The Official iPhone 4S Discussion Thread v3!, The Most Amazing iPhone Yet

AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 02:33 AM

170 posts

Hey guys, I've been following this thread for quite some time, but this is the first time I'm posting. It's great to see everyone so excited about the new iPhone 4S. I'm going to get one for me, and my family members as well. iMessage will be great for us. After trying out BB OS, Android, WP7, Symbian, MeeGo, and iOS; I've finally decided to go back to my first love - the iPhone.

However, I've been following some other forums and websites, and I've noticed a few problems with the 4S. One, is the battery life, which is s'posed to be fixed with the 5.0.1 update. Any 4S users experienced any difference with this update?

Also, the most worrying problem for me is the display. Apparently, the display on the 4S is more yellowish, and washed out compared to the 4 - https://discussions.apple.com/thread/338556...tart=0&tstart=0

Here's another - http://mashable.com/2011/10/18/yellowgate-...tint-to-screen/

And another - http://9to5mac.com/2011/10/18/iphone-4s-te...-and-lots-more/

I could go on and on, but I'd appreciate feedback from you guys who've gotten your 4S' already. I'm sure we'd all like to know if these problems are widespread or just exaggerated by the media, as usual.

Thank you smile.gif
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 12:11 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Dec 7 2011, 09:50 AM)
Yes. iPhone 5 will be LTE with Ivy Bridge Quad Core processors. Lightning speed.
That's highly unlikely. There are rumors that Apple is testing a quad-core iPhone, and that's not surprising. They probably test a dozen phones or more every year. It's basic R&D. However, it won't be the Ivy Bridge as that's Intel's processors designed for notebooks, and desktops. Apple and most other phone manufacturers are using the ARM architecture. The next quad-core mobile processors will be based on the ARM A-15 Eagle architecture. ARM processors are preferred as it's powerful but also much more power efficient compare to Intel chips. Intel chips are mostly designed for computers, not tablets and definitely not mobile phones.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 08:54 PM

170 posts

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. That's good to know. I was just concerned because I could see a difference in many of the videos on YouTube comparing the 4S and the 4. Hope that's just a manufacturing problem with the early batch. I guess there some positives by getting it later, lol.

Oh, and regarding the Maxis ROI. I'm aware that some of you have not received a 'thank you' e-mail yet. Try registering again, and you should receive it. That's what I did.

I don't think Maxis recorded my 'interest' even though I've registered two times before this. Hope everything goes well. I'll be awaiting the Dec 16th launch, hope it's during midnight. That'll be pretty romantic tongue.gif Perhaps, we can even have a group gathering there, lol.

Have fun guys.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 09:26 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(braddelson @ Dec 7 2011, 09:09 PM)
That was for the iPhone 4 buddy. That post from Gizmodo was more than a year ago. The current display problem is different than the previous one, and Apple has not offered any official statement regarding that. They've only talked about the battery problem on the 4S so far.

The current display problem on the iPhone 4S is not so much that it is yellow, but that it is more 'washed out' compared to the 4 even on the same brightness level. The contrast levels is much lower causing the display to look as if you're viewing it under the sun. That's the thing I'm concerned about. Anyway, I appreciate your feedback buddy, thanks.

So far, the iPhone 4S owners here have not experienced any issues with their display, but we'll be sure on the 16th. Can't wait!
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 09:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Dec 7 2011, 09:41 PM)
Which is why I brought up the question, if the stocks of iPhone 4S which Maxis, Digi, and Celcom got have this "yellowgate" issue, will you all still buy it?

Because it appears to be a batch issue and from apple forums I noted that there is no use exchanging because if one unit has "yellowgate" it is likely that all the other phones in the same shop will have "yellowgate" as well since they are from the same batch.

Which brings back the question, will everyone here in this thread still buy it if all Malaysia sets are like that and there is no use exchanging sets or invoking 1 to 1 exchanges via warranty because no matter how many times you exchange it will still be the same.

