100 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

LYN DJing Thread, Spin, Twist and Turn !!!!

ivandj
post Jun 22 2007, 02:39 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(djnono @ Jun 22 2007, 01:41 AM)
hey guy thnx for the advice.....just brought 2 cdj and mixer  ^^ anyway.....some question...can i lik still using laptop (software) together with cdj or TT to mix ??? if can ...how ?? i got traktor....can it work together wit my cdj ??
No direct link , hardware needed & good soundcard / ASIO enabled . alot $$$
I dont suggest to go that way unless you are using Vinyl's .
Cd's are easily obtained or maybe burn them from your collection .
Unlike vinyls are hard to come by ...

Maybe mixing tru traktor or other software is easy becos of the features .
But what makes a Dj is the music not the gear icon_rolleyes.gif

speedfamgirl
post Jun 22 2007, 08:30 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(djnono @ Jun 22 2007, 01:41 AM)
hey guy thnx for the advice.....just brought 2 cdj and mixer  ^^ anyway.....some question...can i lik still using laptop (software) together with cdj or TT to mix ??? if can ...how ?? i got traktor....can it work together wit my cdj ??
wow, congratulations for those gears...may i asked what is that you are using?

i am planning to buy myself a cdj1000mk3 & a decent mixer...maybe djm600 is good enough for the moment.

please, could you tell me the current market price for the package?

thank in advance...

p/s: i've been asking the same question every now & then but nobody entertain me...waaa!! icon_question.gif
ivandj
post Jun 23 2007, 03:16 AM

578 posts

Cdj1000mk3
Djm600

Both is pro gear
Not cheap thou hmm.gif

Can check out www.dynamixsound.com

Business Address:
No. 167, Jalan Maharajalela,
50150 Kuala Lumpur.

(603)-2142 2111
enquiry@dynamixsound.com
--------------------------------------

I think there are cheaper source if u go to jalan pasar ,
Got few shops are pioneer disto , cheers
speedfamgirl
post Jun 23 2007, 11:41 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(ivandj @ Jun 23 2007, 03:16 AM)
Cdj1000mk3
Djm600

Both is pro gear
Not cheap thou hmm.gif

Can check out www.dynamixsound.com

Business Address:
No. 167, Jalan Maharajalela,
50150 Kuala Lumpur.

(603)-2142 2111
enquiry@dynamixsound.com
--------------------------------------

I think there are cheaper source if u go to jalan pasar ,
Got few shops are pioneer disto , cheers
gee, thanks for the info. btw i am now living in kuching, sarawak....
these gears can be ordered from Lee Music & i understand a complete set might costs u about 7K++. the last time they sold it during 2005. since then, nobody wants to buy them....waaa.

i dont really make a survey about other product instead of pioneer, because of its famoucity & most of my friend use them.
DestructiveHanD
post Jun 28 2007, 01:17 AM

32 posts

Well, I always wanted to be a Dj since i was 14.. During tat time, I didnt have much $$ to get a turn table so I decided to have virtual Dj software.. At the same time, I like Trance & Techno songs too (Tiesto, Ganjaguru, Paul Van Dyk bla bla bla) sweat.gif .. So guys do you think I should start the "real" Djing since I can spend for the eqs? Almost all of the time, I was practicing my skills using the Virtual Dj.. What I able to do is only loop (desk A) and then crossfade it to the next desk. sad.gif .. However, the tools are limited. So guys, how should I start to become a real Dj? I m planning to get a turn table but I do not know which is good for a beginner and what eqs should I get? (mic?mixer?) Anyway, I m really new to "real" Djing..

My details:
Talent for a Dj: Only virtual Dj
Types of Dj prefer: Trance Dj ( A little confuse here.. mind helping me to decide?)
Preferable songs: Trance & Techno
Budget: Around 3k

P/S: Sorry for asking noob questions.

This post has been edited by DestructiveHanD: Jun 28 2007, 01:19 AM
watergame
post Jun 28 2007, 03:26 PM

Hey juz like 2 ask if any1 sellin of their final scratch i wana get it. N wher do i get new slipmats n a couple of good scratch records.
dj.sars
post Jun 29 2007, 05:13 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(DestructiveHanD @ Jun 28 2007, 02:17 AM)
Well, I always wanted to be a Dj since i was 14.. During tat time, I didnt have much $$ to get a turn table so I decided to have virtual Dj software.. At the same time, I like Trance & Techno songs too (Tiesto, Ganjaguru, Paul Van Dyk bla bla bla) sweat.gif .. So guys do you think I should start the "real" Djing since I can spend for the eqs? Almost all of the time, I was practicing my skills using the Virtual Dj.. What I able to do is only loop (desk A) and then crossfade it to the next desk. sad.gif .. However, the tools are limited. So guys, how should I start to become a real Dj? I m planning to get a turn table but I do not know which is good for a beginner and what eqs should I get? (mic?mixer?) Anyway, I m really new to "real" Djing..

