Touch up paint, Anyone touched up your car..?

TSJoseph Pang
post Dec 8 2011, 08:03 PM, updated 15y ago

hi everyone, wanna asking.. anyone using EZY Touch Up product to touch up car body..? how bout it..? my car got a small dent on the bumper.. please leave a comment.. thanks!!
ben3085
post Dec 8 2011, 08:08 PM

Never use the product you mention but if you are looking to remove a scratch than there are many of them but dents i think, you have to plaster balik.
Renee
post Dec 8 2011, 08:13 PM

523 posts

If u want perfection, sorry no and send to paint shop to do it....

danny_sp15
post Dec 8 2011, 08:18 PM

==============
3,045 posts

u can see the touch up paint. it doesnt blend well with the car's original paint. but i just use it so that it doesnt look that bad, and so that the metal below doesnt rust.
dadurtyz
post Dec 8 2011, 08:19 PM

658 posts

that will mess up your paint work, trust me! if minor just use good polisher or scratch remover. otherwise re-paint it's best option
TSJoseph Pang
post Dec 8 2011, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(Renee @ Dec 8 2011, 08:13 PM)
If u want perfection, sorry no and send to paint shop to do it....
can u suggest any paint shop that entertain small dent at ur car..? worry if they dont bother if we only one to touch up small dent..

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Dec 8 2011, 08:18 PM)
u can see the touch up paint. it doesnt blend well with the car's original paint. but i just use it so that it doesnt look that bad, and so that the metal below doesnt rust.
oo, mine at bumper.. bumper plastic lorr.. if metal i can polish it... sad.gif can u take a pic and upload it.. wanna try to look closely..

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Dec 8 2011, 08:19 PM)
that will mess up your paint work, trust me! if minor just use good polisher or scratch remover. otherwise re-paint it's best option
ya meh..?? mine at bumper, plastic some more.. if metal, its acceptable to using either polish or scratch remover.. my car yellow one... now try to find a solution, dont want to repaint..
danny_sp15
post Dec 8 2011, 08:43 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Pang @ Dec 8 2011, 08:32 PM)
oo, mine at bumper.. bumper plastic lorr.. if metal i can polish it... sad.gif can u take a pic and upload it.. wanna try to look closely..
i already changed car... that was a few years back.. sweat.gif but trust me, it's not pretty.. quite noticeable even from a distance.
megadisc
post Dec 9 2011, 04:26 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Dec 8 2011, 09:43 PM)
i already changed car... that was a few years back.. sweat.gif but trust me, it's not pretty.. quite noticeable even from a distance.
once bump then very hard to replace wan leh
unless you put the carbon stick to hide the scratches
but then again

it's best to change new car lor
SUSadvocado
post Dec 20 2017, 04:19 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Pang @ Dec 8 2011, 08:32 PM)
can u suggest any paint shop that entertain small dent at ur car..? worry if they dont bother if we only one to touch up small dent..
ya meh..?? mine at bumper, plastic some more.. if metal, its acceptable to using either polish or scratch remover.. my car yellow one... now try to find a solution, dont want to repaint..
this is old news but you can actually restore the touch up to 80% look but it takes skill & patience.

1.Buff out the scratch area with high grit sandpaper.

2.Clean the area free of oil/dust/moist.

3.Apply putty/fiberglass on said area to fill up the gaps & leave it dry.

4.Sand the puttied area until it's even & smooth using high grit sandpaper.

5.Clean the area & let it dry.

6.Apply primer on the area, let it dry, sand it even and clean the area.

7.Apply color coat using own mixture of lacquer hobby paints, let it dry, sand it even and clean the area.

8.Apply lacquer clear coat (best to use spray) around the area, let it dry, use polishing compound to buff the area smooth.

9.Apply a layer of wax.

by using touch up paints available in the market you will never be able to achieve good results.
gacktleong
post Dec 21 2017, 10:00 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 20 2017, 04:19 PM)
this is old news but you can actually restore the touch up to 80% look but it takes skill & patience.

1.Buff out the scratch area with high grit sandpaper.

2.Clean the area free of oil/dust/moist.

3.Apply putty/fiberglass on said area to fill up the gaps & leave it dry.

4.Sand the puttied area until it's even & smooth using high grit sandpaper.

5.Clean the area & let it dry.

6.Apply primer on the area, let it dry, sand it even and clean the area.