No one could answer my question earlier, so it will be interesting to see on the 16th.

A forumer posted a vid about a short 4S review and his unit appeared to have that warmer screen colour and also the vid with soyacincau's review on Siri. It also appears to have "yellowgate" issue.

I wouldn't call it washed out or yellow just that it has a warmer colour tone compared to the iPhone 4's cooler colour tone.

Anyway this contrast in colour isn't new anymore as its happened with the iPhone 4 as well just that it didn't garner as much hoo-ha as it has now.

I've seen a lot of claims that some have exchanged and gotten 4S units with the cooler colour tone but as much as I tried to search there is no evidence of what is normal and what is "yellowgate". So far every pic i've found is an iPhone 4 compared with an iPhone 4S. There is hardly any picture comparisons of a normal iPhone 4S vs a yellowgate iPhone 4S. The jury is still out IMO.
Well, I posted the same question this morning and a few iPhone 4S users responded saying that their unit is fine. It is possible that they've not noticed the difference in contrast levels, but I've got to see the thing in person to be sure.

Oh, and of course I'd be worried. I've already set the Galaxy Nexus as my back-up device if I have to return the 4S, and the problem can't be fixed. So far, the feedback has been positive, that's why I believe that the problem lies with the earlier batch. Also, the media has always been too keen in bashing iDevices, so I didn't take the problem too seriously. What's more, a recent survey has found that 96% of 4S users are happy with their device -http://www.cultofmac.com/132591/survey-96-iphone-4s-customers-satisfaction-tops-iphone-4/ , so I'm really looking forward to buying it. What about you?
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 11:01 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Dec 7 2011, 10:43 PM)
how long until we can molest our phone right after we pre-order?
Err, not sure, but that's kinda disturbing bro, especially saying that to a phone : /
AndrewTan007
post Dec 7 2011, 11:47 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Eidilfitrix @ Dec 7 2011, 11:41 PM)
I can't believe Soya Cincau misinterpreted this guy's tweet. https://twitter.com/#!/jnoathan/statuse...347401753337856

If you haven't got any twitter, that guy said " @Soya_Cincau @IERNK RT @xpaxsays: You wanna be the 1st to get #iPhone4S from Celcom? Check out celcom.com.my/iphone on 9/12 *hint hint* "

If i were to understand this, I think it would be just the pre-order.
SoyaCincau is made up of dumbasses man. No offence but I did follow them for a while, but I found their posts and views just to narrow and at times, even contradictory. Before something is launched, they'll say it's a failure, bla bla bla, and the next when the consumer reaction is very positive, they'll come up with another post saying how awesome the product is. Very disappointing.

If I didn't know better, I'd say they're being run by a bunch of narrow-minded school kids. Malaysian Wireless is way better, and Lowyat posts are pretty decent too. Mostly, I rely on American, and U.K based sites though. I feel that they're more objective, and fun to read.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 11:05 AM

170 posts

It seems that Celcom will be having the iPhone 4S launch in Pavilion. Maxis might have it in Gardens again, and that just leaves DiGi. They might want to have it in a different place, or perhaps if they have it in Gardens or Pavilion, they can attract customers from the DiGi or Celcom que. People who are tired of waiting might think that they may have a better chance of getting the iPhone faster if they change que. I think we've all done this before, in McD and while driving. The other line seems to go faster, so we jump ship. Malaysian mentality, lol.