My details:
Talent for a Dj: Only virtual Dj
Types of Dj prefer: Trance Dj ( A little confuse here.. mind helping me to decide?)
Preferable songs: Trance & Techno
Budget: Around 3k

P/S: Sorry for asking noob questions.
well if you want to stick to softwares instead of hardwares you can alwiz check out the thing called midi controllers
currently im still waiting for my behringer bcr2k which i will be using with ableton
m audio x session is also a good one if youre trying to play with softwares
it depends on the person itself tho
most ppl still prefer the analog which produce way better sound quality and some just simply like playing cds as for me myself i still prefer cds but working with softwares you can just do more things than just plain mixing

Added on June 29, 2007, 5:17 am
QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jun 22 2007, 09:30 PM)
wow, congratulations for those gears...may i asked what is that you are using?

i am planning to buy myself a cdj1000mk3 & a decent mixer...maybe djm600 is good enough for the moment.

please, could you tell me the current market price for the package?

thank in advance...
p/s: i've been asking the same question every now & then but nobody entertain me...waaa!! icon_question.gif
i would suggest djm800 for it is a semi midi controller so you can also use it for softwares and also hardwares but im sure its pricey but i dunno the price

Added on June 29, 2007, 5:19 amand also do check out the ad by pioneer i dunno if its the latest one but its cool to me
james zabiela is in it

This post has been edited by dj.sars: Jun 29 2007, 05:19 AM
DestructiveHanD
post Jun 29 2007, 10:20 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(dj.sars @ Jun 29 2007, 05:13 AM)
well if you want to stick to softwares instead of hardwares you can alwiz check out the thing called midi controllers
currently im still waiting for my behringer bcr2k which i will be using with ableton
most ppl still prefer the analog which produce way better sound quality and some just simply like playing cds as for me myself i still prefer cds but working with softwares you can just do more things than just plain mixing

Oh.. It is possible to use both software and turn table? Where, I get everything prepared using software (FL Studio) then, i mix it using the turn table.. But I m still have hard time using FL Studio.. blush.gif Any free sites that provide tutorial on FL Studio? Thanks for the reply Dj Sars. notworthy.gif .

P/S: Mind I add ur msn dj Sars? So it could be easier for me to ask question... (you can pm me) brows.gif
blacktrix
post Jun 29 2007, 02:40 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Try out M-Audio's new Torq system....
It comes with 2 specially encoded Vinyls and 2 encoded CDs, which when played back through the soundcard provided, able to play and control whatever that's running in the Torq Software on your laptop.
Costs about RM1500 at SMX.... might buy it if I have enough funds.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Torq...DPack-main.html
tomzy
post Jul 1 2007, 04:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(dj.sars @ Jun 29 2007, 05:13 AM)
analog vs digital = very subjective nowadays lol. but my ears tells me that analog still sounds more warm than digital. but hey nowadays everyone is using cdj or laptop setup anyways. ableton really allow you to do more than just regular dj setup, it can really help you to push your mix above the limits.

This post has been edited by tomzy: Jul 1 2007, 04:44 PM
boxed
post Jul 1 2007, 10:59 PM

Hola! New to this but am I mistaken if I assume that buying a Behringer BCD3000 is a simple start process for learning how to mix.

I'm looking to get a vinyl deck for the fine practice but I'll tune my taste in music on the behringers since Vinyls aren't exactly cheap and easy to obtain.

On a separate note vinyls from mailorder with insurance and shipping costs only around 70rm from UK. Isn't that better than 100rm?
dj.sars
post Jul 2 2007, 06:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(DestructiveHanD @ Jun 29 2007, 11:20 AM)
Oh.. It is possible to use both software and turn table? Where, I get everything prepared using software (FL Studio) then, i mix it using the turn table.. But I m still have hard time using FL Studio.. blush.gif  Any free sites that provide tutorial on FL Studio? Thanks for the reply Dj Sars. notworthy.gif .

P/S: Mind I add ur msn dj Sars? So it could be easier for me to ask question... (you can pm me)  brows.gif
sure do add me in msn i wouldnt mind

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 29 2007, 03:40 PM)
Try out M-Audio's new Torq system....
It comes with 2 specially encoded Vinyls and 2 encoded CDs, which when played back through the soundcard provided, able to play and control whatever that's running in the Torq Software on your laptop.
Costs about RM1500 at SMX.... might buy it if I have enough funds.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Torq...DPack-main.html
torq yea thats good shit but i dun think itll be affordable for the time being
m audio stuffs are good and also expensive

QUOTE(tomzy @ Jul 1 2007, 05:39 PM)
analog vs digital = very subjective nowadays lol. but my ears tells me that analog still sounds more warm than digital. but hey nowadays everyone is using cdj or laptop setup anyways. ableton really allow you to do more than just regular dj setup, it can really help you to push your mix above the limits.
haha tell me bout it nothing beats the sound quality of a vinyl but then i wouldnt want to carry heavy loads around besides more famous djs are using softwares to mess around instead of hardwares and heck to save ableton file in mp3 is so problematic zzz

btw anyone uses ableton with keyboard mapping ? im having hard time figuring ways to key map perfectly zzz and also regarding the effects there can anyone teach me icon_question.gif
blacktrix
post Jul 2 2007, 08:30 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Actually, the M-Audio Torq is quite cheap.

The most famous, The Stanton Finalscratch 2, is going for RM2500++
Ryo
post Jul 2 2007, 11:28 PM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

hey sars! joined LYN? welcome bro! remember me? biggrin.gif

Actually, the M-Audio Torq is quite cheap.

The most famous, The Stanton Finalscratch 2, is going for RM2500++

wow still expensive eh final scratch 2...have you check out the price of rane serato scratch live bro? wonder who carry rane in KL

tull the prigger
post Jul 3 2007, 03:33 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(watergame @ Jun 28 2007, 03:26 PM)
Hey juz like 2 ask if any1 sellin of their final scratch i wana get it. N wher do i get new slipmats n a couple of good scratch records.
For a budget setup similar to Rane's Serato I use:

DJDecks software - RM150
2 x Serato timecode vinyl - RM100
1 x Audiotrak Maya 44mk2 soundcard - RM500
2 x turntables
1 x mixer

The performance of the software depends on your machine. Best part is you get to play vinyl & mp3 without extra cost. The soundcard is also good enough for recording mixes.

This post has been edited by tull the prigger: Jul 3 2007, 03:38 PM
dj.sars
post Jul 3 2007, 04:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 3 2007, 12:28 AM)
hey sars! joined LYN? welcome bro! remember me? biggrin.gif
wow still expensive eh final scratch 2...have you check out the price of rane serato scratch live bro? wonder who carry rane in KL
haha ryo of coz i remembered you
how can i forget you i still remember the demo you sent me lol
loved that but lost it already you still got that ?
haha
btw how you doing ? its been a long time since we last chat
any gigs youre playing in ? or any clubs your playing in currently ?

final scratch wow expensiveness

Ryo
post Jul 4 2007, 09:22 PM

871 posts

haha ryo of coz i remembered you
how can i forget you i still remember the demo you sent me lol
loved that but lost it already you still got that ?
haha
btw how you doing ? its been a long time since we last chat
any gigs youre playing in ? or any clubs your playing in currently ?

final scratch wow expensiveness

nah man, no gigs lol...kinda slow in the DJin world nowdays...focusing on other stuff mostly. now kinda leaning into producing...gotta save up to buy some good gears lol. oh yea i sent you that progressive demo eh hehe, dunno what happen to that one bro, kinda lost the file lol. i'll send you new ones tho...we'll chat on msn eh biggrin.gif
so what's going on with you? send demo la hehe...wanna hear thumbup.gif

For a budget setup similar to Rane's Serato I use:

DJDecks software - RM150
2 x Serato timecode vinyl - RM100
1 x Audiotrak Maya 44mk2 soundcard - RM500
2 x turntables
1 x mixer

The performance of the software depends on your machine. Best part is you get to play vinyl & mp3 without extra cost. The soundcard is also good enough for recording mixes.

that's a pretty good setup! what kinda pc do you use? how is the latency?
another solution to is to buy second hand final scratch V1.5...currently using one and it's rock stable....you can get used ones for below RM 1000...or even RM 500- RM 600 if you're lucky thumbup.gif
dj.sars
post Jul 5 2007, 03:15 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 4 2007, 10:22 PM)
nah man, no gigs lol...kinda slow in the DJin world nowdays...focusing on other stuff mostly. now kinda leaning into producing...gotta save up to buy some good gears lol. oh yea i sent you that progressive demo eh hehe, dunno what happen to that one bro, kinda lost the file lol. i'll send you new ones tho...we'll chat on msn eh biggrin.gif
so what's going on with you? send demo la hehe...wanna hear thumbup.gif
that's a pretty good setup! what kinda pc do you use? how is the latency?
another solution to is to buy second hand final scratch V1.5...currently using one and it's rock stable....you can get used ones for below RM 1000...or even RM 500- RM 600 if you're lucky thumbup.gif
ah hah ok ok producing yea im trying to learn that too
msn yea will chat with you there
haha
me currently nth much part time worker part time student for now my demo
i think i wont be pumping enough for you
my demo chill la 2 chill 1 progressive and that is also like so long time ago till now

Ryo
post Jul 5 2007, 10:11 AM

871 posts

man, i've also mellowed down now. no more pumped tracks lol...maybe i'm getting old sad.gif
dj.sars
post Jul 6 2007, 07:51 AM

255 posts

100 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:56 PM