7.Apply color coat using own mixture of lacquer hobby paints, let it dry, sand it even and clean the area.

8.Apply lacquer clear coat (best to use spray) around the area, let it dry, use polishing compound to buff the area smooth.

9.Apply a layer of wax.

by using touch up paints available in the market you will never be able to achieve good results.
Yea agree, need alot of patience. Else simply touch up will even make the situation worst, much worst. Been there before, haha
SUSadvocado
post Dec 21 2017, 11:09 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Dec 21 2017, 10:00 AM)
Yea agree, need alot of patience. Else simply touch up will even make the situation worst, much worst. Been there before, haha
any touch up is still better than leaving it exposed to rust.
unitron
post Dec 21 2017, 11:43 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I just sent to my regular paint shop ask them to help touch up FOC
ayamxxx
post Dec 21 2017, 01:08 PM

4,057 posts

Per panel should be around 200-300 for good paint shop.

I better lets my car treat by expert painter.
Ginny88
post Dec 22 2017, 09:45 AM

1,032 posts

Touch-up paint is good for covering small spots but useless for scratches. I've used EZY Touch-up paint before and their colour matching is very good.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Dec 22 2017, 09:45 AM
amscouzach57
post Dec 22 2017, 10:03 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Pang @ Dec 8 2011, 08:03 PM)
hi everyone, wanna asking.. anyone using EZY Touch Up product to touch up car body..? how bout it..? my car got a small dent on the bumper.. please leave a comment.. thanks!!
You need to go to their official website & search the exact colour code for your car. Then you can purchase it from them.

This is the only way to get the exact colour. However, if your car is older than 1 year, there might be some noticeable difference due to paint aging after UV exposure.
wca
post Jan 7 2018, 04:53 PM

189 posts

fellow sifu with experience,

sad now, my car just suffered a few of these "lines" of damages (did not take a picture of the actual damages, see the red box in the attached picture i found online)
- some area can see black color (serious paint chipped) - label as "1"
- majority area is white line with width about few mm - label as "2"

i intend to apply touch up paint, understanding that it wont be perfectly matching my car color (afterall my car is 6 y.o.), my objective is just to make it less obvious from far and prevent rust.

i have done some research, planning to buy and apply the Autospa touch up paint.

please share with me any tips that i should b aware of. for example,
- i should dab the paint onto the black color area (no more paint) right?
- how about the white color part (area "2")?
- do i need to apply multiple layers?
- what are the actions/factors to make the touch up work as successful as possible?

please help and i really appreciate that!
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
mikehwy
post Dec 28 2018, 12:58 AM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(wca @ Jan 7 2018, 04:53 PM)
fellow sifu with experience,

sad now, my car just suffered a few of these "lines" of damages (did not take a picture of the actual damages, see the red box in the attached picture i found online)
- some area can see black color (serious paint chipped) - label as "1"
- majority area is white line with width about few mm - label as "2"

i intend to apply touch up paint, understanding that it wont be perfectly matching my car color (afterall my car is 6 y.o.), my objective is just to make it less obvious from far and prevent rust.

i have done some research, planning to buy and apply the Autospa touch up paint.

please share with me any tips that i should b aware of. for example,
- i should dab the paint onto the black color area (no more paint) right?
- how about the white color part (area "2")?
- do i need to apply multiple layers?
- what are the actions/factors to make the touch up work as successful as possible?

please help and i really appreciate that!
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
imo, any touchup product shd work well provided you choose the correct color match.
i did it to my proton blm 2008 and it looks well.
if the scratch is deep and can see the black level, try with wet sanding with finest sandpaper slightly and gently.
use your skill to level off the edges between good paint and the scratch. main aim is to make the edges smooth. slight use of rubbing compound if necessary.
do not be greedy. just apply minimum of the touchup repair (basecoat, aka paint!).
then follow the instructions. my ezytouchup product includes 3 bottles. i strongly suggest ONLY to use first 2 bottles. 3rd bottle shd only be used weeks later (3 weeks to 1 month) as thus is only the protection coat. the basecoat (the actual paint from bottle 2 needs 1 month get harden.
NEVER buy the 4th bottle that rubbibg compound.
hope it helps.
it really works well

mikehwy
post Dec 28 2018, 01:00 AM

17,100 posts

repeat. from your phto, it shd be easy to make them less obvious. after application, months later they shd look jelled and well enougj

0.0301sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:01 AM