Seems like all telcos are trying to make it as grand as possible. Hope it's a memorable experience.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 11:12 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(cheehing @ Dec 8 2011, 11:08 AM)
Maxis at KLCC...told by maxis customer service
Oh cool, thanks for the information bro. That's even better. After the event, anyone care to go clubbing in KL? Zouk perhaps? Try to get some chicks by flashing your new iPhone. Too bad it looks the same as the 4, lol.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 11:46 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Dec 8 2011, 11:42 AM)
Oh means another 20 mins .. So guess today they will release the plan and price?
All three telcos seem to be keeping their cards close to themselves. They'll probably release it closer towards the launch date so the other telcos can't revise their prices. I'm thinking next week, but they could even release it as soon as today. It all depends on how confident they feel about their pricing. Needless to say, the consumers are the ones who benefit from this competition. Apple should have done this with the 3GS. I had to wait 2 months to get it from Maxis.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 12:01 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kangarooo @ Dec 8 2011, 12:00 PM)
ya...i think nth will be happen...NOT YET CLOSE!!!!!!!!

Added on December 8, 2011, 12:01 pm
alright..thanks ya
HAHAHAHA......POTONG STIM LA MAXIS.....LOL
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 12:03 PM

170 posts

Malaysian timing, no surprises there.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 12:12 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Dec 8 2011, 12:07 PM)
I think juz left this thread for 2 hours, after that come back maybe got surprise ? Maybe ... Byeee
Same here. I'll check after I come back from work today. Hope there's some progress.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 06:55 PM

170 posts

It's funny how everyone's so worried about limited units and such. Chill out guys, Apple and the telcos would have definitely anticipated the demand in Malaysia and allocated sufficient amount of devices for the launch. These are what these guys do for a living, so they'll know what they're doing.

And for those who are still worried about not getting the phone, well as long as you've registered, there won't be a problem. They'll give you a number when you show them the confirmation e-mail and text (they usually require both) and you collect your phone when it's your turn. It might take some time so you can go and socialize with the other guys and gals there.

I'm sure they'll make the event as posh as possible so you'll get a nice and diverse crowd. Great for socializing. Heck, you might even be on TV as I'm sure TV3 and such will be there for the event.

So, in conclusion, just chill guys. It's all good wink.gif
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 07:03 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Dec 8 2011, 06:58 PM)
+1, i still worry because i trust APPLE, but not Malaysia telco.
Haha, have some faith man. Malaysia Boleh! Besides, all telcos are b******** anyway. All they care is making money. Even in the U.S, people hate AT&T and Verizon. It's the same everywhere, just like the government. It's something we have similar to citizens of other countries, we hate governments, we hate telcos, and we hate bullshit.

What model will you be buying though? I'm getting the 16GB White.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 07:10 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Dec 8 2011, 07:01 PM)
how bout the users outside kl? smile.gif
Don't worry about it. You'll probably get it a lil later. Probably on Monday, which isn't thaaattt long considering how long we've waited. I'm from Ipoh myself and I'll be travelling to KL to get it on the 16th, just for fun. I like the atmosphere smile.gif My sis will be waiting for it though. She'll probably get in on Monday.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 07:22 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hacken @ Dec 8 2011, 07:06 PM)
enuf or not 16gb  tongue.gif
Haha, I know many people who are debating about buying the 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB versions. So, I'm just going to make thing simple here.

16GB - For someone like me who's not a media-centric person, there's just no need for a larger capacity phone. Some may say, just buy a larger capacity phone 'just to be safe' but bear in mind, when you buy the iPhone 4S with a larger capacity, you're paying for it. It doesn't come free, and if you don't use it then that's just money wasted. From a financial and economic perspective, that's just wastage, and wastage isn't good. So, if you don't keep much music and video's on your phone, then you're fine. Apps and other things will not take up even 10GB of data, so don't worry about it.

32GB - This is for people who download about 5K songs on to their phone, regardless of whether they listen to it or not. They also save a ton of HD videos on their phone too. I've never understood storing HD movies on a phone. I mean HD movies are s'posed to be watched on a large screen HDTV. Saving it in a phone is just waste. Other than that, if you like to store lotsa music and capture lotsa videos in HD then this might be the one for you.

64GB - I'm not sure why Apple even made a 64GB phone cuz I think this is just too much. This capacity is for 1) people who literally transfer a bunchof their media on their PC to their phone.

2) People who got too much money, and don't know what to do with it.

So, there you go. A lil guide to those who may be confused or unsure about which phone they want. Also, don't forget there's now iCloud where you can store your pics and songs, so no worries guys..

It's all good smile.gif
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 08:19 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hacken @ Dec 8 2011, 07:27 PM)
i am buying 16GB too with contract free dont mind waiting after 16th..see you guys here got wat to feedback me. that's why i said 16GB enuf or not...when i said that coz ppl here buying at least 32GB...mostly la.
Yeah, that's why I just gave a rough review, so everyone here can benefit. It doesn't mean I'm right, it's just my opinion.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 09:04 PM

170 posts

[quote=lazybump_nonsense,Dec 8 2011, 08:47 PM]
I think my 4s won't be fully loaded by songs, but I think the HD camera will be used oftenly by me.. And of course I will install lots of app such as some HD game which is about 500-600mb big or more than that . Which capacity will you recommend bro ?

[/quote]

You might want to get the 32GB version then, but the 16GB version will also be suitable. It's just that your 16GB version will be almost full most of the time. If you get the 32GB, you'd have much more space, but you probably won't exceed 30GB causing the additional 10GB or so of usable storage going to waste. Again it depends on your usage, and the price. I say wait till the prices come out and decide.

[/QUOTE]It is not a very good opinion. In my opinion
I will explain more late (now to type on iPhone very Leceh)

Basically it is like someone taking the longer road and more jammed road to save rm1.50 tol charge.

Yes you pay for it but you has the convenience in the end. You don't wanna be in a situation where "I don't have enough memory" and sometimes ... It is better to pay the extra 200 something.

Dude, how can you judge an opinion? There's no such thing as a good or bad opinion, that's what we call subjectivity. Again, perhaps you can justify spending RM 200+ just to be safe, but for someone else even RM 200 is alot and a waste of money. If you can manage your appss, and media efficiently, there's no need to go overboard and buy something you don't need. It all depends on the person. My previous post was just a rough guide. If you don't agree with it, then ignore it. You can even post your own 'guide' if you want. That's your opinion and I respect that. I only ask that you respect other people's opinions too. Cheers.
AndrewTan007
post Dec 8 2011, 10:08 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hunkofaman @ Dec 8 2011, 09:59 PM)
that's what I think.
I think that there are other better ways of saving money
Spending less on a lower capacity phone is not the way to go.
There are better ways to save like ie. not spending RM500+ on an iphone case (yes some of us do).
It really depends on the value of the item. and imho memory is worth paying for

Yes. it is true RM200 is a lot of money.
But the average person will want to stretch his dollar.
The average person will want to have an iphone that lasts.
Perhaps use an iphone for.. 1 ? 2 years? .. some still using 3GS.

Assume the person is using the iphone in the long run (cannot afford to upgrade every year cos money is important)
Considering an iphone that will be used for 2 years or more. In 2 years the memories, photographs, videos, apps, etc will accumulate.
16gb is too little

In the end. It is not worth the hassle of emptying the memory every now and then just to save a (assume la) Rm200.
See it this way. If you're gonna use it for 2 years (minimum)..

You're just coming up with only RM8.33 extra each month.
Yeah, that's just your opinion, and it makes sense IF that person is going to be using it for the long term. That's what we call future-proofing. However, most people change phones about once a year. Personally, I buy a new phone every 3 months, there's just so many phones and it's so tempting. So, why spend so much when you're just going to buy a new phone in 12 months or less. This is especially true with Apple owners. When a new Apple product come along every year, we're just so tempted to go and buy it. That's what I mean. Besides, do you really need to keep over 1K songs on your phone? Think about it. In the end, as I said, it's all about the user's preference. If you think you need the space, then go for it. Or else, save the cash and take your girl for a nice dinner. That's much more worth it.

0.0192sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:22 AM