QUOTE(wca @ Jan 7 2018, 04:53 PM)
fellow sifu with experience,
sad now, my car just suffered a few of these "lines" of damages (did not take a picture of the actual damages, see the red box in the attached picture i found online)
- some area can see black color (serious paint chipped) - label as "1"
- majority area is white line with width about few mm - label as "2"
[attachmentid=9489684]
i intend to apply touch up paint, understanding that it wont be perfectly matching my car color (afterall my car is 6 y.o.), my objective is just to make it less obvious from far and prevent rust.
i have done some research, planning to buy and apply the Autospa touch up paint.
please share with me any tips that i should b aware of. for example,
- i should dab the paint onto the black color area (no more paint) right?
- how about the white color part (area "2")?
- do i need to apply multiple layers?
- what are the actions/factors to make the touch up work as successful as possible?
please help and i really appreciate that!

imo, any touchup product shd work well provided you choose the correct color match.sad now, my car just suffered a few of these "lines" of damages (did not take a picture of the actual damages, see the red box in the attached picture i found online)
- some area can see black color (serious paint chipped) - label as "1"
- majority area is white line with width about few mm - label as "2"
[attachmentid=9489684]
i intend to apply touch up paint, understanding that it wont be perfectly matching my car color (afterall my car is 6 y.o.), my objective is just to make it less obvious from far and prevent rust.
i have done some research, planning to buy and apply the Autospa touch up paint.
please share with me any tips that i should b aware of. for example,
- i should dab the paint onto the black color area (no more paint) right?
- how about the white color part (area "2")?
- do i need to apply multiple layers?
- what are the actions/factors to make the touch up work as successful as possible?
please help and i really appreciate that!
i did it to my proton blm 2008 and it looks well.
if the scratch is deep and can see the black level, try with wet sanding with finest sandpaper slightly and gently.
use your skill to level off the edges between good paint and the scratch. main aim is to make the edges smooth. slight use of rubbing compound if necessary.
do not be greedy. just apply minimum of the touchup repair (basecoat, aka paint!).
then follow the instructions. my ezytouchup product includes 3 bottles. i strongly suggest ONLY to use first 2 bottles. 3rd bottle shd only be used weeks later (3 weeks to 1 month) as thus is only the protection coat. the basecoat (the actual paint from bottle 2 needs 1 month get harden.
NEVER buy the 4th bottle that rubbibg compound.
hope it helps.
it really works well
Dec 28 2018, 12:58 AM

0.0137sec