano aircraft to Indonesia’s Air Force at a ceremony held in its facility in Gavião Peixoto, São Paulo, Brazil. Indonesia is the first operator of Super Tucano in the Asia-Pacific region.

These four A-29 Super Tucano are from the initial batch of eight aircraft purchased by the Indonesian Air Force (IAF) in 2010. The IAF has since ordered a second batch of eight Super Tucanos as part of their equipment modernization exercise, bringing the total number of orders to 16 aircraft. The Super Tucano was chosen by the Indonesian Defense Forces to replace a fleet of OV-10 Broncos as part of their equipment modernization exercise for years 2009 – 2014.

To date the Super Tucano has been selected by ten clients on three continents and is in operation with six air forces, successfully carrying out advanced training, border patrol, light attack, and counter-insurgency missions. The 160 Super Tucano airplanes delivered by Embraer performed more than 157,000 flight hours, of which 23,000 combat hours performed in combat missions, primarily in Latin America. The aircraft offers the flexibility to perform a broad range of missions including light attack, surveillance, air-to-air interception and counter insurgence. The aircraft makes excellent use of the most recent electronic, optical, infra-red and laser technologies, as well as secure radio communications with data-link, and an unparalleled weaponry capability, making it highly reliable and at a top-level cost/benefit ratio for a wide range of military missions, even operating from unpaved runways.

http://defense-update.com/20120806_a29_del...fense+Update%29

^^^^

The A-29 Super Tucano delivered today, August 6, 2012, to the Indonesia Air Force.

Luiz Carlos Aguiar, President of Embraer Defense and Security, during the delivery ceremony, today, August 6, 2012, of four aircraft A-29 Super Tucano to the Indonesia Air Force.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Aug 7 2012, 02:40 PM
azriel
post Aug 7 2012, 02:43 PM

Purchase Of Korean Jets Recommended

By AARON B. RECUENCO
August 2, 2012, 6:53pm

The Department of National Defense (DND) has recommended to President Aquino the purchase of South Korean-made jet fighters to boost the country’s external defense capability.

Fernando Manalo, DND undersecretary for finance, munitions, installations and materiel, said the assessment conducted revealed that it is South Korea’s T50s which is ideal for the country’s Philippine Air Force.

“Based on our assessment it is the T50 of South Korea that is most advantageous to us in consideration to the obtaining situation in the West Philippine Sea,” said Manalo.

Aside from capability, the T50s are also ideal in terms of the country’s limited budget for Air Force modernization, he said.

If the contract is signed with South Korea before the end of 2012, Manalo said the fighter jets could be delivered to the country within two years from 2013.

What would happen if the contract is signed, according to Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, is that they would request for immediate delivery of two of the T50s to facilitate the training of Air Force pilots.

“We will negotiate so we can get the two immediately for training so that when the rest of the 10 arrives, our pilots are already trained,” said Gazmin.

Manalo stressed the need to sign into law the P75-billion modernization budget for military modernization.

“Without the law, we cannot implement the acquisition of these fighters . . . because there is no budget,” said Manalo.

The Philippines is now focusing on its external defense after it became locked in a standoff with China a few months ago near the Scarborough Shoal.

The two Philippine civilian ships have already pulled out several weeks ago to deescalate the tension but Chinese ships remain in the area and even set structure to block other ships from entering the Shoal.

source
azriel
post Aug 31 2012, 12:15 PM

Wednesday, 29 August 2012 07:44

North Sea Boats to Launch New 63m Stealth Fast Missile Patrol Vessel for Indonesian Navy

The new 63 metre long vessel is a cutting edge trimaran design that is considered to be the most advanced naval vessel of its type ever built in South East Asia. It incorporates a radical wave piercing hull form for improved seaworthiness and stability, and has been built from full carbon fibre composite materials, utilising the vacuum infusion process and vinylester resin. This method results in a structure that has increased strength, but also offers the benefits of lower operating, maintenance, and lifecycle costs.

In 2009 PT Lundin signed a contract to build a one of the most advanced “stealth” warships for TNI-AL (Indonesian Navy). This was the result of an intensive Research and Development programme conducted by PT Lundin Industry Invest (North Sea Boats) and TNI-AL that commenced in 2007. Construction commenced in early 2010, but due to the advanced design and construction methods, the project has been kept largely confidential until now.

The launching ceremony will be held on Friday 31st August, 2012 at PT Lundin’s shipyard facility in Banyuwangi, East Java. The ceremony will be attended by dignitaries and senior officers of TNI-AL, during which a briefing and Press Conference, and interviews will be conducted.

The Fast Missile Patrol Vessel (FMPV) employs a modern “Wave Piercing” trimaran design. This allows the vessel to cut-through waves rather than rise up and over them, and the increased beam provides inherent stability. This combination of features reduces both pitching and rolling, creating a stable weapons platform, and enabling the vessel to comfortably and safely maintain higher average speeds in adverse conditions.

The FMPV has “Stealth” design characteristics, and incorporate features that minimise detection by reducing Radar, Infra-Red, Acoustic and Magnetic signatures. Stealth properties are further improved as there are no reverse-angle bow overhangs to reflect radar signals, as seen on conventional hull forms. Weaponry, including missiles and naval guns, and the ships 11 m high-speed RHIB, are discreetly concealed or shaped to meld into the superstructure profile.

The wide decks on the 63m OPV Trimaran also make it an ideal platform for carrying a helicopter, which extends the effective patrol range and capabilities of the vessel.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Aug 31 2012, 12:18 PM
azriel
post Sep 1 2012, 01:43 PM

Indonesian Trimaran Stealth Missile Boat at Sea

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Sep 1 2012, 01:45 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > »