LYN DJing Thread, Spin, Twist and Turn !!!!

dj.sars
post Jun 15 2007, 06:52 AM

255 posts

wow wow wow didnt know there is a djing thread in lyn till today
so most of you around here are real djs ?
i only know ryo is a real dj thats for sure
anyone running on ableton / deckadance ?

This post has been edited by dj.sars: Jun 15 2007, 07:00 AM
dj.sars
post Jun 16 2007, 07:33 AM

255 posts

dj.sars
post Jun 16 2007, 09:53 PM

255 posts

wo sounds complicated but ill try to try that out
thanks for the guidance
dj.sars
post Jun 29 2007, 05:13 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(DestructiveHanD @ Jun 28 2007, 02:17 AM)
Well, I always wanted to be a Dj since i was 14.. During tat time, I didnt have much $$ to get a turn table so I decided to have virtual Dj software.. At the same time, I like Trance & Techno songs too (Tiesto, Ganjaguru, Paul Van Dyk bla bla bla) sweat.gif .. So guys do you think I should start the "real" Djing since I can spend for the eqs? Almost all of the time, I was practicing my skills using the Virtual Dj.. What I able to do is only loop (desk A) and then crossfade it to the next desk. sad.gif .. However, the tools are limited. So guys, how should I start to become a real Dj? I m planning to get a turn table but I do not know which is good for a beginner and what eqs should I get? (mic?mixer?) Anyway, I m really new to "real" Djing..

My details:
Talent for a Dj: Only virtual Dj
Types of Dj prefer: Trance Dj ( A little confuse here.. mind helping me to decide?)
Preferable songs: Trance & Techno
Budget: Around 3k

P/S: Sorry for asking noob questions.
well if you want to stick to softwares instead of hardwares you can alwiz check out the thing called midi controllers
currently im still waiting for my behringer bcr2k which i will be using with ableton
m audio x session is also a good one if youre trying to play with softwares
it depends on the person itself tho
most ppl still prefer the analog which produce way better sound quality and some just simply like playing cds as for me myself i still prefer cds but working with softwares you can just do more things than just plain mixing

Added on June 29, 2007, 5:17 am
QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jun 22 2007, 09:30 PM)
wow, congratulations for those gears...may i asked what is that you are using?

i am planning to buy myself a cdj1000mk3 & a decent mixer...maybe djm600 is good enough for the moment.

please, could you tell me the current market price for the package?

thank in advance...
p/s: i've been asking the same question every now & then but nobody entertain me...waaa!! icon_question.gif
i would suggest djm800 for it is a semi midi controller so you can also use it for softwares and also hardwares but im sure its pricey but i dunno the price

Added on June 29, 2007, 5:19 amand also do check out the ad by pioneer i dunno if its the latest one but its cool to me
james zabiela is in it

This post has been edited by dj.sars: Jun 29 2007, 05:19 AM
dj.sars
post Jul 2 2007, 06:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(DestructiveHanD @ Jun 29 2007, 11:20 AM)
Oh.. It is possible to use both software and turn table? Where, I get everything prepared using software (FL Studio) then, i mix it using the turn table.. But I m still have hard time using FL Studio.. blush.gif  Any free sites that provide tutorial on FL Studio? Thanks for the reply Dj Sars. notworthy.gif .

P/S: Mind I add ur msn dj Sars? So it could be easier for me to ask question... (you can pm me)  brows.gif
sure do add me in msn i wouldnt mind

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 29 2007, 03:40 PM)
Try out M-Audio's new Torq system....
It comes with 2 specially encoded Vinyls and 2 encoded CDs, which when played back through the soundcard provided, able to play and control whatever that's running in the Torq Software on your laptop.
Costs about RM1500 at SMX.... might buy it if I have enough funds.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Torq...DPack-main.html
torq yea thats good shit but i dun think itll be affordable for the time being
m audio stuffs are good and also expensive

QUOTE(tomzy @ Jul 1 2007, 05:39 PM)
analog vs digital = very subjective nowadays lol. but my ears tells me that analog still sounds more warm than digital. but hey nowadays everyone is using cdj or laptop setup anyways. ableton really allow you to do more than just regular dj setup, it can really help you to push your mix above the limits.
haha tell me bout it nothing beats the sound quality of a vinyl but then i wouldnt want to carry heavy loads around besides more famous djs are using softwares to mess around instead of hardwares and heck to save ableton file in mp3 is so problematic zzz

btw anyone uses ableton with keyboard mapping ? im having hard time figuring ways to key map perfectly zzz and also regarding the effects there can anyone teach me icon_question.gif
dj.sars
post Jul 3 2007, 04:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 3 2007, 12:28 AM)
hey sars! joined LYN? welcome bro! remember me? biggrin.gif
wow still expensive eh final scratch 2...have you check out the price of rane serato scratch live bro? wonder who carry rane in KL
haha ryo of coz i remembered you
how can i forget you i still remember the demo you sent me lol
loved that but lost it already you still got that ?
haha
btw how you doing ? its been a long time since we last chat
any gigs youre playing in ? or any clubs your playing in currently ?

final scratch wow expensiveness

dj.sars
post Jul 5 2007, 03:15 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 4 2007, 10:22 PM)
nah man, no gigs lol...kinda slow in the DJin world nowdays...focusing on other stuff mostly. now kinda leaning into producing...gotta save up to buy some good gears lol. oh yea i sent you that progressive demo eh hehe, dunno what happen to that one bro, kinda lost the file lol. i'll send you new ones tho...we'll chat on msn eh biggrin.gif
so what's going on with you? send demo la hehe...wanna hear thumbup.gif
that's a pretty good setup! what kinda pc do you use? how is the latency?
another solution to is to buy second hand final scratch V1.5...currently using one and it's rock stable....you can get used ones for below RM 1000...or even RM 500- RM 600 if you're lucky thumbup.gif
ah hah ok ok producing yea im trying to learn that too
msn yea will chat with you there
haha
me currently nth much part time worker part time student for now my demo
i think i wont be pumping enough for you
my demo chill la 2 chill 1 progressive and that is also like so long time ago till now

dj.sars
post Jul 6 2007, 07:51 AM

255 posts

dj.sars
post Jul 9 2007, 07:36 AM

255 posts

lol eventually after quitting few months later ill be back again
tried it a few time ill just come back some how
dj.sars
post Sep 9 2007, 07:21 PM

255 posts

wo wo didnt know danilegal also joined lyn heh
anyway pornstar bedroom dj doesnt mean equipment no need canggih sometimes having a canggih thing when youre a bedroom dj it can bring you far way more better than our local club djs
dj.sars
post Sep 11 2007, 08:53 AM

255 posts

pimpin solid setup i see there
sweet btw you used the djm800 as a midi controller ?
if yes how does it feel ? nice ?
anyway anyone from kl free to meet up
heading down there on wed evening
just got my headphone today from kl
turned out to be a fake zzz
going down there to settle this
and i hope to meet up with some new ppl
make new friends
feel free to pm me

This post has been edited by dj.sars: Sep 11 2007, 12:20 PM
dj.sars
post Sep 12 2007, 06:45 AM

255 posts

if youre talking bout djing from a pc just get windows based that should do my friend even uses windows based for poduction but of coz nothing beat the macs if youre into making music well to my opinion that is
dj.sars
post Oct 11 2007, 06:50 AM

255 posts

well anyone here actually do pc djing ?
im currently using the xponent but i dont pretty like torq
and im just wondering did anyone out here uses deckadance before ? i uses the demo version it seems to be pretty fine but never did hooked it up with it
anyone knows where i can get the free version for it ?
and can it run serato too ? or serato needs rane hardware to work ?
dj.sars
post Oct 11 2007, 03:34 PM

255 posts

you seriously uses touchpad only
even i uses traktor with mouse
i can never work with touch pad
and btw leng i thought vci-100 works with deckadance pretty well ?
all i know it even have the vestax vci-100 as a skin any idea where can i get free downloads for deckadance ?
and tomzy any clues on which software he is working with?
and last but not least leng you play with traktor any idea how i can get the xponent to work with traktor
tried it myself but didnt know how -.-"
dj.sars
post Oct 11 2007, 04:55 PM

255 posts

erm cant seem to find the default mapping for xponent
going to try to do it manually
and ill be hoping to get a vci soon too
so far how you think it is ?
dj.sars
post Oct 12 2007, 04:39 AM

255 posts

wahh speed you really good la
i use touchpad use till cannot tahan need to get the mouse to work on it
anyway tried the xponent with deckadance
seems to have problem on the pitch faders and jog dial
which is so wasted
but maybe its my mistake there is still a lot to learn
i dun really know bout all the mapping thing maybe it can be done
currently just using my knobs to adjust pitch and buttons to pitch up down instead of using jogdial

speed you playing anywhere ? or just a bedroom dj ?
dj.sars
post Oct 12 2007, 03:55 PM

255 posts

speed where youre from actually ? i think i heard your mixes before
dj.sars
post Oct 17 2007, 10:04 AM

255 posts

speed i forgot where i heard it from but its familiar to me

euthanasia out of all those you said id say get behringer
dj.sars
post Oct 18 2007, 05:45 AM

255 posts

lol cant be i dont play trance i do house
dj.sars
post Nov 3 2007, 10:03 AM

255 posts

hu hu hu its been a while since i masuk here
btw if any of you are here in penang on sundays
do head down to djoint where we are doing something like a weekly dj gathering jam session kinda thing going on there
and promo 1 bucket of beers @ 45 nett for djs ;P
sarawak club scenes happening tak ?

0.0422sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:48 AM